

# VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES SPECIAL LICENSE PLATE DEVELOPMENT PROCESS

## **Sponsor Information for Special Interest Groups and Military**

Legislation approved by the Virginia General Assembly and Governor authorizes the issuance of all special license plates. The law requires the collection of a minimum 450 prepaid applications before DMV can develop and issue most new special interest or military license plates. The legislator will require the requestor to collect those applications and payment prior to writing the license plate bill. The General Assembly session starts in January of each year. Once the license plate bill passes and is signed by the Governor, it becomes law on July 1 (date of authorization). All applications and payment collected must be accepted by the DMV within 30 days of the date of authorization. If the applications are late or not submitted, the authorization expires and the applications must be refunded.

## **STEP 1 - Sponsoring Entity/Constituent (SPONSOR)**

A. Contact your legislator to discuss the possibilities of sponsoring a new special license plate bill for Virginia. Explain why the license plate is important, the intended plate name, and the proposed revenue type.

What is revenue type? The Code of Virginia authorizes license plates that share revenue with eligible entities ("revenue sharing") and those that do not ("non-revenue sharing"). In general, an annual plate fee of \$25 applies to revenue sharing plates, while an annual fee of \$10 applies to non-revenue sharing plates. (Note: Personalization is an additional \$10 annual fee.)

What is revenue sharing? The General Assembly can designate an eligible entity to receive a portion of the annual plate fees paid for certain license plates. After 1,000 qualifying plate sales, DMV will return \$15 of every \$25 collected annually to the designated entity. The entity must (i) provide to the Commonwealth or its citizens a broad public service that is to be funded, in whole or in part, by the proposed revenue sharing special license plate authorization and (ii) be at least one of the following:

- 1. A nonprofit corporation as defined in § 501 (c) (3) of the United States Internal Revenue Code:
- 2. An agency, board, commission, or other entity established or operated by the Commonwealth:
- 3. A political subdivision of the Commonwealth; or
- 4. An institution of higher education whose main campus is located in Virginia.
- B. Request a completed Acknowledgement of Support (DMV form <u>VSA 155</u>), from your legislator. The legislator will complete the form identifying the sponsor's contact information, plate revenue type, fee, and DMV contact information for consultation. The form also indicates whether the authorization will waive the 450 prepaid applications.
- C. Submit the completed Acknowledgement of Support (VSA 155) to DMV as instructed.

#### STEP 2 - DMV License Plate Development (LPD) office

- A. Send receipt confirmation email or phone call to the sponsor after receiving the VSA 155 form.
- B. Send the Preorder Request (VSA 10D) form to use as the application when collecting the required minimum 450 applications and payment.
- C. Send Plate Sponsor (VSA 154) form.
- D. Send License Plate Design Release Agreement.
- E. Send License Plate Design Template (upon request).
- F. Provide consultation and address all questions and concerns at any time during the process.

## STEP 3 - Sponsoring Entity/Constituent (SPONSOR)

- A. Consult with the LPD office before collecting the applications and payment.
- B. Begin collecting applications and payment, if required.
- C. Update the legislator on your progress. REMEMBER, the Sponsor is expected to have a minimum 450 prepaid applications available prior to the January General Assembly session.
- D. Review and ensure applications are complete.
- E. Submit the prepaid applications and payment to our License Plate Development office after the license plate bill is signed by the Governor and before July 31 of that year. If not received, authorization to issue the license plate expires and refunds must be provided to all the applicants.
- F. Submit the License Plate Design Release Agreement.
- G. Submit electronic artwork. Provide an original raw file of a camera ready design created in a vector-based program (Adobe Photoshop or Illustrator CS6).

## STEP 4 - DMV License Plate Development (LPD) office

- A. Send a metal license plate prototype to the Sponsor and others for approval.
- B. Order the plates
- C. Coordinate processing of the applications and plate mailing. The mailing will include plates, vehicle registration, and year decals.

#### Information on collecting and submitting the Preorder Request applications and payment

A suggestion, based on the experience of other sponsors, is to collect the prepaid applications and deposit the monies in a special non-interest-bearing account until it is time to submit applications and payment to DMV. Individual applications and checks made payable to DMV will be returned to the applicant. Applications can be collected manually or electronically using the DMV form VSA 10D Preorder Request. Secure applications and payments and maintain accurate documentation throughout the process.

Contact License Plate Development for guidelines on collecting applications and payments electronically.

If certification is required in order to receive the license plate, the organization must verify, approve, and attach the appropriate certification to each application. Collect only the license plate and personalization fees; the cost of the vehicle registration/renewal is not part of this process. The fees must be paid by the applicant. If the organization wishes to absorb the cost, they may refund the applicant once they are in receipt of their new plates. The International Symbol of Access (ISA), also known as the disabled symbol, is available. Unfortunately, souvenir license plates are not available during this process.

Review all applications for completion. No applications will be accepted without a vehicle owner signature. Submit the entire batch (minimum 450) with one check totaling the amount of applications received.

- a) Separate the applications into three batches with a cover sheet for each batch displaying the total application count and dollar amount.
  - 1. Non personalized
  - 2. New personalized
  - 3. Transfer existing plate number (if the plate number is non-personalized, this transfer changes it to personalized. Personalization carriers an additional \$10 annual fee and the plate number can be remade and/or transferred to different plates. A non-personalized plate number operates only on the plate to which it was assigned and cannot be remade.
- b) Submit one check to DMV along with the applications. The check amount should equal the amount collected for all three batches.
- Submit applications and payment to Virginia DMV, License Plate Development Room 322, PO Box 27412, Richmond, VA 23269

#### **Submission of Electronic Media Artwork**

Preliminary unapproved designs used for marketing purposes should have a disclosure statement informing potential applicants that the designs may be subject to changes pending DMV approval.

The Sponsor is required to provide up to a four-color electronic camera-ready design. Create the
design in a vector-based program (Adobe Photoshop or Illustrator CS6) and send the original raw
file. The use of spot colors is preferable over process-color due to the intensity and the ability to
control the inks.

- If spot colors are being used, only four colors may be used in any design, including black. For example, a design could be comprised of three Pantone® colors in addition to black.
- If process-color is being used (CMYK), the text on the plate must use one of the process colors to avoid fuzzy edges. Black is preferable for the text in this case.
- Avoid thin lines less than 1/32 of an inch; they may break up or print unevenly.
- Avoid heavy coverage of ink in the alpha-numeric areas; it reduces legibility for law enforcement and the design is less likely to be approved.
- The logo width cannot not exceed 2 ½ inches. The length may be longer than 3 inches without interfering with the month or year decal on the license plate. It can be positioned on the left or right.
- The standard font, color (blue), and location of VIRGINIA (positioned at the top of the license plate) must be maintained.

To review DMV's existing plate designs, visit us at www.dmvNOW.com.

SPONSOR – Contact legislator to request support for a new license plate bill.

### Plate Numbering and Longevity

The numbering system for these special license plates is usually four numeric and two alpha characters for a standard production series. Example: 1001ZZ – 9950ZZ or ZZ1001 – ZZ9950.

#### **DMV Time Line**

The entire process may take up to two years. The estimated time for plate development and implementation is nine months (times may vary), after legislation and DMV receives the Preorder applications.

LEGISLATOR - Consult with sponsor and necessary personnel. Complete DMV form Acknowledgement of Support (VSA 155) and send to the sponsor. 4 WEEKS SPONSOR – Submit the completed DMV forms, Acknowledgement. 1 DAY DMV - Receive and review submissions and send a Preorder Request (VSA 10D) license plate application to 3 DAYS the sponsor. SPONSOR - Collect a minimum of 450 Preorder Request applications and payment. Verify collection with legislator prior to the General Assembly session in January. 9 - 12 MONTHS DMV - After the bill is authorized and signed by the Governor and becomes effective, receive and review applications and payment, logo use agreement and plate design from the sponsor. 8 WEEKS DMV - Submit plate design to vendor and receive metal prototype. 4 – 5 WEEKS DMV - Prepare and receive metal prototype approvals (sponsor, DMV Commissioner, State Police, and toll road facility). 8 WEEKS 8 - 10 WEEKS DMV - Order and receive the sheeting for printing.

DMV - Provide system requirements, communication updates, process applications, make and mail plates to

For further information, please contact t DMV License Plate Development:

E-mail: PlateDevelopment@dmv.virginia.gov

Fax: (804) 367-6379 Mail: Virginia DMV

customer.

License Plate Development - Room 322

P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, VA 23269-0001

February 21, 2017

3 – 4 WEEKS

1 DAY