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This manual is intended as a guide for transportation network 
companies (TNCs) interested in operating in Virginia or licensed to operate in Virginia.  
The manual covers licensing and operational requirements, insurance requirements, 
notice requirements, recordkeeping obligations and other information important to 
TNCs and their driver partners.

The information in this manual does not change or override any current statute, rule, 
regulation, or policy nor is it intended as the complete authority for this program.
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Transportation Network Company 
Description

A transportation network company is a for-hire motor 
carrier that provides prearranged rides for compensation 
using a digital platform that connects passengers with 
drivers using personal vehicles. TNC drivers are referred to 
as TNC partners. A digital platform is any online-enabled 
application, software, website, or system offered or utilized 
by a TNC that enables the prearrangement of rides with 
TNC partners.

TNC Licensing Requirements

For-hire motor carriers transporting passengers from point 
to point within Virginia are required to obtain Virginia For-
Hire Intrastate Operating Authority. Transportation network 
companies are required to obtain a certificate of fitness 
from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
prior to offering or engaging in TNC services within Virginia.  
A hearing may be required if it is determined that the 
issuance of a certificate may not be in the interest of public 
safety or if the application has been protested on grounds 
of fitness. After a certificate is issued, DMV may continue 
to monitor character and fitness matters in the interest of 
public safety.

For any application for a certificate of fitness, DMV will 
publish a notice of such application at dmvNOW.com.  
The notice period allows parties to protest an application 
based solely on grounds of fitness.  

Before a certificate of fitness authorizing intrastate operation 
is issued, the TNC must have an insurance company 
provide DMV with proof of liability insurance.  The TNC 
must file a surety bond or letter of credit at the time the 
application is filed.  

How to Apply for a TNC Certificate 
of Fitness

Complete and submit a Transportation Network Company 
Certificate Application (OA152).

To apply, a TNC may choose from two options:

1) Pay a filing fee of $100,000 (and an annual renewal 
fee of $60,000). If your application is not approved, 
$90,000 of the application fee is refundable.

2) Pay a $20 surcharge for each driver history research 
report requested in addition to standard transcript 
fees. (If you use a third party to request the driver 
transcripts, that party must identify you as the TNC 
requesting the transcripts and must indicate that a TNC 
transcript type is needed.)

A TNC must also submit a surety bond or letter of credit in 
the amount of $25,000 which must remain on file for the 
first three years of licensure.

Mail to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Motor Carrier Services
P.O. Box 27412  
Richmond, Virginia, 23269-0001 

Annual Renewal of a TNC Certificate 
of Fitness

You must renew your Virginia operating authority certificate 
of fitness annually. A renewal application will be sent to you 
prior to the expiration of your authority.  

When applying to renew your certificate of fitness, you must 
choose one of the two fee options:

1. Pay a $60,000 filing fee upon renewal.
2. Pay a $20 surcharge for each driver history research 

report you request from DMV.

You may choose either option, even if you selected the 
other option when you applied for the original certificate or 
the last time you applied for renewal.

Renewal applications should be mailed to the address 
shown on the application. Once your application is 
processed you will receive a renewal confirmation card.

If you fail to renew your operating authority, you will be 
required to apply for original authority and comply with all 
of the application requirements.

DMV reexamines the fitness of for-hire motor carriers that 
operate under a certificate of fitness. The reexamination 
typically will occur during renewal of the certificate.  

Denial and Suspension/Revocation  
of a TNC Certificate of Fitness

Any application for a TNC certificate of fitness will be 
denied if the applicant has been found guilty through a 
criminal conviction or civil penalty assessment of previously 
providing or arranging such transportation before obtaining 
the required certificate. The denial period will extend 
12 months from the date of the final disposition of the 
conviction or the date that the civil penalty was assessed.

Chapter 20 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia provides 
that the Department of Motor Vehicles may:

 deny your application for an operating authority 
certificate, or
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 suspend or revoke an existing operating authority 
certificate.

This may occur due to one or more of the following:

1. Making misstatements or omitting information on 
your application for an operating authority certificate

2. Failing to comply with:

 any legal order issued by DMV, or

 any provision of Chapter 20 of Title 46.2 of the 
Code of Virginia, or

 any terms, conditions, or restrictions of your 
certificate

3. Failing to comply with zoning or other land use 
ordinances, regulations, or statutes

4. Engaging in deceptive business acts or practices

5. Making untruthful, misleading, or deceptive 
advertisements relating to the business authorized by 
a TNC certificate of fitness

6. Being found in either a judicial or administrative 
hearing to have committed fraudulent or deceptive 
business acts relating to the business authorized by a 
TNC certificate of fitness that you are applying for or 
that you hold

7. Being convicted of any criminal act involving the 
business authorized by a TNC certificate of fitness 
that you are applying for or that you hold

8. Improperly leasing, renting, or lending; or allowing 
improper use of a TNC certificate of fitness 

9. Having been convicted of a felony

10. Having been convicted of any misdemeanor involving 
lying, cheating, stealing, or immoral conduct

11. Failing to pay to DMV any taxes, fees, dues, fines, or 
penalties owed to DMV

12. Failing to submit to DMV information, 
documentation, or records required or requested by 
statute

13. Knowingly and willingly filing any false report, 
account, record, or memorandum

14. Failing to prove that you are fit to provide the service, 
or you can meet the required financial responsibility 
requirements

15. Willfully altering or changing the appearance or 
wording of a certificate, decal, license plate, or 
vehicle registration

16. Failing to provide services authorized by the 
certificate

17. Failing to keep proof of financial responsibility and/or 
a performance bond on file with DMV

18. Failing to comply with the Worker’s Compensation Act 
of Title 65.2 of the Code of Virginia

19. Failing to properly register a motor vehicle under Title 
46.2 of the Code of Virginia

20. Failing to comply with any federal motor carrier statute, 
rule, or regulation

21. Failing to comply with any requirements of the 
Americans with Disabilities Act or the Virginians with 
Disabilities Act

22. Failing to actively maintain your motor carrier business

23. Failing to comply with any provision regarding the filing 
and registered agent requirements set forth in Title 
13.1 of the Code of Virginia

Overview of Transportation Network 
Company Requirements

A Virginia TNC certificate of fitness authorizes operations 
only in Virginia, and only for trips with an origin and 
destination within Virginia.

All holders of a TNC certificate of fitness, like other motor 
carriers, must include the certificate number in any 
advertisement for service (advertisements may not contain 
untrue, misleading, or deceptive information).

A TNC is subject to certain operational limitations and 
requirements, notice requirements, insurance requirements, 
and recordkeeping requirements. A TNC is also responsible 
for screening the drivers and vehicles it uses to provide 
transportation services based on the requirements set out in 
law.

General Operational Requirements 
and Limitations

A TNC may provide service on a prearranged basis only and 
only by means of a digital platform that enables passengers 
to connect with TNC partners using a TNC partner vehicle. 
A TNC partner vehicle is a personal vehicle that has been 
authorized by a TNC, and that is being used by a TNC 
partner, to provide prearranged rides on an intrastate basis 
in Virginia.  

Vehicles displaying taxi or for-hire passenger license plates 
are not allowed to be used to provide TNC transportation 
services. This does not preclude a licensed motor carrier 
(such as an irregular route common carrier) from entering 
into a contractual arrangement with a licensed broker for 
the arrangement of transportation services authorized by 
the type of operating authority held by the carrier. Such 
arrangements simply do not fall within the purview of TNC 
operations or regulations.
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A TNC is required to associate a TNC partner with one 
or more personal or rental vehicles and may only arrange 
transportation for previously authorized partner and vehicle 
combinations. Additionally, a TNC may only authorize a 
TNC partner to transport passengers in a vehicle they have 
specifically associated with the partner.

A TNC is required to provide its partners a credential that 
includes:

 the name or logo of the TNC,

 the name and a photograph of the TNC partner, and 

 the make, model, license plate number and issuing 
state for each TNC partner vehicle the TNC has 
associated with that partner.

The partner credential can be displayed as part of the digital 
platform. The TNC must require its partners to carry the 
credential at all times when operating a TNC partner vehicle 
and to present it upon request to appropriate officials.

Generally, all fares collected for transporting passengers must 
be collected electronically through the digital platform. A 
TNC may not authorize the collection of fares in any other 
manner such as payment from a passenger to the TNC 
partner. Fares must be collected electronically via the digital 
platform and may not be paid by the passenger directly to a 
TNC partner.

The only exception to these general rules is when:

1. The ride is booked by a transit system, with a 
transportation network company with which it has a 
contract, on behalf of an eligible paratransit passenger;

2. The fare is a defined amount, as published by the 
transit system, and is communicated to the passenger 
in advance;

3. The transportation network company specifically 
authorizes over the digital network the TNC partner 
to collect cash for the fare, and that authorization 
includes the amount to be collected. The 
transportation network company’s digital platform 
shall provide the TNC partner with a method to 
acknowledge receipt of the fare when it is collected;

4. The passenger receives a receipt for the fare paid; and

5. The transit system receives a receipt and full 
accounting of cash fares monthly, or on demand, 
through the transportation network company’s 
account dashboard.

A TNC must provide its partners proof of coverage under 
each in-force TNC insurance policy so the partner can carry 
that proof at all times while operating a TNC partner vehicle 
and present the proof to appropriate officials upon request.  
The proof of coverage may be displayed as part of the 

digital platform. It is the responsibility of the TNC to ensure 
its partners comply with these requirements.

A TNC is also required to provide certain information 
through the digital platform to the person prearranging the 
ride. The following information must be provided to the 
passenger before the passenger enters the TNC partner 
vehicle:

 the first name and photograph of the TNC partner,

 the make and model of the TNC partner vehicle, and

 the license plate number of the TNC partner vehicle.

At the end of a prearranged ride, a TNC is required to send 
an electronic receipt to the person who prearranged the 
ride. The receipt must include the following information:

 a map of the route taken,

 the date and times the trip began and ended,

 the total fare, including the base fare and any 
additional charges incurred for distance traveled or 
duration of the prearranged ride,

 the TNC partner’s first name and photograph, and 

 contact information where additional support can be 
obtained.

A TNC must make certain information available through 
its digital platform at all times during a prearranged ride.  
The information serves as an electronic manifest or trip 
sheet and is to be provided to representatives of DMV, 
law enforcement officers, officials of the Washington 
Metropolitan Area Transit Commission (WMATC), and 
airport owners and operators upon request.  The required 
information includes:

 the name of the TNC,

 the name of the TNC partner and the identification 
number issued to the TNC partner by the TNC,

 the license plate number of the TNC partner vehicle 
and the state issuing the license plate, and

 the location, date, and approximate time that each 
passenger was or will be picked up.

A TNC is required to have and enforce a policy of 
nondiscrimination on the basis of a passenger’s points of 
departure and destination and is responsible for informing 
its partners of the policy.

A TNC must provide passengers an opportunity to indicate 
whether they require a wheelchair-accessible vehicle.  If 
the TNC cannot arrange wheelchair-accessible service in 
a TNC partner vehicle, it must direct the passenger to an 
alternative provider of wheelchair-accessible service, if 
available.
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A TNC is not allowed to impose additional charges for 
providing services to persons with disabilities because of 
those disabilities.

TNC operations on the property of or into any airport 
are not allowed unless the airport owner and operator 
authorizes such operation and it is in compliance with the 
rules and regulations of that airport.  Violation of an airport 
regulation may place the TNC’s certificate in jeopardy of 
suspension or revocation.

Notice Requirements

A transportation network company is required to publish 
a variety of information on its public website and its digital 
platform. The purpose of this requirement is to give the 
public the resources needed to make informed decisions 
about transportation services. The following information is 
required to be published:

 The method used to calculate fares or the applicable 
rates being charged and an option to receive an 
estimated fare,

 Information about the TNC’s partner screening 
criteria, including a description of the offenses that the 
TNC regards as grounds for disqualifying an individual 
from acting as a TNC partner,

 The means for a passenger or other person to report 
a TNC partner suspected of operating a TNC partner 
vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol,

 Information about the company’s training and testing 
policies for TNC partners,

 Information about the company’s standards for TNC 
partner vehicles,

 A customer support telephone number or email 
address and instructions for reporting a complaint, and

 A notice concerning the company’s zero-tolerance 
policy with respect to the use of drugs and alcohol by 
TNC partners.

A transportation network company is also required to 
disclose certain information to its drivers and prospective 
drivers. The notifications must be in writing and must 
include all of the following:

 The liability insurance coverage and limits of liability 
that the TNC provides while the TNC partner uses a 
vehicle in connection with the TNC’s digital platform,

 Any physical damage coverage provided by the TNC 
for damage to the vehicle used by the TNC partner in 
connection with the TNC’s digital platform,

 The uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist 
coverage and policy limits provided by the TNC while 
the TNC partner uses a vehicle in connection with the 
TNC’s digital platform,

 A notice that the TNC partner’s personal automobile 
insurance policy may not provide uninsured motorist 
and underinsured motorist coverage when the TNC 
partner uses a vehicle in connection with a TNC’s 
digital platform,

 The following specific statement: “If the vehicle 
that you plan to use to transport passengers for our 
transportation network company has a lien against it, 
you must notify the lienholder that you will be using 
the vehicle for transportation services that may violate 
the terms of your contract with the lienholder”, and

 A notice that a TNC partner is required to inform 
the TNC of any event that may disqualify him from 
continuing to act as a TNC partner, including any of 
the following:  a change in the registration status of 
the TNC partner vehicle; the revocation, suspension, 
cancellation, or restriction of the TNC partner’s 
driver’s license; a change in the insurance coverage 
of the TNC partner vehicle; a motor vehicle moving 
violation; or a criminal arrest, plea, or conviction.

Mandatory Driver Screening 
Requirements

Transportation network companies are required to screen 
TNC partners before authorizing them to provide TNC 
services and on a recurring basis thereafter.  The TNC must 
confirm that a partner is at least 21 years old and possesses a 
valid driver’s license from Virginia or another state.

The TNC must obtain a national criminal history records 
check of a potential partner initially and must complete 
follow-up checks at least once every two years after 
authorizing an individual to act as a TNC partner.  The 
background check is required to include:

 a Multi-State/Multi-Jurisdiction Criminal Records 
Database Search or a search of a similar nationwide 
database with validation (primary source search),

 a search of the Sex Offender and Crimes Against 
Minors Registry, and

 a search of the U.S. Department of Justice’s National 
Sex Offender Public Website.

The person or entity conducting the background check must 
be accredited by the National Association of Professional 
Background Screeners or a comparable entity approved by 
DMV.
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Before authorizing a person to act as a TNC partner and 
at least once every two years thereafter, a TNC must verify 
that the person is not listed on the Sex Offender and Crimes 
Against Minors Registry or on the U.S. Department of 
Justice’s National Sex Offender Public Website.

In addition to the criminal history records check, a TNC 
must also obtain and review a driver transcript for its 
partners and potential partners. The record must be 
obtained from the partner’s state of licensure and must 
be obtained and reviewed prior to a TNC authorizing an 
individual to act as a TNC partner and at least once annually 
thereafter.

Unless it has elected to pay the $100,000 first-time fee 
or $60,000 renewal fee when applying for a certificate of 
fitness, a TNC must pay a $20 surcharge for each Virginia 
driver transcript requested in addition to standard transcript 
fees.

Virginia’s law establishes threshold screening criteria that a 
TNC is obligated to use when reviewing background checks 
and driver transcripts. A TNC is allowed to establish its 
own more stringent screening policy and criteria, but the 
following minimum standards must be used:

 A criminal record that includes a conviction, guilty 
plea, or plea of nolo contendere to any violent felony 
offense (as defined in Virginia Code § 17.1-805 (C) 
or a substantially similar law of another state) will bar 
an individual from acting as a TNC driver.  Anyone 
required to register as a sex offender will also be 
barred from operating as a TNC driver.

 A driving history research report that includes a 
conviction, guilty plea, or plea of nolo contendere to 
any of the following offenses in the preceding seven 
years will bar the individual from operating as a TNC 
driver:

 underage drinking and driving,

 driving under the influence (DUI),

 operation of a motor vehicle after license 
revocation resulting from repeated DUI 
offenses, or

 any felony offense (other than those classed as 
violent crimes in Virginia Code § 17.1-805 (C)).

 In addition, a record of any of the following within 
the preceding three years will bar the individual from 
operating as a TNC driver:

 three or more moving violations,

 refusal to submit to a chemical test to 
determine the alcohol or drug content of the 
person’s blood or breath,

 reckless driving,

 operating a motor vehicle with a suspended or 
revoked license, or

 escaping or eluding a law enforcement officer.

This information provides a general description of the 
required screening criteria.  TNCs should refer to Virginia 
Code § 46.2-2099.49 for a full description of the mandatory 
screening criteria.

Other Requirements Associated with 
the Use of Drivers/Partners

A transportation network company is required to adopt a 
zero-tolerance policy with respect to the use of drugs and 
alcohol by TNC partners.

A TNC partner is authorized to provide passenger 
transportation only on a prearranged basis and only 
by means of a TNC’s digital platform. A TNC partner 
is not allowed to transport a passenger unless a TNC 
has matched the partner to that passenger through the 
TNC’s digital platform. With the exception of certain 
rides arranged by transit systems on behalf of paratransit 
passengers (see “General Operational Requirements and 
Limitations,” above), TNC partners are not allowed to accept 
payment of fares directly from a passenger or any other 
person prearranging a ride or by any means other than 
electronically via a digital platform.

If a TNC learns that a TNC partner has violated the above 
provisions, it is required to remove the TNC partner from 
the TNC’s digital platform for at least one year.  DMV will 
routinely notify licensed TNCs about TNC partner drivers 
that have been convicted of any of these violations or 
have had civil penalties levied against them for any of 
these violations.  Upon notice the TNC must immediately 
determine if the individual is a partner of its company and,  
if so, remove the TNC partner from its digital platform.

Although TNCs are not required to alert DMV when they 
become aware that one of these requirements has been 
violated, they are strongly encouraged to do so.  Off-app 
activity is a serious violation that poses considerable public 
safety and consumer protection concerns and jeopardizes 
the TNC business model.  DMV will investigate any 
information provided by a TNC, take appropriate action 
against the individual, and place other TNCs on notice to 
prevent the driver from operating for another TNC during 
the one-year ban.
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Mandatory Vehicle Screening 
Requirements

A transportation network company is responsible for 
ensuring that only personal or rental vehicles are used to 
provide TNC transportation services for its company. The 
vehicles used cannot be registered for for-hire use and must 
meet the following standards: 

 must have a maximum seating capacity of no more 
than eight persons, including the driver,

 must be validly titled and registered either in Virginia 
or in another state,

 must not have been branded as salvage, 
nonrepairable, rebuilt, or an equivalent classification,

 must have an annual safety inspection either in 
Virginia or in another state with an approved safety 
inspection program (visit dmvNOW.com for a list of 
approved states),

 must be insured by a policy providing coverage for 
commercial use of the vehicle, and

 must display trade dress issued by the TNC that 
clearly identifies the TNC with which the vehicle is 
associated. Trade dress should be displayed on the 
rear passenger side window.

Trade Dress Requirements for TNC 
Partner Vehicles

A TNC is required to issue trade dress to its TNC partners 
for display on the vehicles it authorizes to provide TNC 
services. The trade dress must be sufficient to identify the 
TNC or digital platform the vehicle is affiliated with and may 
be displayed in a location of the TNC’s choosing provided 
it is displayed in a manner that complies with Virginia law. 
TNC partners are encouraged to display their trade dress 
on the passenger-side rear window. The trade dress must 
be of a size, shape, and color as to be readily identifiable 
during daylight hours from a distance of 50 feet while the 
vehicle is not in motion and is required to be reflective, 
illuminated, or otherwise patently visible in darkness. The 
trade dress may take the form of a removable device that 
meets the identification and visibility requirements, but it 
must be displayed at all times the vehicle is operated as a 
TNC partner vehicle.

In lieu of, or in addition to the trade dress requirements 
above, a TNC partner vehicle may be equipped with no 
more than two removable, illuminated, interior TNC-issued 
trade dress devices that assist passengers in identifying 
and communicating with TNC partners. Such devices may 
use a single steady-burning color while the TNC partner is 
logged into a TNC’s digital platform and may change to a 

different steady-burning color once the TNC partner accepts 
a request to transport a passenger and is within 0.4 miles 
of the passenger. The illuminated display on each device 
must not: (1) exceed five candlepower or 62.85 lumens, 
(2) exceed 20 square inches, (3) utilize red, blue, or amber 
lights, (4) project a glaring or dazzling light, or (5) attach to 
the windshield. A TNC that uses such an illuminated device 
must file with DMV the specifications of the device including 
the default color.

If a vehicle is being operated for multiple TNCs 
simultaneously the trade dress for each TNC is required to 
be displayed.

A TNC is required to submit an illustration or photograph 
of its trade dress to DMV which allows DMV to assist the 
TNC in identifying potential conflicts with Virginia law 
and to inform the law enforcement community about the 
company’s official trade dress.

Insurance Obligations and Filing 
Requirements

TNC insurance requirements are complex.  This manual 
provides an overview of Virginia’s requirements, but does 
not cover every aspect of the law. TNCs and their insurers 
are strongly encouraged to review the comprehensive 
insurance provisions in Va. Code § 46.2-2099.52.
At all times during the operation of a TNC partner vehicle, 
a transportation network company or TNC partner shall 
keep in force a motor vehicle liability insurance policy that 
specifically covers liabilities arising from a TNC partner’s 
operation of a TNC partner vehicle (TNC insurance).  TNC 
insurance may be placed with an insurer that has been 
admitted in Virginia or with an insurer providing surplus 
lines insurance as defined in Va. Code § 38.2-4805.2.
In every instance where TNC insurance maintained by 
a TNC partner to fulfill the TNC insurance obligations 
has lapsed or ceased to exist, the transportation network 
company shall provide the required coverage beginning 
with the first dollar of a claim.

The type and limits of coverage vary depending upon 
whether the partner is engaged in a prearranged ride 
or simply has the digital platform active, but has not yet 
accepted a ride request.

Insurance Requirements 

A. TNC insurance requirements from the moment a 
TNC partner accepts a prearranged ride request on 
a transportation network company’s digital platform 
until the TNC partner completes the transaction on the 
digital platform or until the prearranged ride is complete, 
whichever is later:
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1. TNC insurance shall provide motor vehicle liability 
coverage. The coverage must be primary and the 
minimum amount of liability coverage for death, bodily 
injury, and property damage shall be $1 million. 

2. TNC insurance shall provide uninsured motorist 
coverage and underinsured motorist coverage. The 
coverage shall apply from the moment a passenger 
enters a TNC partner vehicle until the passenger 
exits the vehicle. The minimum amount of uninsured 
motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage 
for death, bodily injury, and property damage shall be 
$1 million. 

3. The insurance requirements may be satisfied by any of 
the following:
 TNC insurance maintained by a TNC partner,
 TNC insurance maintained by a transportation 

network company, or
 A combination of insurance maintained by a TNC 

partner and TNC.

A transportation network company may meet its obligations 
under this subsection through a policy obtained by a TNC 
partner only if the transportation network company verifies 
that the policy is maintained by the TNC partner.

B.  TNC insurance requirements (i) from the moment a TNC 
partner logs on to a transportation network company’s 
associated digital platform until the TNC partner accepts 
a request to transport a passenger and (ii) from the 
moment the TNC partner completes the transaction on 
the digital platform or the prearranged ride is complete, 
whichever is later, until the TNC partner either accepts 
another prearranged ride request on the digital platform 
or logs off the digital platform:

1. TNC insurance shall provide motor vehicle liability 
coverage.  The coverage shall be primary and shall 
provide liability coverage of at least $50,000 per person 
and $100,000 per incident for death and bodily injury 
and at least $25,000 for property damage. 

2. The requirements for the coverage may be satisfied by 
any of the following:

 TNC insurance maintained by a TNC partner,

 TNC insurance maintained by a transportation 
network company that provides coverage in the event 
that a TNC partner’s insurance policy has ceased 
to exist or has been canceled or in the event that 
the TNC partner does not otherwise maintain TNC 
insurance, or

 A combination of insurance maintained by a TNC 
partner and TNC.

A transportation network company may meet its insurance 
obligations through a policy obtained by a TNC partner 
only if the transportation network company verifies that the 
policy is maintained by the TNC partner and is specifically 
written to cover the TNC partner’s use of a vehicle in 
connection with a transportation network company’s digital 
platform.

Insurance Filing Requirements

A transportation network company is required to keep on 
file with DMV proof of an insurance policy maintained by 
the transportation network company to meet its insurance 
obligations.  The proof must be filed by the insurance 
company directly with DMV using form MCS 306, TNC 
Insurance Certification.

The TNC insurance may be placed with an insurer that 
has been admitted in Virginia or with an insurer providing 
surplus lines insurance as defined in Va. Code § 38.2-
4805.2.

Insurers may file form MCS 306, TNC Insurance 
Certification, using one of the following options:

 1. Online  (contact a motor carrier representative at 
(804) 249-5130 for more information) 

  2. Mail form MCS 306, TNC Insurance Certificate to:
 Department of Motor Vehicles
 Motor Carrier Services
 P. O. Box 27412
 Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001
  3. Fax form MCS 306, TNC Insurance Certificate to:
 (804) 367-1003

Insurers making a TNC insurance filing obligate themselves 
to providing TNC insurance coverage until such time DMV 
is notified directly by the insurer that the TNC insurance 
has been cancelled and the insurer has provided DMV 30 
days notice of cancellation. TNC insurance cancellations 
are required to be filed with DMV on form MCS 307, TNC 
Insurance Cancellation, using one of the filing methods 
noted above.

TNC’s Duty to Cooperate

A transportation network company has a duty to cooperate 
with any person, or an attorney acting on behalf of any 
person, who suffers a loss in an automobile accident with a 
reasonable belief that the accident involves a TNC partner 
vehicle driven by a TNC partner in connection with a 
transportation network company.  If the person makes a 
written request for information relating to the insurance 
coverage and the company providing the coverage and 
provides the TNC with the date, approximate time, and 
location of the accident, the name of the TNC partner (if 
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available), and the accident report (if available), the TNC is 
required to respond electronically or in writing within 30 
days and to provide the following information: (i) whether, 
at the approximate time of the accident, the TNC partner 
was logged into the transportation network company’s 
digital platform and, if so logged in, whether a trip request 
had been accepted or a passenger was in the TNC partner 
vehicle; (ii) the name of the insurance carrier providing 
primary coverage; and (iii) the identity and last known 
address of the TNC partner. 

A transportation network company is also required to 
cooperate in claims coverage investigations. Both the TNC 
and its insurer must cooperate with insurers involved in a 
claims coverage investigation to facilitate the exchange of 
information, including the dates and times of any accident 
involving a TNC partner and the precise times that the TNC 
partner logged in and was logged out of the transportation 
network company’s digital platform.

Recordkeeping Requirements and 
Release of Information

A transportation network company is required to maintain 
and make available certain records to demonstrate its 
compliance to DMV.  Records are also required to be 
maintained and made available to DMV, a law enforcement 
officer, an official of the Washington Metropolitan Area 
Transit Commission (WMATC), or an airport owner and 
operator to investigate and resolve a complaint or respond 
to an incident.

Information a TNC provides to the required officials is 
considered privileged information and may only be used 
by these entities for the purposes noted above.  The 
information obtained by these entities is not subject to 
disclosure except on the written request of the DMV 
Commissioner, a law enforcement officer, an official of 
WMATC, or an airport owner and operator who requires 
the information for the authorized purposes noted above.  
The information obtained may not be released to any other 
party without the TNC’s express written permission and is 
not subject to disclosure through a court order or as a result 
of a request under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act.

Records Required for Compliance Review 
Purposes

DMV is responsible for conducting compliance reviews 
of licensed transportation network companies.  Reviews 
are conducted no more frequently than once a year.  
To facilitate the review a TNC is required to retain the 
following records for a period of three years and in a 
manner that permits systematic retrieval:

 True and accurate results of each national criminal 
history records check for each individual that the 
transportation network company authorizes to act as a 
TNC partner.

 True and accurate results of driver transcripts for each 
individual that the transportation network company 
authorizes to act as a TNC partner.

 Driver’s license records of TNC partners, including 
records associated with participation in a driver 
record monitoring program.

 True and accurate results of the sex offender 
screening for each individual that the transportation 
network company authorizes to act as a TNC partner.

 Proof that each vehicle the TNC authorizes to operate 
as a TNC partner vehicle:

 is a personal or rental vehicle (not registered 
for hire),

 is validly titled and registered in Virginia or in 
another state, 

 has not been issued a certificate of title, either 
in Virginia or any other state, branding the 
vehicles as salvage, non repairable, rebuilt, or 
any equivalent classification,

 has a valid Virginia safety inspection or an 
approved safety inspection from another state, 
and

 is covered under a TNC insurance policy.

 Proof of compliance with the notice and disclosure 
requirements outlined in this manual.

Records Required to Support Investigations and 
Complaint/Incident Resolution

A transportation network company is required to maintain 
the following records and make them available to DMV, law 
enforcement, and other government and airport officials 
that are investigating a complaint or responding to an 
incident.

 Data regarding TNC partner activity while logged into 
the digital platform, including beginning and ending 
times and locations of each prearranged ride,

 Records regarding any actions taken against a TNC 
partner,

 Contracts or agreements between the transportation 
network company and its TNC partners,

 Information identifying each TNC partner, including 
the TNC partner’s name, date of birth, and driver’s 
license number and the state issuing the license, and
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 Information identifying each TNC partner vehicle 
the transportation network company has authorized, 
including the vehicle’s make, model, model year, 
vehicle identification number, and license plate 
number and the state issuing the license plate.

A TNC may require that requests for contracts or 
agreements and records regarding actions taken against a 
partner be made in writing.

TNC Required to Protect Personal Information

A transportation network company is required to safeguard 
personal information it maintains about a user of its digital 
platform and is not allowed to disclose any of its users’ 
personal information, as defined in Va. Code § 2.2-3801, 
unless:

 The transportation network company obtains the 
user’s consent to disclose the personal information,

 The disclosure is necessary to comply with a legal 
obligation, or

 The disclosure is necessary to protect or defend the 
terms and conditions for use of the service or to 
investigate violations of the terms and conditions.

A TNC may disclose aggregated user data or information 
about a user that is not personal information as defined in 
Va. Code § 2.2-3801.

TNC Partner Requirements

A TNC partner is allowed to provide passenger 
transportation only on a prearranged basis and only by 
means of a digital platform that enables passengers to 
connect with TNC partners using a TNC partner vehicle.  A 
TNC partner is not allowed to transport a passenger unless 
a transportation network company has matched the TNC 
partner to that passenger through the digital platform.  
A partner is not allowed to solicit, accept or arrange 
transportation except through a TNC’s digital platform or a 
licensed TNC broker. Street hails are not permitted.

With the exception of certain rides arranged by transit 
systems on behalf of paratransit passengers (see “General 
Operational Requirements and Limitations,” above), a TNC 
partner may not accept payment of fares directly from a 
passenger or any other person prearranging a ride or by any 
means other than electronically via a digital platform. Fares 
may only be collected through a digital platform.

Violations of these provisions carry strict penalties, including 
criminal penalties, civil penalties up to $1,000 per violation, 
and a one-year ban from acting as a TNC partner.

A TNC partner may only transport passengers in a TNC 
partner vehicle with which it has been associated with by 
the TNC.

At all times while operating a TNC partner vehicle a TNC 
partner must carry proof of coverage under each in-
force TNC insurance policy and each in-force personal 
automobile insurance policy covering the vehicle.  A 
TNC may satisfy this requirement, at least with respect 
to TNC insurance, by making information about its TNC 
insurance policy available through its digital platform. The 
digital insurance information will suffice for proof of the 
TNC insurance provided the TNC partner can present the 
information to requesting officials or any person involved in 
an accident.

A TNC partner is required to carry a credential provided 
to it by the TNC at all times during the operation of a TNC 
partner vehicle and to present the credential upon request 
to law-enforcement officers, airport owners and operators, 
officials of WMATC, or a passenger. The credential may be 
displayed as part of the digital platform.
A TNC partner is required to have the equivalent of a 
manifest or trip sheet available within the digital platform 
at all times during a prearranged ride.  The following 
trip information is required and must be presented to 
appropriate officials immediately upon request:

 The name of the transportation network company,

 The name of the TNC partner and the identification 
number issued to the TNC partner by the 
transportation network company,

 The license plate number of the TNC partner vehicle 
and the state issuing such license plate, and

 The location, date, and approximate time that each 
passenger was or will be picked up.

A TNC partner is required to comply with all applicable 
laws regarding nondiscrimination against passengers or 
potential passengers and to comply with the TNC’s policy 
of nondiscrimination on the basis of a passenger’s points of 
departure and destination.

A TNC partner must comply with all applicable laws relating 
to accommodation of service animals.

A TNC partner may refuse to transport a passenger for 
any reason not prohibited by law, including any case in 
which (i) the passenger is acting in an unlawful, disorderly, 
or endangering manner; (ii) the passenger is unable to 
care for himself and is not in the charge of a responsible 
companion; or (iii) the TNC partner has already committed 
to providing a ride for another passenger. 



A TNC partner is required to immediately report to the 
transportation network company any refusal to transport 
a passenger after accepting a request to transport that 
passenger.

A TNC partner is not allowed to conduct any operation on 
the property of or into any airport unless such operation 
is authorized by the airport owner and operator and is in 
compliance with the rules and regulations of that airport.

A TNC partner must utilize a digital platform in a manner 
that is consistent with traffic laws of the Commonwealth.

A TNC partner may not operate a motor vehicle for more 
than 13 hours in any 24-hour period.

A TNC partner is required to inform each transportation 
network company that has authorized him to act as a 
TNC partner of any event that may disqualify him from 
continuing to act as a TNC partner, including any of the 
following: a change in the registration status of the TNC 
partner vehicle; the revocation, suspension, cancellation, or 
restriction of the TNC partner’s driver’s license; a change in 
the insurance coverage of the TNC partner vehicle; a motor 
vehicle moving violation; and a criminal arrest, plea, or 
conviction.

At all times a vehicle is being operated as a TNC partner 
vehicle it must display the official trade dress of the TNC(s) 
for which the partner is operating. See the Trade Dress 
Requirements for TNC Partner Vehicles section of this 
manual. It is illegal to display a TNC’s trade dress without 
the authorization of the TNC issuing the trade dress.

Contact Information

For additional information or questions regarding intrastate 
operating authority requirements and transportation 
network company operations in Virginia, customers may 
contact one of our Motor Carrier Representatives at:

 Voice    (804) 249-5130
 Hearing impaired only  (800) 272-9268
 Fax    (804) 367-1003
 Email         mcsonline@dmv.virginia.gov
 
You may also refer to the following publications for 
additional information.

 Virginia Motor Carrier Manual, DMV 248

 Transportation Network Companies/A Guide for TNC 
Drivers in Virginia, DMV 278
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