If you hold a Virginia driver's license or photo identification (ID) card, you must have a Virginia residence/home address. If you have a non-Virginia mailing address, you must provide a Virginia residence/home address. Virginia law does include exceptions to this requirement in certain situations. Individuals eligible for an exception to the Virginia address requirement are:
- Active members of the U.S. armed forces and their spouse/dependent(s)
- U.S. citizens employed outside of the United States and their spouse/dependent(s)
- Virginia residents who are enrolled in a college or university outside of Virginia
- Virginia residents temporarily employed outside of Virginia
- Virginia residents temporarily located outside of Virginia for family reasons
- Virginia residents physically residing on the Virginia side of the border with another state and required by the U.S. Postal Service to maintain a non-Virginia mailing address
Note: If you hold a commercial driver's license (CDL), you are not eligible for an exception to the Virginia address requirement. Federal regulation requires that your Virginia CDL show a residential address located within Virginia; however, if you wish to downgrade to a non-commercial driver's license you may be granted an address exception.
Your mailing address will appear on any credentials issued by DMV. You will be required to provide DMV with documentation to support your request for an exception to the Virginia address requirement.
See Qualifying for a Virginia Address Requirement Exception or Re-Establishing your Virginia Residency (DMV 143) for eligibility and proof documents you will need to provide.
Applying for a Driver's License Extension
Virginia law authorizes DMV to grant driver's license extensions to eligible individuals, their accompanying spouse and their dependent(s). If you would also like to request an extension of your driver's license, see Applying for a Driver's License Extension.
There is no fee for a Non-Virginia Address Exception.
Submitting Your Documents to DMV
You may provide your documents by one of these methods:
Department of Motor Vehicles
License and ID Card Work Center, room 419
P.O. Box 27412
Within 7-10 days your transaction will be processed or you will receive a response by email or phone if any additional documentation is required.
Applying for a Replacement Driver's License
If you need a replacement driver's license, you may be able to apply for one online. If you prefer to apply by mail, you will be required to provide a $20 reissue payment (check or money order) along with your completed Driver's License and Identification (ID) Card Application.