Temporarily Outside of Virginia?
Driver's License and ID Cards
If you are temporarily living outside Virginia, you may:
- Renew your driver's license
- Obtain a Driver's License Extension:
- Obtain a replacement driver's license
- Obtain an International Driver's License
If you wish to keep your vehicle titled and registered in Virginia, notify DMV of your move so that we can change your mailing address. This will ensure that registration renewal information and other time-sensitive correspondence is sent to your temporary address.
While out of state, you must maintain vehicle liability insurance that meets Virginia’s required minimum coverage:
- Bodily injury/death of one person: $25,000
- Bodily injury/death of two or more persons: $50,000
- Property damage: $20,000
NOTE: If you cancel your Virginia insurance policy and obtain coverage in another state, you may be asked to furnish policy information to DMV for verification.
If you cancel insurance because your vehicle has been placed in storage or will not be driven while you are living outside of Virginia, contact DMV to deactivate your registration. This will allow you to keep your license plates and avoid severe penalties for not complying with insurance requirements. Remember, it is illegal to drive your vehicle when the vehicle registration is deactivated. To reactivate your vehicle registration, you will need to contact DMV and provide proof that the vehicle has been reinsured.