JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov


Remote Testing in Schools

DMV’s remote testing program is a partnership with the Department of Education and private schools. Using web-based technology, students can access the DMV knowledge test in a proctored setting at their schools, instead of having a parent take them to a DMV office. Students immediately receive their test results. Upon successful completion, students are issued a “testing ticket” to take to a DMV customer service center for expedited processing.

Parents, students, and school administrators appreciate the convenient service. Our vendor partner produced a short video about our success.

There is no cost to the schools to participate. Schools just need a computer lab with Internet access and a staff member to proctor the exams. DMV will set up the program and help train staff.

Participating Schools and Localities

Below are many of the localities and schools taking advantage of DMV’s remote testing:

  • Bristol – Virginia High School
  • Buchanan County - Grundy High School
  • Charlottesville - Charlottesville High School
  • Chesterfield County - Carver College & Career Academy and Midlothian High School
  • Culpeper – Culpeper and Eastern View High Schools
  • Cumberland County High School
  • Essex - St. Margaret's School
  • Fairfax County– Centreville and Westfield High Schools
  • Fluvanna - Fluvanna County High School
  • Franklin County High School
  • Goochland County – Goochland High School
  • Henrico – Deep Run, Freeman, Glen Allen, Godwin, Henrico, Hermitage, Highland Springs, Tucker, and Varina High Schools, and The Academy at Virginia Randolph
  • Loudoun – Dominion, Freedom, Heritage, John Champe, Loudoun County, Park View, Potomac Falls, Rock Ridge and Stone Bridge High Schools
  • Lunenburg – Central High School
  • Madison County High School
  • Manassas Park City - Manassas Park High School
  • Montgomery – Blacksburg, Christiansburg, and Eastern Montgomery High Schools
  • Newport News – Denbigh, Warwick and Woodside High Schools
  • Norton City – John I Burton High School
  • Page – Luray and Page County High Schools
  • Powhatan County – Powhatan High School
  • Prince William - Patriot High School.
  • Richmond City – Armstrong, Franklin Military Academy, George Wythe, Huguenot, John Marshall, Maggie Walker Governor's School, Open, Richmond Community, and Thomas Jefferson High Schools and Church Hill Academy
  • Roanoke County - Roanoke Valley Christian Schools
  • Rockingham County – Broadway, East Rockingham, Spotswood and Turner Ashby High Schools and Eastern Mennonite School
  • Russell – Castlewood High School
  • Scott – Twin Springs and Rye Cove High Schools
  • Shenandoah – Central, Strasburg, and Stonewall Jackson High Schools
  • Spotsylvania High School
  • Staunton - Robert E. Lee High School
  • Waynesboro City - Waynesboro High

DMV values the partnerships we have created and welcome the opportunity to serve all public and private schools in the Commonwealth. If your school is not participating in DMV’s remote testing program, ask it to contact DMV to find out how it can join.