
based on their pick-up or drop-off locations. 
You must notify your TNC immediately if 
you refuse to transport a passenger after 
accepting the ride request.

�� Comply with all applicable laws relating to 
accommodation of service animals.

�� Never operate a vehicle for a prearranged 
ride unless the TNC has authorized the 
vehicle for your use and for that specific 
ride.

�� Do not operate on airport property unless 
authorized.

�� Never operate a motor vehicle for more 
than 13 hours in any 24-hour period.

�� Notify each TNC for which you drive 
of any event that may disqualify you 
from service, including a change in your 
vehicle’s registration status; the revocation, 
cancellation, suspension, or restriction 
of your driver’s license; a change in your 
vehicle’s insurance coverage; a moving 
violation; or a criminal arrest, plea or 
conviction.

Follow the rules or you will be subject to tough 
civil and criminal penalties and could be banned 
from serving as a TNC partner for 12 months.
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Insurance coverage requirements:

From the time you accept a ride request to the 
time the ride is complete, you must carry motor 
vehicle liability coverage and uninsured and 
underinsured motorist coverage of at least $1 
million for death, bodily injury and property 
damage.

When logged onto the app but not transporting 
or en route to transport a customer, you 
must carry motor vehicle liability insurance 
of at least $50,000 per person and $100,000 
per incident for death and bodily injury, 
and at least $25,000 for property. Insurance 
coverage requirements can be met by a TNC 
partner’s insurance, the TNC’s insurance, or a 
combination of the two.
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To obtain TNC registration for your 
vehicle:

First, check with the TNC for which you operate 
to determine if it initiates TNC registration with 
DMV on your behalf.  If so, the TNC registration 
credentials will be mailed to the vehicle owner on 
file with DMV.  

Once DMV has processed a TNC registration, the 
vehicle will be allowed to operate on a temporary 
TNC registration status for 30 days, allowing 
sufficient time for the TNC registration credentials 
to be displayed.

If your vehicle is titled and registered 
in Virginia, register your vehicle online at 
dmvNOW.com. To apply by mail, fax or at a 
Virginia DMV customer service center, complete 
form MCS 305A which is available online or at 
customer service centers.

If your vehicle is not titled and registered 
in Virginia, your application will be processed 
at DMV headquarters.  Obtain an MCS 305B 
application at dmvNOW.com and upload, fax 
or mail it, along with a copy of your vehicle 
registration card, to DMV headquarters as noted 
on the application form.  You may also visit a 
Virginia DMV customer service center where 
staff will fax your application to headquarters for 
processing.

If you are using a rental vehicle for TNC 
purposes in Virginia, you must ensure the rental 
vehicle is paired in your TNC driver profile prior to 
operating the rental vehicle for TNC purposes.

To get started as a TNC partner, you 
must:

�� Be a licensed driver at least 21 years of age.
�� Possess a valid driver’s license from Virginia 

or another state.
�� Obtain authorization from a licensed 

transportation network company. A list of 
authorized companies is available at https://
www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/#auth_
mc.asp.

�� Pass the TNC’s driver history check and a 
criminal background check, which includes 
a check of state and federal sex offender 
registries.

The vehicle you drive for TNC 
purposes must:

�� Be a personal vehicle, registered for private 
use, or an authorized rental vehicle.

�� Have a Virginia safety inspection annually. 
This applies even if the vehicle is registered 
in another state.

�� Be registered for TNC use with DMV. You 
must obtain Virginia TNC registration even 
if your vehicle is registered for TNC use in 
another state.

�� Have its TNC registration decals and TNC 
trade dress appropriately 
displayed at all times the 
vehicle is in TNC operation. 

You must also carry 
your driver’s license, 
TNC registration 
card, a TNC-issued 
identification 

credential and insurance 

coverage information.  A TNC may make 
the identification credential and insurance 
information available through the app. Your 
trip sheet/manifest must always be available 
through the app.

�� Be covered by all applicable insurance 
policies. 

�� Rental vehicles must comply with all of the 
above. In addition, rental vehicles must 
have a black and white paper decal in the 
lower left corner of the rear windshield, 
accompanied by a TNC clause or addendum 
in the rental contract, or have orange and 
black registration year decals on Virginia 
license plates.

Remember to:

�� Never transport passengers unless the ride 
was requested through the TNC’s app. You 
may not solicit, accept, arrange, or provide 
transportation in any other manner. Street 
hails are not permitted.

�� Only accept payment of fares through the 
TNC app. 

�� Never drive while under the influence of 
drugs or alcohol.

�� Obey all traffic laws and only use the app in 
a manner consistent with the law.

�� Comply with all applicable laws regarding 
nondiscrimination against passengers 
or potential passengers. You may not 
discriminate against matched passengers 


