
Getting Licensed to 
Operate a Motorcycle 
in Virgina 
To operate a motorcycle in Virginia, you 
must have a motorcycle endorsement on 
your driver’s license or a motorcycle-only 
driver’s license. 

The type of endorsement you receive 
depends on the type of bike you plan 
to operate – two-wheeled (M2), three-
wheeled (M3) or both (M) – and the 
training or testing you’ve completed.

There are three ways to obtain your 
motorcycle endorsement in Virginia:

1. Pass the Virginia Rider Training 
Program course which requires no 
additional DMV testing, or

2. Pass the DMV motorcycle knowl-
edge exam, hold a learner’s permit 
for 30 days, and pass the motorcycle 
road skills test, or

3. Transfer in your out-of-state motor-
cycle endorsement when you move 
to Virginia

About the... 
Two-Wheel Motorcycle 
Skills Test
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) offers a skills test for motorcycle 
endorsement applicants. The test consists 
of four exercises that measure your ability 
to handle a motorcycle including starting, 
accelerating, turning, and braking and 
swerving.

Studies have shown that riders with less 
than one year of riding experience have 
more crashes than more experienced 
riders. The skills test ensures that you 
have the critical skills you’ll need to safely 
operate a motorcycle on the road and to 
avoid crashes.

It’s important to be fully prepared to 
take your motorcycle skills test when you 
visit DMV. Virginia law requires anyone 
who fails the DMV Motorcycle Skills Test 
twice to successfully complete a Virginia-
licensed Motorcycle Rider Training Course 
before obtaining a motorcycle license.

What to Expect...
When You Arrive for Your Test
To receive a motorcycle endorsement on
your license, you must pass the motor-
cycle knowledge test and the motorcycle 
skills test. Refer to the Virginia Motorcycle 
Operator Manual and the Virginia Driver’s 
Manual to prepare for the knowledge test.

Bring your motorcycle to a DMV customer 
service center for the skills test. Your 
motorcycle must have a valid license plate, 
a current state inspection sticker and be 
in good working condition. You must 
wear a lawful motorcycle helmet and eye 
protection, and you should wear proper 
protective clothing, including boots or 
shoes that cover the ankles, a long-sleeved 
jacket or shirt, full-length pants and gloves.

The DMV representative will explain each 
test exercise and scoring criteria before 
you begin the test. None of the exercises 
are difficult or dangerous for a person with 
basic riding skills.

Most of the exercises involve speeds of 
about 15 mph or less. If you feel that an 
exercise is beyond your skill level, tell the 
DMV representative. You must successfully 
complete all the exercises to pass the 
skills test. The entire test takes about 15 
minutes. Your performance is scored 
objectively. For example, you will receive 
error points for going outside the lines or 
putting your foot down during an exercise.

Test Exercises and 
Scoring Criteria

Exercise one tests your ability to control 
the motorcycle while turning and to 
perform a precise stop. You will be 
evaluated on your ability to stay within the 
path of the turn and stop in the painted 
box without skidding the motorcycle.

Virginia’s Two-Wheel 
Motorcycle Skills Test



Exercise two tests your ability to control 
the motorcycle at low speed while 
weaving through cones and to make a 
U-turn in a designated area. You will be 
evaluated on your ability to stay within 
the path of travel without touching lines 
or cones and without putting your 
foot down. 

Exercise three tests your ability to brake 
quickly and safely in the shortest possible 
distance. You will be evaluated on 
stopping distance in relation to speed 
of travel.

Exercise four tests your ability to 
swerve the motorcycle quickly to avoid 
an obstacle in your path. You will be 
evaluated on your ability to stay within 
the path of travel and swerve quickly 
without touching a boundary line.
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Please consider enrolling in a motorcycle rider training course offered at 
licensed training sites across the state. Virginia law requires anyone who fails 
the DMV motorcycle skills test twice to successfully complete a Virginia-
licensed motorcycle rider training course.

Classes are designed for either beginning or experienced riders and will 
provide you with the skills and knowledge required to be a safe motorcyclist. 

Enroll in a Training Course

For more information, visit dmv.virginia.
gov/safety or scan this QR code.


