
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
MOTOR CARRIER SERVICES
POST OFFICE BOX 27412
RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23269-0001

MOTOR FUEL ROAD TAX QUARTERLY REPORT
(FOR INTRASTATE AND NON-IFTA INTERSTATE CARRIERS )

IMPORTANT NOTE:  Refer to instructions on reverse side before completing this report.  Failure to correctly complete this report may subject the carrier to penalty and interest.
For assistance please contact DMV Motor Carrier Services at: (804) 367-0558 (voice) (800) 272-9268 (deaf/hearing impaired) (804) 367-0273 (fax)

6.  INTRASTATE CARRIERS ONLY  —  FUEL TAX COMPUTATION
Complete this section if you operate in Virginia ONLY

6A Total miles traveled in Virginia by qualified motor vehicles Miles

6B Tax paid gallons purchased in Virginia and placed in qualified motor vehicles Gallons

6C Miles per gallon (Line 6A divided by Line 6B rounded to two decimal places) M.P.G.

6D Additional Tax Due (Line 6B times $.035) $ Additional Tax Due

6E Late Fee (please see instructions on reverse side) $ Late Fee

6F Interest Due (please see instructions on reverse side) $ Interest Due

6G Grand Total Due (Line 6D plus Line 6E plus Line 6F) $ Total Due
See Back For Information On Payment Methods

7. NON–IFTA INTERSTATE CARRIERS ONLY  —  FUEL TAX COMPUTATION
Complete this section if you operate in Virginia and D.C. ONLY

7A Total miles traveled in Virginia and D.C. by all qualified motor vehicles Miles

7B Total gallons purchased in Virginia and D.C. and placed in qualified motor vehicles Gallons

7C Miles per gallon (Line 7A divided by Line 7B rounded to two decimal places) M.P.G.

7D Miles traveled in Virginia by qualified motor vehicles Miles

7E Motor fuel used in Virginia (Line 7D divided by Line 7C rounded to nearest whole gallon) Gallons

7F Tax due on motor fuel used in Virginia (Line 7E times $0.195) $ Tax

7G Tax paid gallons purchased in Virginia and placed in qualified motor vehicles Gallons

7H Tax paid on motor fuel purchased in Virginia (Line 7G times $0.16) $ Tax Paid

7I Additional tax due/refund (Line 7F minus Line 7H) $ Tax/Refund

7J Late Fee (please see instructions on reverse side) $ Late Fee

7K Interest Due (please see instructions on reverse side) $ Interest Due

7L Grand Total Due/Refund (Line 7I plus Line 7J plus Line 7K) $ Total Due/Refund
See Back For Information On Payment Methods

8.  CERTIFICATION (INTRASTATE AND NON–IFTA INTERSTATE CARRIERS MUST COMPLETE)

I  CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THIS  REPORT IS  TRUE,  CORRECT,  AND COMPLETE,  TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE.

SIGNATURE DATE T E L E P H O N E  N U M B E R
(             )

PR INT  NAME PRINT TITLE F A X  N U M B E R

(             )

2 .    R E P O R T I N G  P E R I O D

3.    DUE DATE

4.    MOTOR FUEL ROAD TAX L ICENSE NUMBER (FEIN  OR SSN)

5 .    I F  YOU D ID  NOT OPERATE QUAL IF IED MOTOR VEHICLES THIS
QUARTER PLEASE CHECK THIS  BOX:      NO OPERATIONS

1.  CARRIER NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS (IN BOX ABOVE)

Check applicable box(es).
  AMENDED REPORT (Refile all information, not just additions.)
  CLOSE ACCOUNT/CANCEL LICENSE
  NAME AND/OR ADDRESS CHANGE ENCLOSED

MC122 (Rev. 09/98)



INSTRUCTIONS

ALL CARRIERS
1. Verify that your name and address are correct in item 1.  Please enclose any changes with your report.
2. The reporting period is listed in Item 2.  You will report your operations for this period.
3. The due date is listed in Item 3.  Your tax report must be postmarked or received by a DMV location by this date.
4. Your Motor Fuel Road Tax license number is indicated in Item 4 for reference purposes.
5. Check the No Operations block in Item 5 ONLY if you did not operate qualified vehicles during this quarter.

• If you are filing an amended report, closing your account, canceling your license, or enclosing a name and/or address change check applicable box.
• Mail your completed report with payment to the address shown on the front.
• If you need assistance in completing your report, please contact DMV Motor Carrier Services at:
 (804) 367-0558 (voice) (800) 272-9268 (deaf/hearing impaired) (804) 367-0273 (fax). 
 COMPLETE SECTIONS 6 AND 8 IF:
• you are an intrastate carrier operating in Virginia only.

 COMPLETE SECTIONS 7 AND 8 IF:
• you operate in Virginia and Washington, D.C. only.

SECTION 6
6A. Enter the total miles traveled in Virginia by qualified vehicles during this

reporting period.  Round to nearest whole mile.
6B. Enter the tax paid gallons purchased in Virginia plus fuel withdrawn from

tax–paid bulk storage maintained in Virginia and placed in your qualified
vehicles.  Round to nearest whole gallon.

6C. Determine your MPG by dividing the miles on Line 6A by the gallons on
Line 6B.  Round the result to two decimal places.  Enter on Line 6C.
Note:  If your MPG averages above 12.00, attach a letter explaining why
your vehicles receive a high MPG.

6D. Multiply Line 6B by .035 and enter the result on Line 6D (additional tax
due).

6E. If your report is not postmarked or received at a DMV location by the due
date, or if you do not pay the total tax due, you must pay a late fee of
$50.00 or 10 percent of the tax due (Line 6D), whichever is greater.
Note:  If your report is not postmarked or received at a DMV location by
the due date, but you do not owe any taxes (Line 6D is zero) you must
still pay the late filing fee of $50.00.

6F. If your report is not postmarked or received at a DMV location by the due
date, or if you do not pay the total tax due, you must pay interest on the
tax due.  Multiply the tax due (Line 6D) by the interest rate of one percent
(.01) by the number of months late.  A partial month is considered a full
month when determining the number of months late.

6G. Add the numbers on Lines 6D, 6E, and 6F.  Enter the result on Line 6G.
This is the total amount due.  Remit this amount when you file your report.

SECTION 7
7A. Enter the total miles traveled in Virginia and D.C. by qualified vehicles

during this reporting period on Line 7A.  Round to nearest whole mile.
7B. Enter the total gallons purchased  in Virginia and D.C. plus fuel withdrawn

from bulk storage maintained in Virginia and D.C. and placed in your
qualified vehicles.  Round to nearest whole gallon.

7C. Determine your MPG by dividing the miles on Line 7A by the gallons on
Line 7B.  Round the result to two decimal places.  Enter on Line 7C.
Note:  If your MPG averages above 12.00, attach a letter explaining why
your vehicles receive a high MPG.

7D. Enter the total number of miles traveled in Virginia by qualified vehicles
during this reporting period on Line 7D.  Round to nearest whole mile.

7E. Divide the miles on Line 7D by your MPG on Line 7C.  Round to the
nearest whole number.  Enter the result on Line 7E.

7F. Multiply Line 7E by $0.195 and enter the result on Line 7F (tax due).
7G. On Line 7G, enter the tax paid gallons purchased in Virginia plus fuel

withdrawn from tax–paid bulk storage maintained in Virginia and placed in
your qualified vehicles.  Line 7G should not be larger than Line 7B.

7H. Multiply Line 7G by $0.16 and enter the result on Line 7H (tax paid).
7I. Subtract Line 7H from Line 7F and enter the result Line 7I (additional tax

due/refund).
Note:  If the amount is a negative number, enter the number with a minus
sign.  This is your refund amount.

7J. If your report is not postmarked or received at a DMV location by the due
date, or if you do not pay the total tax due, you must pay a late fee of
$50.00 or 10 percent of the tax due (Line 7I), whichever is greater.
Note:  If your report is not postmarked or received at a DMV location by
the due date, but you do not owe any taxes (Line 7I is zero or a negative
number) you must still pay the late filing fee of $50.00.

7K. If your report is not postmarked or received at a DMV location by the due
date, or if you do not pay the total tax due, you must pay interest on the
tax due.  Multiply the tax due (Line 7I) by the interest rate of one percent
(.01) by the number of months late.  A partial month is considered as a full
month when determining the number of months late.

7L. Add the numbers on Lines 7I, 7J, and 7K.  Enter the result on Line 7L.
This is your grand total due.  Remit this amount when you file your report.
Note:  If the amount is a negative number, enter the number with a minus
sign.  This is your refund amount.

SECTION 8
Complete Section 8.

PAYMENT METHODS
YOU MAY PAY BY CHECK OR MONEY ORDER MADE PAYABLE TO DMV OR COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING TO CHARGE BY CREDIT CARD.  TO CHARGE BY TELEPHONE,
CALL (804) 367-0558.
NAME APPEARING ON CREDIT CARD (PLEASE PRINT) DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER

(                    )
CREDIT
CARD
NUMBER

DATE CARD
EXPIRES
(MMYY)

AMOUNT TO BE CHARGED

$
I hereby authorize DMV to charge
the credit card account listed

CARD HOLDER’S SIGNATURE DATE

  CHECK BOX IF YOU ARE PAYING BY CREDIT CARD

MC122 (Rev. 09/98)
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