DMV 226 (7/1/2023)
“VIRGINIA

(Al nnl:vnl[ VIRGINIA RIDER TRAINING PROGRAM
Rider " Training Program POLICY AND PROCEDURES

Overview

The Department of Motor Vehicles’ Virginia Rider Training Program was established in 1984. In
2004, the Virginia General Assembly passed a law mandating that all motorcycle rider safety

tralnlng sites be licensed by DMV. 1-n—Fes1sense—te—that—norandate—the-De1eartntrerrt—ef—MetmL

Mission

To operate a Motorcycle Safety Program that administers the laws set forth in the Virginia
Code providing superior training, supporting secure licensing, and saving lives by reducing
motorcycle crashes |nJur|es and fatalities in the Commonwealth —As—wel-l—as—te—ad—m+mster—t—he—

Meelel—The current DMV- approved curriculum for basic r|der training is the Motorcycle Safety
Foundation (MSF) Basic RiderCourse (BRC) and Basic RiderCourse 3-Wheel (3WBRC). Each
participant enrolled in a BRC must receive no less than the minimum number of hours of
classroom and on-cycle instruction as specified in the current approved curriculum. Basic rider
training will include a module on the effects of alcohol and other drugs on motorcycle
operations and a thorough review of Virginia laws and rules of the road applicable to
motorcycles All basic rider course part|C|pants must—be—prewded—ene—eepy—ef—the—eee%e—

~will be given the
opportumty to download a copy of the Motorcvcle Safetv Foundatlon Basic RiderCourse Rider
Handbook handbeek-and a copy of the Virginia Motorcycle Operator Manual, available at DMV
Customer Service Centers. During on-cycle instruction, the student ratio will follow the
guidance of the approved Motorcycle Safety Foundation curriculum, unless otherwise provided

by the Department of Motor Vehlcles ne—mere—than—s%studeats%ay—be—under—the—su—perw—sren—

range—at—the—same—t—rme—Tralmng sites must operate in accordance W|th the approved MSF
ranges and comply with all guidelines provided in the MSF range approval letter.



2. When a student has successfully completed the BRC, or the 3WBRC, the sehoeol site will issue a
Safety Course Completion Certificate, TSS 97. This form exempts the student from completing
both the motorcycle knowledge exam and the road skills exam.

a. If the student is 19 or older, the course completion certificate will act as a
temporary "M2" or "M3" classification when carried with their driver's license,
which will allow the student to operate the appropriate motorcycle for 30 days from
the course completion date. After the initial 30 days, the student will not be
authorized to operate a motorcycle until the motorcycle designation is added to
their license. License-updatescan-beaccomplishedat DMV Customer-Service
Centers—Certificates are valid for a period of one year from the date of course
completion.

b. If the student is under 18, and possesses their completed TSS 97 form, they must do
the following to add a Class "M", "M2", or "M3" designation to their current driver's
license:

1. Pass the required vision screening.

2. Obtain and hold a motorcycle learner's permit for 9 months.

3. Present their Safety Course Completion Certificate, DMV Form TSS 97, within one
year of completion of the course.

3. The current DMV-approved curriculum for experienced rider training is the Motorcycle Safety
Foundation’s Basic RiderCourse 2 or the Basic RiderCourse 2u. Each participant enrolled in a
BRC2/BRC2u training class must receive no less than the minimum number of hours of
classroom and on-cycle instruction as specified in the current curriculum. All BRC2/BRC2u
classes will include a module on the effects of alcohol and other drugs on motorcycle
operations and a review of Virginia Iaws and rules of the road applicable to motorcycles During
on-cycle instruction, re-+rere

same—mnge—at—the—same—tmqeéeheeb—trammg sites must operate on approved MSF ranges and
comply with any restrictions defined in the MSF Rider Education Recognition Program (RERP)
for instructor-student ratio, and limits on the number of motorcycles allowed to operate on the
range.

4. The current DMV-approved curriculum for basic three-wheeled motorcycle training is the
Evergreen-Safety Council's Sidecar/ Trike training course{basicand-advanced)-MSF Basic
RiderCourse — 3 Wheel (3WBRC). Each participant enrolled in a sidecarand/er3WBRC
motorcycle training class must receive no less than the minimum number of hours of classroom
and on-cycle instruction as specified in the current curriculum. All sidecarand/er3WBRC's will
include a module on the effects of alcohol and other drugs on three-wheel motorcycle
operation, and a thorough review of Virginia laws and rules of the road applicable to three-

wheel motorcycles Durlng on- cycIe |nstruct|on —ne%ere—th&n—ax—st—ude#t—s—may—be—uﬂder—the—

& ; tralnmg sites must
operate in accordance with the approved MSF Rider Educatlon Recognition Program (RERP) for
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instructor-student ratio and limits on the number of motorcycles allowed to operate on the
range.

5. All course participants must wear the following protective gear during on-cycle instruction:

a. A lawful minimum-three-guartershel-motorcycle helmet-that-meetsU-S—Departmentof
TransportationSafetystandards;

b. Eye protection.
c. A pair of boots or shoes that cover and protect the ankles and feet.

d. Along-sleeved jacket or long-sleeved shirt and long pants of denim or other material of
equivalent durability.

e. A pair of full-fingered gloves of leather or other material with resistance to abrasion.

Virginia Rider Training Program License Application Process

No person or entity may operate a motorcycle training site in Virginia without obtaining a
license from DMV. Applicants for a Virginia Rider Training Program license may apply for either
a reimbursed license or non-reimbursed license. Commonwealth of Virginia state or local
government education agencies are eligible to apply for reimbursed licensure. Private
individuals, entities, or companies are eligible to apply for non-reimbursed licensure enly.-Ne-

DMV determines the number of reimbursed licenses issued and or renewed based on {i}-the
training site meeting the requirements established by DMV, {ii}-regional demand for basic rider
esurse-training, and {i-availability of funding. Those licenses issued or renewed for providers of
training courses that do not require reimbursement are awarded based on the training site’s ability
to operate a training site to meet the requirements established by DMV.

Any applicant denied a license a license will, upon his or her written request made within 30 days
of the Commissioner’s action, be given a hearing at a time and place determined by the
Commissioner or his or her designee. All hearings under this section are public and will be held as
soon as practicable but in no case later than 30 days from receipt of the hearing request. The
applicant may be represented by counsel. Any applicant denied a license may not apply again for
the same type of license for 180 calendar business days from the date of denial of the application.

All invoices must be emailed to; accountspayable@dmv.virginia.gov. and to the DMV Motorcycle
Safety Training Site Coordinator. Reimbursed sites may apply for direct deposit through the
following website: https://www/doa.virginia.gov/forms.shtml#edi

Reimbursed Training Site







Non-Reimbursed Training Sites

Applicants must complete application form TSS 96 (link to tss96) and submit all necessary
documentation requested to, The Department of Motor Vehicles, Motorcycle Safety
Training Site Coordinator, Office 405, 2300 W Broad Street, Richmond VA 23269, or
email documentation to the Motorcycle Safety Training Site Coordinator.




Other Training Site Obligations

1. Each training site must pessess-er-have-accessto-operate within the approved MSF Rider
Education Recognition Program (RERP) guidelines and must possess and or have access to; #he-

use-ofall-classroom, range, storage facilities, and equipment. A training site’s facilities and
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equipment must be approved by DMV and include the following:

a.

A classroom for the presentation of the off-cycle instructional portion of the
novice, experienced, and sidecarand-three-wheeled motorcycle rider courses.
A paved range area for the on-cycle portion of the novice, experienced-rider, and
sideearane-three-wheeled motorcycle courses consistent with the minimum range
requirements established by the DMV-approved curriculum used in the course.
For those agencies, organizations, businesses, and individuals that apply to receive
reimbursement, the facilities must have adequate storage to protect motorcycles
and equipment from vandalism, theft, and environmental damage.

Audio-Vvisual equipment. ard

Fire extinguisher and first-aid kit.

2. Training sites will contact the DMV Motorcycle Safety Training Site Coordinator RPregram-
managerto ebtain-course-bosks-provide them with the Virginia Motorcycle Safety
Course Completion Certificates (TSS 97) based on actual and projected enrollments, and
other DMV Forms. The TSS 97 form is considered controlled, and all training sites will
provide the following:

3.

Adequate records to show card count from site received to student issuance.
Reporting to TREDS within the required time

Immediate reporting of lost or stolen cards to the DMV Motorcycle Safety
Training Site Coordinator.

Training sites are responsible for verifying that all participants are eligible for enrollment in a

course-dhdertheprogram, based on the following:

a.

C.

Persons enrolling in a Basic RiderCourse must (i) possess a valid learner’s permit
and or a valid driver’s license; (ii) have written parental or guardian permission if
under the age of 18 years of age; and-(iii) be physically able to balance and operate
a motorcycle;- and (iv) sign an appropriate waiver/liability form prior to the start of
the course.

Persons enrolling in an experienced rider course must (i) possess a valid driver’s
license endorsed for motorcycle operation; (ii) have written parental or guardian
permission if under the age of 18; (iii) use a motorcycle that may lawfully be
operated on the highways of the Commonwealth during course training; and-(iv)
have a valid proof of ownership of such motorcycle, or have its owner’s written
permission to use it and valid proof of insurance:; and (v) sign an appropriate
waiver/liability form prior to the start of the course.

Persons enrolling in a 3WBRC class must:

(i) possess a valid learner’s permit or a valid driver’s license; (ii) have written parental

or guardian permission if under the age of 18; (iii) use a sidecar rig or three-wheeled
motorcycle that may lawfully be operated on the highways of the Commonwealth
during course training (iv) if providing their own sidecar rig or three-wheeled
motorcycle, have a valid proof of ownership of such sidecar rig or three-wheeled
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motorcycle, or have its owner’s written permission to use it and valid proof of
insurance-; and (v) sign an appropriate waiver/liability form prior to the start of the
course.

4. The training site must issue a completed DMV-approved certificate of completion to each
participant who successfully completes course in the program.

5. Approved training sites must provide the following information to DMV for each course
within 20 business days of course completion through the online Traffic Records
Electronic Data System reperting-system-(TREDS), the following;

a. Type of course and date of completion.

b. Name,address-driverslicense-number; and MSF RiderCoach certification
number of each instructor (RiderCoach).

c. Name, address, driver’s license number, and date of birth of all participants
enrolled in the course.

d. Course completion status of each participant.

e. Notify DMV Motorcycle Safety Program when a RiderCoach begins training with
the site. The following Information must be provided: The name, address,
driver’s license number, and certification number of each instructor.

6. Training sites must retain a copy of each participant’s waiver form and original course
evaluation form. Along with establishing and maintaining records of course administration, to
include the information outlined in sub-section 5 of this section, for a three-yearfive-year
period following the course completion (MSF RERP Agreement is five years). DMV may audit
course records or monitor and evaluate any-and-all aspects of a training site’s operation.

10.7. The location of training sites must be in accordance with DMV’s administrative districts and
no training site may change its geographical location without written DMV approval.

11-8. No license may be transferred or assigned as a result of any change in (i) the individual who
is authorized to obligate the training site, (ii) ownership, or (iii) officers in a corporation or
other business entity without the written approval of DMV. Such approval is based on the
licensing requirements established by DMV.

42:9. Training sites must ensure that instrueters RiderCoaches maintain the minimum
gualifications and meet any other instructer requirements established in Virginia Code or
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otherwise established by DMV. The DMV may terminate a training course if it finds an-instructor
a RiderCoach in violation of any provision of Va. Code § 46.2-1188 et seq.

License Renewal

All applicants for renewed licenses must complete the application form TSS 96 at least 30 days
prior to the license expiration date. DMV will review and respond to such applications within 30
days unless additional information is requested by DMV. Any applicant denied a license will,
upon his or her written request made within 30 days of the Commissioner’s action, be given a
hearing at a time and place determined by the Commissioner or his or her designee. All hearings
under this section will be public and will be held as soon as practicable but in no case later than
30 days from receipt of the hearing request. The applicant may be represented by counsel. Any
applicant denied a license may not apply again for the same type of license for 180 calendar
days from the date of denial of the application.

In addition to the ferm TSS 96 form and the required documentation, license renewal
applications must include the following:
1. Overall program budget. (Only required for reimbursed sites)
2. Total cost of training to the student.
3. Amount of funds requested from the DMV Motorcycle Safety Program. (Only
required for reimbursed sites)
4. Number of students expected to be trained for each year of license.
Use of approved curricula and course books.
6. Condition and safety of required equipment, and facilities, including classroom, storage
areas, and range.
7. Condition of motorcycles and helmets.
Statutorily required insurance;—and- (P&P pg. 4 subsection K).
9. Statement as to the ability and willingness of the applicant to meet all requirements set
forth in the license application.

o

oo

RiderCoaches

Training sites may only employ irstructers MISF Certified RiderCoaches that have completed the
appropriate applications and meet the following minimum qualifications:

1. Have a current, valid driver’s license, endorsed for motorcycle operation, that is neither
suspended, revoked, cancelled, nor under probation, with less than six demerit points in a
12-month period and no conviction for any of the offenses enumerated in subsection E of Va.
Code § 18.2-270;

2. Be avalid training course instructor, as approved by the DMV Motorcycle Safety
Program, which includes:
a. Attending all required program clinics offered by the DMV Motorcycle Safety
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Program that provide continuously updated course instrueter-and motorcycle
safety education.

b. Conducting themselves in a professional manner, including, but not limited to,
using appropriate language, and having interactions with participants and others
involved in the course that are free from threat and intimidation.

c. Avoiding putting course participants or others associated with course instruction
in physical danger during periods of instruction threugh-the-use-efusing
appropriate instructional techniques and methods.——a+é

d. Complying with other requirements specified in Virginia law, the
Motorcycle Safety Foundation, or otherwise established by DMV.

3. Within every two-year recertification cycle: complete 4 Basic RiderCourses (BRC,
eP1x11, or 3WBRC) and attend two different DMV Motorcycle Safety Program
approved Professional Development Workshops (PDW) each calendar year. Log
onto the MSF’s Rider Education and Training System On-Line Resource Guide
(RETSORG) to maintain your MSF Certified credentials.

4. Notify MSF and DMV of any change in RiderCoach status and/or contact information at
www.msf-usa.org and the-fellewing-e-mail the following address: MCSafety@dmv.virginia.gov.

These requirements do not apply to those persens-RiderCoaches who were active and in good
standing are-valid-trainingcourse-instructers-prior to being stationed outside the United States,
during the period of such person’s service ifany-in the armed services of the United States, and
60 days thereafter. However, temporary exemptions may not exceed five years. Any person who
receives a temporary exemption must provide decumentary-documentation or other proof that
he-ershe-is-they are entitled to the exemption,and-isrequired—tormeetthereguirementsprior
to-being-eligible-to-provide course-instruction.

Course Aide

A range aide can be used to assist with non-instructional support, performing such tasks as
operating classroom equipment, setting cones for range exercises, maintaining motorcycles, etc.
Course aides may not evaluate or coach participants. Once approved by the site manager, the
course aide may conduct riding and simulated practice demonstrations under the direct
supervision of a RiderCoach.

Ranges

Approved training sites must have access to a paved range area for the on-cycle portion of the
novice, experienced-riderand-sidecar, and three-wheeled motorcycle courses that is-are
consistent with the minimum range requirements established by DMV-approved curriculum-used-
inthe-course. The training site must have a current Rider Education Recognition Program {“RERP“}-
(RERP) number for the training range from the Motorcycle Safety Foundation “MSEZ-(MSF). For
more information on how to obtain a RERP, please refer to www.msf-usa.org.
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Motorcycles

In compliance with the code of Virginia 46.2-1190.2.B, the training eentersite shall be
responsible for procuring and providing a minimum of one motorcycle per student. Each sueh
motorcycle shall be of a type that may lawfully be operated on the highways of the

Commonwealth and, subject to the provisions ef—subseeﬂea—D—meet—s—t—we—ef—t—he—ﬁeHew—ng—

eﬂess%han499—peands—aed+&9—a—sea%he+gh%ef%@+nehe&eﬂess—set by the DMV approved

curriculum.

Each participant in the experiencedridercourse-BRC2/BRC2u shall provide a motorcycle for use in

the course. One sidecar+ig-erthree-wheeled motorcycle, provided by eitheraparticipantorthe
training Centersite, shall be required for use by every two students in the sidecarand-erthree-

wheeled-metereyele-course. A participant may use their own three-wheel motorcycle.

All motorcycles used in course instruction must display a current Virginia-state-inspection-decal-
Virginia State Police-Virginia State Inspection decal-and-be-checked-by-the-instructorspriorto-use-
. .. . I loic £ . .

Completion Certificates & Rider Alert Cards

Basrc—Rideeeeu-Fse—aﬂd—eemes—Coples of those completlon certlflcates must be kept on Iocatlon

at the training site. When a TSS97 form is issued to a student, the site will retain a record of
issuance and record the certificate number both in TREDS and site records. The certificates
must include the students’ names (last, first, middle initial, birth date), the type of endorsement
checked (M2 or M3), seheetsite name, school code, course completion date, and be signed by
the ridercoach-RiderCoach. Fhecertificate-must-have the correct school code,orthe-
certificatewill-not-beprocessed-by-BMV\.Schools-Sites should request an adequate supply of
Rider Alert Cards from the Richmond Ambulance Authority and provide said cards to each
student in the course. General information about Rider Alert cards can be found on their
website. Ordering of Rider Alert cards

Retesting of Skill and Knowledge Evaluations

Because-DMV provides a 30-day provisional motorcycle license, once a student is issued a
Virginia Motorcycle Safety Course Completion Certificate (TSS 97), there will be no retesting of
the skill or knowledge test. The student is required to attend another course.

Prior to a student being issued a TSS 97: A licensed training site may offer retesting within the
following guidelines:

e |tis the discretion of the school to determine if retesting is appropriate for the skill or
knowledge test.
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e The appropriate test may be retaken in its entirety one additional time within a 20-
calendar day period.

Rider Coach Preparation Course

All RiderCoach Preparation (RCP) courses will be erganized<coordinated-and-approved through
the DMV Motorcycle Safety Program. All course documentation will include each student an

Instructor/Rider Coach Application (TSS 98), and a current 5-year driving record. The RiderCoach
Trainer must submit a report of students who have successfully completed the course of
instruction. This documentation will be sent to the DMV Motorcycle Safety Education
Coordinator 10 business days prior to the commencement of training.—Fhe-documentation-must

m- QO A

Penalties and Remedies for Violations of License Requirements

1. DMV will impose the following penalties on any training site for violations of the
requirements established by DMV:
a. Limit the type of instruction provided by the training site.
b. Suspend or revoke the license of the training site.
c. Impose a civil penalty.——o¢
d. Impose any combination of the penalties set forth in this subsection.

2. When violations occur that are not found by DMV to pose a threat to the health, safety or
welfare of the public or the course participants, instructors, or others associated with the
course, DMV will (i) notify the training site of the violations that have occurred, (ii) direct
corrective action to be completed by the training site within 30 calendar days, and (iii) require a
formal written response documenting that corrections have been made as directed. Such
violations are typically associated with, but not limited to, training site administration and
operations. If corrections are not completed as directed, DMV will notify the training site and
may impose any or all efthe sanctions set forth in subsection 1 of this section. Such penalties
will continue until all required corrections are made and DMV receives formal documentation
confirming compliance.

3. DMV will suspend the license of any training site that receives three or more notices under
subsection 2 within any 12-month period. Such suspensions will be for an initial 90-day
period and will continue until all required corrections are made and DMV receives formal
documentation confirming compliance.

4. When violations occur that are found by DMV to pose a threat to the health, safety, or
welfare of the public or the course participants, instructors, or others associated with the
course, DMV will (i) notify the training site of the violations that have occurred and
immediately limit all types of instruction provided by the training site, (ii) direct corrective
action to be completed by the training site within 30 calendar days of receipt of notice of such
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violations and (iii) will require a formal written response documenting that corrections have
been made as directed. If corrections are not completed as directed, DMV will suspend the
license of the training site and impose a civil penalty. The period of such license suspension
will continue until all required corrections are made and DMV receives formal documentation
confirming compliance. If the required corrections are not made within 30 calendar days of
the suspension, DMV will revoke the license.

Once a training site license is revoked, DMV will not renew or reissue the license until (i) it
receives formal documentation confirming compliance with the required corrective actions,
and (ii) the training site applies for renewal or re-issuance. Such training sites are not eligible
to apply for a license again until 180 calendar days after DMV receives formal documentation
confirming compliance with the required corrective actions.

Notice of an order suspending or revoking a license, imposing a limitation on training site
operations, or imposing a civil penalty, and advising the licensee of the opportunity for a

hearing as a result of such order, will be in writing and mailed to the licensee by registered
mail to the training site address as shown on the most recent licensee’s application for
license and will be considered served when mailed. Upon receipt of a request for a hearing
appealing the order, the licensee will have the opportunity for a hearing as soon as
practicable, but in no case later than 30 days from receipt of the hearing request. The order
will remain in effect pending the outcome of the hearing.

License Denial, Suspension, and Revocation

A training site’s license may be denied, suspended, or revoked based on any one or more of the
following grounds, where applicable:

1.

2.

Material misstatement or omission in the application for a license.

Failure to comply subseguentto-after receipt of a written notice from DMV or any willful
failure to comply with a lawful order, any provision of this article, or any term, condition, or
restriction of a license.

Failure to comply with zoning or other land use regulations, ordinances, or statutes.
Use of deceptive business acts or practices.

Knowingly advertising by any means any assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is
untrue, misleading, or deceptive relating to the conduct of the business for which a license is held
or sought.

Having been found, through a judicial or administrative hearing, to have committed fraudulent
or deceptive acts in connection with the training site for which a license is held or sought, or
any consumer-related fraud.
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

Having been convicted of any criminal act involving the training site for which a license is
held or sought.

Improper assignment, lending, or otherwise allowing the improper use of a license.

Any corporate officer, owner, administrator, and any individual authorized to obligate the
training site having been convicted of a felony.

Any corporate officer, owner, administrator, and any individual authorized to obligate the
training site having been convicted of any misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, stealing, or
moral turpitude.

Failure to furnish DMV information, documentation, or records required or requested
pursuant to this article.

Knowingly and willfully filing any false report, account, record, or memorandum.

Willfully altering or changing the appearance or wording of a training site license or a course
completion certificate.

Failure to provide services in accordance with the terms, limitations, conditions, or
requirements of the license; or

Failure to comply with other state and federal requirements relating to training site
operations.
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