After you complete driver's education, your instructor will issue you a Virginia Driver Training Certificate (DTS B or TDL-180). When accompanied by a valid learner's permit, the DTS B or TDL-180 is a valid driver's license for 180 days from the eligibility date shown on the certificate, or until you turn age 18. Your instructor will send a copy of your DTS B or TDL-180 to DMV for processing.
If you are under the age of 18 when your driver's license is issued, you may be required to attend a court licensing ceremony with your parent or guardian to receive your license. The Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court in the jurisdiction where you live will mail you a notice if you are required to attend. If the court does not require the ceremony, your driver's license will be mailed directly to you. For more information, refer to our list of courts/jurisdictions that require a juvenile licensing ceremony.
If you are under the age of 18 when the driver's license is issued, you are required to attend a court licensing ceremony, and you turn 18 before your court ceremony, you must still attend the court ceremony, but you are not required to be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
If you are 18 years of age or older when the driver's license is issued, your license will be mailed to your address on file with DMV.
Yes. Virginia law prohibits drivers under 18 from driving between midnight and 4am. An exception may be made in the event of an emergency or when travelling to or from work. See Teen Driving Restrictions for more information.
If you have committed 3 demerit point traffic violations while you were under 18, DMV will revoke your permit or license for one year or until you reach age 18, whichever is longer. See Points/Violations for Drivers Under Age 18 for more information.