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Welcome to driving in Virginia. This manual is your road map to obtaining a
commercial driver’s license (CDL) in Virginia.

Operating a commercial vehicle requires education, special skills and a professional
attitude. As a professional driver, you play a key role in transporting people and
goods safely. You also play a key role in protecting citizens on our highways. This
manual presents important information that you must know to operate your vehicle
in a safe and professional manner. Be sure to study all sections. The General
Knowledge Exam contains questions that have been selected from throughout the
entire manual.
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Introduction

What is a Commercial Motor Vehicle?

» asingle vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating
(GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more

» a combination of vehicles with a gross combination
weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or more if the
vehicle(s) being towed has a GVWR of more than 10,000
pounds

» vehicles designed to carry 16 or more passengers,
including the driver

» any size vehicle that transports hazardous materials and
that requires federal placarding

Who are Commercial Drivers?

Commercial drivers are all persons, paid or volunteer, who
operate commercial motor vehicles. Volunteer drivers of church
buses, private or public school buses and mechanics who test
drive commercial vehicles must meet commercial driver’s
license requirements.

Commercial driver’s license requirements don’t apply to:
» operators of emergency vehicles, such as firefighters
» active duty military personnel operating military vehicles
» operators of farm vehicles when
» used by farmers

» used to move farm goods, supplies or machinery
to or from their farm

» notused as a common or contract motor carrier,
and

» used within 150 miles of the farm
» vehicles operated by persons only for personal use,
such as recreational vehicles and rental moving vans.
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It's illegal for commercial drivers to have more than one
license. You must keep the license issued by the state
where you live. All other licenses must be returned to the
states that issued them. If you fail to return licenses from
other states, you could be fined up to $5,000, put in jail
for up to 90 days, or both.

You may not hold both a Virginia-issued CDL and a
Virginia DMV-issued photo ID.

CDL Age Requirements

You must be at least 18 years of age to hold a CDL. Under
federal law, you must be a commercial driver at least 21 years
of age to drive across state lines, transport hazardous materials
or transport interstate freight (e.g., mail) within the state. If you
are under 21 years of age, you may be issued a CDL with a “L”
restriction. This restriction indicates that your driving privileges
are valid only in Virginia.

CDL Instruction Permit

If you want to learn to drive commercial motor vehicles, you
must get a commercial driver’s license instruction permit.

To obtain a CDL instruction permit, you must pass the CDL
general knowledge exam and the other knowledge exams

for the vehicles that you want to drive. For example, if you
want to learn to operate a tank vehicle and a passenger bus,
you must take the general knowledge exam, the tank vehicle
exam and the passenger vehicle exam. If you intend to drive a
vehicle equipped with air brakes, you must take the air brakes
exam. If you want to learn to drive a school bus, you must
take the general knowledge, school bus and passenger vehicle
exams. CDL instruction permits are generally issued for 180
days and may be renewed once without testing.

The CDL instruction permit allows you to drive a commercial
vehicle of the class and type shown on the permit only when
a person licensed to drive the same type of vehicle is with
you. Refer to the Virginia Driver’s Manual for an explanation
of all requirements including the passenger vehicle general
knowledge and road skills tests.

If you have never held a CDL, you will be required to obtain
and hold a commercial instruction permit for a minimum of
30 days before taking the skills test(s) unless you complete

an approved Virginia CDL driver education course. If you
complete the course, the minimum holding period is 14 days.
If you currently hold a CDL and wish to upgrade to a higher
class, add an endorsement that requires a skills test, or take

a skills test to remove a restriction, you will need to obtain
the appropriate commercial instruction permit and hold for a
minimum of 14 days before taking the skills test. A skills test is
required to obtain a passenger endorsement and a school bus
endorsement. A skills test is required to remove the following
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Introduction

restrictions: no air brakes, no full air brakes, no tractor trailer,
no manual transmission while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, operation of a passenger bus restricted to a Class B
passenger vehicle, and operation of a passenger bus restricted
to a Class C passenger vehicle.

CDL Instruction Permit Endorsements
and Automatic Restrictions

You may only operate an empty tank
vehicle and may not operate a tank
vehicle that previously contained
hazardous materials that has not been
purged of any residue.

N Endorsement
with an
X Restriction

You may not operate a commercial
motor vehicle carrying passengers.
Exceptions include federal or state
auditors and inspectors, test examiners,
other trainees, and the commercial
driver’s license holder accompanying
the commercial driver’s instruction
permit holder.

P Endorsement
with a
P Restriction

S Endorsement
with a
P Restriction

You may not operate a school bus
vehicle carrying passengers. Exceptions
include federal or state auditors and
inspectors, test examiners, other
trainees, and the commercial driver’s
license holder accompanying the
commercial driver’s instruction permit
holder.

CDL Instruction Permit Restrictions

K You may not operate a commercial motor vehicle
outside of Virginia.

K  Prior to July 1, 2014 — You may not operate a vehicle
with air brakes.

L You may not operate a vehicle with air brakes.

L Priorto July 1, 2014 — You may not operate a
commercial motor vehicle outside of Virginia.

M Operation of a passenger vehicle is restricted to a
Class B or Class C passenger vehicle.

N Operation of a passenger vehicle is restricted to a
Class C passenger vehicle.

V  You may not operate a commercial motor vehicle
without your medical variance/waiver/skill performance

documentation.

X You may not operate a tank vehicle with cargo.

VIRGINIA COMMERCIAL

DRIVER"'S

Troops to TruckssM

Qualified military personnel applying for a Virginia
commercial driver’s license (CDL) are required to pass

only one (rather than two) DMV-issued tests — the written
knowledge exam. Those eligible for the road-test waiver must
be a Virginia resident; serving Guard or Reserve member,
active duty personnel or discharged in the last 12 months;
and have a Virginia driver’s license or be eligible for one.
Applicants” commander officers or designees must certify the
applicants have driving experience, for the past two years,
operating the same type of vehicle they drove while in the
military that they plan to drive using their Virginia CDL.
Drivers may need additional tests to obtain endorsements on
their CDL. Applicants need:

» adownloadable DMV waiver form (DL13) signed and
notarized by his/her commanding officer or designee

» Virginia driver’s license or a completed Virginia
DMV DL1P form

» DD-2 or DD-214

CDL Classifications

You should get your CDL for the class vehicle you plan to drive
plus you may need additional endorsements.

Class A Any combination of vehicles with a gross combination
weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more if the vehicle(s) being

towed have a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds. Vehicles in
this class include:

- 28 — —— 28—

» tractor-trailer

» truck and trailer
combinations

» tractor-trailer
buses

If you hold a class A
license and you have the
correct endorsements,
you may also operate
vehicles listed in classes B and C.

Class A -

Class B Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or
more. Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or
more towing another vehicle with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds

or less.
-

) o

This class includes:

» straight trucks

26,001 Ib.

large buses
» segmented buses o
» trucks towing | ‘ ‘ ‘

vehicles with a il : ® 6:
26,001 Ib. or more 10,000 Ib. or less
Towed Unit

Class B

GVWR of 10,000
pounds or less
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If you hold a class B license and you have the correct
endorsements, you may also operate vehicles listed in class C.

Class C Any vehicle that is not included in classes A or B that
carries hazardous
materials requiring
placards or is designed
to carry 16 or more
passengers, including
the driver.

Class C

Remember, the class of a vehicle is determined by its

gross vehicle weight rating and the manufacturer’s design.
The vehicle’s class determines the type of CDL and
endorsements that you need. If you drive a redesigned or
altered vehicle, the vehicle’s original class determines the
type of CDL and endorsements that you need. The type of
CDL that you need is not determined by the class that the
redesigned vehicle falls within.

CDL Endorsements

H Permits you to drive a vehicle that transports hazardous
materials.

Permits you to drive a tank vehicle.
Permits you to drive a passenger-carrying vehicle.

N

P

S Permits you to drive a school bus.

T Permits you to drive a double or triple trailer.
X

Permits you to drive a tank vehicle AND a vehicle that
transports hazardous materials.

If DMV cancels any endorsement displayed on your CDL, you

will be required to return to DMV to have a new CDL issued
that does not display the cancelled endorsement. Failure to
do so will result in the cancellation of your CDL.

CDL Restrictions

B You must wear corrective lenses when operating a
commercial motor vehicle.

E  You may not operate a commercial motor vehicle with
a manual transmission.

J  You may only operate a school/activity bus. You may not

operate any other type of commercial motor vehicle.

K You may not operate a commercial motor vehicle out-
side of Virginia.

L You may not operate a vehicle with Full Air or Air over
Hydraulic brakes. If you plan to operate a vehicle with
either of these types of air brakes, you must take the air
brakes knowledge test. You also must take the road test

in a vehicle equipped with Full Air or Air over Hydraulic

brakes.
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M Operation of a passenger bus restricted to a Class B or
Class C passenger vehicle.

N Operation of a passenger bus restricted to a Class C
passenger vehicle.

O You may not operate a tractor-trailer.

o

You are prohibited from operating a commercial
motor vehicle to transport children to or from activities
sponsored by a school or by a child day care facility
licensed, regulated, or approved by the Virginia
Department of Social Services.

V  You may not operate a commercial motor vehicle
without your medical variance/waiver/skill performance
documentation.

Z You may not operate a vehicle with Full Air brakes.

Moving Violations

If you receive an intrastate CDL when you are under age 20
and you renew at age 20, you must retake all exams if you
have received one or more moving violations.

CDL Fees

Commercial driver’s licenses issued by DMV are valid

for eight years. CDL holders with a hazardous materials
endorsement must continue to follow the federal guidelines
and renew their hazmat endorsement every five years. The
validity period for driver’s licenses issued to persons registered
as sex offenders will be no more than five years.

Original Renewal Replacement
Driver’s license | $4.00 per year | $4.00 per year $20.00
CDL
designation $8.00 per year | $8.00 per year $20.00
and class
Endorsements* | $1.00 per year | $1.00 per year N/A
CDL |'nstruct10n $3.00 N/A $2.00
permit

The CDL fee is $8.00 per year, or a minimum or $20.00.
Since the CDL validity period is eight years, your fee will be
$64.00.

*Endorsements are $1 per year regardless of the number of
endorsements you receive.

Federal law requires applicants for hazardous materials
endorsements to be fingerprinted for a background check.
The background check fee is $83.00.
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Getting Your CDL

To obtain your CDL, you must meet the requirements for a
Virginia driver’s license including the following:

Proof of Identity, Legal Presence, Virginia
Residency and Social Security Number

If you do not hold a valid Virginia driver’s license, you must
present the following documents.

» 2 proof of identity documents, such as a driver’s
license, birth certificate, Virginia CDL instruction permit,
unexpired U.S. military identification card or U.S.
military discharge papers. You must provide original or
duplicate documents. Photocopies will not be accepted.
Refer to Acceptable Documents for Obtaining a Driver’s
License or Photo ID card (DMV 141) for a complete list
of acceptable documents.

» 1 proof of legal presence such as a U.S. birth certificate
or U.S. passport. Legal presence can be proved using
a variety of other documents, such as a Certificate of
Citizenship or naturalization, Resident Alien Card, or
a valid foreign passport with a visa, 1-94 or an 1-94W
with a participating country. Later in 2004, if you apply
for a hazardous materials endorsement, you will be
required to provide specific documents to meet federal
requirements.

» 1 proof of Virginia residency and the street address of
your principal Virginia residence. If you are under age
19, your parent or guardian must certify your Virginia
residency. All documents must show your name and the
address of your principal Virginia residence as it appears
on your application. A post office box or business
address is not acceptable.

However, if you do not want your residence address to
appear on your CDL, you may provide DMV with an
alternate address in addition to your residence address.
This alternate address must also be in Virginia. If you
change your residence or alternate address to a location
outside Virginia, your CDL will be cancelled. Exceptions
may be made for some individuals such as active duty
military personnel and Virginia residents employed
outside the U.S. Refer to Acceptable Documents for
Obtaining a Driver’s License or Photo ID card (DMV 141)
for more information.

» 1 proof of your social security number, such as your
social security card, IRS W-2 form, payroll check or
check stub, unexpired U.S. military identification card
or income tax return from a previous year. DMV will
assign you a customer number which will display on
your CDL or CDL instruction permit.

VIRGINIA COMMERCIAL
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Selective Service Registration

Generally, males under age 26 must register with the Selective
Service. If you are required by federal law to register with

the Selective Service, you must authorize DMV to send your
personal information to Selective Service unless you have
already registered. If you are underage 18, your parent or
guardian must sign your application authorizing the Selective
Service to register you when you turn 18. Law prohibits DMV
from issuing any type of driver’s license or photo ID card

to an applicant who is required by federal law to register
with the Selective Service but who refuses to authorize

DMV to send his information to Selective Service. If you

have questions about Selective Service registration, visit the
Selective Service web site at www.sss.gov or call
847-688-6888, TTY: 847-688-2567.

Out-of-State CDL

If you hold an expired out-of-state CDL, you must pass all
required CDL knowledge and skills tests to qualify for a
Virginia CDL. Virginia does not recognize tests or certificates
from out-of-state third party testers or driving schools.

Compliance with Motor Carrier Safety
Regulations

All CDL applicants must certify that they are in compliance
with the federal and Virginia motor carrier safety regulations.
Virginia law requires that all CDL applicants who certify that
they will operate a commercial motor vehicle in non-excepted
interstate or intrastate commerce shall provide the Department
of Motor Vehicles with an original or certified copy of a medical
examiner’s certificate prepared by a medical examiner as
defined by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
Any commercial driver who fails to comply with these
requirements will not be eligible for a commercial driver’s
license.

Effective May 21, 2014, CDL drivers who certify to one of the
non-excepted categories of commercial motor vehicle (CMV)
operation will be required to have their physical examination
completed by a medical examiner who is listed on the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s (FMCSA's) National
Registry of Medical Examiners. The Department of Motor
Vehicles (DMV) will not accept any medical examination
certificate that is not completed by a medical examiner listed
on the National Registry and does not display the medical
examiner’s registry number. For more information on how to
locate a medical examiner who is on the Registry, go to
https://nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.gov/NRPublicUl/home.seam
or visit www.dmvNOW.com.

To obtain a medical examination form, contact J. J. Keller
and Associates at 1-800-327-6868, Label Master at
1-800-621-5808, the Virginia Trucking Association or the
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration at
www.fmcsa.dot.gov. Vendors may charge a fee for this form.
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Vision Standards
To operate commercial motor vehicles, you must have:

» 20/40 or better vision in each eye with or without
corrective lenses, and

» 140 degrees or better horizontal vision.

These visual requirements must be met without the aid of a
telescopic lens. Additionally, you must be able to recognize
traffic signs and devices showing standard red, green or amber
indicators. Some drivers may be granted waivers from these
vision requirements.

For information concerning waivers for intrastate travel,
contact DMV. For information concerning waivers for
interstate travel, contact the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration at Vision Program, 400 7th Street, S.W.,
Washington, DC 20590.

Motor carriers are required to comply with a variety of
federal and state laws that are not addressed in this manual.
Learn about the requirements in the Motor Carrier Programs
section of the DMV website, www.dmvNOW.com.

Taking the CDL Tests

All commercial vehicle drivers (class A, B and C vehicles) must
take the general knowledge exam. Check the following chart
to find out which exams you need to take in addition to the
general knowledge exam.

To drive this vehicle: Study this section:

Class A, Band C Section 1: General Knowledge

Section 6: Transporting Cargo

Section 2: Air Brakes

If you do not take the air brakes exam,
you will be restricted to driving vehicles
without air brakes (K restriction)

Vehicles with air brakes

Class A combination vehicle  Section 3: Combination Vehicles

In addition to the exams listed above, you must take special
exams for each endorsement:

T — Double-triple trailer Section 4: Doubles and Triples

H — Hazardous materials Section 9: Hazardous Materials

The hazardous materials endorsement
test cannot be taken using a translator.
This test cannot be administered orally.

N — Tank vehicle Section 7: Tank Vehicles
P — Passenger vehicle

S — School bus

Section 8: Transporting Passengers

Section 5: School Buses

Be Prepared

» You may take the CDL knowledge exam(s) only once
per business day. If you fail any knowledge exam, you
must pay a $2 re-examination fee if you retake the
exam within 15 days.

VIRGINIA
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» If you fail the commercial driver’s license general
knowledge exam three times, you will not be permitted
to take it a fourth time until you successfully complete
the knowledge component of driver instruction
at a driver training school approved by DMV. You
must complete the driver instruction after the third
unsuccessful attempt to pass the test. Upon completion
of the knowledge component and presentation of your
certificate of completion, DMV will allow you to take
the knowledge test again.

» If you fail the commercial driver’s license behind-the-
wheel test three times in the same Class of commercial
motor vehicle, you will not be permitted to take the
test a fourth time in that Class of commercial motor
vehicle until you successfully complete the in-vehicle
component of driver instruction at a driver training
school approved by DMV. You must complete the driver
instruction after the third unsuccessful attempt to pass
the test. Upon completion of the in-vehicle component
and presentation of your certificate of completion,
DMV will allow you to take the behind-the-wheel test
again.

» If you fail to show up for a scheduled CDL skills test
without notifying the examiner in advance, DMV will
charge you a $50 fee.

Test Tip

The knowledge exam determines your familiarity with the
operation of commercial vehicles, motor vehicle laws and
safe driving techniques. Test questions are taken from the
information in this manual. You must answer at least 80
percent of the general knowledge questions correctly. To
prepare for the knowledge exam, study all information in this
manual. When taking the knowledge exam, select the one
best answer. Remember, your first answer is usually correct.

Once you pass the required knowledge exam(s), you can take
the CDL skills exams. These exams include three areas:

» Pre-trip inspection
» Basic vehicle control

» On-road driving

You must take the skills exams in the type of vehicle for which
you want to be licensed. Translators or interpreters may not
be used during testing, including the pre-trip inspection.

Disqualifications

If you are convicted of any of the following violations when
driving a commercial or non commercial motor vehicle, you
will be disqualified or prohibited from driving commercial
vehicles.

» You will receive a one-year disqualification for the
following offenses:

» Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of
0.04 percent

» Driving while under the influence of drugs

DRIVER’"S MANUAL
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Refusing a blood and/or breath test
Leaving the scene of an accident
Using a vehicle to commit a felony

v v Vv Vv

Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) when,
as a result of prior violations committed operating
a CMV, the driver’s CDL is revoked, suspended,
or canceled or the driver is disqualified from
operating a CMV

» Causing a fatality through the negligent operation
of a CMV

» Making a false statement on any application for a
commercial driver’s license

» Falsifying a urine test

» You will receive a two-year disqualification if you are
convicted of violating an out-of-service order while
operating a commercial motor vehicle designated to
transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver.

» You will receive a three-year disqualification if you
were convicted of one of the offenses listed above while
transporting hazardous materials.

» You will receive a life-time disqualification if you:
receive a second conviction for one of the violations
listed above; or, if you are convicted of using a
commercial motor vehicle in the manufacture or illegal
distribution of drugs.

» You will receive a 60-day disqualification if you are
convicted of two serious violations within a three-year
period.

» You will receive a 120-day disqualification if you are
convicted of three or more serious violations within a
three-year period.

» You will receive a one-year disqualification for your first
conviction of violating of an out-of-service order.

» You will receive a two-year disqualification for your
first conviction of violating an out-of-service order while
operating a vehicle carrying hazardous materials or
designed to carry 16 or more passengers.

» You will receive a five-year disqualification for the
second and following convictions of violating out-of-
service orders.

» You will receive a five-year disqualification if you are
convicted of voluntary or involuntary manslaughter
where a death occurred as a direct result of the
operation of a commercial vehicle.

» You may not operate commercial motor vehicles if you
are convicted of driving under the influence even if you
are issued a restricted license that allows you to drive
during the suspension period. This applies even if the
violation occurred in your personal car.

If the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)
notifies DMV that you have been determined to be an
eminent hazard and disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle, the information will be noted on your driving
record. Also, any disqualification imposed by DMV will run
concurrently with the disqualification imposed by FMCSA.

VIRGINIA COMMERCIAL
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Serious traffic violations are:

» Driving 15 or more miles per hour in excess of the
posted speed limit

Reckless driving

A violation resulting in a fatal traffic crash
Improper or erratic traffic lane change
Following the vehicle ahead too closely

Driving a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL

v Vv Vv Vv Vv Vv

Driving a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL
in the driver’s immediate possession

» Driving a commercial motor vehicle without the proper
CDL class and/or endorsements for the specific vehicle
group being operated or for the passengers or type of
cargo being transported

» Texting while operating a commercial motor vehicle

» Use of a handheld mobile telephone while driving a
commercial motor vehicle

All CDL drivers are subject to Virginia’s controlled substance
and alcohol testing laws. If you operate a commercial vehicle
under the influence of alcohol or drugs, refuse to take a blood
alcohol test or are found to have a BAC of 0.04 percent or
greater, your CDL will be disqualified. The disqualification
period ranges from one year to life, but does not necessarily
affect your privilege to drive a non-commercial vehicle.

If you operate a vehicle on Virginia’s roadways, you agree
to take a chemical test upon request to determine if you are
driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. This is called
implied consent.

Any person who possesses or consumes an alcoholic beverage
while operating a school bus transporting children is guilty of
a Class 1 misdemeanor. A person convicted of this offence is
punishable by confinement in jail for up to 12 months and/or
a fine of up to $2,500.

If the police have probable cause to stop you and suspect that
you have been drinking or using drugs, they will ask you to
take a breath test. This test analyzes the amount of alcohol
and drugs in your body. Under implied consent laws, if you
operate a motor vehicle on Virginia’s public roads, you agree
to take a chemical test upon request.

You are required to take the test. If you refuse, your license
will be immediately suspended for seven days and it may be
suspended for one year, whether or not you are convicted of
driving under the influence. If you are convicted of DUI, the
suspension period for refusing the test will be added to the
DUI revocation period.

Railroad crossing violations will result in a
» 60-day disqualification for a first offense

» 120-day disqualification for a second offense
committed within three years

» one-year disqualification for a third offense committed
within three years.
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Virginia law prohibits the court from allowing drivers of
commercial motor vehicles, or persons holding a CDL and
operating a non-commercial motor vehicle, to attend a driver
improvement clinic in lieu of a conviction, or to reduce or
defer a conviction.

If you are convicted of a felony sexual offense involving a
minor, you must register with the Virginia State Police. You
must re-register within 30 days of moving.

Organ/Tissue Donation

When you apply for your driver’s license, learner’s permit,
commercial driver’s license or photo ID card, you will be
asked if you wish to become an organ donor. If you decide
to become a donor, your choice will be noted on the front of
your driver’s license or photo ID card. If you wish to change
your decision later, you must notify DMV and pay a $10.00
fee. You may also complete this transaction on the Internet
with a DMV-issued PIN number. You may have the change
made free of charge at your next renewal. The decision to
become an organ/tissue donor will not affect your driving
privileges.

Applying to Register to Vote

You can use DMV’s driver’s license application to indicate
your wish to apply to register to vote. You may also use the
driver’s license application to change your voter registration,
name and address. You may also use the separate address
change notification form.

You are not registered to vote until your local registrar
approves your application. Once registered, you will

receive a card showing your voting location and election
district. Contact your local registrar if you do not receive this
notification.

If you have questions, contact the State Board of Elections,
1-800-552-9745 (TDD 1-800-260-3466).

VIRGINIA COMMERCIAL

Section 1: General Knowledge

Section 1.
General Knowledge

Safety IS the most important reason to inspect your
vehicle. Inspecting your vehicle for defects can prevent
breakdowns and crashes.

Federal and state laws require drivers to inspect their vehicles
before every trip. Federal and state inspectors can inspect
your vehicle. If they find that it is unsafe, they can put it out of
service until you have it fixed. If you are convicted of violating
an out-of-service order, your CDL will be disqualified.

There are three kinds of inspections:
> pre-trip
» during the trip
» after the trip

Pre-trip Inspection

A pre-trip inspection helps you find problems that could
cause a breakdown or crash.

What to Look for During the Inspection
Tires (all axles)
» Check for proper tire pressure using an air pressure
gauge.
» Itisillegal to use regrooved, recapped or retreaded tires
on the front wheels of a bus.

» Look for:
» Mismatched tire sizes
» Radial and bias-ply tires used together

» Atleast 4/32” of tread depth in major grooves on
front tires

DRIVER’"S MANUAL |9



Section 1: General Knowledge

» Atleast 2/32” of tread depth in major grooves on
other tires

» Cuts or other damage
» Dual tires touching

Wheels and rims (all axles)

Check for:

Damaged rims or wheels

Rust around wheel nuts; loose lug nuts
Missing clamps, spacers, studs or lugs
Mismatched, bent or cracked lock rings
Wheels or rims that have been welded

v Vv Vv VvV Vv Vv

Axle seal/hub oil seal—not leaking; proper fluid level

Brakes (all axles)

Look for brake drum and shoe problems on front, rear and
trailer brakes:

» Cracked drums

Shoes or pads with oil, grease or brake fluid on them
Shoes worn thin, missing or broken

Cracked, worn or frayed air hoses

Cracks or dents in the air chamber

v Vv Vv Vv Vv

Broken or loose slack adjusters; should not be at more
than a 90 degree angle with brakes applied

Steering system
Look for:

» Missing nuts, bolts, cotter keys or other parts on the
steering box

» Bent, loose or broken parts of the steering linkage
including the steering gear box, pitman arm and the
drag link.

» Worn or frayed power steering hoses; pumps mounted
securely, no leaks; and fluid level full

» Power steering fluid leaks

» Steering wheel play of more than 10 degrees
(approximately 2 inches of movement at the rim of a
20-inch steering wheel)

Steering Wheel

Power
Steering
Cylinder

Steering Arm

Hydraulic Fluid Reservoir S

Drag.LInk

Gear Box

Pitman Arm ! Spindle
Steering Knuckle
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» If your vehicle has a steering axle brake, be sure that it
is never disabled.

Suspension system (all axles)

The suspension system holds up the vehicle and its load. It
keeps the axles in place. Therefore, broken suspension parts
are very dangerous. Look for front, rear and trailer suspension
defects:

» Spring hangers that allow movement of an axle from the
proper position

{t
Leaf épring Vehicle Frame

Frame Bearing Plates Front f\xle Hanger

Spring Shackle
Main Spring

» Cracked or broken spring hangers

» Missing or broken leaves in any leaf spring. If one fourth
or more are missing, your vehicle could be put out of
service. But, any defect is dangerous.

» Broken leaves in the multileaf spring

» Leaves that have shifted and could hit a tire or other
part

Broken Leaf

Main Spring

MANUAL



Height Contral Valve Shock Absorber

Upper Bellows Support

Frame Reinforcement

Bellows

Lower Bellows

Axle Seat Support

» Leaking shock absorbers

» Torque rod or arm, u-bolts, spring hangers or other axle
positioning parts that are cracked, damaged or missing

» Air suspension systems that are damaged and or leaking
» Any loose, cracked, broken or missing frame members

Exhaust system
Check for:
» Leaking parts

» Leaks which could allow carbon monoxide to leak into
your cab

» Parts rubbing against the fuel system, tires or other
moving parts

» Loose, broken or missing parts

Emergency equipment
Your vehicle must be equipped with the following emergency
equipment:
» Properly charged and securely mounted fire
extinguisher
» Spare electrical fuses

» Three reflective triangles as warning devices for parked
vehicles

Cargo

» Make sure your truck is not overloaded. Be sure that
the cargo is balanced and secured before each trip.

» If you are carrying hazardous materials, be sure you
have the proper papers and placarding.

Inspection Steps

Before you inspect the vehicle, make sure that the parking
brakes are on and the wheels are chocked. If you have to tilt
the cab, secure loose items so they won't fall.

Review the last vehicle inspection report. Drivers may have
to make a vehicle inspection report each day. The motor
carrier must repair any items that affect safety. The motor
carrier must certify on the report that the repairs were made
or that they were unnecessary.

VIRGINIA
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Section 1: General Knowledge

Check the engine compartment.

Engine oil level

Coolant level in radiator, condition of hoses
Power steering fluid level; hose condition
Battery fluid level, connections and tie downs

Automatic transmission fluid level (you may have to
start the engine)

Check belts for tightness and wear (alternator, water
pump, air compressor)

Leaks in the engine compartment—fuel, coolant, oil,
power steering fluid, hydraulic fluid, water pump

Cracked, worn electrical wiring insulation

Start the engine and inspect inside the cab.

Check the gauges to be sure they are working properly.

» Oil pressure should come up to normal within
seconds after the engine is started.

Ammeter and/or voltmeter
Coolant temperature
Engine oil temperature

v v Vv Vv

Warning lights and buzzers should go out right
away.

Check the controls for looseness, sticking, damage or
improper setting.

Steering wheel

Clutch

Accelerator

Brake controls

Foot brake

Trailer brake

Parking brake

Retarder controls
Transmission controls
Interaxle differential lock
Horns

Windshield wiper/washer

v VvV VvV VvV VvV VvV VvV VvV VvV VvV Vv v v

Lights—Dbe sure none are broken and the lenses
are clean

» Headlights

Dimmer switch

v

Turn signals

v

4-way flashers

v

Clearance, identification, marker light
switches

Check the mirrors and windshield. Look for cracks,
dirt, illegal stickers or other obstructions.
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» Check the emergency equipment.

»

»
»

Working fire extinguisher—properly charged and
mounted

Spare electrical fuses
Three reflective triangles

Turn off the engine and check the lights and 4-way flashers.

Make a walk-around inspection.

» Check that all lights are working.
» Check the left front side.

» Driver’s door glass and side view mirrors—clean,
properly mounted and not broken
» Door opens and closes properly and fits flush
against the cab
» Left front wheel
» Left front suspension
» Left front brake
» Front
» Frontaxle
» Steering system
» Windshield
» Lights and reflectors—not broken, lenses clear
and clean
» Rightside
» Right front—check same items as checked for
left front
» Fuel tanks—no leaks, bands tight, secure to
vehicle, fuel cap tight
» Condition of visible parts

Rear of engine
Transmission

Driveshaft—not loose, not bent or broken

v v v v

Exhaust system—uvisible parts securely
mounted; no cracks, holes or severe dents;
air hoses and electrical lines clear of exhaust
system

» Frame and cross members—not cracked,
broken, bent or welded, no signs of breaks
or holes in box or trailer floor

» Air lines and electrical wiring—secured to
prevent snagging, rubbing, wearing

» Spare tire carrier or rack

» Spare tire and/or wheel securely mounted in
rack

» Spare tire and wheel (proper size, properly
inflated)

» Cargo securement (for trucks)

»

VIRGINIA

Cargo properly blocked, braced, tied, chained
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Header board adequate and secure

Side boards and stakes strong enough, free of
damage and properly set in place.

Canvas or tarp (if required) properly secured to
prevent tearing, billowing or blocking of mirrors

If vehicle is oversized, check that all required
signs, flags, lamps and reflectors are safely and
properly mounted and that you have all required
permits.

Check that all curbside cargo compartment doors
are securely closed, latched or locked and that
required security seals are in place.

» Right rear

4
4

Wheels and rims

Tires—rear tire tread depth at least 2/32 of an
inch; may be retreads

Lug nuts
Axle seals

Spacers—dual wheels are evenly separated and
tires are not touching one another; spacers not
bent, damaged or rusted

» Suspension
» Brakes
» Lights and reflectors
» Spacers (if applicable—not cracked, broken or
loose)
» Axle seal/hub oil seal—not leaking and at proper
level
» Rear
» Lights and reflectors
» License plate
» Splash guards
» Cargo securement
» Left side—Check all items checked for the right side.
Also check:
» Battery(s) if they are not mounted in the engine

compartment

Check the signal lights.

Start the engine and check the brake system.

» Hydraulic brake check

4

R"S

If the vehicle has hydraulic brakes, pump the
brake pedal 3 times.

Apply firm pressure to the pedal and hold for 5
seconds.

The pedal should not move.

If it does, there may be a leak or other problem.
Get it fixed before driving.

MANUAL



» Air brake check

>

If the vehicle has air brakes, build air pressure
to 100-120 psi. Turn off the engine, release all
brakes.

Press hard on the foot brake and hold down for
one minute.

» On combination vehicles, air pressure
should not drop over 4 psi.

» On single vehicles, air pressure should not
drop over 3 psi.

Turn ignition on

With the foot brake, pump the air pressure
down. At about 60 psi, the low air light must
come on. A buzzer may sound as well. On older
vehicles, a wig-wam arm will fall in view of the
driver.

Keep pumping air down with foot brake. At
about 40 psi, the parking brake knob and, if
applicable, the trailer parking brake knob should
pop out.

Failure to perform the air brake check during pre-trip
inspection will result in the automatic failure of the CDL
road skills exam.

» Parking brake check

»
»

>

Set the parking brake.

Put the vehicle in low gear and gently release the
clutch until you feel the vehicle pulling against
the brake.

The vehicle should not move.

If you find anything wrong with the brake system, get it
fixed before you drive.

» If you are driving a bus, also check:

>

»
»

>

the passenger entry—steps and handrails
secure, no worn matting, door opens and closes
correctly

seating—secure

emergency exits—open and close correctly.
Check on both outside and inside.

baggage compartment—door opens and closes
correctly and is secure.

» If you are driving a tractor trailer, also check:

>

»
»

air/electrical lines—no leaks, cuts, cracks or signs
of wear; no tangles or dragging against tractor
parts; glad hands secure, or objects securely
bolted to tractor frame

catwalk—clear and not loose

all parts of the coupling system (5th wheel lower
plate, etc. you will not be able to see the lower

VIRGINIA COMMERCIAL
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plate if the vehicle is hooked up)—Iloose or
missing mounting brackets, clamps, bolts or nuts;
5th wheel and slide mounting securely in place

» trailer-front side and rear (air/electrical
connections, header board, landing gear, etc.)

» safety latch—in position over locking lever

» platform—no cracks or breaks in platform
structure

» release arm—in engaged position and safety
latch in place

» kingpin/apron—kingpin not bent; apron lays flat
on 5th wheel skid plate; visible part of apron
is not bent, cracked or broken; locking jaws
completely closed around shank or kingpin

» sliding 5th wheel locking pins—in the locked
position; not broken or damaged

» lights and reflectors—not broken, lenses clear
and clean

Remember, semi-trailers cannot exceed a length of 53 feet.

If you find anything unsafe during the pre-trip inspection,
get it fixed before you drive. It's against federal and state
laws to operate an unsafe vehicle.

Inspection During the Trip

» Watch your gauges for signs of trouble.

» Use your senses to check for problems. Look, listen,
smell, and feel.

» Check critical parts when you stop:
» Tires, wheels and rims
Brakes
Lights and reflectors
Brake and electrical connections to the trailer

Trailer coupling devices

v Vv Vv Vv Vv

Cargo covers and tiedowns

It's a good idea to inspect your vehicle within the first 50
miles of the trip and also every 150 miles or every 3 hours
(whichever comes first).

After-trip Inspection and Report

Inspect your vehicle at the end of the trip, day, or tour of
duty. If you find any problems, report them to your employer.
Additionally, whether or not you find problems, you must
complete a written report and sign it.

Buckle up on every trip. It's the law.
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Department of Motor Vehicles
Vehicle Inspection Study Guide
TRUCK/TRAILER (PINTLE HOOK)

During the actual tests, you will be expected to point to or touch each
of the parts of your vehicle listed below. Name the part and explain
what damage or problems you might find. The types of damages or
problems are listed below and in the vehicle inspection section in the
CDL Manual.

Note: All axles touching the ground on one side of the vehicle must
be inspected.

This study guide cannot be used during the actual pre-trip
inspection portion of the skills test.

Front of Vehicle

Lights Check for proper color/clean lenses,
cracks, missing screws and condensation.
Also check for function, left/right turn
signals, headlights, high/low beam and
four-way flashers.

Steering Box Check for missing/loose bolts, cracks and
nonfactory welds. Check for steering fluid
leaks and torn or frayed hoses.

Steering Linkage Check the steering column, pitman arm
and drag link for cracks, bends,
non-factory welds, missing castle
nuts/cotter pins and proper lubrication.

Engine Compartment

Oil Level Check by pulling out the dipstick, wiping
it and reinserting it, then pull out to look
at the low and full marks to determine the
level.

Coolant Level Observe the site glass or line markings
for proper level. If not equipped, explain
removing radiator cap for level. (Do not
remove cap.)

Power Steering Fluid Observe the sight glass or line markings for
proper level. If not equipped, open the
cap and check for proper level.

Water Pump Check for missing/loose bolts, cracks,
proper belt tension, cracked or frayed belts
and coolant leaks.

Alternator Check for missing/loose bolts, cracks,
proper belt tension, cracked or frayed
belts, and cracked, burnt or loose wires.

Air Compressor Check for missing/loose bolts. Check belts
for tension, cracked or frayed lines and
leaks.

Leaks Look under the engine compartment for
coolant, power steering, transmission and
oil leaks.

Wiring insulation Check for cracked, worn electrical wiring
insulation

Hydraulic Brakes Check the site glass or line on container

(if equipped) for proper brake fluid. Check the master

cylinder for cracks, leaks, check the brake
lines for cracks, frays and brake fluid leaks.

Inside the Vehicle
(start engine)

Clutch/Gearshift

Air Pressure Gauge

Oil Pressure Gauge

Ammeter/Voltmeter

Air Brake

Hydraulic Brake
(if equipped)

Steering Play

Parking Brake

Mirrors/Windshield

Wipers

Lighting Indicators

Horns

Heater/Defroster

Section 1: General Knowledge

If standard, check for excessive play in
clutch—no more than two inches. Check the
gear ranges to ensure they engage. Check
the boot for holes and dry rot. If automatic,
check gearshift for ranges.

Check for cracks and cleanliness. Air pressure
should build to a minimum of 100 PSI in
both the primary and secondary system.

Check the gauge for cracks and cleanliness.
Oil pressure should come up to normal
within seconds after the engine is started. If
no gauge, identify the location of the warning
light that indicates a system failure.

Check the gauge for cracks and cleanliness.
Amps/Volts should come up to normal within
seconds after the engine is started. If no
gauge, identify the location of the warning
light that indicates a system failure.

Build air pressure up to 100-120 PSI, cut
engine off and release all brakes, press hard
on the foot brake and hold down for one
minute, air pressure should not drop over
four PSI. Turn ignition key on and continue
with foot brake pumping air pressure down.
At around 60 PSI the “Low Air” buzzer
should sound and/or a warning light should
appear. Keep pumping air down with foot
brake, and at about 40 PSI, the release valves
should pop out for the trailer and the truck.

Pump the brake pedal three times, apply
firm pressure to the pedal and hold for five
seconds. The pedal should not move. If it
does, there may be a leak.

Check steering wheel play of no more than
ten degrees (approximately two inches of
movement at the rim of a 20-inch steering
wheel).

Set the parking brake, put the vehicle in low
gear and gently release your foot from the
brake pedal (and clutch if equipped), until
you feel the vehicle pulling against the brake.
The vehicle should not move.

Check mirrors for proper adjustment. Check
the windshield for cracks, cleanliness and
illegal stickers.

Check the wipers for looseness, dry rot and
function.

Check the following for function: panel
light, high/low beam indicator, left and right
turn signal indicators and four-way flasher
indicator.

Check both the highway and city horns for
proper function.

Check both the defroster and heater fans for
proper function.

This page is designed to be removed from the manual for reference while studying for the vehicle inspection
portion of the CDL road test.
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Safety/Emergency
Equipment

Front Suspension

Springs

Spring Mount(s)

Shock Absorber
Front Wheel

Rims

Hub Seal

Tire

Lug Nuts

Front Brakes
Slack Adjuster

Chambers

Air Hose

Brake Drum

Hydraulic Brakes
(if equipped)

Driver/Fuel Area

Door

Mirrors

Fuel Tank

Ensure working fire extinguisher properly
charged and mounted, spare electrical
fuses (unless equipped with circuit
breakers), three reflective triangles.

Check for missing, cracked, shifted or bent
springs. If 1/4 or more are missing, your
vehicle could be put out of service.

Check both mounts and the U bolts for
cracks, non-factory welds, missing or loose
bolts and nuts.

Check for cracks, leaks and missing bolts.

Check the rims for bends, cracks and
nonfactory welds.

Check the hub oil seal for missing bolts,
cracks, leaks and proper level (if equipped
with site glass).

Check the tire for at least 4/32" tread
depth in the major grooves. Check for
cuts, bulges and proper air pressure using
an air gauge.

Check the lug nuts for missing, loose nuts
and rust around them.

Check the slack adjuster for missing cotter
pins. If the slack adjuster moves more than
one inch where the push rod attaches to
it, it probably needs to be adjusted. Slack
adjusters should not be at more than a
90-degree angle with the brakes applied.

Check the chambers for cracks, dents and
air leaks.

Check the hoses for loose connections, dry
rot, holes and air leaks.

Check the drum for cracks, non-factory
welds and signs of grease or oil.

Check the rotor for cracks, non-factory
welds and signs of fluid leaks. Check the
lines for cuts, holes, loose connections and
fluid leaks. Check the calipers for cracks,
missing/loose bolts and fluid leaks.

Check the door for cracked or bent hinges
and that it functions properly.

Check the mirrors for cracks, cleanliness
and missing/loose bolts/nuts.

Check the fuel tank for cracks, holes and
that the straps are not loose or cracked.
Shiny metal by straps could indicate a
loose strap. Check under fuel tank for
leaks.

VIRGINIA COMMERCIAL
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Under the Vehicle

Drive shaft

Exhaust System

Frame

Rear Suspension

Rear Wheels

Rear Brakes

Truck Only

Front of Trailer

Side of Trailer

Wheels, Suspension,

and Brakes

Rear of Trailer

R"S

Check the drive shaft for cracks, non-factory
welds, missing/loose bolts or nuts and proper
lubrication.

Check the exhaust system for cracks, holes,
missing/loose bolts and nuts. Check for signs
of soot, which can indicate an exhaust leak.

Check the vehicle frame for cracks, bends,
nonfactory welds and rust.

Inspect this area the same as the front.
Suspensions vary and all items should be
checked for cracks, bent, non-factory welds,
missing/loose bolts or nuts. Inspect walker
beams, torsion bars and air bellows, if
equipped.

Check the rear wheels the same as the front
with the exception of the tire depth, it should
be 2/32" in the major grooves. Check the
space between the dual tires. Tires should
not be touching and no sign of debris. If
equipped with spacers, they should not be
bent, cracked or nonfactory welds.

Inspect this area the same as the front of the
vehicle.

Check air and electrical lines for leaks,
cracks, signs of wear and proper connection.
Check catwalk (if equipped) to make sure it
is clear and not loose. Check all mounting
bolts to make sure none are missing and

are tight. Check safety latch to make sure it
is locked in place. Check the platform that
holds the pentle hook for cracks. Check that
the release latch is engaged and in place.
Check the pentle hook and ring to make sure
of no cracks, bends and closed completely
around ring. Check the chains to make sure
they are attached and locked. Check the
lights on the rear of truck for proper color,
clean lenses/reflectors and cracks, missing
screws and condensation. Also check for the
function of left/right turn signals, brake lights
and four-way flashers.

Check air and electrical lines for leaks,
cracks, signs of wear and proper connection.
Check headerboard for cracks and bends.
Check lights and reflectors same as others.

Check landing gear for cracks, bends, fully
raised and handle secure. Check lights/
reflectors same as others. Check doors

(if equipped) are secure and not missing
hardware. Check tie downs (if equipped)

for cracks, bends, secure and no missing
hardware. Check the frame for cracks, bends,
non-factory welds and rust.

Inspect area same as rear of truck.
Check lights/reflectors same as others. Check

doors/ties same as others. Check splash
guards are secure, no missing hardware.
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Department of Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Inspection Study Guide
STRAIGHT TRUCK/SCHOOL BUS

During the actual tests, you will be expected to point to or touch each
of the parts of your vehicle listed below. Name the part and explain
what damage or problems you might find. The types of damages or
problems are listed below and in the vehicle inspection section in the

CDL Manual.

Note: All axles touching the ground on one side of the vehicle must

be inspected.

This study guide cannot be used during the actual pre-trip
inspection portion of the skills test.

Front of Vehicle

Lights

Steering Box

Steering Linkage

Engine Compartment

Oil Level

Coolant Level

Power Steering Fluid

Water Pump

Alternator

Air Compressor

Leaks

Wiring insulation

Hydraulic Brakes
(if equipped)

Check for proper color/clean lenses,
cracks, missing screws and condensation.
Also check for function, left/right turn
signals, headlights, high/low beam and
four-way flashers.

Check for missing/loose bolts, cracks and
nonfactory welds. Check for steering fluid
leaks and torn or frayed hoses.

Check the steering column, pitman arm
and drag link for cracks, bends,
non-factory welds, missing castle
nuts/cotter pins and proper lubrication.

Check by pulling out the dipstick, wiping
it and reinserting it, then pull out to look
at the low and full marks to determine the
level.

Observe the site glass or line markings
for proper level. If not equipped, explain
removing radiator cap for level. (Do not
remove cap.)

Observe the sight glass or line markings for
proper level. If not equipped, open the
cap and check for proper level.

Check for missing/loose bolts, cracks,
proper belt tension, cracked or frayed belts
and coolant leaks.

Check for missing/loose bolts, cracks,
proper belt tension, cracked or frayed
belts, and cracked, burnt or loose wires.

Check for missing/loose bolts. Check belts
for tension, cracked or frayed lines and
leaks.

Look under the engine compartment for
coolant, power steering, transmission and
oil leaks.

Check for cracked, worn electrical wiring
insulation.

Check the site glass or line on container
for proper brake fluid. Check the master
cylinder for cracks, leaks, check the brake
lines for cracks, frays and brake fluid leaks.

Inside the Vehicle
(start engine)

Clutch/Gearshift

Air Pressure Gauge

Oil Pressure Gauge

Ammeter/Voltmeter

Air Brake

Hydraulic Brake
(if equipped)

Steering Play

Parking Brake

Mirrors/Windshield

Wipers

Lighting Indicators

Horns

Heater/Defroster

Section 1: General Knowledge

If standard, check for excessive play in
clutch — no more than two inches. Check the
gear ranges to ensure they engage. Check
the boot for holes and dry rot. If automatic,
check gearshift for ranges.

Check for cracks and cleanliness. Air pressure
should build to a minimum of 100 PSI in
both the primary and secondary system.

Check the gauge for cracks and cleanliness.
Oil pressure should come up to normal
within seconds after the engine is started. If
no gauge, identify the location of the warning
light that indicates a system failure.

Check the gauge for cracks and cleanliness.
Amps/Volts should come up to normal within
seconds after the engine is started. If no
gauge, identify the location of the warning
light that indicates a system failure.

Build air pressure up to 100-120 PSI, cut
engine off and release all brakes, press hard
on the foot brake and hold down for one
minute. Air pressure should not drop over
three PSI. Turn ignition key on and continue
with foot brake pumping air pressure down.
At around 60 PSI, the “Low Air” buzzer
should sound and/or a warning light should
appear. Keep pumping air down with foot
brake and at about 40 PSI, the parking brake
knob should pop out.

Pump the brake pedal three times, apply
firm pressure to the pedal and hold for five
seconds. The pedal should not move. If it
does, there may be a leak.

Check steering wheel play of no more than
ten degrees (approximately two inches of
movement at the rim of a 20-inch steering
wheel).

Set the parking brake, put the vehicle in low
gear and gently release your foot from the
brake pedal (and clutch if equipped), until
you feel the vehicle pulling against the brake.
The vehicle should not move.

Check mirrors for proper adjustment. Check
the windshield for cracks, cleanliness and
illegal stickers.

Check the wipers for looseness, dry rot and
function.

Check the following for function: panel
light, high/low beam indicator, left and right
turn signal indicators and four-way flasher
indicator.

Check both the highway and city horns for
proper function.

Check both the defroster and heater fans for
proper function.

This page is designed to be removed from the manual for reference while studying for the vehicle inspection
portion of the CDL road test.
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Safety/Emergency
Equipment

Front Suspension

Springs

Spring Mount(s)

Shock Absorber
Front Wheel

Rims

Hub Seal

Tire

Lug Nuts

Front Brakes
Slack Adjuster

Chambers

Air Hose

Brake Drum
Hydraulic Brakes

(if equipped)

Driver/Fuel Area

Door

Mirrors

Fuel Tank

VIRGINIA

Ensure working fire extinguisher properly
charged and mounted, spare electrical
fuses (unless equipped with circuit
breakers), three reflective triangles.

Check for missing, cracked, shifted or bent
springs. If 1/4 or more are missing, your
vehicle could be put out of service.

Check both mounts and the U bolts for
cracks, non-factory welds, missing or loose
bolts and nuts.

Check for cracks, leaks and missing bolts.

Check the rims for bends, cracks and
nonfactory welds.

Check the hub oil seal for missing bolts,
cracks, leaks and proper level (if equipped
with site glass).

Check the tire for at least 4/32” tread
depth in the major grooves. Check for
cuts, bulges and proper air pressure using
an air gauge.

Check the lug nuts for missing, loose nuts
and rust around them.

Check the slack adjuster for missing cotter
pins. If the slack adjuster moves more than
one inch where the push rod attaches to
it, it probably needs to be adjusted. Slack
adjusters should not be at more than a
90-degree angle with the brakes applied.

Check the chambers for cracks, dents and
air leaks.

Check the hoses for loose connections, dry
rot, holes and air leaks.

Check the drum for cracks, non-factory
welds and signs of grease or oil.

Check the rotor for cracks, non-factory
welds and signs of fluid leaks. Check the
lines for cuts, holes, loose connections and
fluid leaks. Check the calipers for cracks,
missing/loose bolts and fluid leaks.

Check the door for cracked or bent hinges
and that it functions properly.

Check the mirrors for cracks, cleanliness
and missing/loose bolts/nuts.

Check the fuel tank for cracks, holes and
that the straps are not loose or cracked.
Shiny metal by straps could indicate a
loose strap. Check under fuel tank for
leaks.

COMMERCIAL
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Under the Vehicle

Drive shaft

Exhaust System

Frame

Rear of Vehicle

Rear Wheels

Rear Suspension

Rear Brakes

Rear Lights

If Passenger Vehicle

Also Inspect:

Passenger Entry

Seating

Emergency Exits

Baggage Compartment

(if equipped)

R"S

Check the drive shaft for cracks, non-factory
welds, missing/loose bolts or nuts and proper
lubrication.

Check the exhaust system for cracks, holes,
missing/loose bolts and nuts. Check for signs
of soot, which can indicate an exhaust leak.

Check the vehicle frame for cracks, bends,
nonfactory welds and rust.

Check the rear wheels the same as the front
with the exception of the tire depth, it should
be 2/32" in the major grooves. Check the
space between the dual tires. Tires should
not be touching and no sign of debris. If
equipped with spacers, they should not be
bent, cracked or nonfactory welds.

Inspect this area the same as the front.
Suspensions vary and all items should

be checked for cracks, bent, non-factory
welds, missing/loose bolts or nuts. Inspect
walker beams, torsion bars and air bellows,
if equipped.

Inspect this area the same as the front of the
vehicle.

Check for proper color and clean
lenses/reflectors, cracks, missing screws and
condensation. Also check for function of
left/right turn signals, brake lights, reverse
lights and four way flashers.

Check that steps and handrails secure, no
missing hardware, no worn matting, door
opens and closes correctly.

Check that all seats are secure with no
missing hardware.

Check the function of all exits both inside
and out, including all warning devices.

Check that doors open and close correctly
and are secure with no missing hardware.

MANUAL



Department of Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Inspection Study Guide Inside the Vehicle

(start engine)

COACH/TRANSIT BUS Clutch/Gearshift

During the actual tests, you will be expected to point to or touch each
of the parts of your vehicle listed below. Name the part and explain
what damage or problems you might find. The types of damages or

problems are listed below and in the vehicle inspection section in the )
CDL Manual. Air Pressure Gauge

Note: All axles touching the ground on one side of the vehicle must
be inspected. Oil Pressure Gauge

This study guide cannot be used during the actual pre-trip
inspection portion of the skills test.

Front of Vehicle Ammeter/Voltmeter

Lights Check for proper color/clean lenses,
cracks, missing screws and condensation.
Also check for function, left/right turn
signals, headlights, high/low beam and )
four-way flashers. Air Brake

Engine Compartment

Oil Level Check by pulling out the dipstick, wiping
it and reinserting it, then pull out to look
at the low and full marks to determine the
level.

Coolant Level Observe the site glass or line markings

for proper level. If not equipped, explain

removing radiator cap for level. (Do not

remove cap.)

Steering Play

Power Steering Fluid Observe the sight glass or line markings for

proper level. If not equipped, open the

cap and check for proper level.

Water Pump Check for missing/loose bolts, cracks, Parking Brake
proper belt tension, cracked or frayed belts
and coolant leaks.

Alternator Check for missing/loose bolts, cracks,
proper belt tension, cracked or frayed
belts, and cracked, burnt or loose wires. Mirrors/Windshield
Air Compressor Check for missing/loose bolts. Check belts
for tension, cracked or frayed lines and
leaks. Wipers
Leaks Look under the engine compartment for
coolant, power steering, transmission and Lighting Indicators
oil leaks.
Wiring insulation Check for cracked, worn electrical wiring
insulation
Horns
Hydraulic Brakes Check the site glass or line on container
(if equipped) for proper brake fluid. Check the master Heater/Defroster
cylinder for cracks, leaks, check the brake
lines for cracks, frays and brake fluid leaks.
Safety/Emergency
Equipment

Front Suspension/
Air Brakes

Section 1: General Knowledge

If standard, check for excessive play in
clutch — no more than two inches. Check the
gear ranges to ensure they engage. Check
the boot for holes and dry rot. If automatic,
check gearshift for ranges.

Check for cracks and cleanliness. Air pressure
should build to a minimum of 100 PSI in
both the primary and secondary system.

Check the gauge for cracks and cleanliness.
Oil pressure should come up to normal
within seconds after the engine is started. If
no gauge, identify the location of the warning
light that indicates a system failure.

Check the gauge for cracks and cleanliness.
Amps/Volts should come up to normal within
seconds after the engine is started. If no
gauge, identify the location of the warning
light that indicates a system failure.

Build air pressure up to 100-120 PSI, cut
engine off and release all brakes, press hard
on the foot brake and hold down for one
minute, air pressure should not drop over
three PSI. Turn ignition key on and continue
with foot brake pumping air pressure down.
At around 60 PSI the “Low Air” buzzer
should sound and/or a warning light should
appear. Keep pumping air down with foot
brake, and at about 40 PSI, the parking brake
knob should pop out.

Check steering wheel play of no more than
ten degrees (approximately two inches of
movement at the rim of a 20-inch steering
wheel).

Set the parking brake, put the vehicle in low
gear and gently release your foot from the
brake pedal (and clutch if equipped), until
you feel the vehicle pulling against the brake.
The vehicle should not move.

Check mirrors for proper adjustment. Check
the windshield for cracks, cleanliness and
illegal stickers.

Check the wipers for looseness, dry rot and
function.

Check the following for function: panel
light, high/low beam indicator, left and right
turn signal indicators and four-way flasher
indicator.

Check both the highway and city horns for
proper function.

Check both the defroster and heater fans for
proper function.

Ensure working fire extinguisher properly
charged and mounted, spare electrical fuses
(unless equipped with circuit breakers), three
reflective triangles.

Listen for air leaks in the brakes and in the
suspension.

This page is designed to be removed from the manual for reference while studying for the vehicle inspection

portion of the CDL road test.
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Front Wheels

Rims

Hub Seal

Tire

Lug Nuts

Driver/Fuel Area
Door/Window

Mirrors

Fuel Area

Rear of Vehicle
Rear Wheels

Rear Suspension/
Air Brakes

Lights

Passenger Entry

Seating

Emergency Exits

Baggage Compartments

(if equipped)

Check the rims for bends, cracks and
nonfactory welds.

Check the hub oil seal for missing bolts,
cracks, leaks and proper level (if equipped
with site glass).

Check the tire for at least 4/32” tread
depth in the major grooves. Check for cuts,
bulges and proper air pressure using an air
gauge. Cannot have recaps or retreads.

Check the lug nuts for missing, loose nuts
and rust around them.

Check the door for cracked or bent hinges
and that it functions properly.

Check the mirrors for cracks, cleanliness
and missing/loose bolts/nuts.

Check cap is tight and no fuel leaks.

Check the rear wheels the same as the
front with the exception of the tire depth,
it should be 2/32” in the major grooves.
Check the space between the dual tires.
Tires should not be touching and no sign
of debris. If equipped with spacers, they
should not be bent, cracked or nonfactory
welds.

Inspect the same as the front.

Check for proper color and clean
lenses/reflectors, cracks, missing screws
and condensation. Also check for function
of left/right turn signals, brake lights,
reverse lights and four-way flashers.

Steps and handrails secure, no missing
hardware, no worn matting, door opens
and closes correctly.

Check that all seats are secure with no
missing hardware.

Check the function of all exits both inside
and out, including all warning devices.

Check that doors open and close correctly
and are secure with no missing hardware.
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Section 1: General Knowledge

Department of Motor Vehicles

. . . Inside the Vehicle
Vehicle Inspection Study Guide (start engine)

COMBINATION VEHICLES Clutch/Gearshift If standard, check for excessive play in

clutch—no more than two inches. Check the
gear ranges to ensure they engage. Check
the boot for holes and dry rot. If automatic,
check gearshift for ranges.

During the actual tests, you will be expected to point to or touch each
of the parts of your vehicle listed below. Name the part and explain
what damage or problems you might find. The types of damages or
problems are listed below and in the vehicle inspection section in the Air Pressure Gauge Check for cracks and cleanliness. Air pressure
CDL Manual. should build to a minimum of 100 PSI in
both the primary and secondary system.
Note: All axles touching the ground on one side of the vehicle must

be inspected. Oil Pressure Gauge Check the gauge for cracks and cleanliness.

Oil pressure should come up to normal
within seconds after the engine is started. If

This study guide cannot be used during the actual pre-trip no gauge, identify the location of the warning
inspection portion of the skills test. light that indicates a system failure.
Ammeter/Voltmeter Check the gauge for cracks and cleanliness.
Front of Vehicle Amps/Volts should come up to normal within
seconds after the engine is started. If no
Lights Check for proper color/clean lenses, &

gauge, identify the location of the warning

cracks, missing screws and condensation. light that indicates a system failure.

Also check for function, left/right turn
signals, headlights, high/low beam and Air Brake Build air pressure up to 100-120 PSI, cut
four-way flashers. engine off and release all brakes, press hard
on the foot brake and hold down for one
minute, air pressure should not drop over
four PSI. Turn ignition key on and continue
with foot brake pumping air pressure down.

Steering Box Check for missing/loose bolts, cracks and
nonfactory welds. Check for steering fluid
leaks and torn or frayed hoses.

Steering Linkage Check the steering column, pitman arm At around 60 PSI the “Low Air” buzzer
and drag link for cracks, bends, should sound and/or a warning light should
non-factory welds, missing castle appear. Keep pumping air down with foot
nuts/cotter pins and proper lubrication. brake, and at about 40 PSI, the release valves

. should pop out for the trailer and the tractor.
Engine Compartment

Hydraulic Brake Pump the brake pedal three times, apply

(if equipped) firm pressure to the pedal and hold for five
seconds. The pedal should not move. If it
does, there may be a leak.

Oil Level Check by pulling out the dipstick, wiping
it and reinserting it, then pull out to look
at the low and full marks to determine the

level.

Coolant Level Observe the site glass or line markings Steering Play Check steering wheel play of no more than
for proper level. If not equipped, explain ten degrees (approxlmately two inches _Of
removing radiator cap for level. (Do not movement at the rim of a 20-inch steering
remove cap.) wheel).

Power Steering Fluid Observe the sight glass or line markings for Parking Brake Set the parking brake, put the vehicle in low
proper level. If not equipped, open the gear and gently release your foot from the
cap and check for proper level. brake pedal (and clutch if equipped), until

o you feel the vehicle pulling against the brake.

Water Pump Check for m|SS|r?g/Ioose bolts, cracks, e valkidle dhoulld] fok fave.
proper belt tension, cracked or frayed belts
and coolant leaks. Mirrors/Windshield Check mirrors for proper adjustment. Check

. the windshield for cracks, cleanliness and

Alternator Check for missing/loose bolts, cracks, illegal stickers.
proper belt tension, cracked or frayed
belts, and cracked, burnt or loose wires. Wipers Check the wipers for looseness, dry rot and

Air Compressor Check for missing/loose bolts. Check belts function.
for tension, cracked or frayed lines and Lighting Indicators Check the following for function: panel
leaks. light, high/low beam indicator, left and right

. turn signal indicators and four-way flasher

Leaks Look under the engine compartment for indicator.
coolant, power steering, transmission and
oil leaks. Horns Check both the highway and city horns for

proper function.

Wiring insulation Check for cracked, worn electrical wiring
insulation Heater/Defroster Check both the defroster and heater fans for

proper function.

Hydraulic Brakes Check the site glass or line on container

(if equipped for proper brake fluid. Check the master

cylinder for cracks, leaks, check the brake
lines for cracks, frays and brake fluid leaks.

This page is designed to be removed from the manual for reference while studying for the vehicle inspection
portion of the CDL road test.
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Safety/Emergency
Equipment

Front Suspension

Spring Mount(s)

Shock Absorber
Front Wheels

Rims

Hub Seal

Tire

Lug Nuts

Front Brakes

Slack Adjuster

Chambers
Air Hose
Brake Drum

Hydraulic Brakes
(if equipped)

Driver/Fuel Area

Door
Mirrors

Fuel Tank

Under the Vehicle
Drive shaft

Exhaust System

Frame

Tractor Only
Air/Electrical Lines

Catwalk

VIRG

N

Ensure working fire extinguisher properly
charged and mounted, spare electrical fuses
(unless equipped with circuit breakers),
three reflective triangles.

Check for missing, cracked, shifted or bent
springs. If 1/4 or more are missing, your
vehicle could be put out of service.

Check both mounts and the U bolts for
cracks, non-factory welds, missing or loose
bolts and nuts.

Check for cracks, leaks and missing bolts.

Check the rims for bends, cracks and
nonfactory welds.

Check the hub oil seal for missing bolts,
cracks, leaks and proper level (if equipped
with site glass).

Check the tire for at least 4/32” tread depth
in the major grooves. Check for cuts, bulges
and proper air pressure using an air gauge.

Check the lug nuts for missing, loose nuts
and rust around them.

Check the slack adjuster for missing cotter
pins. If the slack adjuster moves more than
one inch where the push rod attaches to
it, it probably needs to be adjusted. Slack
adjusters should not be at more than a
90-degree angle with the brakes applied.

Check the chambers for cracks, dents and
air leaks.

Check the hoses for loose connections, dry
rot, holes and air leaks.

Check the drum for cracks, non-factory
welds and signs of grease or oil.

Check the rotor for cracks, non-factory
welds and signs of fluid leaks. Check the
lines for cuts, holes, loose connections and
fluid leaks. Check the calipers for cracks,
missing/loose bolts and fluid leaks.

Check the door for cracked or bent hinges
and that it functions properly.

Check the mirrors for cracks, cleanliness
and missing/loose bolts/nuts.

Check the fuel tank for cracks, holes and
that the straps are not loose or cracked.
Shiny metal by straps could indicate a loose
strap. Check under fuel tank for leaks.

Check the drive shaft for cracks, non-factory
welds, missing/loose bolts or nuts and
proper lubrication.

Check the exhaust system for cracks, holes,
missing/loose bolts and nuts. Check for signs
of soot, which can indicate an exhaust leak.

Check the vehicle frame for cracks, bends,
nonfactory welds and rust.

Check for leaks, cuts, cracks or sign of wear.

Check to make sure it is clear and not loose.

IA COMMERCIAL

Coupling System

Mounting Bolts
Safety Latch

Platform

Release Arm
Kingpin/Apron
Sliding Fifth Wheel
Locking Pins

Lights/Reflector

Rear of Vehicle

Rear Wheels

Rear Suspension

Rear Brakes
Front of Trailer
Air/Electric Lines
Header Board

Lights/Reflectors

Side of Trailer

Landing Gear
Lights/Reflectors
Doors, Ties
Frame

Wheels
Suspension
Brakes

Rear of Trailer

Lights/Reflectors

Door/Ties

Splash Guards

DRIVER"'S

Check for loose or missing bolts, clamps,
brackets or nuts.

Check for loose or missing nuts or bolts.

Ensure it is in position over locking lever and
engaged.

Check for cracks or breaks.
Ensure it is locked in place.

Ensure the kingpin is not bent, apron is not
bent, cracked or broken. Locking jaws are
closed around kingpin.

Ensure it is in locked position, not cracked or
broken.

Check for loose or missing pins. None broken/
damaged.

Ensure it is not cracked, lenses clear, clean,
proper color, no condensation. Check for
function, left/right turn signal, four-way
flashers and brake.

Check the rear wheels the same as the front
with the exception of the tire depth, it should
be 2/32” in the major grooves. Check the
space between the dual tires. Tires should not
be touching and no sign of debris. If equipped
with spacers, they should not be bent, cracked
or non-factory welds.

Inspect this area the same as the front.
Suspensions vary and all items should be
checked for cracks, bent, non-factory welds,
missing/loose bolts or nuts. Inspect walker
beams, torsion bars and air bellows, if
equipped.

Inspect this area the same as the front of the
vehicle.

Ensure glad hands are secure and rubber
seals not split, cracked or missing, electrical
connection locked into place.

Ensure it is not cracked or bulged.

Ensure it is not cracked, clear, clean, proper
color, no condensation. Check for function.

Check for missing, bent or cracked frames.
Handle secured.

Ensure it is not cracked, clear, clean, proper
color, no condensation. Check for function.

Ensure it opens and closes properly, hinges not
cracked, ties not broken or missing.

Ensure it is not bent or cracked, non-factory
welds.

Check same as rear wheels.
Check the same as front suspension.

Check same as front brakes.

Ensure it is not cracked, lenses clear, clean,
proper color, no condensation. Check for
function same as rear of tractor.

Ensure it opens and closes properly, hinges not
cracked, ties not broken or missing.

Ensure it is secured, no nuts or bolts missing.

MANUAL



Basic Control of Your Vehicle

To drive a vehicle safely, you must be able to control its
speed and direction. Safe operation of a commercial vehicle
requires skills in:

» Accelerating
» Steering
» Shifting gears

Be sure to apply the parking brake when you leave your
vehicle.

Accelerating

» Partly engage the clutch before taking your foot off the
brake.

» Use the parking brake to keep from rolling back.
Release it only when you have enough power to keep
from rolling back.

» Speed up smoothly and gradually so the vehicle does
not jerk. Sudden acceleration can cause mechanical
damage. If you are pulling a trailer, sudden acceleration
can damage the coupling.

» Speed up slowly when traction is poor, such as in rain
or snow. If you use too much power, the drive wheels
spin. If the drive wheels spin, let up on the accelerator.

Steering
» Hold the steering wheel firmly with both hands.

» Your hands should be at the 9 o’clock and 3 o’clock
positions, opposite sides on the steering wheel.

Backing Safely

Because you cannot see everything behind your vehicle,
backing is always dangerous. Avoid backing whenever you
can. When you must back, follow these safety rules:

» Look at your path before you begin backing. Get out
of the vehicle and check your clearance to the sides
and overhead.

» Turn on four-way flashers and blow the horn before
backing.

» Back slowly. Use the lowest reverse gear.

» Back and turn toward the driver’s side. This allows
you to see better. You can watch the rear of your

vehicle by looking out the side window. Use driver-side
backing even if it means going around the block to put

your vehicle in this position. The extra safety is worth it.

» Use a helper. A helper can check your blind spots for
you. The helper should stand where he or she has a
view of the rear of the truck and where the driver can
see the helper. If you lose sight of the helper, stop.

VIRGINIA
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Section 1: General Knowledge

He may be in a place of danger. Before you begin
backing, agree on hand signals that you both understand.

Backing with a Trailer

» When backing a car, straight truck or bus, you turn the
top of the steering wheel in the direction that you want
to go. When backing a trailer, turn the steering wheel
in the opposite direction. Once the trailer starts to turn,
you must turn the wheel the other way to follow the
trailer.

» When you back a trailer, try to position your vehicle so
you can back in a straight line. If you must back on a
curved path, back to the driver’s side so you can see.

» Back slowly.

» Use both mirrors. The mirrors help you see if the trailer
is staying on the proper path. Correct the trailer’s path
by turning the top of the steering wheel in the direction
of the drift.

» Pull forward. Make pull-ups to reposition your vehicle
as needed.

Shifting Gears—Manual Transmissions

Basic method for shifting up: Most heavy vehicles with
manual transmissions require double clutching to change
gears. This is the basic method:

» Release the accelerator. Push in the clutch and shift to
neutral.

» Release the clutch

» Let the engine and gears slow to the RPM required for
the next gear. (This takes practice.)

» Push in the clutch and shift to the higher gear.

» Release the clutch and press the accelerator at the same
time.

Shifting gears using double clutching requires practice. If you
remain too long in neutral, you may have trouble putting
the vehicle into the next gear. Don't try to force it. Return to
neutral, release the clutch, increase engine speed to match
road speed and try again.

There are two ways to know when to shift up:

» Engine speed (RPM). Study the manual for your
vehicle and learn the operating RPM range. Watch your
tachometer and shift up when your engine reaches the
top of the range.

» Road speed (MPH). Learn the speeds that each gear is
good for. Then you can use the speedometer to know
when to shift up.

Basic method for shifting down:
» Downshifting requires knowing when to shift. Use
either the tachometer or the speedometer to decide
when to downshift.

DRIVER'"S MANUAL
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» Take your foot off the accelerator. Push in the clutch
and shift to neutral.

» Release the clutch.

» Press the accelerator. Increase engine and gear speed to
the RPM required in the lower gear.

» Push in the clutch and shift to the lower gear at the
same time.

» Release the clutch and press the accelerator at the same
time.

You should downshift:

» Before starting down a hill: Slow down and shift down
to a speed that you can control without using the brakes
hard. Make sure your gear is low enough. Usually you
will use a lower gear than you would use to climb the
same hill.

» Before entering a curve: Slow down to a safe speed.
Downshift before you enter the curve. This helps you
control your vehicle while turning. You can begin to
accelerate as you leave the curve

Retarders (Jake brake)—Electric or Hydraulic

Retarders help slow a vehicle so that you don’t need to use
your brakes as much. This reduces brake wear and gives you
another way to slow your vehicle. All retarders can be turned
on or off by the driver. When turned on, retarders apply their
braking power whenever you take your foot completely off
the accelerator. They apply braking power only to the drive
wheels.

If your drive wheels have poor traction, the retarder may
cause them to skid. Always turn off the retarder when the
road is wet, icy or covered with snow, especially if the unit is
empty or lightly loaded.

Seeing

To be a safe driver, you need to know what'’s going on all
around your vehicle.

Look Ahead

Because stopping or changing lanes may take a lot of distance,
you must know what the traffic is doing on all sides of you.
Expert drivers look far ahead so they will know how much
room they have to move. They try to focus their eyes 12 to
15 seconds ahead. At low speeds this equals approximately
one block. On the highway, this equals approximately 4

of a mile. When you scan ahead, check for traffic, road
conditions, sharp pavement drop-offs and signs. Also look for
slow-moving vehicles. These vehicles may be marked with a
red triangle with an orange center. Be especially careful when
driving through work zones.

VIRGINIA COMMERCIAL
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Looking ahead doesn’t mean that you aren’t paying attention
to other things going on around you. Good drivers shift their
attention back and forth, near and far.

Remember you're the expert. Anticipate trouble and
leave yourself a place to go if a hazard appears suddenly.
A hazard is anyone or anything that can cause an unsafe
condition. The best drivers are defensive and prepared
for hazards.

Use Your Mirrors

Look in your mirrors to check the traffic around you and to
check your vehicle. Check your mirrors when you change
lanes or merge. Check your mirrors to see where the rear
of the vehicle is while you make turns. Check your mirrors
quickly and return your attention to the road ahead.

Use your mirrors to check your tires. If you are carrying open
cargo, use the mirrors to check it. Look for loose straps, ropes
or chains. Watch for a flapping or ballooning tarp.

Blind spots are danger areas, which cannot be seen in your
mirrors. Therefore, many vehicles have convex or “spot”
mirrors that show a wider area than flat mirrors. Remember,
everything in a convex or “spot” mirror appears smaller than it
really is. Objects also seem farther away than they really are.

Always make mirror adjustments before you start your trip.
Mirrors can only be checked accurately when the trailer(s) is
straight.

Communicating

It is important to know what is going on around your vehicle.
But, it is also important to let others know what you are
doing. Use your vehicle to communicate with other drivers.
You can communicate with your headlights, brake lights,
signal lights and horn.

Signal Ahead
» Signal early before you turn, merge or change lanes.
» Brake early and slow gradually for turns.

» Flash your brake lights to warn other drivers that you
need to slow down or stop. Don't stop suddenly.

» Turn off your signal after you make the turn, merge or
lane change.

» Use your 4-way emergency flashers when moving
slowly or when you are parked.

» Don't signal other drivers to pass you. This could cause
a crash.

MANUAL



Pass with Caution

» Check your side mirrors for traffic approaching you
from behind.

» Check ahead. Do you have sufficient room to pass?
» Use your turn signal.

» Just before you begin passing, check your mirrors and
blind spots once more for approaching traffic.

Communicate Your Presence to Others

» Don't assume that other drivers, bicyclists, or
pedestrians can see or hear your vehicle.

» Use your low beam headlights at dawn and dusk. Use
your low beam headlights in fog, rain or snow so other
drivers will see you.

» When you pass, tap your horn lightly.

» Use your horn only when needed. Otherwise, your
horn may scare others.

» When you stop on the side of the road:
» Turn on your 4-way emergency flashers.

» Place reflective triangles or flares within 10
minutes of stopping. Place them as shown in the
following diagrams.

If you stop on a road or the shoulder of any road, you must
put out emergency warning devices (reflective triangles or
flares) within 10 minutes. Place the warning devices in the
following locations.

«~—100— «~—100——

[«—> |

4 g 1 <«

On two-lane roads carrying traffic in both directions or on
an undivided highway, place warning devices within ten feet
of the front or rear corners of your vehicle. Place a warning
device 100 feet behind or ahead of your vehicle. Place it on
the shoulder or in the lane where you stopped.

I« 200" »!
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[——> | |
£ | 10 I |
| |
I |
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On a one-way or divided highway, place warning devices
10 feet, 100 feet and 200 feet behind your vehicle.
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Place a warning device before any hill, curve or anything else
that prevents other drivers from seeing your vehicle with 500
feet.

When you place the triangles, hold them between yourself
and the oncoming traffic. This helps ensure your safety.

|-(— 100'-500' —>»

Managing Space

To be a safe driver, you need space all around your vehicle.
When something goes wrong, space gives you time to think
and to take action. While this is true for all vehicles, it is very
important for large vehicles. Large vehicles require more
space for stopping and turning.

Space Ahead

You need space in front of you in case you must stop
suddenly. In crashes, trucks and buses most often hit the
vehicle in front of them. This is because they were following
too closely. If the vehicle ahead of you is smaller than your
vehicle, it can probably stop faster than you can. If you follow
too closely, you could hit it if the driver stops suddenly.

The rule of seconds

» If you are driving below 40 mph, maintain at least one
second for each 10 feet of vehicle length.

» Atspeeds over 40 mph, add an extra second for safety.

Here’s how it works.

» Watch the vehicle ahead pass a fixed point, such as an
overpass, sign, fence, corner or other marker.

» Begin counting off the seconds it takes you to reach the
same place in the road.

» If you reach the mark before you have counted off
the correct number of seconds, you're following
too closely. Slow down and increase your following
distance.

MANUAL | 25
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Examples:

»

If you are driving a 40-foot vehicle at speeds under
40 mph, leave 4 seconds between you and the
vehicle ahead. One second for each 10 feet of
vehicle length = 1X4 or 4 seconds.

If you are driving a 40-foot vehicle at speeds over
40 mph, leave 5 seconds between you and the
vehicle ahead. One second for each 10 feet of
vehicle length plus an additional second for safety:
1X4 = 4 plus an extra second for safety = 5
seconds.

If you are driving a 60-foot vehicle at speeds under
40 mph, leave 6 seconds between you and the
vehicle ahead. One second for each 10 feet of
vehicle length = 1X6 or 6 seconds.

If you are driving a 60-foot vehicle at speeds over
40 mph, leave 7 seconds between you and the
vehicle ahead. One second for each 10 feet of
vehicle length plus an additional second for safety:
1X6 = 6 plus an extra second for safety = 7
seconds.

Remember, the rule of seconds applies only in good
weather and depends on the condition of your vehicle
and the road. In bad weather, heavy traffic, poor
pavement or if your vehicle is in poor condition, add
extra seconds to your following distance.

Space Behind

You can't keep other drivers from following you too closely.
But you can take action to increase your safety.

Stay to the right. Drivers often tailgate when heavy vehicles
can't keep up with traffic. If a heavy load slows you down,

stay in the right lane. If you are going uphill, do not pass other

slow vehicles unless you can pass quickly and safely.

Deal with tailgaters safely.

»

»

Avoid quick changes. Before you slow down or turn,
signal early and reduce your speed gradually.

Increase your following distance. Extra space in front of
your vehicle can help you avoid sudden stops. It also
makes it easier for the tailgater to pass you.

Don't speed up. It's safer to be tailgated at a low speed
than at a high speed.

Avoid tricks. Don’t turn on your tail lights or flash your
brake lights.

Space to the Sides

»

Keep your vehicle centered in the lane and maintain
safe clearance on either side.

VIRGINIA COMMERCIAL

Avoid traveling beside other vehicles. In heavy traffic,
keep as much space as possible between your vehicle
and other vehicles. If you must travel alongside another
vehicle, drop back or pull forward so that you are sure
the other driver can see you.

High winds may cause your vehicle to sway. This
problem is worse for lighter vehicles, such as empty
trucks. High winds may be especially bad coming out of
tunnels.

Space Overhead

Because commercial vehicles are larger than most vehicles,
watch out for overhead objects. Make sure you always have
overhead clearance.

4

The weight of a loaded vehicle changes its height. An
empty vehicle is taller than a loaded one.

Before backing, get out of the vehicle and check for
overhanging objects such as trees, branches or electric
wires. It's easy to miss these things when backing.

Don't assume that the heights posted at bridges and
overpasses are correct. Repaving or packed snow may
have reduced the clearance since the signs were posted.

If you are not sure that you have space to pass under
an object, take another route.

Space for Turns

Because of wide turning and offtracking, large vehicles can hit
other vehicles or objects during turns.

Definition: Trailer wheels follow a different path than the
tractor wheels. This is called offtracking.

When turning right:

4
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Turn slowly to give yourself and others time to avoid
problems.

If you cannot make the right turn without swinging into
another lane, turn wide as you complete the turn. Refer
to the diagram. Keep the rear of your vehicle close to
the curb. This will stop other drivers from passing you
on the right.

Incorrect
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» Don'tturn to the left as you start the turn. The driver
behind you may think you are turning left and try to
pass you on the right.

» If you must cross into an oncoming lane to make a turn,
watch out for vehicles coming toward you. Give them
room to pass or stop. However, don’t back up for them.
You could hit the vehicle behind you.

When turning left:

» Reach the center of the intersection before you begin
your turn. If you turn too soon, your vehicle could hit
another vehicle because of offtracking.

» If there are two
lanes, always O '.'-‘ '-;_'._ .-
use the right ‘. i. ool o8 e
turn lane. Don't MY Y sl
begin a left turn T ¥
in the left lane
because you
may have to
swing right to
complete the
turn. You can
see drivers on
your left easier
than those on
your right.

Space to Cross or Enter Traffic
Keep these points in mind when crossing or entering traffic:

» Because commercial vehicles are larger and accelerate
more slowly than passenger cars, you may need a much
larger gap to enter traffic.

» Acceleration varies with your load. Allow more room if
your vehicle is fully loaded.

» Before you begin across a road, make sure you can get
all the way across before traffic reaches you.

Controlling Speed

Driving too fast is a major cause of crashes and fatalities. You
must adjust your speed to suit weather conditions, the road
(such as hills and curves), visibility and traffic.

Speed and Stopping
Three things add up to total stopping distance.

Perception distance
Reaction distance
Braking distance

= Total stopping distance.

Perception distance is the distance your vehicle
travels from the time your eyes see a hazard until your
brain recognizes it. Perception time for an alert driver
is about ¥4 second. At 55 mph, you travel 60 feet in %
second.

Reaction distance is the distance traveled from the
time your brain tells your foot to move from the
accelerator until the time your foot pushes the brake
pedal. An average driver reacts within % second. This
adds an additional 60 feet to the distance traveled.

Braking distance is the distance it takes the vehicle
to stop once you hit the brakes. At 55 mph on dry
pavement, it takes a vehicle with good brakes about
2.5 seconds to stop. Within that time, the vehicle will
travel another 192 feet.

Total stopping distance; traveling at 55 mph, it will
take about 4 seconds to stop your vehicle. The vehicle
will travel approximately 312 feet before coming to a
stop. That’s longer than the length of a football field.

Perception Distance

Traveling at 55 mph

+ -
N . Total stoppin
Reaction Distance distanc‘:)t'; - .
+ 312 feet or
Braking Distance 4 seconds

Total Stopping Distance Braking distance

192 feet
2.5 seconds

Reaction
Distance
60 feet
3/4 second

+

Perception
Distance
60 feet
3/4 second
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Rules of Thumb Speed and Curves

» When you double your speed, it takes four times as If you take a curve too fast, your tires can lose traction with
much distance to stop your vehicle; your vehicle will the road. This could cause your vehicle to skid off the road or
have four times the destructive power in a crash. roll over. Tests show that trucks with a high center of gravity

> You can't steer or brake a vehicle unless you have can roll over at the posted speed limit for a curve.
traction. Traction is the friction between the tires and » Slow to a safe speed before you enter a curve.
the road. Reduce your speed on wet and slippery roads. » Braking in a curve is dangerous because you can lock

» Wet roads can double stopping distance. Reduce your the wheels and cause a skid.
speed by about 1/3 on a wet road. For example slow » Never exceed the posted speed limit for a curve.

d from 55 mph to 35 mph.
own from 55 mpn te 3> mp » Downshift to a gear that will let you accelerate slightly

»  On packed snow, reduce your speed by "2 or more. in the curve. This will help you keep control.
» If the road is icy, reduce your speed to a crawl. Stop
driving as soon as you can. .

8 Y Speed and Distance Ahead

» You should always be able to stop within the distance
you can see ahead.

» Empty trucks require greater stopping distance. An
empty vehicle has less traction. The brakes are designed
to control the maximum weight of the unit; therefore,

the brakes lock up more readily when the trailer is » Fog, rain or other conditions may require you to slow
empty or lightly loaded. This can cause skidding and down.
loss of control. » At night, you can't see as far with low beams as you

can with high beams. When you use low beams, slow
down.

Maximum Speed Limits for Commercial Motor Vehicles

. Non-limited Access Highways School, Highways
Limited ; i
Vehicle Type Interstate Highways Access Business or | Designated as
Hichwavs Four or More Less Than Residential | a Rural Rustic
gmway Lanes Four Lanes Zones Road
Trucks Up to 70 mph, as posted 55 mph 55 mph 45 mph (2) 25 Tf)h 3) 35 mph (5)
Passenger 25 mph (3)
Buses Up to 70 mph, as posted 55 mph 55 mph 55 mph @) 35 mph (5)
Maximum 60 mph where 25 mph (3)
School Buses | the posted speed limitis | 45 mph (1) 45 mph (1) 45 mph (1) (f) 35 mph (5)
more than 55 mph

(1) A school bus may travel 45 mph or the minimum speed allowable, if the posted speed limit is 55 mph or less. A school bus
may travel up to 60 mph on an interstate or any other highway where the posted speed limit is more than 55 mph.

(2) Unless otherwise posted and driving conditions permit, the maximum speed limit is 45 mph on all public roads except
primary highways (Routes 1-599) and the Interstate.

(3) Localities may increase or decrease the 25 mph speed limit in school zones. You may travel up to the posted speed limit.
(4) You may travel 25 mph or up to the posted speed limit on highways in business or residential districts.

(5) Some highways designated as rural rustic roads may have posted speed limits other than 35 mph. You may drive up to the
speed limit on those roads.
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Slippery when wet

» Shady parts of a road will remain icy and slippery
long after open areas have melted.

» Bridges freeze before the road freezes. Be careful
when the temperature is around 32 degrees °F

» Slight melting makes ice wet. Wet ice is more
slippery than ice that is not wet.

» Blackice is a thin layer that is clear enough that
you can see the road underneath. It makes the road
look wet. When the temperature is below freezing
and the road looks wet, watch for black ice.

» Ifice is on the front of your mirror, mirror support
or antenna, the road surface is probably starting to
ice up.

» Roads are very slippery when rain first begins. Just
after rain begins, water mixes with oil on the road
making it unusually slippery.

Hydroplaning — In some weather, water or slush collects
on the road. When this happens, your vehicle can
hydroplane. The tires lose contact with the road and
have little or no traction. You may not be able to steer

or brake. Hydroplaning can occur at speeds as low as 30
mph. Hydroplaning is more likely if tire pressure is low or
the tread is worn.

» Take your foot off the accelerator and push in the
clutch.

» This will slow your vehicle and let the wheels turn
freely.

» Do not use the brakes to slow down.

» If the drive wheels begin to skid, push the clutch to
let them turn freely.

Speed on Downgrades
» Asyou go downhill, your vehicle’s speed increases.

» Never exceed the maximum safe speed on a
downgrade.

» Downshift to a low gear before starting down a grade.

» You must use the braking effect of the engine to control
your speed on downgrades. The engine’s braking effect
is greatest when it is near the governed RPMs and the
transmission is in a low gear.

» Save your brakes so that you can slow or stop as
required by road and traffic conditions.

VIRGINIA
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Braking

Emergency braking does not mean pushing down on the
brake pedal as hard as you can. That will lock the wheels and
cause a skid. Instead, brake so that you keep your vehicle in
a straight line. You can use the controlled braking method or
the stab braking method.

Controlled Braking

» Apply the brakes as hard as you can without locking the
wheels.

» Steer as little as possible.

» If you need to steer harder or if the wheels lock, release
the brakes.

» Reapply the brakes as soon as possible.

Stab Braking

» Use stab braking only on vehicles that do not have
anti-lock brake systems.

» Apply your brakes fully.
» Release the brakes when the wheels lock up.

» Assoon as the wheels start rolling, apply the brakes fully
again. It can take up to one second for the wheels to
start rolling after you release the brakes. If you reapply
the brakes before the wheels start rolling, the vehicle
will not straighten out.

Steering to Avoid a Crash

Stopping is not always the safest thing to do in an emergency.
If you don’t have enough room to stop, you may have to steer
away from what’s ahead. Many times you can turn to miss

an obstacle more quickly than you can stop. Often, steering
to avoid an obstacle is the best answer in an emergency
situation. However, top-heavy vehicles and tractors with
multiple trailers may roll over. When steering to avoid a crash,
take the following steps.

» Keep both hands on the steering wheel.

» Do not apply the brakes while you are turning.
Applying the brakes could lock your wheels and cause
you to skid out of control.

» Do not turn more than you need. The more sharply you
turn, the greater the risk of turning over or skidding.

» Be ready to countersteer as soon as you have passed
whatever was in your path.

Definition: Countersteering is turning the wheel back
in the other direction after steering to avoid a traffic
emergency.
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In some emergencies, you may have to drive off the road.
Most shoulders are strong enough to support the weight of a
large vehicle and offer an escape route. Follow these steps if
you must drive off the road.

» Avoid braking until your speed has dropped to about
20 mph. Then brake gently to avoid skidding.

» Keep one set of wheels on the pavement if possible.
This helps you to maintain control.

» Stay on the shoulder until your vehicle comes to a stop.
Signal and check your mirrors before returning to the
road.

» If you must return to the road before you stop, hold
the wheel tightly and turn sharply enough to get
back on the road safely. Don't try to edge on to the
road gradually. This could cause you to lose control.
As soon as both front tires are on the paved surface,
countersteer immediately.

Skid Control and Recovery

A skid happens when the tires lose their grip on the road. The
best way to stop any skid is to restore traction to the tires. The
four main causes of skids are:

» Overbraking. Braking too hard can lock the wheels
causing a skid. Skids may also happen if you use the
speed retarder when the road is slippery.

» Oversteering or turning the wheels too sharply may
cause a skid.

» Overacceleration or supplying too much power to the
drive wheels can cause them to spin.

» Driving too fast. Most serious skids result from
driving too fast for road conditions. Drivers who
adjust their driving to fit the conditions don’t have
to overaccelerate, brake hard or oversteer to avoid
hazards.

Rear-wheel (drive-wheel) skids are the most common types
of skid. They are caused by overacceleration or overbraking.

» Overaccleration skids usually happen on ice or snow.
Stop the skid by taking your foot off the accelerator. If
the road is slippery, push in the clutch. This allows the
wheels to roll freely and regain traction.

» Overbraking skids happen when the rear drive wheels
lock. Locked wheels have less traction than rolling
wheels and usually slide sideways. A bus or straight
truck will slide sideways. A vehicle towing a trailer will
jackknife. Take the following actions to stop a rear-
wheel braking skid:

» Stop braking. This will let the rear wheels roll
and keep them from sliding further. If you are on
a slippery surface, push in the clutch to let the
wheels turn freely.

» Turn quickly. If your vehicle begins to slide
sideways, quickly steer in the direction you want
the vehicle to go.

VIRGINIA COMMERCIAL

DRIVER"'S

» Countersteer. As soon as your vehicle begins to
move in the correct direction, turn the steering
wheel quickly in the opposite direction. This
will prevent a skid in the opposite direction. Be
careful not to over-correct.

Front wheel skids are often caused by driving too fast for
the conditions. In a front wheel skid, the front of the vehicle
continues in a straight line no matter how much you turn the
steering wheel. You may not be able to steer around a curve
or turn. Lack of tread on the front tires and cargo loaded
incorrectly may also cause front-wheel skids.

» The only way to stop a front-wheel skid is to let your
vehicle slow down.

» Stop turning and hard braking.
» Slow down as quickly as possible without skidding.

Hazardous Conditions

Driving becomes hazardous when visibility is reduced or
when the road surface is covered with rain, snow or ice.
Reduce your speed and increase your following distance.

Night Driving
Three factors affect safe driving at night: the driver, the
roadway and the vehicle.

The driver: Your vision and the vision of other drivers is not
as sharp in low light conditions. Drivers can also be blinded
for a short time by the lights of oncoming vehicles. Older
drivers are especially bothered by glare from the lights of
other vehicles.

» Use your high beams when it is safe and legal. High
beams increase your ability to see. However, glare from
your headlights can blind other drivers. Dim your lights
within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle. Dim your light
when following within 200 feet of another vehicle. If a
driver coming toward you doesn’t dim his lights, don’t
get back by turning on your high beams. This increases
the chance of a crash.

» Don't look directly at bright lights when driving. Look
to the right of the road. Watch the side of the road
when another car or truck comes toward you. It can
take several seconds to recover from blindness caused
by glare. Even two seconds of glare blindness can be
dangerous. A vehicle going 55 mph will travel more
than half the distance of a football field during that
time.

» Get enough sleep before you drive. Being tired and
lack of alertness are problems for drivers at night. Most
people are less alert at night, especially after midnight.
This is even more true if you have been driving for a
long time.

MANUAL



» If you are sleepy, pull off the road and get some
sleep. You cannot control your need for sleep. Drivers
who are tired may not see hazards as soon or react as
quickly. This increases the chance of a crash.

The roadway: During the day, there is usually enough light
to see well. At night, some streets may have bright lights,
but others will have poor lighting. On most roads, you will
probably have to depend on your headlights.

Less light means you will not be able to see hazards as quickly.
Pedestrians, joggers, bicyclists, animals and other objects may
be difficult to see. Even when there are street lights; the scene
may be confusing. Traffic signals and hazards can be hard to
see against a background of signs, store windows and other
lights.

» Drive slower when lighting is poor or confusing.
Drive slowly enough so that you can stop within the
distance that you can see ahead.

» Watch for drunk drivers. Be extra careful when bars
and restaurants are closing. Watch drivers who weave,
drive too slow or too fast, or stop for no reason.

The vehicle: At night, you must depend on your headlights to
see and be seen. However, you can't see as much with your
headlights at night as you can see during the day.

» Adjust your speed so that you can stop within the
distance that you can see ahead. With your low
beams, you can see ahead about 250 feet. With your
high beam, you can see ahead between 300 and 500
feet. If you are driving with your low beams on, you
should be able to stop within 250 feet. If you are driving
with your high beams on, you should be able to stop
within 300 to 500 feet.

You should be able to
stop within the distance
that you can see ahead.

With low beams you
can see 250 feet ahead

With high beams you
can see 300 to 500 feet ahead
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» Make sure that your headlights are clean and
adjusted properly. Dirty headlights give only half
the light they should. This makes it harder for you to
see and harder for other drivers to see you. If your
headlights are out of adjustment, they won't give you a
good view and they can blind other drivers.

» Be sure that all lights and reflectors are clean and
working so that other drivers can see you. These lights
include:

» Markers lights
Clearance lights

» Tail lights
» Identification lights
Turn signals

» Brake lights

» Be sure that your windshield and mirrors are clean.
Dirt on your windshield and mirrors can increase the
glare from other vehicles’ lights. This will make it hard
for you to see other vehicles and hazards.

Fog

Fog reflects light and can reflect your own headlights back
into your eyes. Use only your low beams. Look for road edge
markings to guide you. Even light fog reduces your ability to
see and judge distances. If possible, pull off the road and wait
until the fog has lifted. If you must drive, be sure to:

» Obey all fog-related warning signs

Reduce your speed

» Turn on all your lights
» Use only your low beams
» Be prepared for sudden stops

Cold Weather Driving
Vehicle Checks

During your pre-trip inspection, pay extra attention to the
following items. Be sure that these systems are working
correctly and that you know how to use them before you
begin driving.

» Coolant and antifreeze
Defrosting and heating equipment

Wipers and washers

v v Vv

Tires (Be sure your tires have enough tread to provide
sufficient traction to steer and push the vehicle through
snow).

In addition:

» Clear your vehicle of all snow and ice. Be sure your
lights, reflectors, windows and mirrors, handholds, steps
and deck plates are free of snow and ice.

» As a precaution, carry the right number of chains and
extra cross links. Make sure they fit your drive tires.
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Check the chains for broken hooks, worn or broken cross
links and bent or broken side chains. Learn how to put
the chains on before you need to use them.

Remove ice from the radiator shutters. Make sure the
winterfront is not closed too tightly. If the shutters freeze
or the winterfront is closed too much, the engine may
overheat.

Check the exhaust system for loose parts and for signs
of leaks. Loose connections can let carbon monoxide
leak into the vehicle. This can cause sleepiness. In large
amounts it can kill you.

Driving Tips

»

Drive smoothly and slowly on slippery roads. Don’t
hurry. If the roads are very slippery, don't drive at all. Stop
at the first safe place.

Adjust turning and braking to road conditions. Make
turns as gently as possible. Don't brake any harder than
necessary. Don't use the engine brake or speed retarder
on slippery or wet roads. They can cause the driving
wheels to skid.

Adjust speed to conditions. Don't pass slower vehicles
unless necessary. Go slow and watch far enough ahead to
keep a steady speed. Avoid slowing down and speeding
up. Take curves at slower speeds and don't brake while
you're in the curve.

Remember, as the temperature rises and the ice begins to
melt, the road becomes even more slippery.

Adjust space to road conditions. Don't drive beside
other vehicles. Keep extra following distance. Watch
ahead for slowing or stopped traffic. Slow down
gradually.

Avoid driving through deep puddles or flowing water.
Water in your brakes can cause the brakes to be weak,
apply unevenly or to grab. This reduces braking power
and causes wheel lockups and pulling to one side. It
could cause a jackknife if you are pulling a trailer. If you
must drive through water, following these steps:

» Slow down.

» Put your transmission in low gear. Engage the
clutch smoothly.

» Put on the brakes gently. This presses the linings
against the brake drums or discs and keeps mud,
silt, sand and water out of your brakes.

» Increase the engine RPM and cross the water
while keeping light pressure on your brakes.

» Assoon as you are out of the water, maintain light
pressure on the brakes for a short distance. This
will heat them and dry them out.

» Make a test stop as soon as it is safe. If, the brakes
do not work well, drive for another short distance
with light pressure on the brakes. Don’t apply
too much pressure on the brakes or you may
overheat the brake drums and linings.

Hot Weather Driving
Vehicle Checks

» Make sure you have plenty of engine oil and engine
coolant. Engine oil lubricates the engine and helps keep
it cool. Antifreeze helps the engine under hot conditions
and in cold conditions. While you are driving, check
the oil temperature gauge and the engine temperature
gauge. If these gauges show a temperature higher than
normal, stop driving as soon as safely possible. There
could be something wrong that could lead to engine
failure or fire.

» Check engine belts and hoses. Check the belts for
tightness by pressing on the belts. Be sure coolant hoses
are in good condition. Loose belts or broken hoses can
lead to engine failure and fire.

» While you’re driving, inspect the tires every two
hours or every 100 miles. Air pressure increases with
temperature. Do not let air out. If you let air out, the
pressure will be too low when the tires cool. If a tire is
too hot to touch, remain stopped until the tire cools.
Otherwise, the tire may blow out or catch on fire.

» Never remove the radiator cap or any part of the
pressurized system until the system has cooled. Steam
and boiling water can spray under pressure and cause
severe burns. If you can touch the radiator cap with your
bare hand, it is probably cool enough to open. You can
also check the coolant level of a hot engine if a coolant
container is part of a pressurized system.

Driving Tips
» Watch for bleeding tar. In hot weather, spots where tar
bleeds to the road surface are very slippery.

» Drive slow enough to prevent overheating. High
speeds create more heat for tires and the engine. In
desert conditions, the heat may rise to a dangerous level.
The heat will increase the chance of tire failure, engine
failure and fire.

Mountain Driving

Gravity plays a major role in mountain driving. On upgrades,
gravity slows you down. The steeper and longer the grade, and
the heavier your load, the slower you will drive. When coming
down a downgrade, gravity increases the speed of your vehicle.
Try to plan ahead and get information about any steep grades
along your planned route.

» Select a safe speed. Base your speed on the following:
» The weight of your vehicle and cargo
Length of the grade

» Steepness of the grade
» Road conditions
» Weather conditions
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Never drive faster than the speed posted on
“Maximum Safe Speed” signs. Remember that the
speed posted on these signs could be too fast for a large
vehicle or for the weather conditions.

Pay attention to warning signs that tell the length and
steepness of the grade.

Use the braking effect of your engine to maintain

a safe speed. The braking effect of the engine is best
when the transmission is in a low gear. Save your brakes
so you can slow down or stop for traffic and road
conditions.

Shift the transmission to a lower gear before you
start down the grade. Don’t downshift after you've
gained speed. You won’t be able to shift into a lower
gear. You may not be able to get back into any gear. For
older trucks, use the same gear for going down a hill
that you would use to climb the hill. New trucks have
more powerful engines and can climb hills in higher
gears than older trucks. Therefore in newer trucks, use a
lower gear for going down a hill than you would use for
climbing the hill.

Be sure your brakes are adjusted before you begin

a trip through the mountains. If you use your brakes
too much, they will fade. Excessive heat causes the
brake drums to expand. As a result, the brake shoes
have to travel further and exert less stopping force. This
situation is made even worse if the brakes were not
properly adjusted to begin with. Remember, the more
you use your brakes, the more quickly they will get out
of adjustment.

Use the proper braking technique. Use your brakes on
a long, steep downgrade plus the braking power of your
engine. When your vehicle is in the proper low gear,
use this braking technique:

» Apply the brakes just enough to feel a definite
slowdown.

» Reduce your speed to 5 mph below your safe
speed. This should take about 3 seconds. Then,
release the brakes.

» When your speed has increased to your safe
speed, repeat the first steps.

Know where the escape ramps are located on your
route. Escape ramps have been built on many steep
downgrades. They are made to stop runaway vehicles
without injuring drivers and passengers, and to avoid
damaging vehicles. Escape ramps use a long bed of
loose soft material to slow runaway vehicles. Use them
if you lost your brakes.

If your safe speed on a steep grade is 40 mph, don’t apply
your brakes until your speed reaches 40 mph. Apply your

Section 1: General Knowledge

Railroad Crossing

Railroad crossings are always dangerous. Always look
both ways. Trains may come at any

ROUND YELLOW
WARNING SIGN

N/
&

time from either direction. Follow
these rules when crossing railroad
tracks.

» Don'ttry to race a train to the
crossing. It is very difficult to
judge the speed of a train.

» Reduce your speed. Be sure

you can stop before you reach
the tracks if necessary.

» Because of the noise in your cab, you won't hear
the train horn until the train is very close.

» Don't rely on train warning signals or flagmen to let
you know of an approaching train.

» Double tracks require more caution. A train on one
track may hide a train on the other track.

» After one train has cleared the crossing, check
again. Be sure that no other train is coming before
you cross the tracks.

» Arailroad crossing with steep approaches can
cause your vehicle to hang up on the tracks. This
is most likely to happen to vehicles that have low
ground clearance, such as drop frame trailers
and car carriers. If you get hung up on a railroad
crossing, notify the police immediately so that
nearby trains can be stopped.

» Besure you can get all the way across the tracks
before you begin to cross.

» Do not shift gears when crossing railroad tracks.

» Vehicles equipped to carry passengers or hazardous
cargo must come to a complete stop at railroad
crossings. You must also stop if the lights are
flashing, the arms are down or you are directed to
stop by signs or the police.

Equipment Failures

Brake Failures

Brakes kept in good condition seldom fail. Most hydraulic
brake failures occur for two reasons: 1) loss of hydraulic
pressure or 2) brake fade on long hills.

Loss of hydraulic pressure. When the system won't build up
pressure, the brake pedal will feel spongy or go to the floor.
Take the following steps:

brakes enough to reduce your speed to 35 mph. This
should take about 3 seconds. Release the brakes. Repeat
these steps until you reach the end of the downgrade.
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» Downshift. Putting your vehicle in a lower gear will help
slow the vehicle.
» Pump the brakes. This will sometimes generate enough

hydraulic pressure to stop the vehicle.
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» Find an escape route. While slowing your vehicle, look
for an escape route—an open field, side street or escape
ramp.

Air Brake Fading or Failure

Excessive use of the service brakes causes overheating and
leads to brake fade. Excessive heat in the brakes causes
chemical changes in the lining which reduce friction and cause
the brake drums to expand. As the overheated drums expand,
the brake shoes and linings have to move farther to contact
the drums. The force of contact between the shoes and drums
is also reduced. Overuse may increase brake fade until the
vehicle cannot be slowed or stopped at all.

Brakes that are out of adjustment may also cause brake fade.
To safely control the vehicle, every brake must do its share

of the work. Brakes out of adjustment stop doing their share
before brakes that are in adjustment. This causes the other
brakes to overheat and fade. Brakes can get out of adjustment
quickly, especially when they are hot. Therefore, brake
adjustment must be checked frequently.

Brake failure on downgrades. Driving slowly and braking
properly will almost always prevent brake fade on long
downgrades. Once the brakes fail, however, you must look
outside your vehicle for something to stop it.

Your best hope is an escape ramp. Ramps are usually located
a few miles from the top of a downgrade. Signs will be posted
telling you about it. Use the escape ramp if it is available.

If you don’t see an escape ramp, take the least hazardous
escape route—an open field or a side road that flattens out or
turns up hill.

Look for an escape route as soon as you know that your brakes
don’t work. The longer you wait, the more speed your vehicle
will gain and it will be harder to stop.

Tire Failure

The sooner that you know a tire has failed the more time you
will have to react. The major signs of a tire failure are:

» Sound. A loud bang often indicates a blowout.
However, it may take several seconds for your vehicle
to react and you might think that the sound came from
another vehicle. Any time you hear a tire blow, assume
that it was one of your tires.

» Vibration. If your vehicle thumps or vibrates, a tire may
have gone flat. With a rear tire, this may be the only sign
you get.

» Feel. If the steering feels heavy, one of the front tires has
probably failed. Sometimes, failure of a rear tire causes
the vehicle to slide back and forth or fishtail. However,
dual rear tires usually prevent this.
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If a tire fails, take the following steps:

» Hold the steering wheel firmly. If a front tire fails, it can
twist the steering wheel out of your hand. Keep a firm
grip on the steering wheel with both hands at all times.

» Stay off the brakes. Braking when a tire has failed could
cause you to lose control. Unless you are about to run
into something, stay off the brake until the vehicle has
slowed down. Then, brake gently and pull off the road.

» Check the tires. Even if the vehicle seems to be handling
normally. Many times you won't know that a dual tire is
flat unless you look at it.

Crashes

If you are in a crash and not seriously hurt, you need to take
three steps to prevent further damage or injury:

» Protect the area.
» Notify the authorities.
» Care for the injured.

Protect the Area
To prevent another crash this is the first thing you should do.

» If your vehicle is involved in the crash, try to move it to
the side of the road. This will help prevent another crash.

» If you are stopping to help at the scene of a crash, park
away from the crash. The area around the crash will be
needed by emergency vehicles.

» Puton your flashers.

» Set out reflective triangles to warn other traffic. Make
sure that other drivers will see them in time to avoid
another crash

Notify the Authorities

If you have a CB or cellular telephone, put out a call over the
emergency channel or dial 911 before you get out of your
vehicle. If not, wait until the crash scene has been protected,
then phone or send someone to phone the police. Remember
to determine where you are so you can give an accurate
location.

Care for the Injured

If a qualified person is helping the injured, stay out of the way
unless asked to assist. Otherwise, do the best you can to help
anyone who is injured.

» Don’t move a severely injured person unless there is a
danger of fire or passing traffic makes it necessary.

» Stop heavy bleeding by applying direct pressure to the
wound.

» Keep the injured person warm.
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Fires

Truck fires can cause damage and injury. Learn the causes of
fires and how to prevent them. Know what to do to extinguish
fires.

Causes of Fire
» After accidents: spilled fuel, improper use of flares
» Tire: under-inflated tires and dual tires that touch

» Electrical system: short circuits due to damaged
insulation, loose connections

» Fuel: driver smoking, improper fueling, loose fuel
connections

» Cargo: flammable cargo, improperly sealed or loaded
cargo, poor ventilation

Fire Prevention

» Pre-trip inspection: Make a complete inspection of the
electrical, fuel and exhaust systems, tires and cargo. Be
sure that your fire extinguisher is charged. Be sure that
you know how to use it.

» Inspections while traveling: Check the tires and hubs
for signs of excessive heat whenever you stop during a
trip. Frequently check the instruments and gauges for
signs of overheating. Use your mirrors to look for signs of
smoke from the tires or other areas of the vehicle.

» Safe procedures: Don't get careless. Always follow
correct safety procedures for fueling the vehicle, using
brakes, handling flares and other activities that can cause
a fire.

Fire Fighting

Your life and the lives of others may depend on your ability to
fight a fire. Study the instructions printed on the extinguisher.
Know how your fire extinguisher works before you drive the
vehicle. If a fire occurs:

» Pull off the road.

» Park in an open area away from buildings, trees,
brush, other vehicles or anything that might catch
fire.

» Don’t pull into a service station.
» Notify the police of your problem and location.

Section 1: General Knowledge

Keep the fire from spreading before you try to put it
out.

» If your engine is on fire, turn off the engine
as soon as you can. Open the hood as little as
possible. Shoot the fire extinguisher through
louvers, the radiator grille or from the underside
of the vehicle.

» If you have a cargo fire in a van or box trailer,
keep the doors shut, especially if your cargo
contains hazardous materials. Opening the doors
will supply the fire with oxygen and will cause it to
burn very fast.

Use the right fire extinguisher: By regulation, B:C
extinguishers are required on commercial vehicles, A:B:C
are an acceptable alternate.

» B:C type extinguishers work on electrical fires
and burning liquids. Don’t use water on electrical
or gasoline fires.

» A:B:C type extinguishers work on burning wood,
paper and cloth as well as burning liquid and
electrical fires.

» Water can be used on wood, paper, cloth and
burning tires. Don’t use water on an electrical
fire (you could get shocked) or on a fire involving
petroleum products.

» If you're not sure what to use, especially if you
have a hazardous material fire, wait for qualified
fire fighters.

Extinguish the fire only if you know what you are doing
and it is safe to do so.

» When using the extinguisher, stay as far away from
the fire as possible.

» Aim at the source or base of the fire, not up in the
flames.

» Position yourself upwind. Let the wind carry the
extinguisher to the fire instead of carrying the
flames to you.

» Be sure you have a path of retreat if you are
unable to control the fire.

» Continue until whatever was burning has cooled.
If you don’t see any smoke or flames, don’t
assume that the fire is out. It could be smoldering
and it could restart.
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Hazardous Materials Rules for All Commercial Drivers

All drivers should know something about hazardous materials. You must be able to recognize hazardous materials and you
must know if you can haul it without having a hazardous materials endorsement on your commercial driver’s license.

Hazardous materials are products that pose a risk to health, safety and property during transportation. The table below lists 9

hazard classes.

Class Division Name of Class or Division Example

1.1 Explosives (Mass Detonation) Dinitrophenol
1.2 Projections Hazards Ammunition Smoke, White Phosphorus

; 1.3 Mass Fire Hazards Article, Explosive No. 5
1.4 Minor Hazards Fireworks
1.5 Very Insensitive Blasting Agents Explosive, Blasting, Type E
1.6 Extremely Insensitive Article, Explosive Extremely Insensitive
2.1 Flammable Cases Propane

2 2.2 Non Flammable Gases Helium, Compressed
2.3 Poisonous/Toxic Gases Fluorine, Compressed

3 Flammable Liquids Gasoline, Alcohol, Diesel Fuel, Fuel Oils
4.1 Flammable Solids Ammonium Picrate, Wetted

4 4.2 Spontaneously Combustible Phosphorus, White Dry
4.3 Dangerous When Wet Sodium

s 5.1 Oxidizers Ammonium Nitrate, Liquid
5.2 Organic Peroxides Organic Peroxide Type, B Liquid

6 6.1 Poison (Toxic Material) Potassium Cyanide
6.2 Infectious Substances Diagnostic Specimen

7 Radioactive Radioactive Material, Uranium Hexafloride

8 Corrosives Sulfuric Acid

9 Miscellaneous Hazardous Materials Airbag Inflaters, Asbestos

None ORM-D (Other Regulated Material-Domestic) | Consumer Commodity
Combustible Liquid Combustible Liquid Diesel Fuel, Fuel Oil

You must follow the rules for transporting hazardous materials. These rules ensure safe drivers and equipment. They also tell

you how to contain a harardous material and how to communicate its risk.
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To Ensure Safe Drivers and Equipment

Definition: Placards are diamond-shaped signs put on
the outside of a vehicle to warn others. They identify the
hazard class of the cargo.

Drivers of placarded vehicles must have a commercial driver’s
license with the hazardous materials endorsement. Drivers
must learn how to safely load and transport hazardous
materials.

To get the endorsement, you must pass a written test

on Section 9 of this manual. If you transport hazardous
materials in a cargo tank with a gross vehicle weight rating
of 26,000 pounds or more, you will also need a tank vehicle
endorsement, Section 7.

Never drive a vehicle that needs placards unless you have
a hazardous materials endorsement. Transporting hazardous
materials without the proper placards is a crime. You will be
stopped, cited and you will not be allowed to drive your truck
further. It will cost you time and money.

Driving without the proper placards could also risk your
life and the lives of others. If you have a crash, emergency
workers will not know about your hazardous cargo.

Hazardous materials drivers must also know which products
they can load together. Section 9 of this manual covers these
regulations. Before loading a truck with more than one type
of product, you must know if it is safe. If you do not know, ask
your employer.

To Contain a Hazardous Material

Many hazardous materials can injure or kill on contact.
Federal regulations tell shippers how to package these
materials safely. This protects drivers and others from contact
with the hazardous materials. Other regulations tell drivers
how to load, transport and unload bulk tanks. These are
called containment rules.

To Communicate the Risk

The shipper uses a shipping paper, package labels and
placards to warn dock workers and drivers of the presence
of hazardous materials, the hazard class and the specific
hazardous material.

The shipping paper describes the hazardous material being
transported. Shipping orders, bills of lading and manifests are
examples of shipping papers.

After an accident or hazardous material spill or leak, you may

be injured and unable to tell others about your hazardous
cargo. Fire fighters and police can prevent or reduce the
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amount of damage and injury if they know what hazardous
materials you are carrying. Your life and the lives of others
could depend on quickly locating hazardous materials
shipping papers. For this reason, you must tab shipping papers
related to hazardous materials or keep them on top of other

shipping papers.

You must keep shipping papers:
» Ina pouch on the driver’s door, or
» In clear view and within reach while driving, or

» On the driver’s seat when you are out of the vehicle.

Shipping labels are four-inch, diamond-shaped warning
labels and are placed on hazardous materials packages.
These labels inform others of the hazard. If the diamond label
won't fit on the container, shippers put the label on a tag. For
example, compressed gas cylinders that will not hold a label
will have tags or decals.

Placards are 10 % inches on each side and are diamond-
shaped. Cargo tanks and other bulk packaging display the
I.D. number of their contents on placards or orange panels.
A placarded vehicle must have at least 4 identical placards.
They are placed on the front, rear and both sides of the
vehicle.

Not all vehicles that carry hazardous materials need placards.
The regulations about placards are given in Section 9 of

this manual. You can drive a vehicle carrying hazardous
materials if it does not require placards. If it requires placards,
you may not drive it unless you have a hazardous material
endorsement on your commercial driver’s license.

Staying Alert and Fit to Drive

Driving a commercial vehicle requires skill, education and
physical fitness. Driving for long hours is tiring and even

the best drivers will become less alert. You can cope with
fatigue and maximize your alertness by following the federal
regulations on hours of service and off duty time. You can also
combat fatigue and maximize your alertness by maintaining a
healthy lifestyle.

Federal Regulations on Hours of Service and
Off-Duty Time

In an effort to control driver fatigue, the federal government
established regulations governing hours of service and
required off-duty time. These regulations specify driving
time, off-duty time and prohibit driving after you have been
on-duty in excess of specified amounts of time. Refer to

the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations for specific
requirements.
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Staying Alert

» Get enough rest. When you go off duty, your first
concern should be to get enough rest so that you will
have the 7 to 8 hours sleep that every person needs.
After you have gotten your sleep and you have been
awake and alert for more than 8 hours without being
notified of your next assignment, take a short nap so
you will be alert when you return to work. Remember,
sleep is the only way to overcome fatigue.

» Schedule your trips safely. Ideally, you should try to
schedule trips for the hours when you are normally
awake. However, many motor carriers operate around
the clock. Therefore, you must be prepared to drive
safely during irregular work times.

» Rest during your off-duty times. Everyone is affected
by the circadian rhythm. This is the name of the 24-
hour cycle of alertness and sleep that affects everyone.
Normally, most people have low points of alertness
from 2 to 6 a.m. and from 2 to 5 p.m. If you are already
tired, your risk of falling asleep during these periods
is greatly increased. That’s why it's important to get
as much rest as possible during your off-duty hours.
Remember, many heavy vehicle crashes occur between
midnight and 6 a.m.

» Take a nap. If you get sleepy, a short nap will do more
for you than a cup of coffee. Find a safe place to pull
over and stop. Remember, parking on the shoulder of
an interstate or other main highway is dangerous and is
not permitted except in an emergency. Napping is not
considered an emergency. Find a rest area, truck stop or
a safe place along a nearby road.

» Avoid drugs. No drugs can help you overcome being
tired. Stimulants may keep you awake for a while; but,
they won't make you alert. When they wear off, you'll
be even more tired than if you had never taken them.
Sleep is the only way to overcome fatigue.

» Avoid medication. Many medications can make you
sleepy. These medications usually have a label or folder
that warns against operating vehicles or machinery
while taking them. Cold pills are one of the most
common medicines that will make you sleepy. If you
must drive with a cold, you are better off suffering from
the cold than from the effects of the medicine.

» Keep cool. A hot, poorly ventilated cab can make you
sleepy. Keep the window or vent cracked, or use the air
conditioner.

» Take a break. Stay alert by stopping for a short break
every 2 to 3 hours. Walk around and give your vehicle a
safety check.
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Drinking and Driving
Every year, roughly 19,000 people are killed because of
drivers who have been drinking. About one-half of all fatal

crashes involve drinking drivers. Be sure that you know
the facts.

False True

A few drinks will improve your
driving.

Alcohol is a drug that will make
you less alert and reduce your
ability to drive safely.

Some people can drink a lot
and not feel the effects.

Everyone who drinks alcohol is
affected. Just one drink affects
your ability to drive safely.

If you eat a lot, you won't get as
drunk.

Food will not keep you from
getting drunk.

Coffee and fresh air will help
you get sober.

Only time will help you get
sober. Other methods don’t
work.

Stick with beer. It’s not as strong | A 12-ounce glass of beer, a five-
as wine or whiskey. ounce glass of wine and a shot
of liquor have the same amount
of alcohol.

Just one alcoholic drink can affect your driving ability.
Even a small amount of alcohol affects the brain. Alcohol
first affects the part of the brain that controls judgment and
self-control. This can keep you from knowing when you are
getting drunk. Alcohol affects your judgment and driving
ability. Your chances of being in a crash are seven times
greater if you drive after drinking than if you drive sober.

Alcohol also affects coordination, reaction time and vision.
Ninety percent of the information used in driving comes
from seeing. Alcohol relaxes the eye muscles. As a result, you
cannot focus properly. Any restriction in vision could cause
you to crash.

Blood alcohol content (BAC) is the amount of alcohol in your
body. BAC depends on the amount of alcohol consumed,

the time spent drinking and your body weight. The more you
drink, the higher your BAC will be and the more affected your
driving will become.

It takes at least an hour for the blood stream to rid itself of
one ounce of alcohol. Only time can get rid of the effects of
alcohol. Coffee, cold showers or exercise will not make you
sober.

Mixing alcohol with other drugs usually multiplies the

effects of both. Having one drink and taking an aspirin or
simple cold pill could have the same effect as several drinks.
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Almost any drug can reduce your ability to drive safely.

[t's not just illegal drugs that cause problems. Many over-the-
counter drugs and prescription drugs can cause sleepiness and
dizziness. These drugs often affect your alertness and reaction
time.

Read the label before taking any drug or medicine. Look for
warnings about the side effects. If you are uncertain about the
effects of a drug, ask your doctor or pharmacist.

Laws prohibit possession and use of many drugs while

you are on duty. It’s illegal to be under the influence of any
controlled substance, narcotic or other substance that can
make a driver unsafe. This includes prescription and over-the-
counter drugs that may make you sleepy or affect your driving
ability. Possession and use of a drug is legal if your doctor tells
you that the drug will not affect your driving ability.

Alcohol and Drug Testing

Federal regulations require that drivers who operate a
commercial motor vehicle and hold a CDL, be tested for
misuse of alcohol and the use of controlled substances
such as amphetamines, marijuana, opiates, PCP and
cocaine.

» Testing for misuse of alcohol:

» on arandom basis;

» for a reasonable suspicion of misuse;

» following a crash, and

» when returning to duty.
» You may be tested for controlled substances:
prior to employment;
on a random basis;
for reasonable suspicion of use;
following a crash, and
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when returning to duty.

Promptly follow your employer’s instructions for alcohol
and drug testing.

Violation of the regulations for alcohol and drug use and
testing can jeopardize your career as a commercial driver.
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Section 2:
Air Brakes

Every Virginia CDL test includes information from
Section 1: General Knowledge.

If you plan to drive a truck or bus with air brakes,
you need to study this section. If you plan to pull a trailer
with air brakes, you must study this section and Section 3:
Combination Vehicles.

Air brakes use compressed air to make the brakes work. Air
brakes stop large and heavy vehicles safely; but the brakes
must be maintained and used correctly.

Air brakes are three different braking systems: service brake,
parking brake and emergency brake systems.

» The service brake system applies and releases the
brakes when you use the brake pedal during normal
driving.

» The parking brake system applies and releases the
parking brakes when you use the parking brake control.

» The emergency brake system uses parts of the service
and parking brake systems to stop the vehicle if the
service brake system fails.

Air Brake System Parts

» Air compressor pumps air into the air storage tanks
(reservoirs). It is connected to the engine through
gears or a v-belt. The compressor may be air cooled or
cooled by the engine cooling system. It may have its
own oil supply or it may be lubricated by engine oil.

If the compressor has its own oil supply, check the oil
level during the pre-trip inspection.

» Air compressor governor controls when the air
compressor pumps air into the air storage tanks. When
air tank pressure rises to the cut-out level (around 125
pounds per square inch—psi), the governor stops the
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