JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
DMVNow logo

Virginia Highway Safety Office News Releases

Monday, December 3, 2007
Media Contact: Melanie Stokes
Department of Motor Vehicles
(804) 367-6623

Nominations Accepted for Governor's Transportation Safety Awards
Applications Due February 8, 2008

RICHMOND - Nominations for the 2008 Governor's Transportation Safety Awards may be submitted now through February 8, 2008. Awards in 17 categories honor individuals and organizations for outstanding transportation safety contributions.

The Awards Committee of the Virginia Board of Transportation Safety will review submissions and approve final selections. Entries will be judged on creativity, imagination, uniqueness, the impact it had on the community, and the use of volunteers and private sector resources. "We are seeking nominations that demonstrate outstanding efforts to positively change driver behavior, and reduce the number of injuries and fatalities associated with transportation in Virginia," said DMV Commissioner D.B. Smit.

Individuals, organizations, businesses or government agencies are eligible for these awards based on transportation safety activities and programs conducted during 2007.

The award categories include:

Lifetime Safety Achievement Award - Presented to an individual who has made significant contributions on behalf of transportation safety initiatives and programs.

W. Calvin Falwell/Major Kenneth Rowe Award for Aviation Safety - Granted for promoting air transportation safety.

Employer Safety - Awarded to employers who encourage their employees to practice safe driving behaviors.

General Traffic Safety - Presented for demonstrating exemplary efforts in changing transportation safety attitudes and behaviors. Nominations that show achievement in the design, development and/or implementation of engineering techniques that reduce crashes on Virginia's highways will be considered.

Impaired Driving - Granted for promoting alcohol- and drug-free driving. Law Enforcement - Awarded to law enforcement personnel who have shown extra initiative in advancing transportation safety in their community.

Legal - Presented to attorneys or judges who have actively supported transportation safety issues that help create new laws and strengthen existing laws.

Media - Awarded to media representatives or news outlets that help encourage traffic safety through fair and accurate reporting or programming.

Edgar P. Layman, Jr. Award for Motor Carrier Safety - Presented for advancing transportation safety in the motor carrier industry through educational programs and activities.

Motorcycle Safety - Awarded to an individual or group that educates motorists and motorcyclists about motorcycle safety.

Occupant Protection - Granted for promoting safety belts or child safety seats use through innovative programs and activities.

E. Wallace Timmons Award for Pedestrian/Bicycle Safety - Presented for advancing safe walking and bicycling behaviors.

Public Transportation Safety - Presented for contributions made in educating drivers and riders about safe public transportation practices.

Pupil Transportation Safety - Granted for encouraging, educating and promoting student transportation safety.

Rail Safety - Awarded for fostering safety on freight or passenger rail systems.

Water Safety - Granted for contributions made in improving safety for swimmers, boaters and fishermen.

Youth Traffic Safety - Presented to individuals or groups that educate children and teens about the importance of traffic safety.

To download a nomination form and obtain eligibility requirements, visit Nominations may be submitted by mail to:

The Governor's Transportation Safety Awards
c/o Audrey Odum, Room 701
Post Office Box 27412
Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001

Entries must be postmarked by February 8, 2008. Winners will be notified by March 31, 2008.

# # #

Back to Press Releases

Peak Performance - Everyone, Everytime

Newsroom | Subscribe to DMV Web Feed Subscribe to DMV Web Feed  | Plug-Ins | Web Policy

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 2013, All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269

(804) 497-7100
At DMV, we are committed to protecting your privacy.
It is DMV's policy to only release your information to you.

Level A conformance icon, 
			W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0