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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
NEW SPECIAL LICENSE PLATE DEVELOPMENT 

 
Sponsor Information for Colleges/Universities and Fraternities/Sororities 

 
Legislation approved by the Virginia General Assembly and Governor authorizes the issuance of all 
special license plates.  State law allows institutions of higher education and fraternities/sororities to apply 
directly with DMV for the development of license plates bearing those entities' logos or symbols; however, 
that law creates two different standards for plate issuance.  If you represent a Virginia college or university, 
you may apply for revenue sharing license plates to fund, in whole or in part, scholarships for Virginia 
students.  Prior to issuance, you will not be required to submit any prepaid applications for your plates.  If 
you represent a non-Virginia college or university or a fraternity/sorority, regardless of location, you may 
apply only for non-revenue sharing plates and you will be required to collect and submit 350 or more 
prepaid applications before DMV can issue your plates.  Contact DMV License Plate Development for 
additional information to assist you in creating your plate. 
 
Sponsorship Requirements 
Unless otherwise required below, all submissions may be by e-mail, fax, or mail, as necessary. 
 
• Send a request to DMV License Plate Development to develop a new special license plate. 
• Complete the following initial requirements. 
 

Virginia Accredited 
Colleges/Universities 

Submit a signed Agreement prepared by DMV. 

Submit a scholarship plan approved by the State Council of Higher 
Education for Virginia (SCHEV).  
 
Follow the License Plate Scholarship, Review and Approval Process.  
The scholarship program is a legislative requirement.  After 1,000 
qualifying plate sales, $15 of every $25 collected will be returned 
annually to support scholarships for eligible students enrolled in the 
institution.  Only students who are bona fide domiciliaries of Virginia 
and are enrolled in educational programs whose primary purpose is not 
to provide religious training or theological education shall be eligible to 
receive such scholarships. 

  

Non-Virginia 
Colleges/Universities 

Submit a signed Agreement prepared by DMV. 

Facilitate the collection of 350 or more prepaid applications from 
applicants with active vehicle registrations.  Applicants must use DMV's 
License Plate Application (VSA 10).  Submit as required below. 

  

Fraternities/Sororities 

Submit authorization from the governing umbrella organization for use 
of the design and logo. 

Submit written evidence of affiliation with a traditional national social 
fraternity or sorority that is recognized by an Inter-fraternity Conference, 
National Pan-Hellenic Council, or Professional Fraternities Association. 

Facilitate the collection of 350 or more prepaid applications from 
applicants with active vehicle registrations.  Applicants must use DMV's 
License Plate Application (VSA 10).  Submit as required below. 

 

http://mydmv/intranet/administrations/vsa/vsaindex.shtml
http://mydmv/intranet/administrations/vsa/vsaindex.shtml
http://mydmv/intranet/administrations/vsa/vsaindex.shtml
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa10.pdf
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa10.pdf
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• Submit prepaid applications, when required, to: 
 
 Virginia DMV  
 License Plate Development – Room 322  
 2300 West Broad Street  
 Richmond, VA 23220 
 
• Submit the original raw files of the license plate design created in a vector base program (Adobe 

Photoshop or Illustrator, CS3 version or earlier). 
• Coordinate the design approval process. 
 
Plate Fees (plate fees are usually annual) 
Non-Revenue Sharing:  $10 Non-Personalized or $20 Personalized 
Revenue Sharing:  $25 Non-Personalized or $35 Personalized 
 
Collection and Submission of Prepaid Applications 
As a plate sponsor, if required, you will be responsible for collecting the prepaid applications and fees and 
submitting them to DMV.  DMV cannot accept applications submitted directly from applicants.  All 
applications must be made on the License Plate Application (VSA 10), which can be downloaded and 
reproduced.  You may alter the application by replacing the information in Purpose and Instructions at 
the top of the form with information specific to your organization and Additional Information on the back 
of the form may include pertinent information about your plate.  No other changes may be made to the 
application.  If certification is required in order to receive the license plate, your organization must verify, 
approve, and attach the appropriate certification to each application.  Only collect the license plate fee; the 
cost of the vehicle registration/renewal is not part of this process.  Your organization cannot pay the plate 
fee for the applicants.  The International Symbol of Access (ISA), also known as the disabled symbol, is 
available for all special license plates upon request.  Applications for souvenir license plates will not be 
accepted.     
 
One of the best financial suggestions for collecting plate fee payments DMV can make, based on the 
experience of other sponsors, is to simply collect the prepaid applications and deposit the monies in a 
special non-interest-bearing account. Be sure to keep accurate documentation of applications and 
payment and follow these steps when submitting your applications: 
 

1. Submit one check to DMV along with the applications; 
2. Separate the applications into three batches with a cover sheet for each batch displaying the total 

application count and dollar amount as follows: 
 

• New personalized plates 
• Non-personalized plates 
• Retaining personalized plates 
 

 The total dollar amount for all the batches should be the same as the amount written on the check.  
 
NOTE:  Retaining personalized plate - if the applicant already has a personalized plate and wishes to put 
the same character combination on the new plate, the character combination must be recorded in the 
boxes provided on the application.  Be mindful, the retaining character combination must be able to fit 
on this new license plate.  Although the application has eight boxes for the  PERSONALIZED LICENSE 
PLATE CHOICES, your plate will only hold six if it has a logo.  Without a logo, it will hold 7 ½ .  The cost 
will be the same as a new personalized plate. 
 
All applications must be current.  Those that cannot be processed will be returned to you, so that you can 
contact the applicant and resubmit an updated application.  For additional questions and information on 
the application process, contact DMV License Plate Development. 
 
Submission of Electronic Media Artwork 
You will be required to provide up to a four-color electronic camera-ready design.  Create and submit 
original raw files in a vector-based program (Adobe Photoshop or Illustrator).  The logo size should not 

http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/vsa10.pdf
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exceed 2 ¼ x 3 inches.  It can be positioned on the left or right.  The standard font, color (blue), and 
location of VIRGINIA (positioned at the top of the license plate) must be maintained.  If you need more 
details, visit the Conventional License Plate Design Resources page on 3M's website (www.3M.com/tss), 
and view the Conventional License Plate Design Specifications (PDF).  To review DMV’s existing plate 
designs, visit us at www.dmvNOW.com and, under the heading Online Transactions, select Plate 
Purchase, where you will see more than 200 different plates. 
 
Once the applications have been submitted, DMV will provide a metal prototype for your approval.  Your 
plate is also subject to review and approval by the Virginia State Police and Richmond Metropolitan 
Authority to ensure the background color/graphics do not interfere with the ability to read the license plate 
number by either law enforcement or toll authorities.  Preliminary unapproved designs used for marketing 
purposes should have a disclosure statement informing potential applicants that the designs may be 
subject to changes pending DMV approval. 
 
Plate Numbering and Longevity 
The numbering system for these special license plates is usually four numeric and two alpha characters 
for a series.  Example:  1001ZZ – 9950ZZ or ZZ1001 – ZZ9950.  If your plate will have a logo, an applicant 
requesting personalization may receive up to six characters. 
 
For Non-Virginia Colleges/Universities and Fraternities/Sororities ONLY: No additional plates shall 
be issued or reissued if, after five years, there are fewer than 200 active sets of plates on the road.  
 
DMV Time Line 
The estimated periods for the development and issuance process are: 
 
Receive prepaid applications, logo use agreement and plate design.  Review and approve plate 
design. 

8 weeks 

Submit plate design to vendor and receive prototype. 6 to 8 weeks 
Emboss the prototype and receive approvals from DMV, the sponsor, and State Police (when 
necessary). 

8 weeks 

Order and receive the sheeting for printing. 8 to 10 weeks 
Provide system requirements, communication updates, make and mail plates to customer. 3 to 4 weeks 
Nine months is an approximate period for “best case” scenario with no delays. 
 
For further information, please contact DMV License Plate Development: 
E-mail: carolyn.easley@dmv.virginia.gov 
Phone: (804) 367-0368 
Fax:  (804) 367-1096 
Mail: Virginia DMV 
 License Plate Development – Room 322 
 P.O. Box 26668 
 Richmond, VA 23261-6668 
  May 2014 
 

http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3M/en_US/Traffic_Safety/TSS/Partners_Dealers/LP_Designers/Conventional/
http://www.3m.com/tss
http://www.dmvnow.com/
mailto:carolyn.easley@dmv.virginia.gov
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