Virginia Driver Improvement Clinic TWO-YEAR INSTRUCTOR LICENSE APPLICATION

Use this form to apply for a Driver Improvement Clinic instructor's license. **Purpose:**

Instructions: Return this completed application with all additional required documents to the DMV Driver Training Work Center at PO Box 27412, Richmond, VA 23269-0001. All submitted application packages that include a prior version of the application, incomplete applications, or have missing documents will be returned.

APPLICATION INFORMATION				
APPLICATION TYPE:	ORIGINAL FIRST-TIME APPLICATION	RENEWAL	TWO-YEAR FEE:	\$100.00
FULL NAME OF DRIVER IMPROVEMENT CLINIC				

APPLICANT INFORMATION				
INSTRUCTOR FULL NAME (print) (last, first, mi, suffix)		DMV CUSTOMER NUMBER	TELEPHON	IE NUMBER
MAILING ADDRESS	CITY	STA	TE	ZIP CODE

CURRICULUM TRAINING INFORMATION			
GENERAL COURSE CURRICULUM VENDOR (Do not instruct)	EXPIRATION DATE (mm/dd/yyy)		
COMMERCIAL COURSE CURRICULUM VENDOR (Do not instruct)	EXPIRATION DATE (mm/dd/yyy)		

CERTIFICATION				
I certify that the above-named individual has applied to become an instructor or is an instructor, for this driver improvement clinic.				
I understand that the Department of Motor Vehicles will verify that the instructor's Virginia driver record fulfills the requirements for licensing under current statute and regulations.				
I further certify and affirm that all information presented in this form is true and correct, that any documents I have presented to DMV are genuine, and that the information included in all supporting documentation is true and accurate. I make this certification and affirmation under penalty of perjury, and I understand that knowingly making a false statement or representation on this form is a criminal violation.				
OWNER NAME (print)	OWNER SIGNATURE	DATE (mm/dd/yyy)		
INSTRUCTOR NAME (print)	INSTRUCTOR SIGNATURE	DATE (mm/dd/yyy)		

DMV USE ONLY			
DMV STAMP	VERIFICATION OF:		
	COMPLETE APPLICATION INCLUDING SIGNATURES		
	\$100.00 FEE PAID		



Virginia Driver Improvement Clinic INSTRUCTOR AGREEMENT

The Department of Motor Vehicles (hereafter referred to as "DMV") and (hereafter referred to as Instructor), mutually agree to the following:

To apply, Instructor must:

- 1. Submit a completed application.
- 2. Pay the DMV license fee.
- 3. Hold a valid driver's license that reflects no more than 6 demerit points. If the driver's license is out-of-state, a copy of the valid driver's license must be provided to DMV.
- 4. Hold a valid instructor certification with a DMV-approved curriculum vendor associated with the driver improvement clinic at the time of licensing and throughout the licensure period. The expiration of the instructor's certification shall coincide with the expiration of the respective clinic certification. No instructor will be permitted to continue instructing students upon the expiration of the instructor's certification with the curriculum vendor or DMV

Instructor Requirements for Class Instruction:

- 1. Verify each student's identification using a picture identification issued by a government agency.
- 2. Follow the curriculum and properly utilize the training materials provided by a DMV-approved curriculum vendor.
- 3. Conduct a full eight-hour course of classroom instruction, including administration of the final written exam. Meals and other breaks will not count towards the eight-hour requirement.
- 4. Permit students to take the final written exam only once each calendar day.
- 5. Final written exams shall consist of subject matter questions.
- 6. Students must answer at least 80% of the questions correctly to successfully complete the course. Issue the appropriate Certificate of Completion to each student successfully completing the course.
- 7. Report clinic attendance to clinic owner within 24 hours of clinic completion.

Notification of Change Requirements:

1. Instructor must provide written notice to DMV within thirty working days if there are changes that will affect the instructor's record with DMV.

Additional Limitations:

- 1. Instructor cannot use the DMV logo on any form of advertising.
- 2. School advertisements cannot be placed in the DMV customer service centers.

CERTIFICATION

I certify that the above-named individual has applied to become an instructor or is an instructor, for this driver improvement clinic.

I understand that the Department of Motor Vehicles will verify that the instructor's Virginia driver record fulfills the requirements for licensing under current statute and regulations.

I further certify and affirm that all information presented in this form is true and correct, that any documents I have presented to DMV are genuine, and that the information included in all supporting documentation is true and accurate. I make this certification and affirmation under penalty of perjury, and I understand that knowingly making a false statement or representation on this form is a criminal violation.

OWNER NAME (print)	OWNER SIGNATURE	DATE (mm/dd/yyy)	
INSTRUCTOR NAME (print)	INSTRUCTOR SIGNATURE	DATE (mm/dd/yyy)	

DMV USE ONLY				
DMV OFFICIAL NAME (print)	DMV OFFICIAL SIGNATURE		DATE (mm/dd/yyy)	
LE AGREEMENT EFFECTIVE DATE (m		/) AGREEMENT EXPIRATION DATE (mm/dd/yy		