To purchase license plates or decals, you must certify that the vehicle is covered by the minimum insurance requirements or pay the Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee. Insurance requirements also apply to antique motor vehicles. Your insurance carrier must be authorized to conduct business in Virginia.
Virginia requires the minimum coverage limits set forth in the Code of Virginia § 46.2-472.
Insurance companies may factor in their policy premium the driving record of any individual of driving age that resides within an insured's household. If you have any questions regarding the potential impact a newly licensed driver may have on your policy, you may wish to contact your insurance agent.
The $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) fee, which is paid to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), does not provide any insurance; it only allows you to drive an uninsured vehicle at your own risk. It expires with your registration and must be paid at renewal. If you are driving an uninsured vehicle and are involved in an accident, the other driver may notify DMV that your vehicle is uninsured as part of reporting the accident to DMV.
Self-insurance or Surety Bonds are special options for owners of business vehicles. Details are available at any DMV office.
Monitoring and Verification of Insurance Coverage
In partnership with the insurance industry, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)administers a program to electronically verify the automobile liability insurance on Virginia registered vehicles. If no no insurance is found for a particular motor vehicle, the owner is required to furnish policy information to DMV for verification. For more information, refer to Verification of Insurance Coverage.
Carrying Proof of Insurance
Drivers should keep proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times.
Severe penalties are imposed for not complying with insurance requirements. If liability insurance coverage on a vehicle terminates or cancels during the registration period, you must reinsure the vehicle, pay the uninsured motor vehicle fee, temporarily deactivate your license plates, or permanently surrender the license plates to DMV.
Vehicle owners who are uninsured or have not paid the UMV fee will have their driving and vehicle registration privileges suspended. To be reinstated, they must pay a $600 noncompliance fee, file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) with DMV for three years, and pay a reinstatement fee, if applicable.
Eligible vehicle owners may enter into a Payment Plan Program to pay the statutory fee over time.
Liability Insurance Policy Minimum Limits
|Liability Insurance Coverage Requirements
|Injury or death of one person||Injury or death of two or more people||Property damage|
|Policies effective before Jan. 1, 2022||$25,000||$50,000||$20,000|
|Policies effective Jan. 1, 2022 through December 31, 2024||$30,000||$60,000||$20,000|
|Policies effective on or after Jan. 1, 2025||$50,000||$100,000||$25,000|
You can also find the motor vehicle liability insurance policy minimum limits here: Code of Virginia § 46.2-472.
For additional insurance information, either:
- Refer to the Virginia State Corporation Commission's Virginia Auto Insurance Consumer Guide or Know Your Rights Regarding Personal Automobile Insurance
- Contact us