JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use DMVNow in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, then try again. To get the best experience, you'll need to upgrade to a modern browser.
Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Email this pagePrint this page  

Drive-Aways Will Pay

The Virginia Fuels Tax Act takes some important steps to help stop "pump-and-runs" at Virginia retail fuel outlets.

Individuals driving away without paying for fuel may forfeit their privilege to drive. Violators, if convicted, face the following:

  • First offense: A fine up to $100 and possible suspension of their driver's license for up to 30 days;
  • Second offense: A fine up to $100 and suspension of their driver's license for a period of 30 days.

The regulations alone will not curb drive-aways. Signage displayed at or near the pump could help deter this illegal and costly activity. Most importantly, it will take a cooperative effort of the public and private sectors.