Commercial Driver's License (CDL) Medical Certification Requirements

Medical Examiner Certificates

As a result of the COVID-19 emergency, FMCSA has granted an extension for medical examiner certificates. During this extension period, any medical examiner certificate valid 90 days or more, which expires between June 1, 2021 and November 29, 2021, is extended to November 30, 2021.

If your medical certificate is due to expire, please obtain an updated certificate as soon as possible and promptly submit it to DMV. Further extensions are not anticipated. CDL medical certification document(s) may be submitted online, by fax, and by mail.

Certification Categories

Federal regulations require that anyone holding or applying for a commercial driver's license (CDL) or commercial learner's permit (CLP) certify to one of the four following categories of commercial motor vehicle (CMV) operation: (1) excepted interstate; (2) excepted intrastate; (3) non-excepted interstate; and (4) non-excepted intrastate. Certification to either an "excepted intrastate" or "non-excepted intrastate" operation will require that an Intrastate Only restriction of "K" be placed on the CDL or CLP.

To help you determine which category best fits your commercial vehicle operation, refer to CDL Medical Requirements Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).

[Back to Top]

Medical Examiner Requirement

CDL drivers who certify to either a "non-excepted interstate" or "non-excepted intrastate" category of commercial motor vehicle (CMV) operation must have their physical examiner's certificate completed by a medical examiner who is listed on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s (FMCSA's) National Registry of Medical Examiners.

The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will not accept your medical examiner's certificate unless it was completed by a medical examiner listed on the National Registry of Medical Examiners and the certificate displays the medical examiner’s registry number.

For more information on how to locate a medical examiner who is on the Registry, refer to the National Registry of Medical Examiners.

[Back to Top]

If Applying for an Original, Renewal, or Replacement CDL/Commercial Learner's Permit

If you are applying for an original, renewal, or replacement CDL/commercial learner's permit (CLP), you must certify on your application to one of the four categories of commercial motor vehicle (CMV) operations listed above. Based on your certification category, you may be required to submit additional medical documentation.

Failure to meet these conditions will cause your application to be denied.

[Back to Top]

Submitting Your Documentation

Prior to submission, please make sure that the information on your medical document(s) is legible, clear and complete. If we cannot read the documentation, then we will not be able to update your record.

Do not provide your full Medical Examination Report (MER) Form, MCSA-5875 to DMV. DMV can only accept a Medical Examiner's Certificate (MEC), MCSA - 5876, also known as a "medical card" or "DOT card". The MEC fits on a single page and includes the MEC expiration date. View a sample of the form to ensure you are providing the proper document to DMV.

The fastest and easiest way to have your medical document(s) processed is by submitting them online. DMV will email you after your medical document(s) have been processed. Click the “UPLOAD ONLINE” link below to submit your documents. It's fast, easy and secure!


If you are unable to upload your documents online, DMV can still accept them by one of the methods listed below:

If you are a trucking company submitting medical certification document(s) on behalf of your drivers, please use the submission options listed above.

[Back to Top]

Additional Information

For more information, please review the CDL Medical Requirements Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) or contact us.

[Back to Top]

See Also