JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Hazardous Materials Endorsement


Training and Testing Requirements

Applicants must complete the Entry Level Driver Training and pass the HAZMAT knowledge exam prior to being issued a HAZMAT endorsement.

Documentation Requirements

To be eligible for a HAZMAT endorsement, you must provide Acceptable Documentation showing proof of U.S. citizenship or immigration, as specified in the Federal Motor Carrier Administration's Code of Federal Regulations, 49 CFR Section 383.71.

Background Check/Fingerprinting Requirements

The USA Patriot Act requires individuals applying for, or renewing, a Commercial Driver's License (CDL) with a HAZMAT endorsement (HME) to be fingerprinted and complete a background records check. To complete a background records check application and be fingerprinted, you must visit one of the DMV customer service centers equipped to process your application.

The non-refundable fee for the background check and fingerprinting is $83.00.

[Back to Top]

TWIC Card Holders

The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) has determined that the security threat assessments (fingerprinting and background check) performed on applicants for a Transportation Worker's Identification Credential (TWIC) card is comparable to that performed on applicants for the HME. As a result, TSA exempts HME applicants from the background records/fingerprint check if a valid TWIC card is submitted with the HME application. The TWIC card must be verified by the customer service representative (CSR) online with TSA to qualify for this option.

If you are applying for a HME using TWIC comparability, the HME expiration date will be tied to the expiration date of the TWIC, i.e., the HME will expire no later than the current expiration date of the TWIC. The non-refundable reduced fee is $41.00. You may visit any DMV customer service center to process your reduced fee application.

[Back to Top]

Out-of-State CDL Holders

If you are transferring a CDL with the HAZMAT endorsement from another state, you will receive a HAZMAT endorsement on your CDL if:

  • You currently hold the endorsement on your out-of-state CDL
  • DMV can verify your eligibility with your current state
  • You pass the HAZMAT Knowledge test in Virginia.

If you have not completed a fingerprint-based Transportation Security Administration (TSA) background check in your current state, or your eligibility cannot be verified by DMV, you may be issued a Virginia CDL with a HAZMAT endorsement only if you apply for and pass the background check and HAZMAT Knowledge test in Virginia.

[Back to Top]

Processing the Application

Fingerprint and application information will be sent to the Transportation Security Administration (TSA). TSA will perform background checks, make security assessments and notify DMV whether the application is approved or denied. The background records check is valid for up to five years.

Based on the results from TSA, DMV will either issue the CDL with the HAZMAT endorsement or send you a notification of denial by TSA. If approved, you may return to DMV to be photographed and pick up your CDL, provided you have successfully completed the HAZMAT Knowledge test.

Receiving Your CDL

If you are applying for the HAZMAT endorsement for the first time, your CDL will be issued without a HAZMAT endorsement. Allow at least 45 days for the HAZMAT endorsement to be processed.

If you are renewing your CDL with the HAZMAT endorsement, you will receive your CDL with a hazardous materials endorsement. The HME will be contingent on TSA approval of eligibility based on the background records/fingerprint check. If you wait to renew until your current CDL has expired, you will be eligible to renew the CDL but will not receive the HME. In that case, you must apply for an original HME and wait for eligibility determination by TSA.

[Back to Top]

USA Patriot Act

The Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism (USA Patriot) Act is a federal law that addresses national security and includes provisions that require commercial drivers who transport hazardous materials to be fingerprinted and successfully complete a criminal history background records check.

The federal requirements are issued by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration (TSA) and support the USA Patriot Act. These requirements change the application process for Commercial Driver's License (CDL) holders applying for or renewing a CDL with a hazardous materials HAZMAT endorsement.

For more information about the USA Patriot Act, you may visit the TSA website at, contact TSA by phone at (866) 289-9673 or email to

[Back to Top]