JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

DMV Medical Advisory Board

The Medical Advisory Board enables DMV to meet its responsibilities of monitoring drivers throughout the Commonwealth who may have physical or mental limitations. The Board helps DMV avoid issuing licenses to individuals suffering from a disability or functional limitation that would prevent their safely operating a motor vehicle. In addition, the Board assists the Commissioner by developing medical and health standards for drivers, and provides guidance and recommendations related to proposed driver fitness legislation.

The Medical Advisory Board does not review every DMV medical case. Instead, it may review cases of a difficult nature or cases that are being referred for an informal fact-finding proceeding to contest DMV's action or requirements.

Composition of the Board

In accordance with Va Code § 46.2-204, DMV's Medical Advisory Board consists of seven licensed physicians currently practicing medicine in Virginia. The Governor appoints each Board member and designates a chairman. Appointment to the Board is for four-year terms; vacancies are filled by appointment for the unexpired portion of a term.

Physicians who are interested in serving on the DMV Medical Advisory Board may submit an application through the Secretary of the Commonwealth. Licensed physicians with the specializations of neurology, geriatric, internal medicine, ophthalmology, and psychiatry are encouraged to apply.

Board Profile

Board members are listed in order of expiration.

Name When Appointed Expiration of Current Term Seat Requirements As Mandated by Va. Code § 46.2-204
Dr. Susan DiGiovanni, Chair 10/01/02

Appointed chairperson 01/05
09/30/2018 Specialization - Internal Medicine
(Subspeciality - Nephrology)
Dr. Mark Sochor 2014 09/30/2018 Specialization - Emergency Medicine
Dr. Hetzal Hartley 2014 09/30/2020 Specialization - Occupational Medicine
Dr. Ahmed Nasrullah 2016 09/30/2020 Specialization - Ophthalmology
Dr. Adam Rosenblatt 2016 09/30/2020 Specialization - Neurology and Psychiatry
Dr. Saji Slavin 2012 09/30/2020 Specialization - Internal Medicine
Dr. Trevor D. Talbert 2016 09/30/2020 Specialization - Emergency Medicine

Agency Support

  • Board administrator: Richard D. Holcomb, Commissioner
  • Primary contact/executive secretary: Sharon Brown, Director, Driver Services
  • DMV medical review compliance officer/medical consultant: Rebecca Parsio, RN
  • Mailing address:
    • Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
    • PO Box 27412
    • Richmond, VA 23269
    • Attn: S. Brown