
Changes to Virginia’s 
Property Carrier Laws

Legislation has changed many rules involving 
motor vehicles used to transport property 
for hire. The following highlights some of the 
most important changes—effective January 1, 
2018—and how they may affect your business.

Changes to Operating Authority 
Requirements

•	 Smaller vehicles used to transport 
property for hire may no longer 
need a permit or certificate from 
the Department of Motor Vehicles 
(DMV) to do business in Virginia. If 
you carry property for hire exclusively 
in passenger cars, motorcycles, 
autocycles, mopeds, and vehicles with 
a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) 
of 10,000 pounds or less, you are no 
longer required to declare that these 
are being used for hire; you may 
instead register the vehicles for private 
use. If all your vehicles are registered 
for private use, you do not need a 
permit or certificate to carry property 
for compensation.

•	 DMV no longer issues separate 
permits to bulk property carriers. 
Under the new law, there is only 
one classification of property carrier, 
which authorizes the transportation 
of all property (with the exception of 
household goods transported more 
than 30 miles, which still requires a 
separate certificate of fitness). 

in sanctions. Depending on the nature of the 
offense, possible sanctions include the denial, 
suspension or revocation of your operating 
authority and the imposition of criminal and/
or civil penalties. For more information, please 
consult the Virginia Motor Carrier Manual 
(DMV 248), which is available on DMV’s 
website.

For More Information

If you have any questions, please contact DMV 
Motor Carrier Services at (804) 249-5130 or 
mcsonline@dmv.virginia.gov.

•	 No courier services are exempt from 
the requirement to carry liability 
insurance.  There is no longer an 
exemption for courier vehicles with 
a registered gross weight of 7,500 
pounds or less. Under the new law, 
all couriers need to carry liability 
insurance in the amounts indicated 
below.

Penalties

DMV reminds you that improperly registering 
your vehicle or otherwise operating in violation 
of Virginia’s property carrier laws could result 

Vehicle Minimum amount of liability insurance

Passenger car, motorcycle, 
autocycle, moped, or any  
vehicle with a GVWR of 7,500 
pounds or less

o	From the time you accept a request to transport property and are en route to pick it up 
until the time you have delivered the property:

	$100,000 per person, $300,000 per incident for death and bodily injury

	$50,000 per incident for property damage

o	At any other time you have made yourself available to transport property for 
compensation:

	$25,000 per person, $50,000 per incident for death and bodily injury

	$20,000 per incident for property damage

o	If you do not register your vehicle as for hire, then, when it is not being used 
commercially it is subject to the same insurance requirements as other private vehicles.

Vehicle with GVWR of 7,501-
10,000 pounds 

o	Any time you have made yourself available to transport property for compensation, 
including from the time you accept a request to transport property and are en route to 
pick it up until the time you have delivered the property:

	$300,000 per incident

o	If you do not register your vehicle as for hire, then, when it is not being used 
commercially it is subject to the same insurance requirements as other private vehicles.

Vehicle with GVWR over 10,000 
pounds

$750,000 per incident at all times
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The minimum amount of insurance you need depends upon the size of your vehicle, as 
outlined below.



•	 The $10 annual fee that DMV collects 
for most vehicles used by intrastate 
carriers transporting property no 
longer applies to passenger cars, 
motorcycles, autocycles, mopeds, 
or vehicles with a GVWR of 10,000 
pounds or less. Note: You will not be 
charged the $10 annual fee for these 
vehicles even if you operate other 
vehicles with a GVWR above 10,000 
pounds.

Changes to Insurance Requirements

•	 Only carriers who are required 
to hold a permit or certificate of 
fitness from DMV need to provide 
the agency with proof of insurance 
coverage. If you transport property 
exclusively in smaller vehicles and do 
not register those vehicles as being 
for hire (see “Changes to Operating 
Authority Requirements”), you do not 
need to file evidence of your insurance 
with DMV; you simply need to obtain 
insurance coverage in the amounts 
indicated on the next page. 

•	 Only carriers who transport 
household goods need to have cargo 
insurance. Even for these carriers, 
cargo insurance is not required 
if the household goods are being 
transported exclusively in passenger 
cars, motorcycles, autocycles, mopeds, 
and vehicles with a GVWR of 10,000 
pounds or less. For carriers who 
are subject to the cargo insurance 
requirement, the minimum amount of 
insurance coverage is $50,000.

•	 Virginia no longer regulates property 
brokers. Accordingly, property brokers 
no longer need to be licensed by DMV 
or maintain a surety bond or letter of 
credit on file with the agency.

•	 There has been a change in what 
it means to be a household goods 
carrier. The new law defines 
“household goods” as property for 
use in a dwelling, which is being 
transported either between residences 
or between a residence and a storage 
facility with the intent to later be 
transported to a residence. If you use 
your operating authority as a household 
goods carrier to transport other 
property—such as carrying appliances 
from a retail store to a residence—you 
will need to obtain a property carrier 
permit in order to continue providing 
those other services.

Changes to Vehicle Requirements

•	 Property carriers are no longer 
required to use license plates with 
a “for hire” (or “H”) designation; 
they may instead use regular, private 
plates. What this means for you 
depends upon the type of vehicles you 
operate.

o	 Vehicles that are required to use 
truck or tractor plates. DMV 
no longer produces specially 
designated for-hire license plates 
for trucks and tractors. If your 
vehicle currently has such license 
plates, you may continue to 
use them. Once DMV’s current 
supply is gone, DMV will issue 

only truck and tractor plates 
without the for-hire designation.

o	 Passenger vehicles. DMV will 
continue to produce for-
hire license plates for use on 
passenger cars, motorcycles, 
autocycles, mopeds, and vehicles 
with a GVWR of 7,500 pounds 
or less because these plates 
will continue to be required for 
carriers who transport passengers 
for hire.

o	 Tow trucks. The new law does 
not affect tow truck plates. 

•	 In general, before a vehicle can 
be used to transport property for 
compensation, it must be registered 
with DMV as a for-hire vehicle. 
This requirement applies not only to 
vehicles operated by carriers who are 
required to have operating authority, 
but also to the vehicles of most 
carriers who otherwise are exempt 
from regulation by DMV. The only 
exceptions to this requirement to 
declare for-hire use are:

o	 vehicles owned and operated 
by a federal, state or local 
governmental entity, including 
any political subdivision of the 
Commonwealth; and 

o	 vehicles owned by carriers 
who transport property for 
compensation exclusively in 
passenger cars, motorcycles, 
autocycles, mopeds, and vehicles 
with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds 
or less.


