You have been directed to this page because you may be eligible to renew your driver's license online, even if you renewed it online or by mail last time or if you are age 75 or older.
But, first, read on to learn more about a new type of driver's license or ID available in Virginia.
REAL ID Compliant Driver’s Licenses and IDs
On May 7, 2025, you’ll need a REAL ID compliant driver’s license or identification card (or another federally approved form of identification, like a U.S. Passport) to board a domestic flight or enter a secure federal facility.
If you want a REAL ID, you’ll need to make an appointment and visit DMV in person with the required documentation to apply. Please make an appointment for service on Mondays, Wednesdays or Fridays or walk in without an appointment on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays (in offices with Saturday hours). However, you may be able to start the process online by determining the documents that you will need to bring and pre-filling your application.
REAL ID compliant licenses and ID cards look the same as the credential you may have in your wallet today except that they display a star in the top right corner of the credential. Non-compliant licenses and ID cards display ”Federal Limits Apply” on the face of the card.
REAL ID is optional. If you don’t want one, you may continue renewing your credential online. However, please note that, effective immediately, some military bases may no longer accept non-REAL ID compliant credentials which display "Federal Limits Apply". Please verify identification requirements prior to your visit.
Complete details are available at REAL ID.
To renew your driver’s license online, see Online Services. If you want a REAL ID compliant credential, you can start the process by selecting the documents that you will bring to DMV and then making an appointment at Plan Your Visit. If you do not need a REAL ID compliant credential, you can select the option to renew a standard license. Many customers who renew online will receive a standard license good for eight years. Because of the COVID-19 public health emergency, some customers who previously were required to renew in person may now be able to renew online to receive a license good for two years.
We encourage you to renew your CDL, license or ID by the expiration date. After expiration, Virginia law requires you to present proof of your legal presence in the United States (if you have not previously done so). For a complete list of acceptable documents or information on obtaining a driver's license or identification card, refer to "Acceptable Documents for Obtaining a Driver's License or Photo ID Card" (DMV 141)
The renewal fee is the same as the licensing fee. For example, a standard eight year driver's license with no classes or endorsements costs $32. In addition, because of the COVID-19 public health emergency, some Virginians who previously were required to renew in person may now be able to renew online to receive a two-year license for a fee of $8 with no classes or endorsements. You may pay your fees with cash, money order, check, debit card, or major credit card.
Credential Type Fee
|$4 per year, $8 minimum
|$2 per year
|$10 one-time surcharge, in addition to standard fees
Becoming an Organ Donor
When you renew your driver's license, you will be asked if you wish to become an organ donor. You can find out more about this worthy cause at Organ Donation.
For more information about electronic notifications, read the E-Notification FAQs or contact us. To opt out of receiving e-notices, update your myDMV Account.