Requesting a Police Crash Report from DMV
The Department of Motor Vehicles maintains the official record of all reportable crashes occurring within the Commonwealth. Crashes may be reported by law enforcement (FR300P) or by an individual involved (FR200 ). DMV maintains the reports for a minimum of 36 months from the date of the crash. Sections 46.2-379 and 46.2-380 of the Code of Virginia control the release of data from the reports.
Who May Request a Crash Report
Individuals involved in the crash:
In accordance with § 46.2-380 of the Code of Virginia, DMV will release a complete crash report to persons involved in the crash or to their authorized representatives. This includes the following:
- Driver, injured person, property owner, passenger, or vehicle owner
- Personal representative of any person involved (e.g., conservator, executor)
- Attorney representing any person involved
- Authorized representative of an insurance company
- Parent or legal guardian of a minor (under age 18) injured or killed in the crash
- Next of kin of a person (age 18 or older) injured or killed in the crash
- Person with written permission of an individual directly injured in the crash
Individuals not involved in the crash:
In accordance with § 46.2-379 of the Code of Virginia, DMV may disclose the following information, if available, from a police crash report (FR300P) on request of any person allowed under another federal or state law to obtain such information.
- Date, time, and location of the crash
- Name and address of each driver
- Name of each vehicle owner
- Name of each injured person
- Name of each witness
- Name of one investigating officer
How to Request a Crash Report
To request an accident report, submit either a written request or a completed Information Request Form (CRD 93), along with your payment. The written request must include:
- Crash involvement (e.g., driver, injured person, vehicle owner, etc.)
- Crash date and time
- Crash location (street, city/town/county)
- Driver name
- Driver's license number (must be provided if the requester was involved in the crash)
Requests may be submitted either:
- By mail:
- Customer Records Work Center, Room 514
- Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
- Post Office Box 27412
- Richmond, VA 23269
- By fax at (804) 367-0390
- At a customer service center
The fee is $8.00 per crash report requested. NOTE:This fee is required even if the crash report is not found in DMV records.
- Requests by mail: Mailed requests must be accompanied by a check or money order, as DMV no longer accepts credit card payments via mail.
- Requests by fax: Submit a completed "License, ID Card and Records Payment Authorization" (form DMS 004) along with the written request or completed Information Request Form (CRD 93).
- Requests at a customer service center (CSC): Payment can be made as cash or by check, money order, or credit card.
High volume requesters may elect to be billed and must supply the name of their company and federal identification number.
Receiving the Accident Report
The requested documents will be sent via U.S. Postal Service first class mail.