
Deactivating License Plates 

If you operate vehicles registered in Virginia for only part of the 
year, you may temporarily deactivate your license plates and 
cancel the insurance without having to surrender the license plates 
to DMV. This allows service men and women to deactivate their 
license plates and cancel insurance during deployment. It is illegal 
to operate any motor vehicle with deactivated plates.  

To reactivate the plates, you must:
have no outstanding tax obligations on your motor vehicle
provide insurance policy information or pay the uninsured 

motor vehicle fee
pay a $10 reactivation fee (if the registration has not 

expired)

License plates can be deactivated and reactivated at 
www.dmvNOW.com.

DITY Move Weigh-In 
Active duty military members in the process of a do-it-yourself 
(DITY) move can bring a vehicle to any of DMV’s 13 Motor Carrier 
Service Centers (MCSC) to be weighed. DMV will provide a weight 
ticket free of charge.  MCSC locations are listed at 
www.dmv.virginia.gov/commercial/#mcs/weigh/map.asp.

Frequently Asked Questions
Q:  Do I have to be a Virginia resident to title and register a 
vehicle in Virginia?
A:  No. However, you are required to provide proof of the address 
you provided on DMV’s Application for Certificate of Title and 
Registration (form VSA 17A). 

Q:  Does a vehicle have to be titled in Virginia in order to be 
registered in Virginia? 
A:  Yes.

Q: If I live off base or off post, what documents will I need 
to verify proof of address to get a Virginia title and register a 
vehicle? 
A: Normally, an original lease or mortgage agreement, or an 
electric, cable or phone bill, which lists your physical address, are 
acceptable. These documents cannot be generated from your home 
computer.

Q: What sales taxes are required when purchasing a vehicle in 
Virginia?
A: Everyone is required to pay a 4 percent or a minimum of $75 
sales and use tax when purchasing a vehicle. However, the sales tax 
is waived if all of these conditions are met:

The vehicle is being registered for the first time in Virginia
The applicant holds a valid title or registration issued to 

him/her by another state or a branch of the U. S. Armed 
Forces

The applicant has either owned the vehicle for longer 
than 12 months or provides evidence of a sales tax paid to 
another state

Q: What personal property taxes are required when purchasing 
a vehicle in Virginia? 
A: Any person who is active military duty is exempt from taxation 
if their legal residence or domicile is outside of Virginia, pursuant 
to the Federal Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. If the spouse of an 
active duty military person is not a Virginia resident and has the 
same domicile as the person on active military duty, then the spouse 
is exempt from taxation.  The vehicle may be registered in the name 
of either the active duty military person or the active duty military 
person’s spouse, individually or in both names, jointly.  If the vehicle 
is jointly owned with anyone other than the active duty military 
person and/or his/her spouse and the co-owner is not on active 
military duty, the vehicle is taxable.

Q: Am I required to purchase a county or city decal for my 
vehicle? 
A:  Depending on your location, you may have to purchase a 
locality decal. City and county decals are issued by localities, not 
DMV. In most cases, however, active duty service members are 
exempt from buying decals and paying personal property tax. To 
be eligible for the military exemption, you may be required to visit 
the county or city government offices where you reside. Visit www.
dmvNOW.com/webdoc/citizen/vehicles/exempdiscchart.asp for 
more information about exemptions for the city of Virginia Beach.

Q: Do I need to notify DMV if I am deployed to another area 
and want to cancel my insurance on vehicles I have registered in 
Virginia?
A: Yes, even if you are deployed outside of Virginia, you must 
notify DMV of insurance cancellations, and tag and license plate 
deactivation. If your tags are still valid, they must be surrendered to 
DMV. 

Q: What if I am required to attend driver improvement clinic 
in connection with my Virginia driver’s license, but I am not 
stationed near a driver improvement clinic?
A: If you are a member of the military or a dependent, you may 
be eligible for an extension. The extension may be granted only 
if the military member or dependent is stationed outside Virginia 
in a jurisdiction that does not offer an approved eight-hour driver 
improvement clinic. The military person or dependent must provide 
a copy of military papers indicating military status, assigned station 
and the date of return to Virginia. The clinic completion date 
may be extended to 90 days after the date of return. For more 
information, call the Driver License Compliance Work Center at 
804-367-1556 or visit http://www.dmvNOW.com/webdoc/citizen/
drivers/backonroad.asp#clinics.
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Military Special Plates 

The Virginia DMV offers more than 30 different special plates 
that let you show your military pride.  

When you title and register your vehicle in Virginia, 
go to  www.dmvNOW.com, check out 
Military Special Plates, and  display 
them proudly. 



The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles welcomes the men 
and women of the military stationed in the Commonwealth.

Driver’s Licenses, Learner’s 
Permits and ID Cards 
If you are an active duty member of the military stationed in Virginia, 
you, your spouse and dependent children may drive with a valid 
driver’s license issued by your home state or country. You are not 
required to obtain a Virginia driver’s license; however, if you choose 
to apply, you will need documents to prove:

Identity (two documents) 
Virginia residency 
Legal presence – either U.S. citizenship or legal 

authorization by the federal government to be in 
the U.S.

Social security number, if you have been issued one

Visit www.dmvNOW.com for a complete list of documents DMV 
will accept. Use the online interactive document guide or see the 
brochure entitled “Obtaining a Virginia Driver’s License or ID Card” 
(DMV 141).

Residency Documents
If you are active duty military and present one of the following 
documents, you will be exempt from the requirement to present a 
residency document as proof of your Virginia address.

Letter from commanding officer, on official letterhead 
with an original signature, stating that the applicant resides 
onboard a ship docked in Virginia or in a barracks located 
in Virginia

Orders from the U.S. military assigning the applicant to a 
military unit with a Virginia address  

Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) showing Virginia as 
the applicant’s legal residence

Spouses and dependents listed on military orders can use the orders 
and their unexpired military dependent ID card as proof of residency. 
Applicants under age 19 may have a parent or legal guardian certify 
their Virginia residency. The parent or legal guardian must appear in 
person with the applicant, and provide a photo identification card 
and proof of their Virginia residency.

License Extensions
Members of the military and certain individuals may request an 
extension of their Virginia driver’s license. 

These include:
Active duty members of the U.S. military who are deployed 

outside of Virginia and plan to return
Members of the U.S. diplomatic service who are serving 

outside of the U.S.
A civilian employee of the U.S. government, or any agency 

or contractor serving outside of the U.S. on behalf of the 
 U.S. government
The spouses and dependents of any of the above

One extension may be granted with the required documentation 
and will be valid for three years. A driver whose license is extended 
will be given an extension card to carry with the expired license. This 
card indicates that the extension is valid for up to three years, or for 
180 days after the driver returns to the U.S., whichever occurs first. 
A military extension packet may be requested by mail. Requests can 
be mailed to DMV Driver Support, P.O. Box 27412, Richmond, VA 
23269.

Return the following: 
A completed driver’s license and identification card 

application (form DL 1P)
A copy of the service member’s military identification card
A copy of military orders or a certification letter, on 

U. S. government letterhead signed by the commanding 
officer/supervisor 

These documents should contain the name of the person requesting 
the extension, and should state that the customer is an active duty 
member of the military (or a spouse or dependent) stationed outside 
of Virginia.

Troops to TrucksSM 

Through the Troops to TrucksSM program, DMV is helping service 
men and women obtain tools for future employment in the 
transportation industry. If you have at least two years military truck 
driving experience and a military CDL, DMV waives the skills test—
one less test and one step toward getting a Virginia CDL. Need 
experience? Troops to TrucksSM offers classroom and behind-the-
wheel training right on post. Additional information is available at 
www.dmvNOW.com/T2T. 

Motorcycle Classification 

An active duty member of the military, or a spouse or dependent 
of an active duty member, who has successfully completed a 
basic motorcycle rider training course approved by the United 
States Armed Services is exempt from the Virginia motorcycle 
knowledge and skills tests when adding a Virginia motorcycle 
designation to your valid Virginia driver’s license. When you apply 
for a motorcycle designation, you will need to provide a copy of 
your active duty military identification card and submit your U.S. 
military-approved basic motorcycle rider training course certificate. 

You will be required to pay a $20 license replacement fee and the 
$2-per-year motorcycle classification fee for each year of validity 
remaining on their driver’s license. Additional information is 
available at www.dmvNOW.com/military.

Veterans ID Cards 

On behalf of the Department of Veteran Services (DVS), DMV issues 
veteran ID cards for proof of veteran status to receive discounts 
from retailers and restaurants. For just $10, your Virginia veterans 
ID card is a convenient way to show proof of your veteran status so 
you can reap the rewards. For information on which retailers and 
restaurants offer discounts for veterans, visit the DVS website at 
www.virginiaforveterans.com.

To be eligible for the Virginia veterans ID card, you must have 
served in the U.S. Armed Forces and received an honorable 
discharge; hold an unexpired Virginia commercial driver’s license, 
driver’s license, learner’s permit or DMV-issued ID card; and 
present DMV with a copy of a document (or a combination of 
documents) that indicate branch of service, discharge date, and 
discharge status. For full eligibility requirements, visit 
www.dmvNOW.com/military.

Vehicle Titling and Registration
While stationed in Virginia, if you purchase a vehicle, you may title 
and register that vehicle in your home state, or you may title and 
register the vehicle in Virginia. Vehicles titled and registered in your 
name may be driven with valid out-of-state license plates if you are 
the sole owner. If the vehicle is co-owned and out-of-state plates 
are used, all co-owners must be active duty members of the Armed 
Forces. If all the co-owners are not active duty members, the vehicle 
will need to be registered in Virginia.

To title a vehicle in Virginia, submit the following to DMV:
A completed Application for Certificate of Title and 

Registration (form VSA 17A). Be sure to check “yes” to the 
question that asks if the applicant is an active member of 
the military.

Proof of address
The previous owner’s title signed over to you if the vehicle 

is used. If you are titling a vehicle from another state, bring 
your title from your previous state of residence. Your name 
must appear on the out-of-state title as owner. Or, you may 
have the previous owner of the out-of-state vehicle assign 
the title to you.

Your social security number, if you have one.

If there is a lien on the vehicle, the title will be mailed to the lien 
holder and you will receive a registration card and license plates. If 
there is no lien on the vehicle, you will receive the Virginia title.

Title and Registration Fees 

When titling your vehicle in Virginia, you are required to pay a 
title fee and a 4.1 percent motor vehicle sales and use tax that is 
based on the vehicle’s sale price. There is a $75 minimum tax. If 
you hold a valid, assignable title or registration issued in your name 
by another state or branch of the military, you will not have to pay 
the motor vehicle sales and use tax. However, if you purchased 
the vehicle within the preceding 12 months, to be exempt in 
Virginia you must provide proof that the sale and use tax was paid 
elsewhere.

Your registration fee is determined by the empty weight/gross weight 
of your vehicle, the type of license plate you purchase and the 
number of years (one or two) you register your vehicle. Customers 
receive a $2 discount when they register for two years. Owners 
of vehicles garaged in the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, 
Prince William or Stafford, or the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls 
Church, Manassas or Manassas Park must pay an additional annual 
$2 emissions fee. Renew your vehicle registration (decals) at 
www.dmvNOW.com, via telephone or mail. A $1 discount is 
applied when you renew online. A $5 fee is added to registration 
renewals conducted in a DMV customer service center.

Servicemembers’ Civil Relief Act and 
Your Vehicle
Virginia law allows you to indicate on your vehicle registration 
application or renewal that you are a military member. This can 
provide additional protection in the event your vehicle has a lien 
placed against it requiring a court order granting enforcement of 
the lien. This protection is an important consideration, especially 
during a deployment. It is provided under the Servicemembers’ 
Civil Relief Act. 

Insurance Requirements
You may title and register your vehicle in Virginia without obtaining 
a Virginia driver’s license, but before you put plates on your vehicle 
and drive on the road, your vehicle will need to be inspected and 
insured. All Virginia drivers must carry the minimum insurance 
requirements on their vehicle, or pay the Uninsured Motor Vehicle 
fee, before registering a vehicle in Virginia. Your insurance carrier 
must be authorized to conduct business in Virginia. Virginia requires 
the following minimum coverage: 

Bodily injury/death of one person: $25,000
Bodily injury/death of two or more persons: $50,000
Property damage: $20,000 

The $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee, which is paid to DMV, 
does not provide insurance. It only allows you to drive an uninsured 
vehicle at your own risk. It expires with your vehicle’s registration and 
must be paid when renewing your registration.

For a list of insurance companies authorized to conduct business in 
Virginia, go to: www.dmvNOW.com/exec/link.asp?56

Imported Vehicles
For imported vehicles, military personnel or U. S. residents returning 
from a foreign country must complete CBP Form 3299, a Declaration 
for Free Entry of Unaccompanied Articles, with an original customs 
inspector’s stamp and signature, or name and badge number. The 
vehicle make and identification number (VIN) must be specified on 
the CBP Form 3299.

Foreign military members stationed at military installations in Virginia 
under the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) may register 
your vehicles for the length of your tour of duty only. A copy of your 
orders must be presented to determine the length of your tour of 
duty.

Other Vehicle Information
To ensure your vehicle is mechanically safe to operate in Virginia, it 
must pass an annual vehicle safety inspection. Trailers with separate 
braking systems must also be inspected. 

If you are an active military member residing in Virginia and return 
from an official absence, you have 14 calendar days to obtain a 
current vehicle safety inspection sticker. If you are an active military 
member stationed and own vehicles garaged outside Virginia and 
return to the Commonwealth, you have 72 hours to obtain a current 
vehicle inspection sticker.

For more information about Virginia’s inspection requirements, 
contact the Virginia State Police at www.vsp.virginia.gov or 
(804) 674-6774.
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