Drive-Aways Will Pay
The Virginia Fuels Tax Act takes some important steps to help stop "pump-and-runs" at Virginia retail fuel outlets.
Individuals driving away without paying for fuel may forfeit their privilege to drive. Violators, if convicted, face the following:
- First offense: A fine up to $100 and possible suspension of their driver's license for up to 30 days;
- Second offense: A fine up to $100 and suspension of their driver's license for a period of 30 days.
The regulations alone will not curb drive-aways. Signage displayed at or near the pump could help deter this illegal and costly activity. Most importantly, it will take a cooperative effort of the public and private sectors.