Virginia's
Size, Weight and Equipment
Requirements

for trucks, trailers and towed vehicles

AEEESESEEEEEEEDNE
ia Departmentof Motor Vehicles
PR




Introduction

The material in this booklet has been condensed from the Motor Vehicle Code of Virginia and explains the size, weight and
equipment requirements for trucks, trailers, and towed vehicles. Additional information may be obtained by contacting the

agencies listed below.

Motor Carrier Credentials

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, VA 23269

(804) 249-5130

dmv.virginia.gov

Motor Carrier Service Centers

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
(Weigh Stations)

(804) 497-7121

(804) 367-1746 (Fax)

dmv.virginia.gov

Virginia Dyed Fuel Program
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
(804) 367-2690 or 367-2657

(800) 272-9268 (hearing impaired only)
dmv.virginia.gov

Hauling Permits

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
P O. Box 27412

Richmond, Virginia 23269

(804) 786-2787

www.EZhaulvirginia.com
haulingpermit@dmv.virginia.gov

Virginia State Police (VSP)
P. O. Box 27472

Richmond, VA 23261

(804) 674-2000

Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Excise Tax
(804) 916-8300

EPA, Office of Transportation and Air Quality
Diesel Sulfur Content 1-800-385-6164

Emergency Road Conditions
1-800-367-ROAD (7623)
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Section 1: Size Limitations

Sectionl.. =

Size Limitatior

Interstate and Designated Highways - Virginia
Code §46.2-1105 and 46.2-1112

Maximum Length

TIUCK e 40 feet excluding load
Semi-trailer.........cccovvveeeiiiiiinnnnn, 48 feet including load
Semi-trailer.........ccoeveeeiiiiiinnnnnn, 53 feet including load*
Twin Trailers.....ooveeeveeeveiiiieen, 28 feet 6 inches each
including load
Combinations ..........cccoeeeverirennn. No overall length restrictions
Automobile and Watercraft
Transporter .......coovcvveveeiieiineenenn, 65 feet plus 3 foot

overhang to front and
4 foot overhang to rear
Stinger-steered Automobile
TranSPOrter ......ccovvvvveeeeeiiiiieeeenn 80 feet plus four-foot over
hang to front and six-foot
overhang to rear
Watercraft Transporters................ 75 feet plus three-foot
overhang to front and four-
foot overhang to rear
Motor Home and Bus.................. 65 feet including load

*Provided the spacing between the kingpin of the semi-
trailer and rearmost axle or a point midway between the rear
tandem axle does not exceed 41 feet.

Maximum Width

All Vehicles ... 102 inches excluding
mirror and any warning
device installed on a
school bus

Maximum Height
All VEhICIES .....ccvveeiiiieieeii 13 feet 6 inches

Maximum Number of Vehicles in Combination

Tractor trucks may not have more than one semi-trailer
attached. Trucks may not have more than one trailer attached.

Virginia law specifies that three motor vehicles may be drawn
by a saddle mount device when operated on an interstate
highway in a drive away service from factory to dealer and the
combination does not exceed 97 feet.

Towaway trailer combinations may operate with a length of
not more than 82 feet if the gross weight does not exceed
26,000 pounds.
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Non-Interstate and Non-Designated Highways

Maximum Length

TPUCK . 40 feet excluding load
Semi-trailer.......coovvvinieniiiee, 53 feet*

TWIN Trailers.......ocovveieenieiee Not permitted**

Tractor Semi-trailer

Combinations..........cccveeveeieeniennne. No overall length limitations

except where prohibited
Combination of a towing vehicle and any
manufactured home...................... 65 feet including load***

*Provided the spacing between the kingpin of the semi-trailer
and rearmost axle or a point midway between the rear tandem
axles does not exceed 41 feet.

**However, these vehicles may be operated on any highway
designated by the Commonwealth Transportation Board (STAA
Approved Routes).

***\/ehicles designed and used exclusively for the
transportation of motor vehicles may have additional load
overhang not to exceed 3 feet on the front of the vehicle and
4 feet on the back of the vehicle. (See below for additional
information on extended loads.)

Maximum Width

All Vehicles.......cocoveviiiiiiieie 102 inches excluding mirror
and any warning device
installed on a school bus

Maximum Height
All Vehicles........cooveeveeiiiiciiiiinnee, 13 feet 6 inches

Maximum Number of Vehicles in Combination

Tractor trucks may not have more than one semi-trailer
attached. Trucks may not have more than one trailer attached.
Two motor vehicles may be drawn together if coupled by a
saddle mount device.

Extended Loads on All Highways

Loads may not extend more than 3 feet beyond the front of a
vehicle or vehicle combination and may not extend more than
6 inches beyond the line of the fender or body on either side
of a vehicle or vehicle combination.

If the load on a noncommercial vehicle extends more than

four feet beyond the rear of the bed or body then the vehicle is
required to display a red flag, at least 12 inches in length and in
width, at the end of the load in such a position as to be clearly
visible at all times from the rear of the load.

Any commercial motor vehicle transporting a load that extends
beyond the sides of the vehicle by more than four inches

or more than four feet beyond the rear of the vehicle must
have the extremities of the load marked with a red or orange,
fluorescent warning flag. Any such warning flag shall be at least
18 inches, both in length and width. If the projecting load is
two feet wide or less, there must be at least one flag at the
extreme rear. If the projecting load is wider than two feet, there
must be at least two warning flags at the extreme rear.
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Flags must be located to indicate the maximum widths of any
load that extends beyond the sides or rear of the commercial
motor vehicle.

Between sunset and sunrise, any vehicle that is required to

be flagged must also display, at the end of the load, a red light
plainly visible in clear weather at least 500 feet to the sides and
rear of the vehicle.

Section2. =
Weight Limitatit
EEE

Maximum Weight Limitations - Virginia Code
846.2-1122
The weights shown below are the maximum allowed

except when operating under the authority of an overload
permit as outlined on page 7.

ANy one axle......ccccevvvviiiiee e 20,000 pounds
Tandem Axles (more than 40 inches but no more than 96
inches spacing between axle centers)........ 34,000 pounds
Single Unit

(2 AXIE) e 40,000 pounds
Single Unit

(BAXIE) et 54,000 pounds
Single Unit (4 AXIE) ...covvvveeeiiiiiiiiiicciiies See chart page 5
Tractor-Semitrailer

(BAXIE) et 60,000 pounds
Tractor-Semitrailer

(4 AXIE) ..o 74,000 pounds

(5 AXIE) et 80,000 pounds

(B AXIE) ..t 80,000 pounds

Tractor-Twin Trailers
(5 0rmore AXIES) ....eevvviiiiiiiiiee 80,000 pounds

Other Combinations
(5 0r more AXIES) ....eeeveeeiiiiiiiieee e 80,000 pounds

Per inch of tire width in contact
with road surface........ccocceeevvivieeecciinne, 650 pounds

The weights listed above are the maximum weight limits
allowed. No vehicle can travel on Virginia highways with
a single axle weight in excess of 20,000 pounds, tandem
axle weight in excess of 34,000 pounds, or a gross weight
in excess of 80,000 pounds.
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2 Axle Truck

Axle
Weinhe ! { 3 Axde Truck
20,000 20,000 ‘
toot
20,000 20,000
20,000
4 Axle Truck S00e

.Axle T

Weight
20,000 (see chart on page 5)

3 Axle Tractor Truck & Semi-Trailer

20,000

20,000
Axle
Weight

4 Axle Tractor Truck & Semi-Trailer

20,000 20,000 20, ODD

Axle 34, UGO
Weight

5 Axle Tractor Truck & Semi-Trailer

20,000 20,000 20,000 20,000

20,000
Axle 34,000 34,000
Weight

6 Axle Tractor Truck & Semi-Trailer

20,000 20,000 20,000

Axle 34,000
Weight

(see chart on page 5)

3 Axle Tractor Truck & Semi-Trailer
with 2 Axle Trailer

-

20,000 20,000 20,000

20 000

20,000
Axle
Weight

Maximum gross weight is determined by the number of
axles and the distance between the first and last axles.
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Section 2: Weight Limitations

Axle and Gross Weight Limits - Virginia Code
§46.2-1126

The maximum gross weight is determined by the number
of axles on a vehicle and the distance between the first
axle (steering) and extreme rear axle. The following
examples give the maximum allowable gross weight of
each vehicle.

This 5 axle vehicle with 51 feet of axle spacing
is allowed a maximum gross weight of 80,000
pounds.

This 5 axle vehicle with 47 feet of axle spacing
is allowed a maximum gross weight of 77,500
pounds.

This 3 axle vehicle with 20 feet of axle spacing
is allowed a maximum gross weight of 51,000
pounds.
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This 3 axle vehicle with 17 feet of axle spacing
is allowed a maximum gross weight of 48,500
pounds.

A vehicle may not exceed a single axle weight of
20,000 pounds or a tandem axle weight of 34,000
pounds. Therefore, some vehicles cannot be loaded
to the maximum allowable gross weight because the
tandem axle or single axle weights would exceed
legal weight limits.
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Section 2: Weight Limitations

. . Maxi Weight in Pounds Carried G f AxI
Weight Allowed Based on Axle Spacing aximum Weight in Pounds Carried on any Group of Axles

o 2 Axles | 3Axles | 4 Axles | 5Axles | 6 Axles | 7 Axles
Virginia Code §46.2-1126 2 T
The maximum gross weight is determined by the total S 34,000
number of axles and by measuring the distance between 6 34,000
the first axle (steering) and extreme rear axle. The 7 34.000
maximum weight allowance for axle groups is determined 8 34,000 | 34.000
by measuring the distance between the center of the first 5 29000 | 42500
axle and the center of the last axle and the number of ’ -
axles within a specific axle group. Look up the distance LD || ADIED | sEsil
between axles and the appropriate number of axles or 11 44,000
axle groups on the chart to obtain the maximum gross or 12 45,000 | 50,000
axle group weight allowance. 13 45,000 | 50,500
Any motor vehicle that utilizes an auxiliary power unit 1 G O B
or other idle reduction technology in order to promote 15 47,000 | 52,000
reduction of fuel use and emissions due to engine idling 8 16 48,000 [ 52,500 | 58,000
shall be allowed, in accordance to §46.2-1129.1, up - 17 48,500 | 53,500 | 58,500
to an additional 550 pounds total in gross, single axle, o8 18 49500 | 54,000 | 59,000
tandem axle, or bridge formula weight limits. g% 19 50,000 | 54,500 | 60,000
.
Any motor vehicle that is fueled, wholly or partially, by f, ;‘” 20 51,000 | 55,500 | 60,500 | 66,000
natural gas shall be allowed, in accordance to §46.2- By 21 51,500 | 56,000 | 61,000 | 66,500
1129.2 up to an additional 2,000 pounds total in gross, 22 22 52,500 | 56,500 | 61,500 | 67,000
single axle, tandem axle or bridge formula weight limits. o 23 53,000 | 57,500 | 62,500 | 68,000
In addition, on an interstate highway, any motor vehicle 2‘5 o4 54.000 | 58,000 | 63,000 | 68,500 | 74.000
tha_t is fgelt_ad prim_arily _by natural gas may exceed the e " 22500 | 28500 | 63500 | 69000 | 74500
weight limits provided in §846.2-1127 by 2,000 pounds. 58 ’ ’ ’ ’ ’
However, the gross weight of such vehicle shall not 95 |26 23,500 || G2y || SO || EaY || 7ty
exceed 82,000 pounds. g g 27 56,000 | 60,000 | 65,000 | 70,000 | 75,500
:’;jg 28 57,000 | 60,500 | 65,500 | 71,000 | 76,500
pe) 29 57,500 | 61,500 | 66,000 | 71,500 | 77,000
ﬁg 30 58,500 | 62,000 | 66,500 | 72,000 | 77,500
8 c 31 59,000 | 62,500 | 67,500 | 72,500 | 78,000
%% 32 60,000 | 63,500 | 68,000 [ 73,000 | 78,500
- £ 33 64,000 | 68,500 | 74,000 | 79,500
,?é 2 34 64,500 | 69,000 | 74,500 | 80,000
£ ?). 35 65,500 | 70,000 | 75,000
% g 36 66,000 | 70,500 | 75,500
= 37 66,500 | 71,000 | 76,000
& 38 67,500 | 72,000 | 77,000
39 68,000 | 72,500 | 77,500
40 68,500 | 73,000 | 78,000
41 69,500 | 73,500 | 78,500
42 70,000 | 74,000 | 79,000
43 70,500 | 75,000 | 80,000
44 71,500 | 75,500
45 72,000 | 76,000
46 72,500 | 76,500
47 73,500 | 77,500
48 74,000 | 78,000
49 74,500 | 78,500
50 75,500 | 79,000
51 76,000 | 80,000
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Section 2: Weight Limitations

Overweight Penalties - Virginia Code §46.2-1134

The following chart outlines fees charged for overweight
vehicles. In addition, the owner, operator, or other person
responsible for the overweight violation will be charged a $25
civil penalty, a $20 processing fee, a $2 weighing fee, plus
additional liquidated damages of $20.

Violation Type and
Overweight Amount (in
pounds)
Axle Weight
2,000 pounds or less
2,001 to 4,000 |JL:nt|r1d-_.'
4,001 to 8,000 pounds
8,001 to 12,000 pounds
12,001 pounds or more
Gross Weight*
2,000 pounds or less
2,001 to 4,000 pounds
4,007 to 8,000 pounds
8,001 to 12,000 pounds
12,001 pounds or more
Permit Gross Weight**
All violations

Assessment per
Pound

1 cent per pound
3 cents per pound
12 cents per pound
22 cents per pound

35 cents ivr iuu nd

1 cent per pound
3 cents per pound
7 cents per pound
12 cents per pound

20 cents per pound
20 cents per pound
*If the vehicle’s gross weight exceeds the weight limit by 25% to 50%, the

assessment is doubled. If the gross weight is over 50%, the assessment is
tripled.

**Fines are assessed based on the weight in excess of the permit.

Forest or farm products hauled from the place where such
products are first produced, cut, harvested, or felled to the
location where they are first processed are assessed the
following overweight fees.

Violation Type and
Overweight Amount (in
pounds)
Axle Weight
4,000 pounds or less
4,007 to 8,000 pounds
8,001 to 12,000 pounds

12,001 pounds or more 30 cents per pound
Gross Weight E——

4,000 pounds 1 cent per pound
4,001 to 8,000 pounds 5 cents per pound
8,001 to 12,000 pounds | 10 cents per pound
12,001 pounds or more | 15 cents per pound

Assessment per Pound

1 cent per pound
10 cents per pound
20 cents per pound

*If the vehicle’s gross weight exceeds the weight limit by 25% to 50%, the

assessment is doubled. If the gross weight is over 50%, the assessment is tripled.

Within 21 days from the citation date, the owner, operator
or person charged with a weight violation must make full
payment of the assessed fees and penalties to DMV or inform
DMV of intent to contest the charge in court as a civil case.

6 I VIRGINIA'S SIZE,

Citation payments can be made:

Online:
www.dmv.virginia.gov/apps/cts/intro.aspx
By mail:
PO. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269
In person
Visit any DMV Motor Carrier Service Center (weigh
station) or any DMV Customer Service Center

Contest notifications can be made:

WEIGHT AND

By email:
citationtracking@dmuv.virginia.gov
By mail:
PO. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269
In person
Visit any DMV Customer Service Center

Section3. =
Commercial Dr
License™ =

Commercial Driver’s License Program

The safety of our roads is important to all of us, and operating
a commercial vehicle is a big responsibility. Virginia’s
Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) program requires CDL
applicants demonstrate they can safely operate a commercial
vehicle in order to be licensed and swiftly removes problem
drivers from the road to keep everyone safe.

Who are Commercial Drivers?

Commercial drivers are all persons, paid or volunteer, who
operate commercial motor vehicles. Volunteer drivers of
church buses, private or public school buses and mechanics
who test drive commercial vehicles must meet commercial
driver’s license requirements.

Commercial driver’s license requirements don’'t apply to:
» operators of emergency vehicles, such as firefighters
» active duty military personnel operating military vehicles
» operators of farm vehicles when:
» used by farmers

» used to move farm goods, supplies or machinery
to or from their farm

EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS



» not used as a common or contract motor carrier,
and

» used within 150 miles of the farm

» vehicles operated by persons only for personal use, such
as recreational vehicles and rental moving vans

» operators of covered farm vehicles that are registered in
Virginia or another state as a farm vehicle with a license
plate or other designation that allows it to be identified
as a farm vehicle when:

» Operated by the owner or operator of a farm or a
ranch or by an employee or family member of an
owner or operator of a farm or ranch;

» Used to transport agricultural commodities,
livestock, machinery, or supplies to or from a farm
or ranch;

» Not used in for-hire motor carrier operations;

» Not used in transporting hazardous materials
requiring placarding;

» Operated only inside of Virginia or, if crossing
state lines, within 150 air miles of the farm or
ranch if the vehicle’s gross vehicle weight or gross
vehicle weight rating, whichever is greater, is
more than 26,001 pounds OR, without mileage
limitations if the vehicle’s gross vehicle weight or
gross vehicle weight rating, whichever is greater,
is 26,001 pounds or less.

CDL Classifications

The vehicle’s class determines the type of CDL and endorsements
that you need. The class of a vehicle is determined by its gross
vehicle weight rating and the manufacturer’s design.

Class A

Any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight
rating of 26,001 pounds or more if the vehicle(s) being towed
have a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds. Vehicles in this
class include:

» tractor-trailer
» truck and trailer combinations
» tractor-trailer buses

If you hold a class A license and you have the correct
endorsements, you may also operate vehicles listed in classes
B and C.

Class B

Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more.
Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more
towing another vehicle with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or
less. This class includes:

» straight trucks
» large buses

VIRGINIA'™S SI1ZE,
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» segmented buses

» trucks towing vehicles with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds
or less

If you hold a class B license and you have the correct
endorsements, you may also operate vehicles listed in class C.

Class C

Any vehicle that is not included in classes A or B that carries
hazardous materials requiring placards or is designed to carry
16 or more passengers, including the driver.

Visit www.dmv.virginia.gov for information, requirements

and study materials to apply for a commercial driver’s license
or commercial learner’s permit.

Section 4:

Permits
T F

5% Overload - Virginia Code §46.2-1128

The owner of any motor vehicle may obtain a 5% extension
of single axle, tandem axle and gross weight by purchasing an
overload permit. The permit extends the single axle weight
limit of 20,000 pounds, tandem axle weight limit of 34,000
pounds and gross weight limit based upon axle spacing and
the number of axles.

Interstate travel is restricted to 80,000 pounds maximum.
However, motor carriers may purchase an appropriate
overload permit to extend their maximum weight to 84,000
pounds to travel on non-interstate highways.

Permits are valid for one year and may be purchased
annually at the time of registration. The permit fee for the 5%
extension is $250.

The Department of Motor Vehicles makes the permit available
to vehicles registered outside Virginia under the same
conditions that are applicable to vehicles registered in Virginia.

The owner of any vehicle used for hauling Virginia-grown
forest or farm products from the place where they are first
produced, cut, harvested, or felled to the location where they
are first processed may also receive an additional 5% extension
of the single axle, tandem axle, and gross weight limits.
However, no permit shall authorize the gross weight to exceed
84,000 pounds.
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Section 4: Permits

Vehicles that are registered as farm use vehicles (as provided
in 846.2-698) may operate as authorized under this section
without a permit or payment of a fee. However, if a vehicle
violates the weight limits permitted by this section and
846.2-1129, the vehicle owner or operator must apply for and
receive a permit and pay the permit fee to operate the vehicle
as described in this section.

No permit allows the operation of any vehicle on the federal
interstate system with a single axle weight in excess of 20,000
pounds, a tandem axle weight in excess of 34,000 pounds or a
gross weight greater than that permitted in 846.2-1126 based
on axle spacing in excess of 80,000 pounds (unless otherwise
permitted by a Virginia Hauling Permit).

Overload permits cannot be used in conjunction with
overweight hauling permits. The only exception to this rule
applies to concrete haulers. Concrete haulers can purchase an
overload permit up to 5% above the authorization allowed by
overweight hauling permits.

Overload permits for vehicles registered under the
International Registration Plan (IRP) are available through
DMV’s VirginiaMCS system. Overload permits for other
vehicles may be obtained at www.dmv.virginia.gov/
commercial/#mcs/programs/overload/index.asp, any DMV
customer service center or from:

Department of Motor Vehicles

P O. Box 27412

Richmond, VA 23269

(804) 367-0492

Oversize/Overweight Hauling Permits

A hauling permit is a document that authorizes movement
of overweight and/or overdimensional vehicle configurations
over the state highway system. Each permit contains routing
information, travel regulations and safety requirements.

If your vehicle configuration is reduced to its smallest
dimensions possible and still exceeds the limitations identified
below, you must obtain a hauling permit prior to traveling over
Virginia’s highways. You cannot create an over-dimensional or
overweight situation by hauling or towing multiple items.

Maximum Dimensions allowed before a Hauling Permit
is required:

» Height: 13 feet 6 inches
» Width: 8 feet 6 inches

» Length (motorized vehicles other than buses or motor
homes): 40 feet

» Length (trailers): 48 feet (53-foot trailers are allowed on
interstate system)

» Length (vehicle/trailer combination): 65 feet; Overhang:
4 feet — rear; 3 feet - front

IVIRGINIA’S SIZE, WEIGHT
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» Weight (single axle): 20,000 pounds
» Weight (tandem axle): 34,000 pounds

» Legal Limit Weight - Gross weight of the vehicle,
including load, exceeds the weight limits as defined
in the chart on page 5.

Oversize/overweight permits are available only when:
» no other form of transportation is available, AND
» the load cannot be reduced to meet legal limits.

Empty, oversized and overweight, rubber-tired, self-propelled
haulers used in the construction and coal mining industries
are eligible to operate under the authority of an oversize/
overweight permit. An oversized/overweight permit may be
issued only after VDOT has conducted an engineering analysis
to ensure that the desired route can support the vehicle’s size
and weight. The cost of the engineering analysis may also be
charged in addition to the permit fee.

Farm machinery, when temporarily propelled, hauled,
transported, or moved on the highway by a farm machinery
distributor or dealer, fertilizer distributor, or farmer in the
ordinary course of business, does not require an oversize or
overweight permit. However, commercial carriers must secure
appropriate permits prior to traveling on Virginia’s highways.
Overweight machinery may not be operated on the federal
interstate system.

The following examples explain situations that require an
oversize/overweight permit:

» Gross weight of the vehicle, including load, exceeds the
weight limits as defined in the chart on page 5.

» Vehicle width, including load, exceeds 8 feet and 6
inches

» Vehicle height, including load, exceeds 13 feet and 6
inches

» Length of a single unit vehicle exceeds 40 feet

» Length of manufactured housing unit and tow vehicle
exceeds 65 feet

» Length of tractor trailer combination exceeds 65 feet
and will travel on non-designated highways

» Hauling tree-length logs and the combination of the
vehicle and the tree-length logs exceeds 65 feet
» Hauling or towing a mobile home

You may contact the DMV Hauling Permit Office at (804)
786-2787 for oversize and overweight permit eligibility
requirements. Oversize/overweight permits are issued through
the DMV and can be applied for at www.ezhaulvirginia.com.
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Section 4: Permits

Single trip permit

Permit Type - Definitions Size/Weight limitations Cost
Height: 15ft.
Width:  15ft.

One move between origin and Length: 150ft. $20

destination

Regulatory reference:
» 24VAC20-82-50

Single Axle: 24,000 pounds

Tandem Axle: 44,000 pounds

Tri-Axle: Maximum weight based on total
amount of spacing between the centers of the
first and last axle in the 3 axle group

Quad Axle: Maximum weight based on total
number of axles in the configuration and total
amount of spacing between the centers of the
first and last axles.

Gross Weight: Maximum weight based on
total number of axles in the configuration and
total amount of spacing between the centers
of the first and last axles

No refunds or credits will be granted for
unused or expired permits.

Note: A mileage fee of 30 cents per mile
is added if overweight or if the vehicle
configuration cannot be licensed in Vir-
ginia. Mobile homes and Manufactured
housing will pay a flat fee of $1.00 in
lieu of the 30 cents per mile fee.

Superload single trip permit

Permit Type - Definitions

Size/Weight limitations

Cost

The overall size and/or weight of
the vehicle configuration requires
research and analysis

Regulatory reference:
» 24VAC-82-60
» 24-VAC-82-70

The overall size and/or weight of the vehicle
configuration requires research and analysis.

$30

No refunds or credits will be granted for
unused or expired permits.

Note: A mileage fee of 30 cents per mile
is added if overweight or if the vehicle
configuration cannot be licensed in
Virginia. Please call the Hauling Permits
Department at (804) 786-2787 for more
information.
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Section 4: Permits

Blanket permits

Permit Type - Definitions

Size/Weight limitations

Cost

Multiple moves over a specified
period of time

Regulatory reference:
» 24VAC20-82-80
» 24VAC20-82-90

Annual multi-trip (general blanket) permit

Height: 14ft.

Width:  14ft.

Length: 100ft.

Single Axle: 24,000 pounds

Tandem Axle: 44,000 pounds

Tri-Axle: Maximum weight based on axle
spacing between the centers of the first and
last axle in the 3-axle group

Quad Axle: Maximum weight based on axle
spacing between the centers of the first and
last axle in the 4-axle group

Gross Weight: Maximum weight based on
total number of axles in the configuration and
total amount of spacing between the centers

of the first and last axles

Superload multi-trip permit

The overall size and/or weight of the vehicle
configuration requires research and analysis.
The permits are issued on a case-by-case basis,
are route specific and valid for 3 months.

$100 for one year; $200 for two years

No refunds or credits will be granted for
unused or expired permits.

Note: A mileage fee of $40 and a
damage fee of $360 per year will be
added if overweight. If the vehicle
configuration cannot be licensed

in Virginia (Mobile homes and
Manufactured homes included), the
$40 mileage fee per year will apply.

$220 for 3 months
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Exempt Hauling Permits

The Code of Virginia allows the following oversize/overweight
permits to be issued specifically for the vehicles or load listed
in this section. Weight restrictions are provided for each
vehicle type. Contact DMV at (804) 786-2787 for additional

information.

Coal and Liquids Produced from Gas or Oil Wells —
Virginia Code §46.2-1143

Coal hauling permits will be issued free of charge for
vehicles with three axles that comply with the weight
requirements listed in the following chart. The load on any
vehicle operating under a permit must not rise above the
top of the truck bed or exceed the maximum bed size.

Section 4: Permits

Maximum bed size is computed by a formula using gross
weight minus the weight of the truck when empty, divided
by the average weight of coal. The average weight of coal
is 52 pounds per cubic foot. No such permit shall be valid
for the operation of any such vehicle for a distance of more
than 85 miles within the Commonwealth of Virginia from
the preparation plant, loading dock, or railroad.

Hauling liquids produced from gas or oil well does not
require a permit. However, in counties that impose a tax
on coal and gases extracted from the earth, the following
weight limits are valid for no more than 50 miles from the
origin to the destination within counties that impose a tax
on coal and gases extracted from the earth. No travel is
allowed on the federal interstate system.

Maximum Weights for Vehicles Hauling Coal and Liquids Produced from Gas or Oil Wells
Numberof | winimum | MaximumGros | MEENGES | Megn | e weign
Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (Ibs)
Three N/A 60,000 Ibs 24,000 Ibs 45,000 lbs N/A
Four N/A 70,000 Ibs 24,000 lbs N/A 50,000 lbs
Five 35 feet 90,000 Ibs 20,000 Ibs 40,000 Ibs N/A
Six N/A 110,000 Ibs 24,000 Ibs 44,000 lbs 54,500 Ibs

Maximum travel distance allowed: 85 miles from the preparation plant, loading dock or railroad.
No travel on federal interstate system allowed.

Gravel, Sand, Asphalt and Crushed Stone — Virginia Code

846.2-1143

The permit fee is $70 for one year or $140 for two years.

In countries that impose a severance tax on gases or a
severance license tax on coal producers, permits will be

Vehicles with four axles may have a maximum gross weight,
when loaded, of no more than 70,000 pounds, a single axle
weight of no more than 24,000 pounds, and a tri-axle weight
of no more than 50,000 pounds.

Vehicles with five axles having no less than 35 feet of axle

space between extreme axles may have a maximum gross

issued for vehicles hauling gravel, sand or crushed stone for a
distance of no more than 50 miles from origin to destination.
The permit does not authorize travel on the federal interstate
system.

Vehicles with three axles may have a maximum gross weight,
when loaded, of no more than 60,000 pounds, a single axle
weight of not more than 24,000 pounds and a tandem axle
weight of no more than 45,000 pounds.

weight, when loaded, of no more than 90,000 pounds, a
single axle weight of no more than 20,000 pounds, and a
tandem axle weight of no more than 40,000 pounds.

Vehicles with six axles may have a maximum gross weight,
when loaded, of no more than 110,000 pounds, a single axle
weight of no more than 24,000 pounds, a tandem axle weight
of no more than 44,000 pounds, and a tri-axle weight of no
more than 54,500 pounds.

Maximum Weights for Vehicles Hauling Gravel, Sand, Asphalt and Crushed Stone

Number Minimum Maximum Gross Maximum _Single Maximum Tgndem Maximum Tri-axle
of Axles Axle Spacing Weight Allowed (Ibs) Axle Weight Axle Weight Weight Allowed (Ibs)
Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (Ibs)
Three N/A 60,000 lbs 24,000 Ibs 45,000 Ibs N/A
Four N/A 70,000 lbs 24,000 Ibs N/A 50,000 Ibs
Five 35 feet 90,000 Ibs 20,000 Ibs 40,000 Ibs N/A
Six N/A 110,000 Ibs 24,000 Ibs 44,000 Ibs 54,500 Ibs
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Concrete Haulers — Virginia Code §46.2-1142

The permit fee is $130 for three or four-axle vehicles used exclusively for mixing concrete in transit or at a project site, or for
transporting necessary components in a compartmentalized vehicle to produce concrete immediately upon arrival at a project site.

Maximum Weights for Concrete Haulers
Minimum Maximum : . Maximum Tandem : :
of es | e | Grossweign | WEETEELITIRAE | Ade weight Weight Allowed (19
Spacing Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (Ibs)
Three N/A 60,000 lbs 20,000 Ibs 40,000 Ibs N/A
50,000 Ibs
No single axle in the
Four 22 feet 70,000 Ibs 20,000 Ibs N/A tri-axle group can exceed
20,000 Ibs

No travel on federal interstate system allowed.

Tank Wagons — Virginia Code 846.2-1144.1

The permit fee is $130. Two axle vehicles shall not exceed a
gross weight of 40,000 pounds, or 24,000 on a single axle.
This permit does not authorize travel on the federal interstate
system.

Underground Pipe Cleaning, Hydroexcavating, and Water
Blasting Equipment — Virginia Code 846.2-1149.5

The permit fee is $130 for one year.

Permit will be issued for the operation of underground pipe
cleaning, hydroexcavating, and water blasting equipment.
Any vehicle operating with this permit shall have a gross
weight of no more than 64,000 pounds, a single axle weight
of no more than 20,000 pounds, and a tandem axle weight of
no more than 44,000 pounds. This permit does not authorize
travel on the federal interstate system.

“Underground pipe cleaning equipment” means a self-
propelled motor vehicle manufactured for the specific
purpose of vacuuming and cleaning underground sanitary
and storm pipe. “Hydroexcavating equipment” means a
self-propelled motor vehicle manufactured for the specific
purpose of digging with water and vacuuming of debris.
“Water blasting equipment” means a self-propelled motor
vehicle manufactured for the specific purpose of waterblasting
flat concrete surfaces and vacuuming spent water for reuse.

Containerized Cargo and Fluid Milk — Virginia Code
§46.2-1141

The permit fee is $130 for fluid milk transported in a tank
vehicle and cargo transported in a sealed seagoing container
bound to or from a seaport. In order for a vehicle hauling
containerized cargo to qualify, the seagoing container shall
be transported via marine transport and the contents of the
seagoing container shall not be changed from the time it is
loaded to the time it is delivered.

Cotton Module - Virginia Code 846.2-1149.1

The permit fee is $45 for one year or $90 for two years for
vehicles used exclusively to transport seed cotton modules
between September 1 and December 31. The tandem axle
weights shall not exceed 44,000 pounds, the single axle
weights shall not exceed 20,000 pounds, and the gross weight
shall not exceed 56,000 pounds.

The permit does not authorize travel on the federal interstate
system.

Excavated Material — Virginia Code 846.2-1143.1

The permit fee is $130 for three or four-axle vehicles used
exclusively for hauling excavated materials from construction-
related land-clearing operations.

Excavated material is defined as natural earth materials,
includes stumps, brush, leaves, soil, and rocks removed by
any mechanized means. This permit does not authorize
travel on the federal interstate system.

Maximum Weights for Vehicles Hauling Excavated Materials

Number M'R';Peum Maximum Gross Max_imum Single Axle Maximum Tandem Axle Tri[\z/liilxem\}\llje%ht
of Axles Spacing Weight Allowed (Ibs) Weight Allowed (Ibs) Weight Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (Ibs)
Three N/A 60,000 Ibs 20,000 lbs 40,000 Ibs N/A
Four N/A 70,000 Ibs 20,000 lbs 40,000 Ibs N/A

Maximum travel distance allowed: 25 miles from land-clearing operation.

No travel on federal interstate system allowed.
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Specialized Equipment — Virginia Code §46.2-1149.4

The permit fee is $130 for self-propelled vehicles manufactured specifically for the purpose of supporting well-drilling machinery
on the job site. Movement of these vehicles on the highway must be incidental to the purpose for which the machinery was
designed and manufactured. Vehicles operating under this permit shall not exceed a gross weight of 64,000 pounds—20,000
pounds on a single axle or 44,000 pounds on a tandem axle. Travel on the federal interstate system is not allowed.

Solid Waste — Virginia Code §46.2-1144
The permit fee is $130 for two and three-axle vehicles used exclusively for hauling solid waste other than hazardous waste.

Section 4: Permits

Maximum Weights for Vehicles Hauling Solid Waste

. Maximum : : ; Maximum
Number Minimum ; Maximum Single Axle Maximum Tandem Axle : :
of Axles Axle Spacing ilrlc())?/f/:(\j/e(ll%z)t Weight Allowed (Ibs) Weight Allowed (Ibs) Txﬁ)xvl\?e\évgt')gs?t
Two N/A 40,000 Ibs 20,000 Ibs N/A N/A
Three N/A 60,000 lbs 20,000 Ibs 40,000 Ibs N/A

Maximum travel distance allowed: Within the boundary of the county or city where vehicle is principally garaged or 25 miles from where
the vehicle is principally garaged, whichever is greater.

No travel on federal interstate system allowed.

Virginia-Grown Farm Products — Virginia Code §46.2-1148
The permit fee is $45 for any three-axle vehicle, four-axle combination, or five-axle combination used exclusively for the

purpose of hauling Virginia-grown farm products from the point of origin to the first place of delivery.

Maximum Weights for Vehicles Hauling Virginia-grown Farm Products
Number of Minimum Maximu_m Maximum _Single Maximum Tandem Axle Maximum Tri-axle
Axles Axle Spacing Gross Weight Axle Weight Weight Allowed (Ibs) Weight Allowed (Ibs)
Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (Ibs)

Two N/A 40,000 Ibs 24,000 lbs 40,000 lbs N/A
Three N/A 60,000 Ibs 24,000 lbs 40,000 lbs N/A

Four N/A 70,000 lbs 24,000 Ibs 40,000 lbs 50,000 lbs

Five N/A 90,000 Ibs 24,000 Ibs 40,000 lbs 50,000 Ibs

No travel on federal interstate system allowed. Five-axle combinations must have no less than 42 feet of axle space between

extreme axles.
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Section 4: Permits

Farm Animal Feed - Virginia Code 846.2-1144.2
The permit fee is $130 for one year.

Permits will be issued to vehicles with specially designed five-
axle semi-trailer combinations with bulk feed compartments
and at least 51 feet of axle spacing between the first and

last axle and used exclusively for hauling farm animal feed.

Permits are valid for one year from the date of issuance. Such
permits shall not be combined with any other overweight
permits or extension of weight limits. The permit does not
authorize travel on the Federal Interstate system.

The gross weight cannot exceed 84,000 pounds, and a
tandem axle weight cannot exceed 37,400 pounds.

Maximum Weights for Vehicle Hauling Farm Animal Feed

Number Minimum Axle Maximum Gross MaAX;F;weiS'lee MaxAl)r(Tg%;anhctiem Maximum Tri-axle
of Axles Spacing Weight Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (?bs) Allowed (?bs) Weight Allowed (Ibs)
Five 51 feet 84,000 Ibs 20,000 Ibs 37,400 Ibs N/A

Forest Products — Virginia Code §46.2-1148.1
The permit fee is $130, as provided in §46.2-1140.1.

A forest product is defined as raw logs to market, rough-sawn
green lumber, and wood residuals, including wood chips,
sawdust, mulch, and tree bark.

Permits are issued for the operation of vehicles hauling forest
products transported from the place where they are first
produced, cut, harvested, or felled to the location where they
are first processed. Such permits shall allow the vehicles to
have a single-axle weight of no more than 24,000 pounds,

a tandem-axle weight of no more than 40,000 pounds, and

a tri-axle grouping weight of no more than 50,000 pounds.
Additionally, any five-axle combination having a minimum of
48 feet between the first and last axle may have a gross weight
of no more than 90,000 pounds, any four-axle combination
may have a gross weight of no more than 70,000 pounds, any

three-axle combination may have a gross weight of no more
than 60,000 pounds, and any two-axle combination may
have a gross weight of no more than 40,000 pounds.

No permit issued under this section shall designate the

route to be traversed, or contain restrictions, or conditions
not applicable to other vehicles in their general use of the
highways. However, no such permit shall authorize violation
of the length limitations in §46.2-1149.2, or any weight
limitation applicable to bridges or culverts, as promulgated
and posted in accordance with 846.2-1130. Nothing
contained in this section shall authorize any extension of
weight limits provided in §46.2-1127 for operation on
interstate highways.

Each vehicle when loaded according to the provisions of
a permit issued under this section shall be operated at a
reduced speed as provided in § 46.2-872.

Maximum Weights for Vehicles Hauling Forest Products

Number Minimum Axle Maximum Gross szi{gwe%iﬂgle MaxAi)rglwéJ%;%r;]?em Maximum Tri-axle
of Axles Spacing Weight Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (ibs) Allowed (Ibs) Weight Allowed (Ibs)

Two N/A 40,000 Ibs 24,000 lbs 40,000 Ibs N/A

Three N/A 60,000 lbs 24,000 lbs 40,000 Ibs N/A

Four N/A 70,000 Ibs 24,000 Ibs 40,000 lbs 50,000 Ibs

Five 48 feet 90,000 Ibs 24,000 Ibs 40,000 Ibs 50,000 Ibs

No travel on federal interstate system allowed.
IVIRGINIA’S SIZE, WEIGHT AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS




Articulated Buses — Virginia Code §46.2-1147
The permit fee is $130 one year and $260 for two years.

Permit will be issued for the operation of passenger buses
having three or more axles consisting of two sections
joined together by an articulated joint with the trailer being

Section 4: Permits

equipped with a mechanically steered rear axle passenger
bus, and a width of no more than 102 inches. The permit
does not authorize travel on the Federal Interstate system.

The gross weight cannot be more than 60,000 pounds and
a single axle weight of no more than 25,000 pounds.

Maximum Weights for Articulated Buses

Number [ Minimum Axle Maximum Gross Maximum Single Maximum Tandem Maximum Tri-axle
: . Axle Weight Axle Weight :
of Axles Spacing Weight Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (Ibs) Weight Allowed (Ibs)
Three or
more N/A 60,000 lbs 25,000 Ibs N/A N/A

Arlington County Trucks — Virginia Code 8§46.2-1145
The permit fee is $130 for one year and $260 for two years.

Permit is issued for the operation of vehicles hauling household
waste and vehicles used for highway or utility construction,
operation or maintenance on the highways of Arlington County.
The permit does not authorize travel on the Federal Interstate
system.

Vehicles with two axles may have a maximum gross weight of
no more than 48,000 pounds and a single axle weight of not
more than 24,000 pounds.

Vehicles with three axles may have a maximum gross weight of
not more than 60,000 pounds and a single axle weight of not
more than 24,000 pounds and a tandem axle weight of not
more than 40,000 pounds.

Maximum Weights for Arlington County Trucks

Number Minimum Axle Maximum Gross Man):Ine:nL\J/r\T/]eiSﬁtgle Maﬁ)r:rg?vg?ﬁem Maximum Tri-axle
of Axles Spacing Weight Allowed (Ibs) Allowed (?bs) Allowed (?bs) Weight Allowed (Ibs)
Two N/A 48,000 Ibs 24,000 Ibs N/A N/A
Three N/A 60,000 lbs 24,000 Ibs 40,000 Ibs N/A

Certified Escorts

Some loads may require certified escorts. The chart on the
right provides general guidance as to when an escort may be
required. Depending on the load and route of travel, escorts
may still be required outside of these guidelines. In addition,
law enforcement escorts may be required on a case-by-case
basis. All escort requirements will be listed on your hauling
permit or your locality permit.

NOTE: Individuals wanting to perform the duties of an escort
vehicle driver are required to complete an escort vehicle
driver training course. Successful completion of this training
course is required prior to taking an escort vehicle driver
certification knowledge test at any Virginia DMV customer
service center (CSC). Refer to the Escort Vehicle Driver’s
Manual (HP405) for additional information.

Locality Permits

Locality permits may be available for purchase when applied
for in conjunction with a state-issued blanket permit. DMV
does not issue single-trip permits for any locality except
Norfolk, which is solely for travel to or from the ports.

VIRGINIA"™S SIZE, WEIGHT AND

All permits must be accompanied by form MP227. Escort
requirements for these localities will be printed on your
locality permit.

Virginia Escort Guidelines
Non-Interstate Interstate
12’17 - 14°0” 2 (1 front, 1 rear) 12’1 - 14°0”
14’1” - 16°0” 3 (2 front, 1 rear) 14’'1” - 16°0”
16’1” - 180" 4 (2 front, 2 rear) 16’1 - 180"
>14’5" 1 front with pole | | >14’5"
90’1” - 120’0”  1rear 90’'1” - 120’0”
120’1” - 150°0” 1 rear 120’1” - 150°0”
150’1” - 200°0” 2 (1 front, 1 rear) 150’1” - 200°0”
>10°0" Front 1 front >10’0" Front
>15’0" Rear 1 rear >15’0" Rear
** Any load exceeding 18’0” wide and/or 200°0” long will be escorted on
a case-by-case basis **
Note: All escorts must be certified
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Section 5: Safety and Equipment Requirements

Section 5;

In accordance with the United States Motor Carrier Safety

Act of 1984, Virginia has adopted the Federal Motor Carrier
Safety regulations pertaining to commercial vehicles. If you are
subject to the provisions of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Regulations, you must abide by the regulations in addition to
the requirements outlined in this booklet. These regulations
are enforced by the Virginia State Police. All equipment must
be type-approved by the Superintendent of the Virginia State
Police. For more information call (804) 674-2000.

Brakes On Trailers

Every semi-trailer, trailer or separate vehicle attached by a draw
bar, chain or coupling to a towing vehicle must be equipped
with brakes controlled or operated by the driver of the towing
vehicle when the gross weight including the load exceeds
3,000 pounds.

All trailers manufactured or assembled after January 1, 1964,
registered for an actual gross weight exceeding 3,000 pounds
and equipped with air, electric or vacuum actuated brakes
must be equipped with an emergency breakaway system
designed to apply the breaks automatically if the trailer brakes
away from the tow vehicle.

These requirements do not apply to vehicles being towed for

repairs, repossession or in an emergency. These requirements
do not apply to vehicles being moved by a wrecker when two
wheels of the towed vehicle are off the ground.

Brake Performance

Trucks, tractor-trucks, buses and all combinations traveling

at 20 mph or more must be capable of stopping within 40
feet or less when traveling on a dry, hard, approximately level
highway free from loose material.

Exhaust System

All motor vehicles must be equipped with an exhaust system
comparable to a factory-installed system designed for that
specific vehicle. The exhaust system must be in good working
order and in constant operation to prevent excessive or
unusual noise, annoying smoke and escape of excessive gas,
steam or oil.

IVIRGINIA’S SIZE, WEIGHT
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The term “exhaust system” includes all parts of the motor
vehicle through which exhaust passes after leaving the engine
block. Chambered pipes do not meet the requirements for an
effective muffling device to prevent excessive or unusual noise.
Exhaust systems must meet the same standards as those set for
a factory-installed system designed for the specific vehicle.

Mirror and Horn

Every motor vehicle must be equipped with a mirror and a
horn. The mirror must provide the operator with a highway
view of at least 200 feet to the rear of the vehicle. The horn
must be capable of emitting sound audible under normal
conditions over a distance of at least 200 feet.

Windshield

Every motor vehicle or reconstructed motor vehicle, other
than a motorcycle, registered in Virginia and manufactured,
assembled or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be
equipped with a windshield.

Windshield Wipers

Every permanent windshield on a motor vehicle must be
equipped with a device for clearing snow, rain, moisture

or other matter from the windshield directly in front of the
operator. The device must be constructed so that the vehicle
operator controls or operates it. Windshield wiper devices

on motor vehicles manufactured or assembled after January
1, 1943 must clean both the right and left sides of the
windshield and must be operated mechanically or electrically.

Safety Glass

All for-hire, passenger-carrying motor vehicles registered in
Virginia and manufactured or assembled after January 1, 1935,
such as taxis, buses and school buses, must be equipped

with safety glass wherever glass is used in doors, windows,
windshields and sideshields.

All motor vehicles registered in Virginia and manufactured or
assembled after January 1, 1936, must be equipped with safety
glass wherever glass is used in doors, windows, windshields
and sideshields.

Draw-bar

The connection between any two vehicles, one of which is
towing or drawing the other on a highway, shall consist of a
fifth wheel, drawbar, trailer hitch or other similar device not
to exceed 15 feet in length from one vehicle to the other. Any
such two vehicles shall, in addition to such drawbar or other
similar device, be equipped at all times when so operated

on the highway with an emergency chain or cable that is
structurally adequate to securely stop and hold the trailer
being towed.
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The fifth wheel, drawbar, trailer hitch, or similar device

must be structurally adequate for the weight being drawn;

be properly and securely mounted; provide for adequate
articulation at the connection without excessive slack at that
location and be provided with a locking device that prevents
accidental separation of the towed and towing vehicles. The
mounting of the fifth wheel, drawbar, trailer hitch, or similar
device on the towing vehicle must include reinforcement or
bracing of the frame sufficient to produce strength and rigidity
of the frame to prevent its undue distortion.

A vehicle may be towed by a chain, rope or cable not more
than 15 feet long in case of a bona fide emergency resulting
from a mechanical break-down or accident as long as the

vehicle is being towed to the nearest garage or repair shop.

A licensed driver must be at the controls of the towed vehicle
when the connection consists of chain, rope or cable, in order
to brake, steer, and control its lights.

Tow Dolly and Converter Gear

A tow dolly is used to support the front or rear wheels of

a passenger vehicle or pick-up or panel truck for towing
purposes. A converter gear is an axle-like device, with a fifth
wheel mount and used to convert a semi-trailer to a full
trailer. These devices are not considered vehicles when used
on the public highways. Both devices must be equipped
with a safety chain or chains with strength to restrain the
device and vehicle being towed should the connection fail.
Additionally these devices must be equipped with rear marker
lamps or reflectors when towed without a load. When used to
tow a vehicle, the towed vehicle must comply with all current
and future requirements of the Code of Virginia as it relates to
towed vehicles.

Although Virginia does not require titling and registration for
converter gears and tow dollys, these devices may be titled
and registered in Virginia. Converter gears and tow dollys will
be registered as trailers and you will receive a license plate to
mount on the device. You can also purchase permanent and
personalized plates for your converter gear and tow dollys.

If you operate in California, you will be required to pay the
annual California plate fee.

Splash Guards

Motor vehicles or combinations of vehicles with a licensed
gross weight exceeding 40,000 pounds (including the weight of
the load) must be equipped with rear fenders, flaps or guards
large enough to prevent projection of rocks, dirt, water and
other substances from the rear of the vehicle. Tractor trucks and
other vehicles used exclusively for hauling logs are exempt from
this requirement.
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Solid Tires

Vehicles equipped with solid tires must have a permit from
the Virginia Department of Transportation to be operated in
Virginia.

Flares and Disabled Vehicles

When stopped on a road or the shoulder of any road, the
driver of a bus, truck, tractor trailer, or mobile home must
immediately activate the vehicle’s hazard warning signals and
must put out three emergency warning devices within 10
minutes. Flares, torches or reflectorized red triangles may be
used as warning devices. If the vehicle is used for transporting
flammable liquids in bulk, whether loaded or empty, or
flammable gases, red reflectorized triangular warning devices or
red electric lanterns may be used.

Place the warning devices in the following locations.

On two-lane roads carrying traffic in both directions or on
an undivided highway, place warning devices within ten feet
of the front or rear corners of your vehicle. Place a warning
device 100 feet behind or ahead of your vehicle. Place it on
the shoulder or in the lane where you stopped.

Place a warning device behind or ahead of your vehicle on
any hill, curve or anything else that prevents other drivers from
seeing your vehicle within 500 feet.

REQUIREMENTS |
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Section 5: Safety and Equipment Requirements

On a one-way or divided highway, place warning device
10 feet, 100 feet and 200 feet behind your vehicle.

When you place the warning devices, hold them between
yourself and the oncoming traffic. This helps ensure your safety.

Slow Moving Vehicle Emblem

Farm tractors and all self-propelled farm equipment as well as
other vehicles designed for operation at 25 mph or less must
display a triangular slow-moving vehicle emblem on the rear of
the vehicle when traveling on a public highway during the day
or at night.

A slow moving vehicle towing a unit on a public highway must
display a slow moving vehicle emblem on one or both vehicles.
If the towed unit obscures the emblem on the towing vehicle,
then the emblem must be displayed on the towed unit.

Fire Extinguisher

All trucks, buses and power units of tractor trailer
combinations must be equipped with an accessible and
properly filled fire extinguisher which is securely mounted,
freezeproof and allows visual inspection of charge status. The
fire extinguisher may not use a vaporizing liquid that emits
vapors more toxic than the Underwriter’s Laboratories (UL)
rating of 5 or 6.

Vehicles constructed before January 1, 1973 must be
equipped with a fire extinguisher having a UL rating of 4 BC
or higher. Vehicles constructed on or after January 1, 1973
must be equipped with either a fire extinguisher having a UL
rating of 5 BC or more or two fire extinguishers having UL
ratings of 4 BC or more.

Any power unit constructed before January 1, 1971 used for
transporting hazardous materials must be equipped with a fire
extinguisher having a UL rating of 4 BC or more.

Power units constructed on or after January 1, 1971 must be
equipped with a fire extinguisher having a UL rating of 10 BC
or more.
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Amber Flashing Lights — Overdimensional
Loads

High intensity amber flashing lights, visible for at least 500
feet, must be used on any vehicle operating under the
authority of a highway hauling permit when either the vehicle
or the load is more than 12 feet wide or more than 75 feet
long. Such lights must be mounted on the top of the towing
vehicle and on the upper rear end of the overdimensional
load or vehicle.

However, an overdimensional vehicle does not need amber
lights if it is accompanied by escort vehicles with amber
flashing lights mounted on the top of each escort vehicle.

Headlights

All motor vehicles must be equipped with at least two

head lamps but not more than four lamps that provide
illumination ahead of the vehicle. No more than four lamps
providing general illumination may be lit, including at

least two head lamps and any combination of fog, passing,
driving or other auxiliary lights.

Rear Lamps

Every truck, bus, tractor-truck, trailer, or semi-trailer must

be equipped with a rear lamp capable of projecting a red
light visible in clear weather from a distance of 500 feet from
the vehicle’s rear end. This lamp or another lamp must also
illuminate the license plate with a white light and make it
visible from a distance of 50 feet to the rear of the vehicle.

Dimension or Marker Lights

Every motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer exceeding 7 feet in
width or any part of which extends 4 inches or more beyond
the extreme edge of the front fenders must be equipped with
lamps mounted at the top front corners. Each lamp must
project an amber light visible from the front of the vehicle

for at least 500 feet in clear weather. The vehicle must also
be equipped with lamps mounted at the top rear corners.
Each lamp must project a red light visible from the rear of the
vehicle for a distance of 500 feet in clear weather.

Red dimension lights and marker lamps are not necessary on
tractor trucks. If the lights and lamps are used, they must be
mounted on the highest and widest portions of the permanent
body.

Vehicles with three red identification lamps installed on the
rear as close as practical to the top and as close as practical
to the vehicle’s rear vertical centerline and with the lamp
centers spaced at least six but not more than 12 inches apart,
may mount rear dimension or marker lamps at any height.
However, the dimension or marker lights must indicate, as
nearly as possible, the full width of the vehicle.

EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS



In addition to the dimension and markerlamps, vehicles
must be equipped with amber reflectors located on the side
and at or near the front. Red reflectors must be used on the
rear of the vehicle. Reflectors must be securely fastened to
the vehicle at least 24 but not more than 60 inches from the
ground. Reflectors must be securely fastened at the highest
point possible on vehicles less than 24 inches high.

Auxiliary Lamps

A vehicle must be equipped with two spotlights that, when
shining, can be aimed to strike the road to the right of the
center, not more than 100 feet ahead. These spotlights may
not be used in conjunction with or as a substitute for required
headlamps except in the case of an emergency.

Directional Signal

All motor vehicles registered in Virginia and manufactured
or assembled after January 1, 1955 must be equipped with
approved signal lights on both the front and rear.

Motor vehicles, trailers and semi-trailers, when temporarily
stopped on the traveled or paved portion of the highway

S0 as to create a traffic hazard, must use all four turn signals
simultaneously to signal approaching motorists of the existing
hazard. All four signals may be flashed simultaneously on a
vehicle slowed or stopped at the scene of a traffic hazard

or when traveling at a speed of 30 miles per hour or less.
However, all four signals may not be flashed simultaneously
while the vehicle is in motion for any other reason.

Effective January 1, 1955, all motor vehicles registered in
Virginia and manufactured or assembled after this date must
be equipped with approved-type signal lights both to the front
and the rear.

A tractor-truck equipped with double-faced signal lamps
mounted on the front fenders or the sides of the vehicle near
the front does not need to be equipped with mechanical or
electrical signal devices on the rear.

VIRGINIA"™S SIZE, WEIGHT AND
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Stop Signal (Lights)

Every motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer registered in
Virginia, except an antique vehicle not originally equipped
with a stop lamp, must be equipped with at least one stop
lamp. The device must automatically exhibit a red or amber
light plainly visible in clear weather from a distance of 500
feet from the rear of the vehicle when the foot brake is
applied.

EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS I



Section 6: Inspection and Traffic Rules

Section6.. =
Inspection and
Rulesi ™ = &=

Inspection

All Virginia-registered motor vehicles, trailers and semi-
trailers equipped with brakes must be inspected by a
certified mechanic at an official Virginia inspection station.
The maximum fee is $51. Trailers or semi-trailers require a
separate inspection and the fee is $16.

The following vehicles are deemed to comply with the
Virginia Safety Inspection requirements:

» Any commercial motor vehicle that operates in
interstate commerce and is subject to the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulations which is found to meet the
federal requirement for annual inspection through a
self-inspection, a third party inspection, a Commercial
Vehicle Safety Alliance inspection or a periodic
inspection performed in any state with a program
determined by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration to be compared to, or as effective as, the
requirements of Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations,
Part 396, provided documentation is available for
inspection by law enforcement officials which verifies
the inspection is current.

» Trailers and semi-trailers as defined in Section 46.2-100,
Code of Virginia, having a gross vehicle weight rating
of 26,001 pounds or more, and operated in interstate
commerce if documentation is on the vehicle and
available for inspection by law enforcement officials
which verifies an inspection done pursuant to Title 49,
code of Federal Regulations, Part 396, is current and
valid.

Securing of Load or Contents

The loads of all trucks, trailers and semi-trailers carrying
gravel, coal, sand or other non-agricultural and non-forestry
products on any highway must either be secured to the
vehicle or covered. Public service company vehicles, pickup
trucks, and emergency snow removal equipment engaged in
snow removal operations are excluded from this requirement.

IVIRGINIA’S SIZE, WEIGHT
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Truck covers used to prevent the escape of solid waste
transported in commercial vehicles must be designed,
installed, and constructed to keep all of the cargo within
the vehicle regardless of the vehicle’s speed or weather
conditions. This provision, however, does not apply to
vehicles used exclusively for agricultural purposes.

Vehicles designed or used for hauling logs, poles or lumber,
barrels, hogsheads or other materials or containers which may
shift or roll may not be operated or moved over any highway
unless the load is securely fastened by adequate log chains,
metal cables, nylon webbing, steel straps or other restraining
devices that prevent shifting or falling of the load. However,

in lieu of chains or metal cables, tobacco hogsheads may be
secured by manila or hemp rope strong enough and at least
five-eights inch in diameter to securely fasten the hogshead
against shifting, falling or rolling.

Weight Inspection Requirement — Permanent Weigh Stations
Virginia Code §46.2-1137

Operators of trucks having a registered gross weight in excess
of 10,000 pounds are required by law to drive their vehicles
onto scales for weight inspection as directed by either a law
enforcement officer or by a regulatory highway sign. A law
enforcement officer may require the operator of a truck

to drive a distance of up to 10 road miles to a permanent
weighing station for weight inspection. Refusal to drive onto
the scales for inspection is a misdemeanor.

Operators of pickup or panel trucks registered for personal
use with a gross weight in excess of 7,500 pounds but not
in excess of 10,000 pounds are not required by law to drive
their vehicles onto scales for weight inspection.

Tow Trucks Not Engaged in Towing Another Vehicle

Trucks designed and equipped for towing inoperative or
disabled vehicles do not need to be weighed at motor carrier
service centers (weigh stations) if the truck is not engaged in

towing another vehicle.
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Section 6: Inspection and Traffic Rules

Traffic Rules

Speed limits
_ Limited Non-Limited Access Highways School Highways
Vehicle Interstate Highways ACCESS Business or Designated
Type Highways Four or Less than Residential as a Rural
More Lanes Four Lanes Zones Rustic Road

65 mph where designated
Trucks 55 mph 55 mph 45 mph @ 25 mph 35 mph
55 mph on all others

Passenger 65 mph where designated

Buses 55 mph 55 mph 45 mph 25 mph 35 mph
school Maximum 60 mph where
Busos the posted speed limit is 35 mph ® 35 mph ® 35 mph ® 25 mph 35 mph

more than 55 mph

(1) A School bus may travel 45 mph when not loading or unloading passengers between its starting point and its destination. However,
during the loading and unloading of students—from the first pick-up/drop-off to the last pick-up/drop-off—the maximum speed is 35 mph.
A school bus, with or without passengers, may travel up to 60 mph on an interstate where the posted speed limit is more than 55 mph.

(2) Unless otherwise posted and driving conditions permit, the maximum speed limit is 45 mph on all public roads except primary highways
(Routes 1-599) and the Interstate.

Transport of HAZMAT and transport and permitting of
hazardous waste.

Section 7:

Department of Environmental Quality Land Division
Hazardous Waste Compliance

Coordinator

804-912-7366

8 F 1111 East Main Street
. . . . . PO. Box 1105
Hauling Certain Cargoes in Violation of Richmond. VA 23240

Posted Signs

] ) Transport of HAZMAT through tunnels/bridges only.
Hauling any explosive, flammable or other hazardous cargo

as prohibited by the Virginia Department of Transportation Department of Transportation

through any tunnel on Virginia’s highways in violation of any 1221 East Broad Street

lawfully posted sign constitutes a Class 1 misdemeanor. Richmond, Virginia 23219
1-800-367-7623

Hazardous Materials Contact Information HAZMAT spillsfincidents (24-hours a day)

The transportation of hazardous materials (HAZMAT) within CHEMTREC

or through Virginia must comply with Federal regulations 1-800-424-9300

promulgated by the Secretary of Transportation and set
forth in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations. Specific
HAZMAT related questions must be addressed to the
following agencies.

VIRGINIA"™S SIZE, WEIGHT AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS I



Section 7: Hazardous Materials

Transportation of Hazardous Materials
through Bridge-Tunnel Facilities — Rules and
Regulations

Prohibited

Materials defined in the following classes are not allowed
passage through the four urban, water-proximate tunnels.

The Department of Transportation operates Virginia’s six Category Placard Name Reference
bridge-tunnel facilities listed below.
1.1 Explosives 1.1 49 CFR § 172.522
Facility Name Telephone Number 1.2 Explosives 1.2 49 CFR § 172.522
*Big Walker Mountain 1-77 276-228-5571 13 Explosives 1.3 49 CFR § 172.522
*East River Mountain 1-77 276-928-1994 2.3 Poison Gas 49 CFR § 172.540
*Elizabeth River-Downtown |-264 757-494-2424 43 Dange(/f\’/US When | 19 crr 5 172.548
. ot .
*Elizabeth River-Midtown |-58 757-683-8123 61
*Hampton Roads I-64 757.727-4832 (PGL, inhalation Poison 49 CFR § 172.554
hazard only)
*Monitor-Merrimac
Memorial Bridge 1-664 51-247-2123 Restricted

*For information about the operation of these facilities, call
The Emergency Operations Center, Virginia Department of
Transportation, (804) 796-4603.

Transport of hazardous materials through the Big Walker
Mountain and East River Mountain facilities requires
compliance with parts 100 through 180 of the Code of
Federal Regulations Title 49. No other restrictions apply.

The Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel is not operated by VDOT.
Contact the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel Authority at
(757) 331-2960 directly to obtain information regarding their
rules and regulations.

Transport of hazardous materials through the Elizabeth River-
Downtown, Elizabeth River-Midtown, Hampton Roads and
Monitor-Merrimac facilities requires compliance with parts
100 through 180 of the Code of Federal Regulations Title 49
plus compliance with the restrictions listed in the following
three tables. These tunnels are classified as urban/water
proximate facilities. The following tables list categories of
materials grouped under the designations “Prohibited”,

“No Restrictions” or “Restricted.”

IVIRGINIA’S SIZE, WEIGHT

Materials in the following hazard classes are allowed access
to the four urban, water-proximate tunnels if transported in
a container allowing a maximum capacity of 119 gallons/450
liters or less as a receptacle for liquids, a water capacity of
1000 pounds/454 kilograms or less as a receptacle for gases,
and a maximum net mass of 882 pounds/400 kilograms or
less and a maximum capacity of 119 gallons/450 liters or less
as a receptacle for solids.

Category Placard Name R';:%?gqu%e
2.1 Flammable Gas 49 CFR § 172.532
3 Flammable Gas 49 CFR § 172.542
5.1 Oxidizer 49 CFR § 172.550
5.2 Organic Peroxide | 49 CFR § 172.552
8 Corrosive 49 CFR § 172.558

A N D
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No Restrictions

Materials in the following hazard classes are not restricted in

the four urban, water-proximate tunnels.

Category Placard Name RZ:‘z(;er]?:e
1.4 Explosives 1.4 49 CFR § 172.523
15 Explosives 1.5 49 CFR § 172.524
1.6 Explosives 1.6 49 CFR § 172.525
2.2 Non-Flammable Gas | 49 CFR § 172.528
Combustible Combustible | 49 CFR § 172.544
liquid
4.1 Flammable Solid 49 CFR § 172.546
42 Sgg"mtgﬁ‘;ci’glﬂy 49 CFR § 172.547
6.1
Lt orih otner. Poison 49 CFR § 172.554
tion hazard)
6.1 (PG lll) | Keep Away From Food | 49 CFR § 172.553
6.2 (None)
7 Radioactive Radioactive 49 CFR § 172.556
9 Class 9 49 CFR § 172.560
ORM-D (None)
VIRGINIA'S SIZE, WEIGHT AND
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