REGISTRATION
To register to vote in
Virginia, you must:

» Be a United States
citizen

» Be a resident of
Virginia

» Be 18 years old by the
next general election

» Have had your voting
rights restored if you
have ever been
convicted of a felony

» Have had your
capacity restored if
you have ever been
declared mentally
incapacitated in a
Circuit Court.

IMPORTANT!
Deadline: 22 days before
the election.

The voter registration
application must be
postmarked (or delivered
to the county or city voter
registration office or DMV)
no later than 22 days
before the election in
which you plan to vote.

However, if you are
already registered to vote
at your current address,
you do not need to
reregister.

Photocopies of the
application are accepted
with an original signature.

The only time faxes are
accepted is for an address
change.

PRIVACY ACT NOTICE

Article Il, Section 2 of the
Constitution of Virginia
(1971) requires that a
person registering to vote
provide his or her social
security number, if any.
Therefore, if you do

not provide your social
security number, your
application for voter
registration will be denied.
Section 7 of the Federal
Privacy Act (Public Law
Number 93-579) allows
the Commonwealth to
enforce this requirement,
but also requires that you
be advised that state and
local voting officials will
use the social security
number as a unique
identifier to ensure that
no person is registered in
more than one place.



The registration card will
not be open to inspection
by the public. Your social
security number will
appear on reports
produced only for official
use by voter registration
and election officials, and
for jury selection purposes
by courts.

ATTENTION
You must answer boxes
1 - 11 on the voter
registration application. If
you do not complete all of
the specified boxes
your application will
be denied by your local
registrar. Once your
local registrar approves
your application, you
should receive a voter
card.

WARNING
Intentionally making
a false statement on
the voter registration
application constitutes
the crime of election
fraud, which is punishable
under Virginia law as a
felony. Violators may be
sentenced to up to 10
years imprisonment, or up
to 12 months in jail, and
fined up to $2,500.

Virginia Department of Elections
1100 Bank Street

Richmond, Virginia 23219-3485
Telephone: 804-864-8901

Toll Free: 800-552-9745

FAX: 804-371-0194

TTY: 711

DMV 181 (10/06/2015)

© The Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) 2015. All rights reserved.

Virginia
Voter
Registration

Application
Instructions

Large Print




