
TROOPS TO TRUCKSSM CHECKLIST 

1. Do I qualify for the Troops to TrucksSM Program: 
A. I am a Virginia resident currently holding or eligible for a Virginia driver's license (proof of 

legal presence may be required). 
B. I am active duty military (including the Reserves and National Guard) or am within 90 

days of release from active military service.  
C. If you answered Yes to BOTH A and B, proceed to item 3. 
D. If you answered No to A and Yes to B proceed to item 2. 
E. If you answered No to B, you do not qualify for this program. For more information about 

obtaining a commercial driver's license, refer to Applying for a CDL. 

2. If you do not already hold a Virginia drivers license, you must be eligible for one before applying 
for the CDL or CDL instruction permit. See DMV 141 for documents required to bring in when 
applying for a Virginia driver’s license.  
 

3. I have held a military operators permit and operated a vehicle representative of the CDL 
classifications that I am applying for, for the past 2 years. If you answered Yes, proceed to item 
4. If you answered No, proceed to item 6.  For more information, refer to page 2 of the DL 13 
application or page 4 and 5 of the CDL manual. 
 

4. During the last two years (both driving a commercial or non commercial motor vehicle), I have 
not: 

A. had more than one license (except for a military operator’s license) 
B. had any license suspended, revoked, or cancelled 
C. had any convictions for any type of motor vehicle for a CDL disqualifying offenses more 

than one conviction for any type of motor vehicle serious traffic violation  
D. had any conviction for a violation of military, state or local law relating to motor vehicle 

traffic control (other than a parking violation) in connection with any traffic crash 
E. a record of a crash where I was at fault  

 
If you answer No to ALL items, proceed to item 5.  If you answered Yes to any item, 
you do not qualify for the CDL Skills Test Waiver.  For more information on CDL 
disqualifications consult the Virginia Commercial Driver’s manual. 
 

5. With no CDL disqualifications and a record of the past two years of military CDL driving 
experience you may apply for a CDL Skills Test Waiver.  Take the following steps to ensure 
successfully qualifying. 
 

Prepare for Knowledge test. You will be required to pass the CDL knowledge exam, and 
any other knowledge exams for the vehicles you were certified in driving. Test failures will 
NOT extend your 90 days from release of service deadline. Any changes to your CDL 
after the 90 days including classification, restrictions and endorsements will not be 
eligible for the Troops to TrucksSM  waiver. For more information and practice exams go 
to http://www.dmv.state.va.us/drivers/#cdl_test.html. 
 
Obtain your Medical Examiner’s Certificate.  This is sometimes referred to as the U.S. 
Department of Transportation Medical Card.   Do not bring in the Medical Examination 
Report form 649-F to the DMV. You do not need a Federal Medical Examiner's Certificate 
if you will only operate in an excepted status. To determine if you will be operating in an 
excepted status, go to http://www.dmvnow.com/drivers/#cdl_medical_faqs.asp?  

http://www.dmv.state.va.us/drivers/applyingcdl.asp
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv141.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/#cdlmanual.html
http://www.dmv.state.va.us/webdoc/pdf/dmv60.pdf
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/topics/medical/medical.htm


Fill out the CDL Skills Test Waiver Military Application (DL 13). This must be certified by 
your commanding officer or designee as possessing (1) a military operator's permit and 
(2) at least two years experience driving the same type of vehicle that you as the 
applicant plan to drive with a Virginia CDL. (For a list of CDL vehicle types, refer to CDL 
Classifications, Restrictions, and Endorsements.)  

Bring the following required documents to DMV on the day of your exam:  

CDL Skills Test Waiver Military Application (DL 13)  

 Virginia or other state-issued driver’s license 

Driver's License Application (DL 1P) and other required proof documents (DMV 
141) if you do not currently hold a Virginia driver’s license.  You cannot keep an 
out-of-state drivers license.  You can obtain the Virginia Driver’s License on the 
same day as your exam.  

Medical Examiner’s Certificate (U.S. Department of Transportation Medical Card) 

Military discharge papers (DD-214, WD-AGO, DD-256, or NGB-22) or a U.S. 
Active Duty/Reservist Military ID Card.  Those dishonorably discharged from the 
military are not eligible to receive a military skills test waiver. 

Pass CDL Knowledge Exam/Exams.  You will be issued a temporary CDL.  Your 
permanent CDL will be mailed. Proceed to item 9. 

NOTE: Three-Time Failure:  If you fail the general knowledge exam three times, you 
must complete the classroom portion of a Virginia approved Driver Training School 
program for commercial motor vehicles and bring the certificate of completion to a 
customer service center to satisfy eligibility requirements for re-examination. You must 
have completed the course after the date of the third exam failure. 
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/#cdl_test.asp 

 

6. Military applications that do not qualify for the skills test waiver (as out lined in item 5), may be 
able to participate in the military’s 3rd party training program offered at many of our Virginia 
military bases. You must follow the steps below:  
 

Be currently in the military and approved to attend the 3rd party training by the military. 
 
Prepare for Knowledge test. You will be required to pass the CDL Knowledge exam, and 
any other knowledge exams for the vehicles you will be driving.  
 
Obtain your Medical Examiner’s Certificate.  This is sometimes referred to as the U.S. 
Department of Transportation Medical Card. 
You do not need a Federal Medical Examiner's Certificate if you will only operate in an 
excepted status. To determine if you will be operating in an excepted status go to 
http://www.dmvnow.com/drivers/#cdl_medical_faqs.asp?. 

Bring the following required documents to DMV on the day of your exam:  

http://www.dmv.state.va.us/webdoc/pdf/dl13.pdf
http://www.dmv.state.va.us/drivers/cdl_class.asp
http://www.dmv.state.va.us/drivers/cdl_class.asp
http://www.dmv.state.va.us/webdoc/pdf/dl13.pdf
http://www.dmv.state.va.us/webdoc/pdf/dl1p.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv141.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv141.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/cdl_schools.asp
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/utilities/offices.asp
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/topics/medical/medical.htm


Medical Examiner’s Certificate (U.S. Department of Transportation Medical Card) 

Virginia or other state-issued driver's license  

Driver's License Application (DL 1P) and required proof documents (DMV 141) if 
you do not currently hold a Virginia driver’s license. You cannot keep an out-of-
state drivers license.  You can obtain the Virginia Driver’s License on the same 
day as your exam.  

Pass CDL General Knowledge Exam. Receive your CDL instruction permit. The CDL 
instruction permit allows you to drive a commercial vehicle of the class and type shown 
on the permit only when a person licensed to drive the same type of vehicle is with you. 
For more information on CDL instruction permits go to 
http://www.dmv.state.va.us/drivers/#cdl_permit.asp. Proceed to item 7. 

NOTE: Three-Time Failure:  If you fail the general knowledge exam three times at a 
customer service center, you must complete the classroom portion of a Virginia approved 
Driver Training School program for commercial motor vehicles and bring the certificate of 
completion to a customer service center to satisfy eligibility requirements for re-
examination. You must have completed the course after the date of the third exam 
failure. http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/#cdl_test.asp. 

7. Enroll and begin 3rd party testing program at one of the approved military installations. Proceed to 
item 8. 

8. After successful completion of your training you will receive a DL 64 completion certificate.  You 
can take this to any DMV customer service center or DMV 2 Go mobile office, along with your 
CDL instruction permit and Virginia driver’s license. They will issue you a temporary CDL. Your 
permanent CDL will be mailed to you. Proceed to item 9. 

9. If you are interested in obtaining assistance with employment or would like to receive updates 
about the Troops to TrucksSM program, fill out the Placement Interest Questionnaire. This form 
will be given to you at a DMV customer service center or DMV 2 Go mobile office, after you have 
successfully obtained the CDL under the troops for trucks program. You can then fill out and mail 
or fax to the address at the bottom of the Placement Interest Questionnaire application. 
 

http://www.dmv.state.va.us/webdoc/pdf/dl1p.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv141.pdf
http://www.dmv.state.va.us/drivers/cdl_class.asp
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/utilities/offices.asp
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/cdl_schools.asp
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/utilities/offices.asp
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