
The Code of Virginia, Chapter 22, §58.1, Virginia 
Fuels Tax Act, allows authorized Virginia DMV 
agents to physically inspect, examine, or search any 
of the following:

Any tank, reservoir, or containers that can be ��
or may be used for the production, storage, 
transportation, or use of fuel, fuel dyes, or 
markers
Equipment used for dyeing or marking of fuel��
Books and records kept to determine fuels tax ��
liability under Chapter 22, §58.1-2276

Virginia DMV agents may detain any vehicle or any 
other mode of fuel transportation to inspect its fuel 
or storage tanks, and may extract and keep samples 
of fuel to clarify the fuel composition.

Penalties
Any person refusing to allow an inspection shall be 
subject to a civil penalty of $5,000 for each refusal.  
This penalty is in addition to any other penalty or 
tax imposed.

Civil penalty – The greater of $1,000 or $10 per 
gallon of the maximum fuel tank capacity.

Criminal penalty – Over 20 gallons, Class 6 felony; 
20 gallons or less, Class 1 misdemeanor.

Fuel Inspection Notice

Dyed diesel is diesel fuel that has been marked with 
red dye to indicate that tax has not been paid on 
it and that it is destined for and restricted to non-
taxable uses.  

In Virginia, dyed diesel may not be used in the 
propulsion tank of a diesel-powered highway 
vehicle driven on Virginia highways if the vehicle 
is registered, or required by Virginia statute to be 
registered, or if an overweight permit must be 
obtained for the vehicle to travel over Virginia 
highways.  This applies to all highway vehicles 
driven on Virginia highways, whether the vehicle 
is garaged in the Commonwealth or driven into 
Virginia from another state. 

Exemptions from registration are described in the 
Code of Virginia, Title 46.2, Chapter 6, Article 6.  
Vehicles which may be exempt from registration 
but do not meet all parameters to remain exempt 
(including limited permitted highway use) may not 
use dyed diesel fuel on the highway.  

Using dyed diesel for taxable use is a serious 
offense because it deprives the Commonwealth of  
revenues to maintain and repair its public highways.  
Such use is unlawful and violators may be subject 
to a substantial civil penalty, may be charged with a 
criminal violation, or both.    

Permissible Use of 
Dyed Diesel Fuel
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