Nationwide, a vehicle crash occurs
every five seconds. Roughly, more than
141,500 vehicle crashes occured on
Virginia’s highways last year. The odds
are one out of four that you will be
involved in a crash during your lifetime.

To reduce these odds, the Virginia
Department of Motor Vehicles has
created a different kind of crash course.
Our driver improvement program rewards
safe drivers and warns potentially un-
safe drivers in advance. It helps educate
drivers who have developed risky driv-
ing practices and it takes dangerous
drivers off the road. Here’s how it works.

WHAT DOES THE POINT
SYSTEM SAY ABOUT YOU?

DMV uses a point system to
rate drivers. You receive
demerit points for unsafe
driving and safe driving
points for good driving.

Demerit Points are assigned
when you commit a traffic
violation. Different violations
carry different point assign-
ments, depending on the
seriousness of the offense.
For example, you will receive three demerit
points if you make an improper U-turn. How-
ever, you will receive six demerit points if you
speed 20 miles per hour or more above the
posted speed limit. Demerit points remain valid
two years from the date you commit an offense.

Safe Driving Points are assigned for each full
calendar year that you hold a valid Virginia
driver’s license and drive without any violations
or suspensions. You may also earn safe driving
points by completing a driver improvement clinic

if you are 18 years of age or older. You can
accumulate a total of five safe driving points and
you may use these safe driving points to offset
demerit points. Consider the following example.

For five years Molly Buttercup followed all the
safe driving rules and always obeyed the speed
limit. She accumulated a safe driving point each
year, for a total of five points. But, one day Molly
ran a red light. DMV assigned four demerit points
to her driving record. However, since she had
earned five safe driving points, she ended up
with one safe driving point left on her record.

DEMERIT POINTS CAN ADD UP

Each time you commit a traffic offense, DMV
adds additional demerit points to your record.
This can add up to big trouble for some drivers.

Drivers under age 18

You will be required to complete a driver
improvement clinic after your first demerit point
conviction (including safety belt and child restraint
violations). A computer-based course will not
satisfy this requirement. You must enroll in a
clinic that provides classroom instruction.

After your second demerit point conviction, DMV
will suspend your permit or license for 90 days.
After a third or subsequent demerit point convic-
tion, DMV will revoke your permit or license for
one year or until you reach age 18, whichever is
longer.

You will not receive safe driving points for
completing a driver improvement clinic voluntarily
or when required by DMV or a court. Your parent(s)
may attend the driver improvement clinic with
you and, if eligible, may receive safe driving
points. Contact the clinic to discuss this option.

Drivers age 18 and 19

You will be required to complete a driver
improvement clinic after your first demerit point
conviction (including safety belt and child restraint
violations).

Drivers age 18 and over

If you accumulate 8 demerit points in 12
months (or 12 points in 24 months), you will
receive an advisory letter that cautions you about
the consequences of violating the law.

If you accumulate 12
demerit points in 12
months (or 18 points in
24 months), you will be
required to complete a
driver improvement clinic.

If you accumulate 18 demerit points in 12
months (or 24 points in 24 months), your driving
privilege will be suspended for 90 days. Addition-
ally, you must complete a driver improvement
clinic before your privilege will be restored. Once
your privilege is restored, you will be placed on a
six-month probation.

A DRIVER IMPROVEMENT CLINIC
WILL PUT YOU BACK ON THE ROAD TO
SAFE DRIVING

When you complete a driver improvement clinic,
you’ll learn defensive driving techniques that can
help you avoid and prevent crashes. These eight-
hour classroom sessions cost no more than $75
and are offered at sites around the state and as a
computer-based course on the internet. Contact
the court to be sure it will accept a computer
based course.

If DMV requires you to complete a clinic, you
must complete the entire eight-hour course. If you
fail to complete the clinic within 90 days, DMV will
suspend your driver’s license until you complete
the clinic.

If you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or
committed an offense while operating a commer-
cial motor vehicle, and you are required to com-
plete a driver improvement clinic, you must
complete a commercial driver improvement clinic
designed specifically for commercial drivers.



After you successfully complete a driver
improvement clinic, you may be awarded five
safe driving points. If a court requires you to
complete a clinic, the court
determines whether you will be
awarded safe driving points.

Insurance companies may
offer premium discounts to
policyholders under 55 years
of age who complete a DMV-
approved driver improvement
clinic. Check with your agent
to see if your insurance
company offers this benefit.

If you take a driver improvement clinic to reduce
your insurance premium, you will not be eligible
to receive safe driving points. If a court assigns
you to complete a clinic, you will not be eligible
to receive the insurance premium reduction.

To find the location of the nearest driver improve-
ment clinic in your area check the yellow pages
of your local telephone directory. Or, check
DMV’s web site at www.dmvnow.com. If you need
more information, call toll free 1-866-368-5463
(DMV-LINE) or 1-800-435-5137.

DRIVERS ON PROBATION

If you are convicted of a traffic offense which
was committed while you were on probation,

your driving privilege will be suspended. The

suspension period depends on the number of
demerit points assigned for the violation.

3 point violation = 45 day suspension
4 point violation = 60 day suspension
6 point violation = 90 day suspension

Once you complete the suspension period,
you will be placed on probation for another six
months.

If you are convicted of a traffic offense which
occurred while you are on probation for the first

time, you may request DMV to grant you
restricted driving privileges. If you violate a
second or subsequent probation, DMV will
grant you restricted privileges only if the
probationary period during which the violation
occurred was immediately preceded by a
control period (an 18-month time period during
which your driving record is monitored).

Restricted driving privileges granted by DMV allow
you to drive only
¢ to and from your place of employment,
e during employment hours only if driving is a
required part of your job,
¢ to and from school if you are a student,
e for medical treatment, including necessary
transportation of an elderly parent,
¢ to transport your minor child to and from
school, day care or for medical treatment, or
e to and from a court-ordered visitation with
your child.
You may not receive restricted driving privileges to
operate a commercial motor vehicle.

DRIVERS UNDER CONTROL PERIOD

If you receive demerit points for a violation during
the 18-month control period, you will be placed on
six months probation. Once you successfully
complete the control period, you will exit the Driver
Improvement Program.

Be sure to read Moving Violations and Point
Assessments (PRO15) for more information about
the Driver Improvement Program.
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