Type of Operation
A person who (i) is not a TNC, TNC partner or a bona fide employee or agent of a TNC or TNC partner; (ii) contracts or enters into an agreement or arrangement with a transportation network company; and (iii) in accordance with such contract, agreement or arrangement, arranges any transportation subject to Virginia’s TNC laws (Va. Code § 46.2-2099.45 et seq.) or negotiates for or holds himself out by solicitation, advertisement, or otherwise as one who arranges for such transportation but does not control the manner in which such transportation is provided.
- Under this type of license, you can only broker the transportation of passengers for pick up and delivery within Virginia.
- You can only arrange for the transportation of passengers with TNCs that are authorized by the Virginia DMV to conduct such operations.
- A TNC broker's license does not authorize the holder to provide the actual passenger transportation.
Tariff and Time Schedule Requirements
A TNC broker must ensure that any TNC partner with whom it arranges transportation either has or is provided with TNC broker insurance, which is a motor vehicle liability insurance policy that specifically covers liabilities arising while a TNC partner is en route to a passenger pursuant to arrangements made by the TNC broker.
TNC broker insurance must provide primary liability coverage of at least $1 million for death, bodily injury, and property damage. This coverage must be in effect from the moment a TNC partner is en route to a passenger pursuant to arrangements made by the TNC broker until the moment when the TNC partner logs on to the TNC’s digital platform or when the transportation arranged by the TNC broker has been canceled.
The requirements for TNC broker insurance may be satisfied by any of the following:
- TNC broker insurance maintained by a TNC partner;
- TNC broker insurance maintained by a TNC broker that provides coverage in the event that the TNC partner's policy has ceased to exist or has been canceled or in the event that the TNC partner does not otherwise maintain TNC broker insurance; or
- Any combination of 1 and 2.
If the TNC broker insurance is provided under a policy obtained by a TNC partner, the TNC broker must verify that the policy is specifically written to cover the TNC partner's use of a vehicle in connection with a TNC broker. If TNC broker insurance maintained by a TNC partner has lapsed or ceased to exist, the TNC broker must provide the coverage required above, beginning with the first dollar of a claim.
Insurance Filing Requirements
A TNC broker is required to keep on file with DMV proof of an insurance policy it maintains to meet its TNC broker insurance obligations. The proof must be filed by the insurance company directly with DMV using the TNC Broker Certificate of Insurance (form MCS 310).
The TNC broker insurance may be placed with an insurer that has been admitted in Virginia or with an insurer providing surplus lines insurance as defined in Va. Code § 38.2-4805.2.
Insurers may file a TNC Broker Certificate of Insurance (form MCS 310) using one of the following options:
Insurers making a TNC broker insurance filing obligate themselves to providing TNC broker insurance coverage until such time DMV is notified directly by the insurer that the TNC broker insurance has been cancelled and the insurer has provided DMV 30 days notice of cancellation. TNC insurance cancellations are required to be filed with DMV by completing a Virginia Notice of TNC Broker Insurance Cancellation (form MCS 311), using one of the filing methods noted above.
- Online: Contact a motor carrier representative at (804) 249-5130 for more information
- Virginia DMV
- Motor Carrier Services (TNC)
- PO Box 27412
- Richmond, VA 23269
- Fax: (804) 367-1003
You are required to keep a surety bond or letter of credit in the amount of $25,000 on file with DMV's Motor Carrier Services. (See the Passenger Carrier and Passenger Broker Bond (form OA435) or the Passenger Irrevocable Letter of Credit (form OA447).
$50 filing fee
$3 for a duplicate license
Address Change - You must report any new address to DMV's Motor Carriers Services within 30 days.
Discontinuing Service - If you go out of business or stop providing the service authorized, you must notify DMV in writing within 30 days.