Adult ID Card
Adult ID cards are issued to an individual age 15 and above who does not hold a learner's permit or driver's license issued by any state within the United States.
In order to obtain an ID card, you must provide two proofs of identity, one proof of legal presence, one proof of Social Security number, and proof of Virginia residency. (Only one primary identification document is required if you are under age 19.) To determine which documents to bring with you when you apply, either use the interactive document guide or refer to "Acceptable Documents for Obtaining a Driver's License or Photo ID Card" (DMV 141).
You are not required to provide proof of legal presence if you were born in 1937 or earlier and DMV can verify that you have held a Virginia driver's license or ID card that is either valid or has not been expired for more than 5 years. (You may be required to provide proof of your old license or ID card.) Proof of legal presence is required for persons who are temporarily authorized by the federal government to be present in the U.S.
Your ID card expires on your birthday at the end of the period of years which the card has been issued.
Individuals required to register with the Virginia State Police Sex Offender and Crimes Against Children registry (Virginia Code Chapter 9 of Title 9.1) will be issued ID cards valid for five years.
Costs $2 per year (minimum $10; maximum $16).
What Is Displayed On an Adult ID Card
The ID card displays the following information:
- Customer number
- Date of birth, height and gender
- Expiration date and issue date
- Full legal name, address and signature
- Full-face photograph
- Statement "Not a license to operate a motor vehicle"
- Statement "Organ donor information"
- Statement "Under 21 until date", if applicable
- Statement "Under 18 until date", if applicable
Medical Indicators on ID CardsYou may request that one or more medical indicator codes be placed on your driver's license or ID card for law enforcement personnel. You must present a signed statement from a licensed physician confirming that condition. A "9" will be displayed in the restriction field on the front of the license and will be decoded on the back of the license as follows:
- Insulin-dependent diabetes
- Speech impairment
- Intellectual disability (IntD will display)
- Autism spectrum disorder (ASD will display)