DMV Medical Advisory Board

The Medical Advisory Board enables DMV to meet its responsibilities of monitoring drivers throughout the Commonwealth who may have physical or mental limitations. In additiion, the Board assists the Commissioner by developing medical and health standards for drivers, and provides guidance and recommendations related to proposed driver fitness legislation. The Board also helps DMV avoid issuing licenses to persons suffering from any physical or mental disability or functional limitation that would prevent their safely operating a motor vehicle.


Va. Code § 46.2-204 requires that the Board consist of seven licensed physicians currently practicing medicine in Virginia. The Governor appoints each Board member and designates a chairman. Appointment to the Board is for four-year terms; vacancies are filled by appointment for the unexpired portion of a term.

Agency Support:

Current Members

Board members are listed in order of expiration.

Name When Appointed Expiration of Current Term Seat Requirements As Mandated by Va. Code § 46.2-204
Dr. Juan A. Astruc, Jr 2006 09/30/16 Specialization - Ophthalmology
(Subspeciality - Retinal Specialist)
Dr. John D. Sheppard, Jr. 2007 09/30/16 Specialization - Ophthalmology
Dr. Saji Slavin 2012 09/30/16 Specialization - Internal Medicine
Dr. John Wittman, Jr. 2012 09/30/16 Specialization - Neurology
Dr. Susan DiGiovanni, Chair 10/01/02

Appointed chairperson 01/05
09/30/18 Specialization - Internal Medicine
(Subspeciality - Nephrology)
Dr. Hetzal Hartley 2014 09/30/18 Specialization - Occupational Medicine
Dr. Mark Sochor 2014 09/30/18 Specialization - Emergency Medicine