Motorcycle Road Skills Test
You should be familiar with your motorcycle and the basic operating skills necessary for your safety before riding on a street with other traffic. To make sure you have the basic skills to ride, you will be required to take a road skills test on your motorcycle.
According to Virginia law, if you fail the DMV motorcycle road skills test twice, you must successfully complete a Virginia Rider Training Program before adding a Class M Designation to your driver's license.
Preparing for the Skills Test
When you arrive for your test, you must have:
- An approved helmet with a face shield and safety glasses or goggles.
- Your motorcycle with a valid license plate and a current inspection sticker.
Wear proper protective clothing, including long pants and a long-sleeved shirt or jacket, boots, or shoes that cover the ankles and riding gloves.
Taking the Test
The examiner will conduct a vehicle/equipment inspection before you perform the riding maneuvers to make sure your motorcycle is properly registered, inspected, and in good working condition.
The road skills test will include exercises that measure your ability to handle a motorcycle, including starting, accelerating, shifting, turning, braking and swerving. The license examiner will explain each exam exercise and scoring before you begin the test. You must successfully complete all skills exercises to pass the test.
The test will be stopped by the examiner if you operate your motorcycle in an unsafe manner, disregard instructions, or lose enough points to fail.
You can also stop the test. You should not try a maneuver that you do not feel you can perform safely. If you feel the exercise is too hard or you cannot safely follow the instructions, tell the examiner.
Two Wheel Motorcycle (M2):
The road skills test for the two wheel motorcycle (M2) is offered at all DMV customer service centers EXCEPT the following locations:
- Arlington Metro at Virginia Square
- Fairfax Westfields
- Fair Oaks Mall
- Front Royal
- Norfolk Military Circle
- Norfolk Widgeon Road
- Richmond Central (Headquarters)
- Tysons Corner
- Virginia Beach Hilltop
NOTE: Motorcycle testing at the Roanoke customer service center is conducted only on Saturdays.
Three Wheel Motorcycle (M3):
Testing on the three wheel motorcycle (M3) is by appointment only. Please contact one of the following numbers listed below to set up your appointment to test:
- Bristol District: (276) 608-0084
- Fairfax District: (540) 424-6560
- Portsmouth District: (757) 686-5181
- Richmond District: (804) 796-4141
- Roanoke District: (276) 477-9021
- Staunton District: (540) 631-7676
Skills Test Waiver
DMV will waive the road skills test for motorcycle license applicants who have successfully completed the Virginia Rider Training Program course. You must bring your certificate of completion with you when you apply for your motorcycle license. Certificates are valid for a period of one year from the date of completion. During this year, you will not be required to complete the motorcycle knowledge or road skills exam to add a Class “M2” or “M3” to your license.
- If you are age 19 or older, the course completion certificate will act as a temporary "M2" or "M3" classification when carried with your driver's license. This will allow you to operate the appropriate motorcycle for 30 days from the course completion date. After the initial 30 days, you will not be authorized to operate a motorcycle until you visit a DMV customer service center to have the motorcycle designation added to your license.
- If you are 18 or older, you will not be required to hold a motorcycle learner’s permit prior to adding a Class “M2” or “M3” to your license.
- If you are under 18, you must hold a motorcycle learner’s permit for 9 months before adding a Class “M2” or “M3” to your license.
Members of the Military
Along with their spouses and dependents, military personnel who are stationed outside of Virginia and who hold a valid Virginia driver's license may obtain an "M2" classification after submitting documentation confirming:
- Completion of a military approved basic motorcycle rider training course and
- Assignment outside of Virginia
Upon approval, DMV will mail a new driver's license displaying the motorcycle classification to the applicant. Customers will be required to pay a license replacement fee and the yearly motorcycle classification fee for each year of validity remaining on their license.