JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Email this pagePrint this page  

CDL Driver Training Schools (including Three Exam Failures)

About CDL Training Schools

The DMV approved commercial driver classroom component consists of a minimum of 40 hours of study. The DMV approved commercial driver in-vehicle component consists of a minimum of 80 hours of study consisting of hands-on, driving on a range and the road and/or simulator, and driving observation. The classroom and in-vehicle training sessions are limited to a maximum of ten hours per day.

Applicants Failing Three Times

Driver's license applicants, including CDL drivers, who fail the knowledge or behind-the-wheel examination three times after June 30, 2008, will be required to successfully complete the applicable knowledge or in-vehicle component of a driver education course before they can take the examination a fourth time.

If you are unsuccessful in passing the exam a first and second time, before re-taking the exam, study the driver's license manual; if you hold a learner's permit, practice your behind-the-wheel skills with a licensed driver or a driver training instructor. Classes taken at a driver improvement clinic do not meet this requirement. Also, if you failed the exam three times, you must complete the driver education class after your third failure.

  • Persons failing the CDL knowledge test must take the classroom component of driver education class.
  • Persons failing the CDL road test must take the behind-the-wheel component of driver education class.

Find a CDL Training School

CDL Driver education programs are available statewide. For a listing of schools, refer to CDL Driver Training Schools (including Three Exam Failures) .

Important Notice - CCWA Courses

A CDL Driver Training School course taken through the Community College Workforce Alliance (CCWA) is only for persons who fail the general knowledge or the behind-the-wheel examination three times, and must therefore complete the applicable knowledge or behind-the-wheel component of a driver education course before they can take the examination a fourth time.

Completing the training at the CCWA does not waive the 30-day holding period to obtain a commercial driver's license. First-time commercial drivers interested in completing a CDL driver training course in lieu of holding a CDL learner's permit for 30 days must complete both classroom and in-vehicle instruction at any one of the other CDL driver training schools listed. DMV will administer the skills test.

Additional Information

DMV is committed to promoting transportation safety through the certification of quality driver training programs. For information about the laws governing driver training schools, refer to the Virginia Driver Training School Regulations.

If you have comments or concerns about this course, call our toll-free number: 1-877-885-5790.