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2012 LEGISLATION  
 

The 2012 Virginia General Assembly passed two bills relating to the Virginia Fuels Tax Act.   Highlights of the 
bills, that will be effective July 1, 2012, are listed below. 
   

HB536-Fuels Tax Omnibus Bill 

HB536 eliminates the license requirement for bulk users of undyed diesel and retailers of undyed diesel under 
§58.1-2204 of the Virginia Fuels Tax Act.  The bill also modifies the requirements associated with shipping 
documents under §58.1-2263 of this chapter.     

 A person shall not transport motor fuel loaded at a terminal rack or bulk plant rack unless the person has a 
shipping document for its transportation that complies with this section. A terminal operator or operator of a 
bulk plant shall give a shipping document to the person who operates the means of conveyance into which 
motor fuel is loaded at the terminal rack or bulk plant rack.  

Also, any person who (i) transports motor fuel loaded at a terminal rack or bulk plant rack without a shipping 
document or with a false or an incomplete shipping document or (ii) delivers motor fuel to a destination state 
other than that shown on the shipping document, shall be subject to a civil penalty. If the fuel is transported in 
a railroad tank car, the civil penalty imposed under this subsection shall be payable by the person responsible 
for the movement of the motor fuel in the railroad tank car. If the fuel is transported by any other means of 
conveyance, the civil penalty imposed under this subsection shall be payable by the person in whose name the means of 
conveyance is registered. The amount of the civil penalty assessed against a person for his first violation shall be 
$5,000. The amount of the civil penalty assessed against a person for his second or subsequent violation shall 
be $10,000.  

In addition to the above mentioned changes, HB536 modified the language in §58.1-2274 to replace “shall” 
with “may” as it relates to seizing vehicles to enforce an assessment.   

SB639 - $50 Annual Fee for Electric Vehicles 

SB639 clarifies the tax on alternative fuel vehicles.   The new language states that a $50 annual license tax will 
be imposed on every highway vehicle registered in Virginia that is an electric motor vehicle.  The $50 annual 
license tax will be collected at the time the vehicle is registered. 

 
If you have any questions about any information in this document, contact DMV’s Tax Services at: 
 
      Samuel.Hunter@dmv.virginia.gov                                       Tammy.West@dmv.virginia.gov 
      (804) 367-8877                                           (804) 367-0883 
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