

## PERMANENT FARM USE PLACARD CERTIFICATION

**Purpose:** Owners of qualifying farm vehicles use this form to certify compliance with Code of Virginia requirements

for use of farm placards.

Instructions: All owners must sign the Certification section. Mail completed form with a check or money order (made

payable to DMV) to: DMV - Special Registration Work Center, Post Office Box 27412, Richmond, Virginia

23269-0001 or present to any DMV Customer Service Center (CSC) or DMV Select.

OWNER INFORMATION			
OWNER'S FULL LEGAL NAME (last, first, mi, suffix) OR BUSINESS NAME (if business owned)	DMV CUSTOMER NUMBER/FEIN/SSN		
CO-OWNER'S FULL LEGAL NAME (last, first, mi, suffix)	DMV CUSTOMER NUMBER / FEIN / SSN		

FARM INFORMATION				
TYPE OF COMMODITY		TOTAL APPROXIMATE ACREAGE		
I certify I am the farm: Owner	Lessee			
Virginia Code § 46.2-684.2 requires an owner	or lessee of a pickup, panel truck or sport utility vehicle cla	aiming a registration		

Virginia Code § 46.2-684.2 requires an owner or lessee of a pickup, panel truck or sport utility vehicle claiming a registration exemption for a farm vehicle pursuant to §§ 46.2-665, 46.2-666, 46.2-670, 46.2-672, or 46.2-673 to obtain a permanent farm use placard and to display such placard on the vehicle at all times. The fee for the placard is \$15. Total fees will be calculated at the time of processing.

- The vehicle must be titled (Virginia Code § 46.2-600), but is not required to obtain a state inspection (Virginia Code § 46.2-1158.01(21)).
- Farm vehicles requiring the farm use placard are pickups, panel trucks or sport utility vehicles used for: agricultural or horticultural purposes; seasonal transportation of farm produce and livestock; transportation of certain wood products; or, transportation of fertilizer, cotton, or peanuts.
- Return trips of the vehicle displaying a farm use placard are limited to: making a return trip from any marketplace; transporting back to a farm ordinary and essential food (Virginia Code § 46.2-673) and other products for home and farm use (Virginia Code § 46.2-673); or, transporting supplies to the farm.
- The placard is permanent and valid for so long as the owner or lessee uses the vehicle for an exempt purpose and it does not require renewal.
- The placard is nontransferable and must be returned to the DMV within 30 days of the vehicle ceasing to be used for one or more of the exempt purposes.
- It is a traffic infraction to violate the permanent farm use placard limitations while operating an unregistered vehicle pursuant to these registration exemptions (Virginia Code § 46.2-613).
- Unregistered farm use vehicles must be insured by a policy authorized pursuant to Virginia Code § 46.2-684.1. Failure to furnish proof of insurance within 30 days when required by a law-enforcement officer is a traffic infraction punishable by a \$600 fine.

	VEHICLE INFORMATION				
YEAR	MAKE	MODEL	VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN)		

INSURANCE CERTIFICATION				
I/We certify that (check box):				
This vehicle is insured by a policy authorized pursurally Failure to furnish proof of insurance within 30 days officer is a traffic infraction punishable by a \$600 fine.	when required by a law-enforcement	NAME OF INSURANCE COMPANY		
EXEMP	T PURPOSES CERTIFICATION			
I/We certify that (check box):				
This vehicle shall only be used for one or more of the 46.2-672, or 46.2-673. See <a href="https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/">www.dmv.virginia.gov/</a>				
	CERTIFICATION			
I/We certify and affirm that all information presented if are genuine, and that the information included in all saffirmation under penalty of perjury and I/we understated criminal violation.	supporting documentation is true and a	ccurate. I/We make this certification and		
APPLICANT NAME (print)	APPLICANT SIGNATURE	DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)		
CO-APPLICANT NAME (print)	CO-APPLICANT SIGNATURE	DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)		
		·		
DMV USE ONLY				
PLACARD NUMBER	DMV ID			