Virginia law authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to grant driver's license extensions to eligible individuals, their accompanying spouse, and their dependent(s). Eligible individuals include:
- Individuals on active duty military serving outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia or their spouse/dependent(s).
- Members of the diplomatic service of the United States serving outside of the U.S. or their spouse/dependent(s).
- Civilian employees of the U.S. government or any agency or contractor thereof serving outside of the U.S. on behalf of the U.S. government or their spouse/dependent(s).
You are not eligible for an extension if you:
- hold a commercial driver's license (CDL).
- Federal regulation (49 CFR §383.73) prohibits a CDL from being valid for more than 8 years.
- You may be granted an extension if you downgrade to a non-commercial driver's license.
- hold a limited duration license.
- Virginia law (§46.2-328.1) prohibits holders of limited duration licenses from being granted license extensions.
- are required to register pursuant to the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act, Chapter 9 (§9.1-900 et. seq) of Title 9.1.
Extensions are granted for a period of six years and only one extension may be granted. The extension will begin from the expiration date shown on your current driver's license. When you return to Virginia, you must visit a DMV customer service center within 180 days of your return to renew your license.
If your request for an extension is approved, you will be mailed an extension card that must be carried with your expired driver's license. If you need a reissue or replacement of your driver's license, you will be required to submit a $20.00 reissue fee along with your documents.
To apply for an extension, submit the following:
- Completed Driver's License and Identification (ID) Card Application (DL 1P).
- A copy of one of the following:
- Military ID Card
- U.S. Contractor ID Card
- Civilian Employee ID Card
- Dependent Military ID Card
- U.S. Uniformed Services Identification and Privilege Card
- A copy of one of the following:
- Current travel orders showing your name
- Certification letter stating that you or your spouse is a contractor, civilian employee, or active duty military and stationed outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia. This letter must be on U.S. government letterhead and must be signed by your, or your spouse's, commanding officer or supervisor.
Applying for a Non-Virginia Address Exception
If you qualify for a license extension, you also qualify for a non-Virginia address exception (if necessary). The mailing address provided on your Driver's License and Identification (ID) Card Application (DL 1P) will appear on any credentials issued by DMV.
There is no fee for a license extension.
Submitting Your Documents to DMV
You may provide your documents by one of the methods:
Department of Motor Vehicles
CDL/NDR Work Center, room 419
P.O. Box 27412
Within 7-10 days your transaction will be processed or you will receive a response by email or phone if any additional documentation is required.
Applying for a Replacement Driver's License
If you need a replacement driver's license, you may be able to apply for one online. If you prefer to apply by mail, you will be required to provide a $20.00 payment along with your completed Driver's License and Identification (ID) Card Application (DL 1P). If mailing your documents you may pay by check or money order.