Driving Under the Influence of
Alcohol and Drugs

When operating a motor vehicle, boat or watercraft
in Virginia, you are legally considered driving or
operating under the influence (DUI) if your blood
alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher. You
may be considered under the influence with a lower
BAC if your ability to operate a motor vehicle, boat
or water craft is impaired. If your driving is affected
because you are under the influence of any drug,
you may face the same penalties as driving under the
influence of alcohol.

If you are involved in a motor vehicle crash and a
law enforcement officer has probable cause, you can
be arrested for DUI within three hours of the crash
without a warrant and at any location.

If you are arrested for DUI a third or subsequent time
within a five-year period, you will not be granted bail
while you wait to go to trial.

All DUI laws apply to mopeds operated on public
highways.

Open Container

You may be charged with drinking while operating a
motor vehicle if you are stopped by law enforcement
and you have an open container of alcohol in the
passenger area, the contents of which have been
partially removed, and you exhibit signs that you
have been drinking. The passenger area refers to

the area designed to seat the driver and passengers
and any area within the driver’s reach, including an
unlocked glove compartment.

Administrative License Suspension (ALS)

For a first DUI offense and/or breath test refusal, your
driver’s license will be automatically suspended for
seven days if your BAC is 0.08 percent or higher. For
a second DUI offense and/or breath test refusal, your
license will be automatically suspended for 60 days
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or until you go to trial, which ever comes first.
For a third DUI offense and/or breath test refusal,
your license will be automatically suspended until
you go to trial. Conviction of a DUI offense will
result in suspension of your driver’s license and
other penalties in addition to the administrative
suspension.

Breath Test Refusal

By operating a vehicle on Virginia highways, you
have consented to a breath or blood test upon arrest
for DUL. If you unreasonably refuse a breath or
blood test, Virginia law requires the court to suspend
your driver’s license for one year. A second breath
or blood test refusal shall result in a three-year
suspension. A second breath test refusal is also a
Class 1 misdemeanor.

If you are also convicted of DUI, the DUI driver’s
license revocation period will run consecutively with
the breath or blood test refusal revocation. You are
not eligible for a restricted driver’s license during the
suspension for a breath or blood test refusal.

Conviction for DUI first offense
» Mandatory, minimum $250 fine
» Driver’s license revocation for one year

Conviction for DUI second offense
» Mandatory, minimum $500 fine
» Driver’s license revocation for three years
» Possible jail term up to one year

Conviction for DUI second offense within ten
years of prior offense carries the following
additional penalty

» Mandatory, minimum ten-day jail term
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Conviction for DUI second offense within five
years of prior offense carries the following
additional penalty

» Mandatory, minimum 20-day jail term

Three DUI convictions within a ten-year period

» Mandatory, indefinite driver’s license
revocation

» If your driving privilege is revoked for a first
or second DUI offense conviction and you
receive another DUI, the license revocation
period will run consecutively with the
existing revocation period.

Conviction for DUI third offense or DWI felony
» Mandatory, minimum $1,000 fine
» Mandatory indefinite driver’s license
revocation
» Prosecution as a Class 6 felony

Conviction for DUI third offense within five years
carries the following additional penalty
» Mandatory, minimum six-month jail term

Conviction for DUI third offense within ten years
carries the following additional penalty
» Mandatory, minimum 90-day jail term
» Permanent forfeiture of your vehicle (if you
are the sole owner)

Conviction for DUI fourth or subsequent offense
» Mandatory, minimum one-year jail term

BAC of 0.15% and not higher than 0.20% at the
time of arrest
» First offense carries a mandatory, minimum
five-day jail term in addition to all other
penalties
» Second offense within ten years carries a
mandatory, minimum ten-day jail term in
addition to all other penalties

BAC of 0.20% or higher at the time of arrest
» First offense carries a mandatory, minimum
ten-day jail term in addition to all other
penalties

» Second offense within ten years carries a
mandatory, minimum 20-day jail term in
addition to all other penalties

Driving on a Suspended License

A third conviction within ten years for driving on a
license suspended because of a DUI-related offense
is a class 6 felony and carries a mandatory term of
one to five years or a fine of $2,500 or both.

Criminal Record

Any DUI offense will be reported to the Central
Criminal Records Exchange by law enforcement at
the time of your arrest. In other words, you could
end up with a criminal record because of a DUI
arrest.

Zero Tolerance

If you are under age 21, you cannot purchase,
possess or consume alcohol.

If law enforcement stops you while driving after
illegal consumption of alcohol, you are subject to
administrative license suspension (ALS). If you are
convicted of driving after illegally consuming alcohol
and were found to have a BAC of 0.02 and less than
0.08, the court penalty will include a suspension of
your driving privilege for one year from the date of
conviction, and a minimum mandatory fine of $500,
or the requirement that you complete at least 50
hours of community service.

Regardless of age, if driving on a DUI suspended or
restricted license, you may be charged with DUI if
you drive with a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher.

Equal Penalties for Under Age 21

Persons under age 21 who drive while under the
influence of drugs or with a blood alcohol content
of 0.08 percent or higher are subject to the same
penalties as persons age 21 or older.




Transporting Children While
Under the Influence

Conviction of any DUI offense involving a juvenile
passenger (age 17 or younger) in the vehicle at the
time of the offense carries an additional mandatory
five-day jail term in addition to all other fines and jail
sentences. You may also be assessed an additional
fine of at least $500 and up to $1,000. A second
DUI offense with a juvenile (age 17 or younger) in
the vehicle carries an additional 80-hour community
service requirement in addition to all other fines and
jail sentences.

Ignition Interlock Device

If you are convicted of a DUI first offense, the court

will require that you have an ignition interlock device
installed on at least one vehicle and any vehicles you
operate as a condition of restricted driving privileges.

If the court does not require ignition interlock, DMV
will require you to have an ignition interlock device

installed on at least one vehicle and any vehicles you
operate as a condition of restricted driving privileges.

If you are convicted of the following:
» Convicted of a DUI second offense within
ten years, or
» Convicted of a DUI third or subsequent
offense within ten years
the court will require that you have an ignition
interlock device installed on every vehicle you own,
co-own or operate as a condition of restricted driving
privileges or full restoration of driving privileges:

In the following cases:
» Convicted of a DUI second offense within
ten years, or
» Convicted of a DUI third or subsequent
offense within ten years, or
» Convicted of three separate DUI offenses
within ten years
DMV will require you to have an ignition interlock
device installed as a condition of restricted driving
privileges or full restoration of driving privileges, even
if the court does not require it.

Convictions for a first offense violation of the

ignition interlock restriction or other restricted
license provisions will result in a DMV revocation

of your driving privilege for one year. Two or more
convictions of violating restricted privileges will result
in a three-year revocation. Restricted privileges will
not be available during these revocation periods.

Persons convicted of a DUl in a U. S. District Court
are able to petition for restrictions in a General
District Court in their residential jurisdictions. They
are also subject to the above requirements.

Alcohol Education Treatment Program

If you are convicted of DUI, you must report to an
Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) in your area
for screening and probationary oversight to have
your license reinstated. This process will determine
the intervention services that are most appropriate.
At your own expense, you may be assigned to an
education program and/or referred to treatment.
You will spend a minimum of 20 hours during a 10-
week period in ASAP classes if you are assigned to
education. Those convicted of a first offense will be
on probation for a year. For a second or subsequent
offense, three years probation is required. If ignition
interlock is required, Virginia ASAP will monitor your
compliance with the court’s requirements.

Vehicle Impoundment

The vehicle you are driving will be immediately
impounded or immobilized for 90 days if you

are caught driving after your license has been
suspended for an alcohol-related offense. The court
can impound the vehicle for an additional 90 days
following conviction. The owner of the vehicle
impounded (other than the driver) may petition

the court for release of the vehicle. Anyone who
knowingly permits operation of their motor vehicle
by a person known to have a revoked or suspended
license for an alcohol-related offense can be charged
with a Class 1T misdemeanor.

Restitution

Depending on local ordinances, you may be liable
(for up to $1,000) for the cost of law enforcement,
emergency medical services, fire fighting and rescue
personnel who respond to a crash or incident
resulting from your DUI violation.

Penalties for Providing Alcoholic Beverages
to Persons Under Age 21

If you provide or sell alcoholic beverages to a person
under age 21, intoxicated or ordered by a court to
refrain from consuming alcohol, you are subject to a
fine up to $2,500, 12 months in jail and mandatory
suspension of your driver’s license for up to one year.
These same penalties apply if you assist someone
under age 21 in obtaining or purchasing alcohol.

Penalties for Persons Under Age 21
Purchasing, Possessing or Consuming Alcohol

If you're under age 21 and you purchase, possess
and/or consume alcohol, you face a fine ranging
from $500 to $2,500, up to 12 months in jail and
mandatory suspension of your driver’s license for at
least six months but not more than one year.

Penalties for Possessing Alcoholic Beverages
at Public Schools

Drinking or possessing alcoholic beverages on public
school grounds can result in a fine of up to $1,000
and up to six months in jail regardless of your age.

Misrepresentation of Age

If you are under age 21 and you use or attempt to
use an altered, fictitious or simulated document or
student ID to establish a false age in an attempt to
consume or purchase alcoholic beverages, you will:
» be fined at least $500 or,
be required to perform at least 50
hours of community service
» face up to 12 months in jail and,
» face mandatory suspension of your drivers’s
license for at least six months but not more
than one year.

Boating and Hunting Under the Influence

It's unlawful to operate a boat or watercraft while
under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. It is
also unlawful to hunt wildlife using a firearm, bow
and arrow, or crossbow while under the influence of
alcohol and/or drugs.

This guide is an informational tool. It does not
supercede the Code of Virginia, Virginia Administrative
Code or any other statute. This information was
compiled and published by the Virginia Department

of Motor Vehicles.

ngw. dmvvow. com
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Post Office Box 27412
Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001
(804) 497-7100
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