Payment Plan Program
Caught without insurance? If you owe fees as a result of not insuring your vehicle, you may be able to enter into a plan to pay the fees over time and continue driving.
How the Program Works
In order to legally drive, an owner caught with an uninsured vehicle must pay a $500 fee for every order of suspension issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), as well as a $145 reinstatement fee. Under this payment plan:
- The eligible vehicle owner must pay a minimum of $25 a month per vehicle by the due date.
- The balance must be paid in full within three years.
- The eligible vehicle owner must provide proof of financial responsibility (e.g. Form SR-22 or FR-44) for three years from the date of suspension, even if the balance is paid off before three years.
In order to participate in the payment program, the individual must:
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Be a Virginia resident or a member of the military on active duty status with a vehicle registered in Virginia
- Have driving privileges suspended due to lack of insurance on vehicle
- Have no other outstanding suspensions, revocations, or conditions preventing the reinstatement of driving and registration privileges
- Provide proof of financial responsibility (e.g. Form SR-22 or FR-44) on file with DMV
- Have no prior default on a DMV payment plan agreement
- Pay a $25 administrative fee, the $145 reinstatement fee, and, if applicable, a $5 fee for each additional suspension order
Acceptable Methods of Payment
- DMV will accept payments by personal check, cash, cashier’s check, credit card, debit card, or money order. Credit or debit card payments cannot be made by mail.
- DMV does not offer Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit transactions for the payment plan.
- DMV will not electronically transfer funds from your bank account for payment plan payments.
- DMV will provide payment plan coupons for those who apply to participate in the payment plan.
Inquiries about payment plan balances can be made by accessing your myDMV account on dmvNOW.com or by contacting DMV at (804) 497-7100.
Frequently Asked Questions
- How do I apply?
- You must apply for the payment plan program in person at a customer service center. If you are eligible to participate, you must read and sign the contract agreement provided.
- Can I pay off the plan before three years?
- Additional payments can be made toward the balance at any time with no penalty. You must still provide proof of financial responsibility (e.g. Form SR-22 or FR-44) for three years from the date of suspension.
- Can I set up automatic payments (ACH Debit) directly from my checking/savings account?
- No, DMV does not offer Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit transactions for the payment plan. DMV will not electronically transfer funds from your bank account for payment plan payments
- What if I miss or am late with a payment?
- If you miss or are late with a payment, you default on the agreement and your driving and vehicle registration privileges will be suspended. Your privileges will remain suspended until you comply fully with the order(s) of suspension by paying the balance of the amount due and maintaining proof of financial responsibility for the required period.
- Default on the agreement also suspends the driving and vehicle registration privileges of any vehicle co-owners, unless the co-owners have separate payment plan agreements for the vehicle or have paid the fee in full.
- In the case of default, you are no longer in the payment plan and are not eligible to participate in any future payment plans.
- What if I own multiple uninsured vehicles?
- In order to pay the total balance by the end of the payment plan period, you must make the minimum monthly payment of $25 per vehicle.
- Can I legally drive after entering into the payment plan?
- Yes, with an active driver’s license. When you pay the $145 reinstatement fee, you may legally drive. If you default on the payment plan, your driving and vehicle registration privileges will be suspended.