About CDL Training Schools
CDL driver education programs are available statewide and must be approved by DMV.
- The commercial driver classroom component must be comprised of at least 40 hours of study.
- The commercial driver in-vehicle component must include at least 80 hours of study, consisting of hands-on, driving on a range and the road and/or simulator, and driving observation.
Both the classroom and in-vehicle training sessions are limited to a maximum of ten hours per day.
CDL Applicants Failing Three Times
CDL driver's license applicants who fail the knowledge or behind-the-wheel examination three times, prior to February 7, 2022 will be required to successfully complete the applicable knowledge or in-vehicle component of a driver education course before they can take the examination a fourth time. Classes taken at a driver improvement clinic do not meet this requirement.
- If you have failed the CDL knowledge test three times, prior to February 7, 2022, you must re-take the classroom component of driver education.
- If you have failed the CDL road test three times, prior to February 7, 2022, you must re-take the behind-the-wheel component of driver education.
Find a CDL Training School
For a listing of schools offering CDL training, refer to Listing of CDL Driver Training Schools (including Three Exam Failures).
Certain Virginia community colleges now offer classes for CDL applicants who have failed the knowledge or road test three times.
DMV is committed to promoting transportation safety through the certification of quality driver training programs. For information about the laws governing driver training schools, refer to the Virginia Driver Training School Regulations.
If you have comments or concerns about this course, call our toll-free number: 1-877-885-5790.