
Zero Tolerance
If your teen is under age 21, they cannot purchase, 
possess or consume alcohol. It is illegal for any person 
under the age of 21 to operate any motor vehicle 
after illegally consuming alcohol. If your teen is 
convicted of driving after illegally consuming alcohol 
and was found to have a BAC of 0.02 and less than 
0.08, the court penalty will include a suspension of 
their driving privilege for one year from the date of 
conviction, and a minimum mandatory fine of $500, 
or the requirement that they complete at least 50 
hours of community service.

Learner’s Permit
If your teen wants to go driving with their learner’s 
permit, there must be a licensed driver at least 21 
years of age seated next to them at all times. The 
driver accompanying your teen must be legally 
permitted to drive and be alert to assist your teen. 

There are exceptions. The driver supervising your 
teen’s driving may be as young as 18 years of age if 
they are your teen’s brother, sister, half-brother, half-
sister, stepbrother, stepsister, or first cousin. 

Of course, the person accompanying your teen must 
not be under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

The in-car driver education teacher will administer 
your teen’s final road test. If your teen successfully 
passes the test, the school will issue them a 
completion certificate. The certificate, combined with 
your teen’s learner’s permit, acts as a valid driver’s 
license for 180 days.

Court Licensing Ceremony
If your teen is under age 18 when they meet the 
requirement for DMV to issue a driver’s license, 
DMV will mail their driver’s license to the juvenile 
and domestic relations court in their jurisdiction. 
Within the 180 day period, you and your teen will 
receive a notice from the juvenile and domestic 
relations court that will tell you when to appear in 
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court for a licensing ceremony. During this ceremony 
your teen will receive their driver’s license.

If your teen is age 18 or older on the date of the 
ceremony, you are not required to attend the 
ceremony with them.  

If your teen is age 18 or older when they meet the 
requirements for DMV to issue their driver’s license, 
DMV will mail the license directly to your teen. Your 
teen will not be required to attend a juvenile licensing 
ceremony.

If your teen held a valid driver’s license issued by 
another state and exchanged it for a Virginia driver’s 
license, they will not be required to attend a juvenile 
licensing ceremony.

Stay Involved
Take an active role in the first years of your teen’s 
driving. After your teen is licensed, don’t opt out 
– continue to monitor their driving behavior. Your 
involvement may save a life. 
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Safety Belt Law
Under Virginia law, the drivers and all front seat 
passengers must wear safety belts. A driver 
transporting anyone younger than age 18 must 
ensure that the passenger is properly secured in a 
safety belt, booster seat or child safety seat no matter 
where the child is seated in the vehicle. 

Texting Law
Text-messaging or reading text messages while driving 
are prohibited.   

Sanctions
Texting while driving convictions are assessed 

three demerit points.

If your teen is under the age of 18 and has ten 
or more unapproved absences from school on 
consecutive school days, a court may suspend 
their driving privilege for any period of time, or 
until they reach the age of 18.

A second or subsequent conviction for a 
violation of the passenger, curfew or cell phone/
wireless communication device restrictions 
may result in a court suspension of your teen’s 
driver’s license for up to six months.

If your teen receives a conviction for a demerit 
point, safety belt and/or child restraint violation 
committed while under the age of 20, DMV will 
require them to attend a driver-improvement 
clinic. 

  If your teen receives a second conviction for 
an offense committed while under age 18, 
DMV will suspend their driving privilege for 
90 days. If your teen has no other means of 
transportation, they may petition the juvenile 
and domestic relations court in their jurisdic-
tion for restricted driving privileges to drive 
between home, work, and/or an institution 
of higher learning. 

  After the third demerit point conviction for 
an offense committed while under age 18, 
DMV will revoke your teen’s driving privi-
lege for one year or until they reach age 18, 
whichever is longer. No restricted driving 
privileges will be granted during this time.

Please recycle.



The Leading Cause 
of Death
Driving is a complex task, even for most seasoned 
drivers. For young drivers, driving is especially 
difficult and can be lethal. In fact, motor vehicle 
crashes are the leading cause of death for persons 
between the ages of 15 and 20. That’s why it’s 
important for you to be involved in the first years 
of your teen’s driving. This can be a rewarding 
experience for you and your teen that will help 
minimize the risks they will face on the road.

As your teen’s parent or guardian, you know when 
they have the skills and maturity to drive. That’s 
why your permission is required at many steps in 
the juvenile licensing process. That’s why you have 
the right to withhold or cancel your teen’s driving 
privileges. 

Rights and 
Responsibilities
With your permission, your teen now has a learner’s 
permit. This means that you now have rights and 
responsibilities that will involve you in your teen’s 
driving experience.

 Your Rights
You have already exercised your first right – you 

gave DMV permission to issue your teen a 
learner’s permit and, eventually, a driver’s license.

You also have the right to grant or not grant 
your teen’s school permission to enroll them in 
the in-car phase of driver education.

Until your teen turns age 18, you have the 
right to cancel their driver’s license for any 
reason you deem appropriate. If you choose 
to cancel your teen’s driver’s license, complete 
the “Cancellation of a Minor’s Driver’s License” 
form (DL 18). The form is available on the DMV 
website at www.dmvNOW.com or contact 
DMV at (804) 497-7100. But remember, you 
and your teen will not be able to reapply for a 
driver’s license for at least six months.

 Your Responsibilities
Before your teen can get a driver’s license, you must 
certify that they have 45 hours of behind-the-wheel 
driving experience, 15 hours of which must be after 
sunset. This requirement applies only if your teen 
is under age 18. The driver’s education/training 
completion certificate must include your signature 
and driver’s license or identification card number. 

To help you meet this requirement, your teen will 
bring home a publication from their driver education 
class or from DMV when the learner’s permit is 
issued. Created by the Department of Education, the 
45-Hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide provides:
suggested in-car guided practice sessions

helpful tips on how to coach your teen during 
the guided practice sessions

a detailed explanation of the fundamentals of 
driving

a 45-hour driving log that you complete and 
give to your teen’s driver education instructor

a sound groundwork to foster responsible  
attitudes and driving behaviors in your teen

The guide is also available online at www.doe.
virginia.gov/instruction/driver_education/parent_
teen_driving_guide.pdf.

Licensing Requirements 
and Restrictions
 Learner’s Permit
Age of applicant – Your teen must be at least 15 
years, six months of age before they can apply for a 
learner’s permit.

Testing – Successful completion of the two-part 
knowledge test is required to obtain a learner’s permit. 
If your teen fails the knowledge test three times, 
completion of the classroom component of driver’s 
education or training will be required before they are 
allowed to take the knowledge test a fourth time. 

Passenger limits – While driving with a learner’s 
permit, your teen may not carry more than one  
passenger under age 21. (This does not apply to family 
members.) 

Curfew – While driving with a learner’s permit, your 
teen may not operate a motor vehicle between the 
hours of midnight and 4 a.m.

 Driver’s License
Age of applicant – Your teen must be at least 16 
years, 3 months of age and have held their learner’s 
permit for at least nine months before they can apply 
for a driver’s license.

Passenger limits 
If your teen is under age 18, they may carry only one 
passenger under age 21, unless accompanied by a 
licensed parent, or other adult acting in place of a 
parent, in the front passenger seat; however, after 
they have held a license for one year, your teen may 
carry up to three passengers under age 21 in the 
following situations:

  travel to and from a school-sponsored activity
  there is a licensed driver 21 or older in the front 

passenger seat or
  there is an emergency.

(Passenger restrictions do not apply to members of the 
driver’s family or household.)

Curfew – If your teen is under age 18, they may 
not operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 
midnight and 4 a.m. except:

in cases of an emergency, including when 
responding to an emergency call as a volunteer 
firefighter or rescue squad member

when traveling to and from a place of business 
where they are employed

when traveling to or from an activity that is 
supervised by an adult and is sponsored by a school 
or civic, religious, or public organization

when accompanied by a parent or other adult acting 
in place of a parent or by a spouse who is at least 
18 years old, in the front passenger seat.

Cell phones – Virginia law prohibits drivers from holding 
cell phones or any other wireless communication devices 
while driving except in a driver emergency or when the 
vehicle is lawfully parked or stopped.

The passenger limits and curfew restrictions under 
this section are lifted on the driver’s license holder’s 
eighteenth birthday.

Driver Education 
Requirements
If your teen is under age 18, they must complete a state-
approved driver education program. The program must 
present 36 classroom periods. The student can complete 
the classroom portion of the course at a driver training 
school, a public or private school, or through a DMV-
approved online course provider. It must also include 14 
in-car instruction periods, seven periods of driving, and 
seven periods of observation. The student can complete 
the in-car instruction periods at a Virginia public or private 
driver training school unless your teen is home-schooled.*

Transferring from another state – Your teen’s out-of-state 
driver’s education may be accepted if it was successfully 
completed while residing in that state and the program 
meets a minimum of 30 classroom hours and six in-car 
hours.

If your teen holds a current out-of-state driver’s license 
but does not have proof of driver’s education, they may 
be issued a Virginia six-month temporary license. This will 
give your teen time to obtain proof or to complete a state-
approved driver education program.

* Information about home-schooled in-car instruction     
   requirements is online at 
   http://www.dmv.state.va.us/drivers/#homeschoolers.asp. 


