Privacy & Security
Customers who processed an Abandoned Vehicle Record Request may use the Intent to Auction transaction to publicize their intent to auction an abandoned
vehicle, trailer, or manufactured home.
Virginia law requires you to post your intent to auction for 21 days before you are eligible
to sell the vehicle at an auction, obtain a title, or transfer the vehicle to
a demolisher or scrap metal processor. The Intent to Auction transaction guides you through
the posting process to ensure you comply with the Virginia Abandoned Motor Vehicle law.
You must complete the Abandoned Vehicle Process Record Request before posting your intent to auction.
If you have not completed an abandoned vehicle record request, refer to Abandoned Vehicle Processing.
Be sure to post your Intent to Auction within 30 days from the “Must Claim By Date” displayed on your AVP receipt or your vehicle will be inactivated in the AVP process. You will have to re-enter the abandoned vehicle, trailer, or manufactured home into the AVP and pay the fee
If you are unable to locate your Abandoned Vehicle Process receipt, you may request a duplicate receipt.
Once your Intent to Auction is posted, the intent to auction information is available for
viewing in DMV’s Abandoned Vehicle Search engine. You may
print your intent to auction information.
If a lien exists on DMV’s record, DMV will send a letter notifying the lienholder
of the intent to sell the vehicle. If the vehicle, trailer, or manufactured home is
not claimed within the 21-day posting period, you are eligible to:
Both the Abandoned Vehicle Process receipt and the Vehicle Removal Certificate (VSA 40) must remain with
the abandoned vehicle, trailer, or manufactured home and be presented when you apply for
title or when transferring to a demolisher or scrap metal processor.