Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Online Transactions

Abandoned Vehicle Help   |  Privacy & Security 

Abandoned Vehicle Process

Vehicles Abandoned in Virginia

The definition of an abandoned motor vehicle in Virginia has changed! Before processing a vehicle using the Abandoned Motor Vehicle process, ensure it as an abandoned motor vehicle.

The Abandoned Vehicle Process (AVP) provides you with a simple, step-by-step process to ensure you follow Virginia laws when disposing of an abandoned vehicle, trailer, or manufactured home in your possession. To process a vehicle, trailer, or manufactured home abandoned in Virginia, select from the following transactions:

Abandoned Vehicle Record Request – To enter a vehicle, trailer, or manufactured home abandoned in Virginia into the AVP, you must first process a record request and wait 15 days (120 days for manufactured homes). You will need the vehicle's identification number (VIN) and the cost is $25.

Abandoned Vehicle Intent to Auction - Once you complete the record request phase of the AVP, use this transaction to post your intent to auction the abandoned vehicle, trailer, or manufactured home and wait 21 days. You must post your intent to auction within 30 days from the "Must Claim By Date" on your AVP receipt or your vehicle will be inactivated in the AVP process. You will need the VIN and AVP receipt number.

Remove an Abandoned Vehicle Record - If you need to make corrections to the record request or intent to auction, or if the property is reclaimed by an owner or lienholder before being auctioned, use this transaction to remove the existing record request, intent to auction, or both. You will need the VIN and AVP receipt number.

Search Abandoned Vehicle Record - Use this transaction to search for an abandoned vehicle in our records. You will need the VIN for the abandonded vehicle, trailer, or manufactured home to be able to locate the vehicle in our records.

Receipt Request - If you have lost your original AVP receipt or Vehicle Removal Certificate (VSA 40), use this transaction to request a duplicate. You will need the VIN.

Download a VSA40 - Vehicle Removal Certificate (VSA 40).

Vehicles Abandoned in Other States

The AVP transactions below are for vehicles abandoned in other states. Out-of-state VINs entered for these transactions do not remain on the Virginia Abandoned Vehicle Process file and are not searchable.

Out-of-State Abandoned Vehicle Record Request – Use this transaction to request Virginia DMV search its records for Virginia owner(s) and lienholder(s) for a vehicle, trailer, or manufactured home abandoned in another state (not located in Virginia). DMV will send identified Virginia owner(s) and lienholder(s) certified mail notification with your contact information. You will need the vehicle’s identification number (VIN) and the cost is $25.

Out-of-State Receipt Request - If you have lost your original out-of-state AVP receipt, use this transaction to request a duplicate. You will need the VIN.


Newsroom | Web Policy

© Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 2013, All rights reserved.
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269

Level A conformance icon, W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0