

2300 W. Broad St. P.O. Box 27412 Richmond, VA 23269-0001 (804) 497-7100 TTY: 711 or (800) 828-1120 dmv.virginia.gov

## Gerald F. Lackey, Ph.D.

Commissioner

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA Department of Motor Vehicles May 24, 2023



## **Order of Suspension**

This notice is to inform you that your privilege to operate motor vehicles, register vehicles, and obtain license plates and decals in Virginia will be suspended beginning 06/23/23 because you have not provided evidence of having automobile liability insurance for the vehicle(s) listed below. The insurance information was previously requested on 04/26/23.



To prevent this suspension you must do one of the following prior to 06/23/23:  $\leftarrow$  Effective date

- Provide the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with the name of the automobile liability insurance company and policy number as evidence of insurance on 05/17/23 for the vehicle(s) listed above. You may submit this information by visiting www.dmvNOW.com/onlineservices or calling the telephone number on the bottom of this letter.
- For each vehicle listed above, if the vehicle was not insured on 05/17/23, pay DMV the \$600 noncompliance fee and have your insurance company file form SR22 "Certificate of Insurance" with DMV for all vehicles registered in your name for a period of three years ending on 06/23/26. Virginia law requires you to purchase a liability insurance policy with coverage limits. SR22 liability insurance coverage limits are set forth in the Code of Virginia § 46.2-472. Find the limits at www.dmvNOW.com/minimumlimits. If the vehicle is co-owned, each co-owner must file an SR22; however, only one \$600 noncompliance fee is required per vehicle.

You may request an administrative hearing before 06/23/23 to show cause why this order of suspension should not be enforced. You may request a hearing by visiting www.dmvNOW.com/hearing. Your eligibility to request a hearing will expire on 11/20/23.

If you wish to submit the above insurance information or request a hearing by mail or by visiting a DMV customer service center, collect the information, then complete and return the written section at the end of this letter.

If you fail to respond and this suspension becomes effective, you must comply with the requirements of this order and pay a \$145 reinstatement fee before your privilege to operate motor vehicles and register vehicles can be reinstated. Virginia law requires payment of a \$5 fee for each additional suspension or revocation order in effect.

You may pay required DMV fees online with a credit card or e-check at www.dmvNOW.com. If you plan to pay online and you don't already have a PIN, you will have to create an account. You may also pay by mail with a check or money order sent to the address on the letterhead (ATTN: Insurance Services), or visit any DMV customer service center with cash, check, money order, or credit card.

Once the suspension becomes effective, you may be eligible to enter into a payment plan to satisfy the noncompliance fee.

The requirements in this notice are in addition to any other outstanding revocation, suspension, disqualification, or cancellation of your privilege to operate or register motor vehicles imposed by DMV or any court in Virginia. If other actions have been imposed, you must comply with all requirements for each action before your privilege to operate motor vehicles, register motor vehicles, or obtain license plates and decals can be reinstated. The

Customer #: