

OPERATING AUTHORITY CERTIFICATE OR LICENSE APPLICATION

(APPLICATION AND INSTRUCTIONS)

Purpose:

Use this form to apply for authority to operate as a motor carrier within Virginia under the authority types identified below. For information on how

to obtain For-Hire Intrastate Operating Authority for types of for-hire services not identified below, visit www.dmvNow.com.

To ensure accurate and timely processing of your application, read and follow all steps outlined in the Operating Authority Certificate Application Instructions:

Instructions (OA 150-I).

NOTE: The application process for operating authority involves multiple steps, including the submission of various pieces of information, and requires the applicant's continuing involvement and cooperation with DMV staff. It is critical that all required information is current and that it is submitted

timely. If after 90 days you have failed to respond to a request for information, DMV may cancel your application. If your application has been

canceled and you later decide to reapply for operating authority, you will need to begin the process as a new applicant.

Please be aware of the following prohibition: If you have been or are found guilty of performing, offering, advertising, providing, procuring, or arranging by contract, agreement, or arrangement to transport passengers for compensation without the required license, permit, or certificate through either a conviction resulting from a Virginia Uniform Summons or a civil penalty appropriately assessed by DMV, you will be denied the license, permit, or certificate requested for a period of 12 months beginning from the date of the conviction or assessment of the civil penalty. This prohibition does not apply to Household Goods authority type applicants.

SECTION 1 -- APPLICATION AND AUTHORITY TYPES

Selecting the correct "Authority Type" is important as these selections impact how DMV will process your application. Authority types available are defined below:

ALL APPLICATIONS MUST INCLUDE:

- A \$50.00 nonrefundable filing fee.
- A Surety Bond or Irrevocable Letter of Credit (Additional information provided in the "Authority Types" section). These forms must be completed by a Surety Company or financial institution licensed to do business in Virginia
- A tariff if applying for Household Goods Authority (refer to Household Goods section below).
- A Power of Attorney document (from your surety company).

AUTHORITY TYPES

BROKER - PASSENGER -- Select this authority type if:

- you would like to obtain OR change a For-Hire Intrastate Operating Authority License to arrange for the transportation of passengers within Virginia by companies authorized by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to transport passengers. The following requirements MUST be met:
 - You must:
 - ensure the transporting carrier is authorized by DMV to transport passengers.
 - provide your service to the general public without discrimination.
 - report any change of address to DMV Motor Carrier Services within 30 days.
 - ensure the number of your license appears in any advertisement for your services.
 - maintain a copy of the certificate of public convenience and necessity issued to those carriers through which transportation is arranged.
- notify DMV in writing within 30 days if you discontinue your
- maintain a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit in the amount of \$25,000 for as long as the license is active.

Refer to form OA435 - Passenger Carrier and NOTE: Passenger Broker Bond or form OA447 - For Hire Operating Authority Certificate or License, Irrevocable Letter of Credit located under "Forms and Publications" on dmvNow.com.

CONTRACT PASSENGER -- Select this authority type if:

- ▶ you would like to obtain a For-Hire Intrastate Operating Authority Certificate to contract to transport groups of passengers within Virginia and will charge a group fee for your services. The following requirements MUST be met:
 - You must:
 - conduct trips that are PREARRANGED under a contract made with a group through a representative of the group.
 - contract with groups for at LEAST a one-hour time period, even if the trip lasts less than one hour.
 - -no other group(s) may be transported during the timeframe of the contract.
 - carry a copy of the contract or of a trip sheet in the vehicle during the trip. The contract or trip sheet must contain:
 - the name of the passengers who arranged for the use of the vehicle
 - the origin and destination of the trip
 - the date and approximate pick up time
 - maintain the contract or trip sheet at your place of business for three years
 - make the contract or trip sheet immediately available to any of the following upon request:
 - **DMV**
 - law enforcement
 - airport authority
 - provide your service to the general public without discrimination.
 - ensure the number of your certificate appears in any advertisement for your services.

advertisements for your services may not contain NOTE: untrue, misleading, or deceptive information.

- maintain a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit in the amount of \$25,000. The bond must be kept in effect for 3 years from the issue date of the operating authority certificate.
- NOTE: Refer to form OA435 - Passenger Carrier and Passenger Broker Bond or form OA447 - For Hire Operating Authority Certificate or License, Irrevocable Letter of Credit located under "Forms and Publications" on dmvNow.com.
- You may not station your vehicle(s) in front of or across the street from a hotel/motel, or within 100 feet of a taxicab stand without a completed trip sheet or contract order in the vehicle(s), or a written agreement with an airport authority or hotel/motel owner providing office space for your business at the airport/hotel/motel.
- If your application is approved, you will be required to have proof of insurance filed with DMV by your insurance company. Required minimum amount is as follows:

Minimum Bodily Injury and Property Damage Amount	Total Passengers (including driver)		
\$350,000	1 to 6		
\$1,500,000	7 to 15		
\$5,000,000	16 or more		

SECTION 1 -- APPLICATION AND AUTHORITY TYPES (continued)

HOUSEHOLD GOODS -- Select this authority type if:

- ▶ you would like to obtain a For-Hire Intrastate Operating Authority Certificate to transport household goods* (See Definition below) within Virginia. The following requirements MUST be met:
 - ♦ You must:
 - provide your service to the general public without discrimination.
 - · transport household goods as defined below.
 - carry a copy of the bill of lading when you are transporting the household goods.

NOTE: You must maintain a copy of the bill of lading at your place of business for at least three years.

- follow the procedures below if you receive a written claim of loss or damage:
 - -On the claim itself, write the date you received it.
 - -Within 30 days, send the claimant a written acknowledgement of receipt of the claim.
 - -Within 120 days you must
 - ♦ pay the claim, OR
 - send written notification that you decline to pay the claim,OR
 - make a firm compromise settlement offer in writing.
 - -If the claim is not processed or disposed of within 120 days, send the claimant a written report of the status of the claim every 30 days, along with the reasons for the delay.
- file a tariff that includes all of your rates and any rules, policies or guidelines you will impose on your customers.
- NOT charge rates exceeding those listed in the tariff filed with DMV for deliveries over 30 miles.

NOTE: For additional instructions and a sample tariff for Household Goods Carriers see form OA450 located under "Forms and Publications" on dmvNow.com.

- ♦ Before you can change your rates, you must
 - notify DMV, in writing, at least 30 days before you wish to make the change, and
 - have received written approval from DMV.
 - You or your agent may publish a joint tariff with another carrier (s) if a power of attorney or notice of concurrence is filed with DMV.
 - You must send written notification to DMV, at least 60 days in advance, before you can revoke the power of attorney or notice of concurrence.
- You may not, by contract or otherwise, shorten the length of time a person has for filing a claim to less than 30 days or shorten the time for filing a suit to less than two years.
- You must maintain a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit in the amount of \$50,000. The bond must be kept in effect for 5 years from the issue date of the operating authority certificate. NOTE: Refer to form OA436 - Household Goods Carrier Bond

Refer to form OA436 - Household Goods Carrier Bond or form OA456 - For Hire Operating Authority Certificate or License, Irrevocable Letter of Credit located under "Forms and Publications" on dmvNow.com.

If your application is approved, you will be required to have proof of insurance filed with DMV by your insurance company. Required minimum amount is as follows:

Minimum Bodily Injury and Property Damage Amount	Minimum Cargo Amount		
\$750,000	\$50,000		

HOUSEHOLD GOODS - personal effects and property used or to be used in a dwelling, when transported or arranged to be transported (i) between residences or (ii) between a residence and a storage facility with the intent to later transport to a residence. Transportation of such goods must be arranged and paid for by, or on behalf of, the householder.

SIGHT SEEING -- Select this authority type if:

- ▶ you would like to obtain a For-Hire Intrastate Operating Authority Certificate to transport the general public to and from points of interest in Virginia primarily for the passengers' experience and enjoyment and/or to promote tourism. The following requirements MUST be met:
 - ♦ You must:
 - provide service to the general public without discrimination.
 - NOT refuse service without good cause.
 - operate only on a round trip basis.
 - issue a ticket that displays the points of interest and the roundtrip fare.
 - ensure the number of your certificate appears in any advertisement for your services.
 - advertisements for your services may not contain untrue, misleading, or deceptive information.
 - You must maintain a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit in the amount of \$25,000. The bond must be kept in effect for 3 years from the issue date of the operating authority certificate.

NOTE: Refer to form OA435 - Passenger Carrier and Passenger Broker Bond or form OA447 - For Hire Operating Authority Certificate or License, Irrevocable Letter of Credit located under "Forms and Publications" on dmvNow.com.

 If your application is approved, you will be required to have proof of insurance filed with DMV by your insurance company.
 Required minimum amount is as follows:

Minimum Bodily Injury and Property Damage Amount	Total Passengers (including driver)		
\$350,000	1 to 6		
\$1,500,000	7 to 15		
\$5,000,000	16 or more		

SECTION 2 -- BUSINESS INFORMATION

Complete all fields in this section as described below:

BUSINESS NAME - enter the legal name used to register your business. FEDERAL TAX IDENTIFICATION NUMBER - Internal Revenue Service assigned number that identifies your business entity.

TRADE NAME OR DOING BUSINESS AS - enter the name by which people know your business. Only complete this field if this name is different than your "Business Name".

BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS - enter the street number and name of your business' physical location. This location must be where the routine day to day operations of the business are conducted, owned or leased by the applicant, satisfy all applicable local zoning regulations, houses all records, and be equipped with a working telephone listed in the business name.

CITY - enter the city name of your business' physical location.

STATE - enter the state name of your business' physical location.

ZIP CODE - enter the postal zip code for your business' physical location.

RUSINESS MAIL ING ADDRESS - enter the mailing address (street

BUSINESS MAILING ADDRESS - enter the mailing address (street number and name OR P.O. Box) for your business. Only required if different than business' physical location.

CITY - enter the city of the mailing address for your business.

STATE - enter the state of the mailing address for your business.

ZIP CODE - enter the postal zip code of the mailing address for your business.

COUNTY NAME - if your business is located in Virginia, enter the county name for the business' physical location (if applicable).

BUSINESS TELEPHONE NUMBER - the number at which your business can be reached during business hours, this number must be listed or advertised in the name of the business.

BUSINESS FAX NUMBER - FAX transmissions sent to the physical location of your business will use this number.

PRIMARY CONTACT PERSON NAME - enter the name of the person who will serve as the primary DMV contact for any questions regarding your application or business.

PRIMARY CONTACT TELEPHONE - enter the best number to reach the primary contact person listed for your business.

PRIMARY CONTACT FAX NUMBER - enter the best number to send FAX transmissions to the business' primary contact person.

PRIMARY CONTACT PERSON TITLE - enter the official business title of the business' primary contact person.

PRIMARY CONTACT EMAIL ADDRESS - enter the email address for the business' primary contact person.

SECTION 3 -- BUSINESS ENTITY INFORMATION

READ INSTRUCTIONS carefully, then complete with applicable business officials.

SECTION 4 -- LICENSE / CERTIFICATE INFORMATION

Answer questions in this section accurately and provide additional information as appropriate.

IRP ACCOUNT NUMBER / IFTA LICENSE NUMBER - enter the IRP account number(s) or IFTA license number that you currently hold or have previously held.

BASE STATE - enter the name of the jurisdiction that serves as your base state for IFTA/IRP.

CERTIFICATE / LICENSE TYPE - if your business has had an operating authority certificate or license denied, suspended or revoked, enter the type of certificate or license that was denied, suspended or revoked.

CERTIFICATE / LICENSE NUMBER - enter the certificate or license number(s) associated with the denial, suspension or revocation.
CERTIFICATE / LICENSE WAS - Check appropriate box to indicate if your certificate or license was denied, suspended or revoked.
REASON - enter the reason why your certificate or license was denied, suspended or revoked.

SECTION 5 -- CERTIFICATION

Carefully read this section, then sign and date where indicated.

SECTION 6 -- PAYMENT METHODS

A \$50.00 **non-refundable** filing fee must be included with this application. If this application is returned to you, you may be required to pay another \$50.00 filing fee.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have additional questions or need assistance, you can contact a Motor Carrier Services Representative at:

804-249-5130 (voice)

800-828-1120 (deaf and hearing impaired only)

804-367-1058 (fax)

mcsonline@dmv.virginia.gov (e-mail)



OPERATING AUTHORITY CERTIFICATE OR LICENSE APPLICATION

	1. APPLICA	TION AN	ID AUTH	ORITY TYP	ES				
AUTHORITY TYPE REQUESTED									
☐ BROKER - PASSENGER ☐ CON	BROKER - PASSENGER CONTRACT PASSENGER HOUSEHOLD GOODS SIGHT SEEING								
	2. Bl	JSINESS	INFOR	MATION					
BUSINESS NAME (For Individual applicants give your f	ull legal name)			FEDER	AL TAX ID	/DRIVERS LICENSE N	UMBER (if sol	e proprietor)	
TRADE NAME OR DOING BUSINESS AS (if different f	rom Business Name)			·					
BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS (do not give P.O. Box)		CITY					STATE	ZIP CODE	
BUSINESS MAILING ADDRESS (if different from above	e)	CITY STATE ZIP CO			ZIP CODE				
COUNTY NAME (if Virginia Address)		TELEPHONI			NUMBER	FAX N	IMBER (business)		
PRIMARY CONTACT PERSON NAME		TELEPHON		TELEPHONE	NUMBER	NUMBER FAX NU		IMBER (contact)	
PRIMARY CONTACT PERSON TITLE		PRIMARY	CONTAC	T PERSON EMA	AIL ADDRE	SS			
	3. BUSIN	IESS ENT	TITY INF	ORMATION					
Virginia law requires DMV to determine if persor of criminal history information to DMV in order to requested below must be provided for:	evaluate certificate/l	icense app	olicants. I						
 The owner of the business if you are applying as a sole proprietor (individual), Each partner of the business if applying as a partnership, limited partnership (LP), or limited liability partnership (LLP), Each member and /or manager if applying as a limited liability company (LLC), or Each officer if applying as a corporation. 									
If any of the business officials listed below holds							ERTIFIED co	opy of that	
person's driving record with this application rega	rdless of whether the	official ho	lds a driv			cation card.	ı		
FULL LEGAL NAME	FULL LEGAL NAME DRIVER LICENSE (certi		(certified copy if not issued				SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER		
	4. LICENSE	/ CERTIF	FICATE	INFORMATION	ON				
Does your business have NO - Skip to	o the next question			ENSE NUMBER				BASE STATE	
:= 2 : - · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	applicable information								
IRP ACCOUNT NUMBER	BAS	ASE STATE IRP ACCOUNT NUMBER BASE ST		BASE STATE					
Has any official of the business had any type of NO YES - list certificate / license type(s) and		l certificate	or licens	e denied, susp	ended, or	revoked?			
Has your business had any type of local, state, or federal certificate or license denied, suspended, or revoked? NO YES - list certificate / license type(s) and number(s) below.									
Certificate / License Type	Certificate / Licens	cense Certificate / License was: (check if applicable)							
		DE	NIED						
	DENIED SUSPENDED/REVOKED SUSPENDED/REVOKED								
Have you as a sole proprietor, or a partner, or the business name provided above, or any business official listed above, ever been convicted or assessed a civil penalty for operating, offering, advertising, providing, procuring, furnishing or arranging to transport passengers for compensation without first obtaining a license, permit or certificate from DMV?									
	ES - provide additional d	etail below.							
FULL LEGAL NAME				IVICTION L PENALTY	COUR	Γ(if conviction)			

OA 150 (03/25/2022) Page 2	
----------------------------	--

FULL LEGAL NAME	CONVICTION	COURT(if convic	ction)			
	CIVIL PENAL	TY				
	·	•				
	5. CERTIFICATION					
I certify that I will comply with all of the applicable provisions of the Code of Virginia, Title 46.2, and with all applicable requirements prescribed by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. I affirm that all taxes, fees, penalties, interest, and judgements due the Commonwealth of Virginia have been paid or satisfied and that I am in compliance with the Worker's Compensation Act of Title 65.2 and with the Business, Professional, and Occupational License Tax requirements. I further certify and affirm that all information presented in this form is true and correct, that any documents I have presented to DMV are genuine, and that the information included in all supporting documentation is true and accurate. I make these certifications and affirmations under penalty of perjury and I understand that knowingly making a false statement or representation on this form is a criminal violation. I understand that any Virginia Operating Authority certificate or license issued to me can be suspended and revoked if any of the information in the application is found to be untrue or inaccurate.						
APPLICANT OR AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE NAME	ED REPRESENTATIVE NAME		PLICANT OR AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE TITLE			
APPLICANT OR AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE SIGNATURE		OATE (mm/dd/yyyy)				
AVOID DELAYS in processing your application, review instructions to ensure you have completed this application correctly.						
6. PAYMENT METHODS						
Applicants must include a NON-REFUNDABLE \$50.00 fee with this application. If this application must be returned to you for any reason, you may be required to pay another \$50.00 filing fee. (Check one:)						
CHECK / MONEY ORDER Made payable to DMV CREDIT CARD / E-Check provide contact nu		per → TELEPHONE NU	UMBER			
NOTE: In our continuing effort to safeguard customer information, DMV does not accept credit card payments by mail or email. You may pay with a credit card by having a Motor Carrier Services Representative contact you. We accept checks and money orders via mail.						