
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Post Office Box 27412
Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001

Please recycle.

w w w . d m v Now. c o m

DMV 279 (10/19/2016)
© Commonwealth of Virginia, 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 2016. 
All rights reserved.

state, he must also have a Virginia TNC 
registration card.

�� Vehicle insurance information, which can be 
provided through the TNC’s app.

�� TNC-issued partner identification credential, 
which can be provided through the TNC’s 
app.

�� Proof of Virginia safety inspection. This 
applies for in-state and out-of-state vehicles.

Penalties
�� Per the Code of Virginia, Title 46.2, Chapter 

20, any person who knowingly and willfully 
violates any TNC regulation is guilty of 
a misdemeanor and could be subject to 
fines of up to $5,000 per violation and civil 
penalties of up to $1,000 per violation. 

Virginia State Crash Report (FR300)

When reporting a crash involving a TNC 
vehicle, please note the following in the “Crash 
Description” section on the Virginia State Crash 
Report (FR300):

�� The company for which the partner is 
operating

�� The name of the TNC insurance provider 
and the policy number (Continue to report 
the partner’s personal insurance information 
in the “Vehicle” section of the form.)

Contact Us

If your agency needs assistance or would like to 
work directly with DMV agents, please contact:

DMV Law Enforcement Division
Phone: (804) 367-1678 or (804) 367-1997
Email: enforcement@dmv.virginia.gov

Consumer complaints should be referred to:

DMV Motor Carrier Services
Phone: (804) 249-5130
Email: mcsonline@dmv.virginia.gov



registration year decals on Virginia license 
plates.

�� Vehicles may be used to provide TNC 
services without TNC registration decals for 
30 days from the date the vehicle is registered 
with DMV for TNC use. TNC registration 
status, including the 30-day temporary status, 
can be validated through the Virginia Criminal 
Information Network (VCIN).

�� The trade dress must be that of a licensed 
TNC operator in Virginia. A list of approved 
TNCs can be found at https://www.dmv.
virginia.gov/general/#auth_mc.asp.  TNC-
issued trade dress can be placed anywhere 
on the vehicle as long as it is visible in 
accordance with state law, Va. Code 46.2-
2099.50(c).

�� Must be a personal or authorized rental 
vehicle.

�� Must have and retain evidence of a valid 
Virginia safety inspection annually, even if 
the vehicle is registered in another state.

�� Cannot seat more than eight people, 
including the driver.

�� Must be lawfully titled and registered in 
Virginia or another state.

�� May not have been issued a certificate of 
title, either in Virginia or another state, 
branding the vehicle as salvage, non-
repairable, rebuilt or any equivalent 
classification.

�� Must be covered under a TNC insurance 
policy meeting the requirements of Va. Code 
46.2-2099.52, as applicable.

TNC Partners (Drivers)
�� Must be a licensed driver at least 21 years of 

age. The driver can be licensed in another 
state, as long as the vehicle is registered as 
a TNC partner vehicle in Virginia and has a 
valid Virginia safety inspection. Authorized 

Virginia law regulates transportation network 
companies, more commonly called TNCs. These 
companies use a smart phone app to match 
passengers with nearby drivers through GPS 
technology. TNC drivers, called partners, operate 
their personal or authorized rental vehicles. Ride 
arrangement and payment is all done through 
the app. Street hails are prohibited. Although 
the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 
oversees TNC regulations, DMV special agents 
and local and state law enforcement share the 
duty of enforcing the new law. The following list 
of requirements will help you identify whether a 
driver is operating in compliance with the new 
law.

TNC Vehicles

�� Must display TNC registration decals and 
trade dress appropriately at all times the 
vehicle is in TNC operation, i.e., when the 
app is on. Vehicles with Virginia license 
plates will display black and gold TNC 
decals on their license plates, in place of 
standard year registration decals. Out-of-
state vehicles will display a black and gold 
TNC decal on the outside of the upper left 
corner of the rear 
window. Rental 
vehicles must 
display a black 
and white paper 
TNC decal on the 
rear windshield or 
orange and black 

rental vehicles used to provide TNC services 
must be paired as the partner vehicle in the 
TNC app.

�� Must carry a valid driver’s license, TNC 
registration, a TNC-issued identification 
credential and insurance coverage 
information. The TNC-issued ID credential 
and insurance coverage information can be 
made available through the app.

�� May not accept street hails, solicit ride 
requests or accept any other ride request 
that has not been prearranged by the app.

�� May not discriminate against matched 
passengers based on their pick-up or drop-
off locations and must comply with all 
applicable laws relating to nondiscrimination 
and the accommodation of service animals.

�� May not operate on airport property unless 
authorized by the airport operator.

�� Must submit to a background check 
performed by the TNC for which he drives 
and notify the TNC of any changes to his 
criminal or driving record.

�� Must not use a vehicle for TNC services that 
has not been registered in Virginia for TNC 
use.

�� May not loan or lease a TNC-registered 
license plate or trade dress to a non-TNC 
partner, allow a non-partner to use a TNC-
registered vehicle to offer TNC services, or 
allow a TNC partner to use a TNC-registered 
vehicle unless that partner has been affiliated 
with the vehicle by a TNC.

Documentation a TNC Partner 
Must Carry

�� Driver’s license from his home state.

�� Vehicle registration from his home state. 
If his vehicle is registered in Virginia, the 
registration must indicate that it is for TNC 
use. If his vehicle is registered in another 


