JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Applying for a TNC Certificate of Fitness

To apply for a TNC Certificate of Fitness, you may select one of two options.

  1. Option 1:
    • Submit a completed Transportation Network Company Operating Authority Certificate Application (form OA 152).
    • Pay a filing fee of $100,000. This may be paid by check, E-Check, or ACH credit. If your application is not approved, $90,000 of the application fee is refundable.
    • File either a Passenger Carrier and Passenger Broker Bond (form OA 435) or a For-Hire Operating Authority Certificate or License Irrevocable Letter of Credit (form OA 447) in the amount of $25,000.
  2. Option 2:
    • Submit a completed Transportation Network Company Operating Authority Certificate Application (form OA 152).
    • File either a Passenger Carrier and Passenger Broker Bond (form OA 435) or a For-Hire Operating Authority Certificate or License Irrevocable Letter of Credit (form OA 447) in the amount of $25,000.
    • When obtaining a driver transcript for each of your partners with a Virginia driver’s license, pay a $20 surcharge in addition to the standard fees and charges that apply to driver transcripts.

Mail all documents for either option to:

  • Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Motor Carrier Services (TNC)
  • P. O. Box 27412
  • Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001

Denial of a TNC Certificate of Fitness

In accordance with § 46.2-2001.1 of the Code of Virginia, an application for a TNC Certificate of Fitness will be denied if the applicant has been convicted of or assessed a civil penalty for operating, offering, advertising, providing, procuring, furnishing, or arranging the transportation of passengers for compensation, without first obtaining the required license, permit, or certificate. The denial period will extend 12 months from the date of the final disposition of the conviction or the date that the civil penalty was assessed.

Chapter 20 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia provides that the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles may:

  • Deny your application for a certificate of fitness, or
  • Suspend or revoke an existing certificate of fitness.

You should review § 46.2-2011.24 of the Virginia Code for reasons why Virginia DMV may deny, suspend, or revoke the certificate of fitness.