

Commonwealth of Virginia • Department of Motor Vehicles Intrastate Motor Carrier Inspection Information

DMV Authority to Inspect

DMV employees are granted access and authority to inspect and examine:

- All lands, buildings, or equipment used by intrastate motor carriers in connection with their operations; and
- All accounts, records, and memoranda, including all documents, papers, and correspondence, kept by intrastate motor carriers.

DMV access and inspection authority applies to:

- ▶ Intrastate motor carriers required to obtain Virginia Operating Authority;
- Receivers of motor carriers;
- Operating trustees;
- Brokers;
- Excursion train operators; and
- Persons having direct or indirect control over any motor carrier or persons affiliated with any motor carrier, when deemed necessary by DMV.

Authority is granted by statute: Code of Virginia §§ 46.2-2011.16, 46.2-2125

Refusing or Interfering with Inspection

If a motor carrier refuses to permit or interferes with DMV access, inspection or examination:

- ▶ The motor carrier may be assessed a civil penalty of up to \$1,000 (§§ 46.2-2011.23, 46.2-2132);
- ▶ The motor carrier may be charged with knowing and willful violation of Virginia law and, if convicted, may be fined up to \$2,500 for the first offense and up to \$5,000 for any subsequent offense (§§ 46.2-2011.22, 46.2-2131); and
- ▶ DMV may deny, suspend, or revoke the motor carrier's license, permit, or certificate (§§ 46.2-2011.24, 46.2-2133).

General References

Regulation of Passenger Carriers: Code of Virginia Title 46.2, Chapter 20 (§ 46.2-2000 et seq.);

Regulation of Property Carriers: *Code of Virginia* Title 46.2, Chapter 21 (§ 46.2-2100 et seq.).

